Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MORE CHRISTY VICAR? OH YES PLEASE!
A well recorded live album by a great live performer ably assisted by Declan Sinnott and Donal Lunny.Ends with a tribute to and a song by the marvellous late songwriter and singer Noel Brazil.Strongly recommended!
Published on 6 Dec 2009 by D. P. Craigie

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not convincing (disappointing) technically, music only **
This recording gives me the impression of being produced in a hurry,
live emotions are castrated by cutting some tracks or audience, voice
and guitars a bit absent in some songs, overstressed bass tones (very disappointed
technically by tracks like Biko drum, Lisdoonvarna...) in others
they could do pretty better. The track's choice is very arguable,...
Published on 19 July 2011 by Lucazest


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MORE CHRISTY VICAR? OH YES PLEASE!, 6 Dec 2009
By 
D. P. Craigie (Suffolk,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live At Vicar St (Audio CD)
A well recorded live album by a great live performer ably assisted by Declan Sinnott and Donal Lunny.Ends with a tribute to and a song by the marvellous late songwriter and singer Noel Brazil.Strongly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another stunning live recording, 16 Oct 2008
This review is from: Live At Vicar St (Audio CD)
Christy Moore is never better than when singing live and if you can't get to see him his live albums are the next best thing. Believe me everything on this one is a stand-out track perfectly communicated as only this man can do. Even if you have all these tracks on studio albums I would urge you to get this cd as it makes a perfect playlist and all the songs are better than the studio versions. If you are new to Christy this would be about the best introduction you could get to his unique repertoire which covers trad, modern and world ballads/love songs/folk songs/protest songs and of course a touch of Irish humour. As I look at the track listing I can't wait to get away and give it another airing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christy is still one of the best!, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Vicar St (Audio CD)
Great selection of songs,well delivered from one of the folk greats.If you do not have a Christy Moore album in your collection,then this is the place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Boul Christy on fine form . . ., 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Vicar St (Audio CD)
Christy Moore live is something not to be missed. This guy can sing a song like no other. Make sure that you buy a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christy live!, 29 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Peter D. Lush (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Vicar St (Audio CD)
Christy Moore is one of my favourite singers, and is particularly good live. A couple of songs I had not heard before combined with old favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christy at his best., 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Vicar St (Audio CD)
Cracking album, live version of Ride On is amazing. The little interaction from the man with the audience helps make this an altogether good purchase of Christy at his best Love it !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Christy recording, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Vicar St (Audio CD)
As a fan of Christy Moore this pushes all the buttons. Some great songs and the audience involvement comes across well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Play it again Christy., 16 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Vicar St (Audio CD)
It is so good to be able to get the old Christy stuff on Amazon. I did have cassette tapes (remember them?) but decided I would bounce into this century with CDs (not downloads as yet). This CD is fantastic and has "A pair of brown eyes" which is what I wanted it for. Wonderful. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 10 Dec 2011
This review is from: Live At Vicar St (Audio CD)
Purchased this CD as I am a big fan of Christy Moore and once again I have not been disappointed. With his unique voice and style this is a must have for the collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not convincing (disappointing) technically, music only **, 19 July 2011
By 
Lucazest (Rezzato (Brescia), Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Vicar St (Audio CD)
This recording gives me the impression of being produced in a hurry,
live emotions are castrated by cutting some tracks or audience, voice
and guitars a bit absent in some songs, overstressed bass tones (very disappointed
technically by tracks like Biko drum, Lisdoonvarna...) in others
they could do pretty better. The track's choice is very arguable, this could be defined
just a "smallest hits".
Always present the Moore blind and shameless political onesidedness: I always forgive him
for this because of his talent but this time I expected much mo(o)re!!!
Wasted money, better buying other Moore's releases!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At Vicar St
Live At Vicar St by Christy Moore (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews