Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A truly amazing game, for the first few hours....
This game gives you no tutorial when you begin, you are thrown straight in. Unless you had the sense to read the manual, all you have to rely on are constant control tips flashing up.
The opening scene involves you, and part of the spartan army, being rallied by your leader. during his speech a strange voice speaks out to you, the gods are talking... to you, a lone...
Published on 17 Oct 2005

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A history lesson this is not....
Spartan Total Warrior has a mixed appeal for me that on one hand slakes my need to cause massive, bloody carnage upon a never ending enemy, and at the same time seems to go on endlessly without ever offering much in the way of choice or diversity from level to level.

However if you are indeed a fan of all out bloodshed, then this is the game for you...
Published on 4 Sep 2006 by Tom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Spartan: Total Warrior, 16 April 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
When I first loaded up Spartan: Total Warrior, I felt that although fairly average, it was a good game to play to take a break from the more serious games out there. However, as time went on, everything became very stale and bland and there simply was not enough to make me want to keep playing.

Plot: You play an unnamed warrior simple called Spartan that sets out to save his civilization from the threat of the Romans. You must battle different armies while seeking out legendary weapons to help turn the tide. Eventually, once you're prepared, you will take on the Romans themselves in Rome and defeat the Roman Emperor Tiberius.

Although when playing, you can obviously see they aren't aiming to provide a realistic game, some of the ideas implemented really are terrible. For example using Medusa in a machine to suck her powers off her just doesn't fit with the setting at all. It's like they can't decide what they really want the game to be about.

Graphics: Quite poor. Although most areas are huge, the camera is scaled back so much just so you only notice the size of everything rather then the lack of detail applied to just about everything.

The main characters lack realism, the different enemies and allies of armies lack uniqueness and all your surrounding lack texture. Some may blame this on the console it's on but I've seen the PS2 produce much better.

Sound: Awful. Not only do the characters voices lack emotion but they hardly sound different to each other either. Another thing I found particularly annoying was the accents of the characters. The good guys have an American accent while the evil Romans have a really terrible English accent. Surely they can think of better villains then that?

Gameplay: Spartan: Total Warrior is a hack n slash game that lacks everything else that makes the likes of God of War great. No puzzling elements or a decent plot means that it's simply about killing everything in sight to get to the next objective to only have to do the same all over again.

At points in the game, you do get the option to say open gates or set fire to tents but this is all done with one button press and you're always told exactly where to go to do it. You have a group of warriors that accompany you on your journey and while supposedly there to help you fight, I found them more there to keep telling you what to do and herding you from one checkpoint to the next. Honestly, a three year old could follow the instruction of the game it's that simple.

Controls: Your usual hack n slash controls. You have buttons for stronger and weaker attacks as well as the option to use special powers for attacking too. Nothing different here that you wouldn't find elsewhere.

Overall: I had high hopes for a game created by the makers of the Total War series and with this game it fell far too short of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spartan Total Warrior, 27 Sep 2009
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
My mum got this for my birthday as I like all types of strategy games and it is great. I play it all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Roman Rampage, 1 July 2009
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
Spartan Total Warrior is a basic hack 'n' slash. A pretty tough one. Problem is every level is the same, the slaughter of umteen Romans and for the odd change Zulu types.

The gameplay is frantic as you tackle waves upon waves of relentless enemies, often whilst trying to complete simple objectives. Completing them involves wading into the masses.

Fun initially it starts to get repetitive after a while. Some parts of the game are extremely tough requiring a lot of repetition. To be honest, competing some objectives is down to luck as you are not really in control of your own success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hack 'n slash brilliance, 1 Aug 2006
By 
S. Faulkner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
great for passing an hour or so a day to relieve some stress

it has its easy bits, and it has its very difficult bits, and it has a good range of weaponary.

certainly worth anyones money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars total warrior, 6 May 2006
By 
jack HoLdEr "jack" (wadebridge ,cornwall) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
this is an amazing game, with super graphics and gameplay,

the gameplay is very easy but to easy as the their are know combo moves. The graphics are amazing as you can see the heads fly off from the romans also the dead roman bodies do not disapear, wih amazing detail of your fellow spartons, the background graphics are brilliant with fine detail.

The only down fall is the skeltons and the roman zombies which are just a waste of time,

The mythical creatures sparton has to fight, have there own weakness whick you have to find out .

This is a Legardnary game which i think you should buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spartan is Superb, 23 Nov 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
When i fist bought this game i thought it would be like just any other ordinary game.But when i played it,I was totally blown away.The game is just like how they do it in war films.A massive army with a hero (which is you) charging in alongside his troops, against the odds.The games graphics also add to the superb detailness and gore which spartan gives you.Overall i would recommend this game to anyone who liked God of war or dynasty warriors.

I would give this game an amazing 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars second best sword game to God Of War, 9 July 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
This only lack behind God Of War in one way Its not quite as cool or mid-blowing but a fantastic game. There are a variety of different people to kill and plenty of them. They have taken enimies from Greek Mythology Medusa the Romans etc and have compiled it into a game which is fun and genious, there is also enough variety of gameplay. In One word this game is GENIOUS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Imoressive, but not what it could have been., 28 Dec 2005
By 
Mr "X" (Glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
Where to start...the game itself is well crafted, with literally hundreds of opponents on screen at any one time which you can carve your way through. The first few levels are very addictive and the playability appeal is high, but it does start to falter and some levels are just plain horrible in the sense that they are just far too difficult.
It appears to me that the creators of this game had an excellent idea that worked in theory, but not as well in practice. There are several glitches to be found at points in the game; the most notable was in the Temple on level 1. Myself and the fellow Spartans had wasted the Romans, but one walked behind a wall and had obviously stuck and because the Spartan could not jump up the platform to kill the Roman the game could not proceed and I had to restart that level. The game crashed several times before the level was completed.
On the theme of glitches there is one of the most frustrating parts to the game where you have to accompany Arcamedes through the streets of Athens to a safe house (which to warn you is not very safe). He, of course, does not carry a weapon and is completely vulnerable to attack. Having to replay this level around 30 times because of one thing after another including Arcamedes becoming stuck in a doorway and being unable to progress because of this. Also the recurring nuisance of the doubled bladed swordsman that can perform acrobatics whilst slicing away at your character. They are almost impossible to defeat and on this specific level they kept killing the Spartan.
The level with the Minotaur was also very annoying because of these double bladed characters swamping you at any one time. There are at times when you are alone in the game far too many enemies to defeat in levels that can be far too long.
Another aspect I did not like was that they tried to convey the Romans as being Nazis by having flags with Eagles and a similar symbol to the Swastika displayed outside occupied buildings.
The positive aspects are reasonable graphics, decent enough gameplay at the points where you can progress, an excellent story, one of the best stories in fact. The historical details of the game are also very impressive and the recreation of a forgotten empire is superb.
If you enjoyed Shadow of Rome, then this is for you, although the graphics are not as good, it is still great historical fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for mindless violence for 5 - 10 minuets, 4 Nov 2007
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
At first I read all the reviews and thought "great this game looks to be mindless violence with a little bit of strategy required." I am a fan of the Total (war) series and thought I would see what this is like.

First of all I will say that this game is amazingly good for just kicking the crap out of anything you come across. Running into 100 Romans and killing them all is fun, but a bit repetitive after a while.

I brought this game on the Tuesday, and by the Thursday I had completed it. this game is very short, ok I spent 5 hours on it over the time, but I would expected that to take me only about half way through. This looses it a star. It also looses a star because there is no multiplayer and it does get reparative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
Great game, all time fav
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2)
Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) by Sega (PlayStation2)
10.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews