Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative game
Let me start by saying this is not an action game at all in the conventional sense. It is geared more towards those who like adventure games and even then it is completely different to what you may have experienced before.
You are effectively playing an interactive movie. The game consists mainly of 'simon says' type games where you have to match movements on the...
Published on 20 Sep 2005 by Rimmer72

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game - but you still may not like it
I have no arguments with most of the positive reviews here. This is undoubtedly a worthy and interesting new take on the adventure game genre. Anyone who plays it will recognise this as a 'significant' game.
But I want to introduce a note of caution: this game is not for everyone. There is a very good chance that long before the end you will give up through boredom...
Published on 4 Oct 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative game, 20 Sep 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fahrenheit (Xbox) (Video Game)
Let me start by saying this is not an action game at all in the conventional sense. It is geared more towards those who like adventure games and even then it is completely different to what you may have experienced before.
You are effectively playing an interactive movie. The game consists mainly of 'simon says' type games where you have to match movements on the analogue sticks to create reactions on screen and responses to questions from a list within a small time limit. The upshot of this is that you never have any direct control over a character during action sequences as this is sacrificed in favour of cinematic visual displays during the game.
This game is also very adult in nature. That's not to say that this is used as a cheap gimmick to get adolescents to buy the game as the content is a part of the story but profanity and adult themes are in there. This is not really an issue as I suspect that this game only really appeals to the more mature gamer. There isn't enough here to even remotely accommodate the graphics and action obsessed youth.
This may sound like a negative review but its not. I really enjoyed this game. It was like picking up a good book where you had to persevere to the end to see what was going on. Your actions can have repercussions and you may need to replay some chapters in order to see a different outcome at the end (which by the way you will see in about 6-7 hrs)
This is a novel and refreshing change to games found on a console and I would recommend to anyone who enjoys the adventure genre and is willing to put in the time to uncover the mystery but don't have any expectations of it - experience it. Try a demo if you aren't sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xbox Movie Maker, 26 Nov 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fahrenheit (Xbox) (Video Game)
Point and click adventures like the fabulous Monkey Island - a genre I love very much - are seriously thin on the ground for consoles like the Xbox. The closest in real terms was probably Broken Sword 3, but Fahrenheit - known as 'Indigo Prophecy' outside of Europe - is not a bad effort either and generally deserves the accolades it received upon release.

It plays like an interactive movie - basically, you have to do a minimum set of the right things in each act in order to progress to the next act. As in a classic point-and-clicker you move from location to location exploring, finding and using objects and having conversations with the various characters you meet. In addition, there are a number of high-octane 'action' sequences which you have to get through by successfully following a quick succession of joystick tweaks which flash up on the screen. Do them successfully and the action continues to unfold, fail and the character falls off the building, is run over by a car or fails to play the guitar properly - to a point and click veteran this part (waggling the sticks) probably sounds dire, but it plays much better than it sounds. Failing is frustrating, but surviving a three minute long attack sequence during which your apartment literally disintegrates around you is incredibly exhilarating, as are certain other scenes - a rooftop fight springs to mind. The down side is that you have to focus so intently on the joystick sequences that you are barely aware of the action unfolding on the screen because you dare not start watching it.

Some (but not all) of these sequences can be replayed as mini-movies at the end of the game, but I would have liked to have seen a 'replay' option so you could sit back and enjoy whatever it was that you just managed to do, again.

What really sets Fahrenheit apart is the superb audio-visual style employed with multiple windows showing different aspects of a scene unfolding at the same time. It borrows inspiration from many sources - from Twin Peaks, for example - watch out for the swinging traffic light and the score by Angelo Badalamenti - and from 'The Matrix' and 'Constantine'. The in-character animation of almost all of the characters is superb, Tyler moves like a well-cool black dude, Carla looks Italian-American, sexy and fairly hard and dangerous, while Lucas (the man in the wrong place at the wrong time) just looks lost and scared.

Storywise, it does occasionally plumb unexpected depths but the characterisation and facial animation make all of the characters - even the waitress in the diner - so completely believable that you eventually care about them all. There are even a couple of sex scenes, done very sweetly and just right, enhancing and emphasising the humanity and fragility of the characters involved.

As the plot is very linear, the game doesn't really have much replay value, and for that reason I would have loved the game (once completed) to have had the ability to play itself all the way through along the optimum path while I watched it unfold like an actual movie. An optional director's commentary voiceover during replay would have been even better. Sadly, neither of these features were included

When the final credits rolled I felt the same sense of sadness that I sometimes do when I've just seen a really great book or movie for the first time, because when something is this good, you just never want it to end. For me, Fahrenheit was that sort of experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely great...!, 28 July 2007
By 
S. R. Slayford (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fahrenheit (Xbox) (Video Game)
I loved this game, totally different from what I expected, highly reccomend to anyone. This is a must have game for the xbox. I for one have told all my friends about it as none of them had heard of it - which is a crime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST for all adventure gamers!!!, 18 Sep 2005
This review is from: Fahrenheit (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game can be summed up in one sentence. The best adventure game for xbox. Fahrenheit has brought new features to the genre, such as the new split screen mode, where certain events will become shown in up to 4 different screens, with 3 showing the location from different angles and the last showing you. Overall, as a percentage, id give it 95% as the game is brilliant, with only two design faults, making it no less enjoyable to play. One being that when the camera angle of you changes while in gameplay, the controls can be a bit confusing while in sometimes the directional buttons staying the same, and in others being opposite. The only other critisism i could come up with, however small, is the small icons that show what to do with different buttons as even on a 32" screen it can be fairly difficult to see from a usual game-playing distance. other than that, the game was really well made, with no bugs found yet, and brilliant graphics. The different ultimatum system, within fahrenheits gameplay system, probably couldnt be made any better, with different answers leading to different decisions from the player, and different game outcomes. even not speaking to someone can change the whole game. Also the Stress system is a great addition to the adventure genre. Be neutral and you'll have no problems, get your character depressed and you'll have problems. In the game you get to play as 4 different characters;
Lucas Kane (the murderer), Detective Carla Valenti, NYPD Agent Tyler Miles, and last but not least, Markus Kane (the murderers brother). all the way through the game you'll swap between all four characters to perform different acts within the game, and at some points, have the option to choose between a couple of the characters. Overall, this is probably the best one player game for xbox so far, and definately makes up for the lack of adventure games recently, especially for XBox.
Overall Rating: 5 Stars, 95 Percent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game - but you still may not like it, 4 Oct 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fahrenheit (Xbox) (Video Game)
I have no arguments with most of the positive reviews here. This is undoubtedly a worthy and interesting new take on the adventure game genre. Anyone who plays it will recognise this as a 'significant' game.
But I want to introduce a note of caution: this game is not for everyone. There is a very good chance that long before the end you will give up through boredom or frustration. It's that sort of game. You can appreciate it's quality and strengths but that doesn't mean you will enjoy it.
The story, the strongest part of the game, starts brilliantly but tails off about halfway through and ends up quite daft. The interactive/action elements (so called gameplay) at first seem engagingly different but, like the story, slowly you realise they've deteriorated to become tediously frequent, often unnecessary punctuation. It actually inteferes with your enjoyment of the story.
But the main problem is that the hype would have you believe this is that almost mythical thing: a true interactive story which branches as you progress, dependent on the choices you make. It isn't. It is much more linear than most reviews would have you believe. Very little of what you do actually makes a significant difference to the way the story pans out.
What you're left with is a decent, if familiar, refreshingly mature, well presented and involving story, FOR A GAME. The characters are well defined and well acted, FOR A GAME. But is that enough for many gamers?
Look at it and compare it to any well made investigative/detective police series on TV - you see this sort of material, and better, week in week out. The point is that it can just about hold it's own in this company - that is what really makes it a unique game.
But then you have to consider the interactive/action elements which help define this as a game rather than just a story. Are they relevant, interesting, or even well done? Answer: often not.
Somebody else described Fanrenheit as "a murder mystery married to a dance game". I would refine that and call it a flawed murder mystery in an uncomfortable menage-a-tois with a dance game and sports game.
If that sounds like the sort of thing you may like, give it a go. But please do not expect Fahrenheit to be the best gaming experience you've ever had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 degrees, 23 Oct 2005
This review is from: Fahrenheit (Xbox) (Video Game)
What can I say a fantastic blend of set pieces and free will,You play as main character Lucas Kane who wakes up after commiting a murder with no recollection of doing so or one of three other secondary characters, detectives Carla Valenti and Tyler Miles or Lucas's brother Marcus.You must evade police in search of the killer or end up being put inside for life.This game plays very much like watching a movie BUT! don't let that this put you off,I nearly did and would have missed out on a truly thrilling experience. This is unlike any game you will ever play making the right decision with split second timing and the use of both analogue sticks in life threatening sequences in order to succeed prove to be a heart racing experience.Graphics aren't particularly ground breaking but do the job, characters are involced and voice acting passes the requirement needed to keep you involved in the story and plot,a welcome release from Atari.All in all a fantastic experience not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lights, camera, action!!, 7 Oct 2005
By 
Nick (Edinburgh, Lothian United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fahrenheit (Xbox) (Video Game)
We are very lucky. Fahrenheit almost didn't make the shelves this year due to various reasons and when it finally appeared recently people picked it up and thought 'What's this then?' Well I think it's the sleeper hit of 05 and I'll tell you why later.
The basic premise of the story is this. You play an IT Manager getting on with his life in a city that never stops snowing. One minute you are warming your hands with a cup of coffee in a small diner, the next minute you wake up in the gents lavvy covered in blood with a dead guy at your feet. You realise you have been in some sort of weird trance and you have just committed a brutal murder. You need to get the hell out of there and find out who or what made you do this. The game actually plays like a movie. You control the main character but as the story progresses you get to play the police actually investigating the murder you committed! Cool eh?
The game is played out in chapters. You get a nice 3rd person view of your character and you control him within the environment of that chapter. For example a few episodes takes place in your apartment. You can pretty much interact with anything here, turn on the telly, open the fridge to get a drink, have a kip in the bedroom, listen to music or play your guitar. All this is done using the thumb sticks alone, you don't actually use any of the buttons in the game, which was a real first for me. The beauty of the story is the fact that anything can happen. One minute your wandering about the apartment then the screen splits in a cool 24 kind of way to see a cop ringing your doorbell. You have blood stained clothes all over the place and you need to hide all the evidence before the time runs out at the top of the screen. These surprises are absolutely fantastic and really make you feel like you are the central character in a very expensive movie.

As the story develops the action really picks up. A lot of the sequences have a distinct Matrix feel about them because your character changes throughout the game and a lot of the fight sequences involve super human punching, throwing and bullet dodging. During any action "Get ready!" will appear onscreen and the thumb sticks appear that are colour coded. When they flash you have to move the sticks to correspond colour to perform the moves and it can get really tricky on the later stages. The only problem here is that you spend more time concentrating on the thumbs stick onscreen rather than the actual action, but it won't bother you all that much. There are a couple of other gripes so I may as well get them out of the way. The camera can be very frustrating in some areas, especially when you have to do something quickly your character can disappear off screen and your frantically trying to get the camera to follow. My only other issue was the length of the actual game as i managed to complete it in about 7 hours and I was by no means rushing through it. I think this was down to the fact that I enjoyed the experience so much I sort of lost track of time and one way take make it last longer is to set the action sequences on hard. All in all this is an incredibly involving game for adults with loads of twists and turns, naked lady's and blistering action. It's like watching a really good film, the only difference being the fact that you actually star in it. So get on set because you're on..............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best game on Xbox!, 9 Jun 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fahrenheit (Xbox) (Video Game)
First off I believe this to be the best game on Xbox. I just bought it to play again on my Xbox 360 and upscaled graphics look really good!

One of the most engaging storylines that have you really on the edge of your seat when played in the dark! You take on the role of Lucas Kane who wakes after murdering someone and goes on the run! You also play the roles of the cops after him but all parties have a great story.

Such a polished game that offers a play style that really pulls you into the story. Sometimes you need to perform an action or your character needs to perform a physical effort and you will be hammering the left and right triggers. Trust me, you'll be exhausted too! Quite time events are also in there and they make the game the experience it is.

Highly recommend this to anyone. Fast paced, great story and scenes that you'll remember for a long time after!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game with a few mechanical problems, 26 Aug 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fahrenheit (Xbox) (Video Game)
Works perfectly on my xbox360.

This game is very well paced and the characters (although some are complete stereotypes) are interesting and likeable. Overall the controls work pretty well, but its really nothing more than quick-time events a lot of the time. Unfortunately there are few scenes in this game in which the controls really let it down, serious issues with the camera and movement make parts frustrating and awkward. However this was only really an issue once or twice.

Very good game for people who like detective style games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fahrenheit A Masterpiece, 30 Oct 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fahrenheit (Xbox) (Video Game)
I have been a fan of this ever since I first played. The psychological aspect is brilliant, the action sequences are on the same level as The Matrix, The dialogue/voice acting is simply inspiring. I can find no fault with this game, even the puzzles were relatively good and I hate puzzles, they were well thought out.

The characters are likeable, the villains are sinister, nothing more to add then this is simply a masterpiece and what would you expect when its sister is none other than Heavy Rain.If you like psychological supernatural thrillers or Heavy Rain, buy it buy it NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fahrenheit (Xbox)
Fahrenheit (Xbox) by Namco Bandai (Xbox)
23.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews