Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A truly amazing game, for the first few hours....
This game gives you no tutorial when you begin, you are thrown straight in. Unless you had the sense to read the manual, all you have to rely on are constant control tips flashing up.
The opening scene involves you, and part of the spartan army, being rallied by your leader. during his speech a strange voice speaks out to you, the gods are talking... to you, a lone...
Published on 17 Oct 2005

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A history lesson this is not....
Spartan Total Warrior has a mixed appeal for me that on one hand slakes my need to cause massive, bloody carnage upon a never ending enemy, and at the same time seems to go on endlessly without ever offering much in the way of choice or diversity from level to level.

However if you are indeed a fan of all out bloodshed, then this is the game for you...
Published on 4 Sep 2006 by Tom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic in every word, 19 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is very epic. I was expecting your typical hack and slash affair with little substance but I was proved wrong. The opening level you have to defend Sparta from the Romans and you along with 100's of AI Spartans charge into battle. I have never seen so many enimies and AI characters on the screen at one time, it feels like you in the middle of the battle scenes from Gladiator or Troy it is hardcore. The game mixes up to keep you entertained, there are sneeking missions, guard missions and plain old kill everyone and the control setup is not over complicated making the pulling off of the gory combos very easy but at the same time its rewarding beheading 5 enimies at once. There are also free play mode and an arena mode where you fight against varioes enimies Gladiator style. A very well put together game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this game is wicked but too hard, 14 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
i really really liked this game and i think the total war company did very well for their first ps2 game however the controls are quite different from the average game and almost all the levels are too hard so when you complete the game you almost instantly lose intrest in it mainly because it only has 14 levels admitadly the graphics are stunning but when the spartan (the person you play as)runs, he only uses his shins and not the upper part of his legs and he can jump unnaturally high but overall the good part of the game outflanks the bad part so i do reccomend this to people who like short games which are reasonably hard and have levels the total war company must have wide imaginations to be able to think up the barbarian badlands, walls of sparta, tombs of achillies and the colleseum of rome also it has a storyline worthy of a book
written by william craig cohen

P.S the levels are so long they hardly seem like levels at all
and lastly the fighting is amazing along with the number of moves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN AWESOME GAME, 8 Jan 2006
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
Spartan total warrior is amazing. you start as the unnamed warrior spartan defending your great city of sparta. but then the gods wish you to get an item and you plunge into an amazing adventure with your comrades. one of the great things about this game is that as you hack yourself through amazing levels you are actually gaining experiance and when you complete the levels your character can get better at fighting he advances for warrior to hero the to legend.
you can fight mysticial beasts like the minotaur, the 8 headed thing from herculies (sorry forgot the name) even the god of war aries. you don't just fight the same old roman foot solider either you fight different units all the time the strongr you get the stronger the get you even fight zombies and skeltons. looks like i am running out of room.
IT IS A MUST HAVE GAME!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game is a must buy!, 26 Jan 2006
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is amazing, imagine Rome total war exept your a soldier and you have to kick ass! This game is one of the best games iv'e played, it is addictive and long lasting.
It starts of as Rome invading Sparta and the God of war gives you a deal. He will give you amazing powers and strength if you give him blood. After each level you get points and when you have your point bar full you become warrior to Hero to Legend. I wouldn't say the game is too hard but it is long, with the main story and Arena. Trust me, get this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Spartan Total Warrior, 16 Dec 2006
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
Ok so another game from the succesful makers of Total War, this game has a lot to live up to.

Spartan total warrior is very easy to master and provides a solid base of entertainment in the short term, however it is a very short game and can be completed within a week (playing basically an hour or two a day) The battle are pretty basic compared to other such hack and slash games eg. Lord of the rings and Baldurs Gate, and the gameplay becomes increasively repetitive.

The bonus features such as the arena mode is pointless in my opinion, fighting your way through masses of enemies in different battle arena's till you fail. But the main turn off for me has to be the load time, its not worth the wait sometimes it exceeds (and I have timed this) 4 mins and 20 seconds to load a basic level.

Overall this game is a good game if your new to the world of hack and slash providing entertainment to an extent, but unfortunately this novelty quikly wears off and your left with a poor attempt by Total war to enter the ps2 market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A look back at Spartan: Total Warrior, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
Playing this game when I was a kid, I decided to re-order it when i got my old Playstation back.

First thing, first. This game is so brutal! I love it! while it may not be as gory or as scary as newer games, this game is awesome. from epic battles, to violent decapitations and incinerations, this game is so violently awesome.

The plot is also fairly interesting too. Following the story of a nameless Spartan warrior fighting against the roman empire, the game kept me hooked into the plot enough to revisit this ancient greek story.

The boss battles are pretty unique as well. For example, you have to fight the Hydra, a mythical 9 headed monster, and even Ares, the greek god of war. Some of these battles require a little thinking and planning, which makes it more appealing than other games that came out in the same year, well, in my opinion.

All in all, this game is awesome! while im not usually a fan of level based games, and I prefer open world games, it is still worth playing. Deliciously violent, interesting plot and unique characters, i would put this game in my top 5 favorite games of all time, and highly recommend it.

9.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wrong disk, free and quick replacement, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
I received guitar hero 3, and sent them a message and within a day a new one was sent out. As much as I was miffed at getting the wrong game the service and their responce was great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT GAME, 29 Jun 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
loved this game, the gore, the game play is all awesome. i love how nothing can overstate the power and defense of the shield. this game should bring out a sequel. great game for Greek mythology and war games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 3 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
I found this game rather entertaining.

It doesn't have:
complex puzzles if you're into that.
the most amazing storyline

It does have:
Simple hack and slash fun.
enough changes in mission, level style, enemies, bosses and weapons to keep you entertained. (my personal favourite was the dual blades (i forget their name) but it was most entertaining using up your power build up thing (it's been a while since i played) and then unleashing it with the blades and decapitating nearby 10 or so enemies.
It does include a few of your favourite Greek mythical creatures (always fun).
Storyline although present, with a mystery and accomplices and a nemesis if i remember correctly and all the usual, does have quite a poor ending leaving you wanting a bit more, which is a shame. But the length of the story is plenty long enough.
It also has a challenge type mode where you battle waves of enemies and see how many waves you can survive. This is lightly entertaining.

I would recomend this game, it is fun, especially if you played God of War and thought that there wasn't enough enemies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Spartan: Total Warrior, 16 April 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) (Video Game)
When I first loaded up Spartan: Total Warrior, I felt that although fairly average, it was a good game to play to take a break from the more serious games out there. However, as time went on, everything became very stale and bland and there simply was not enough to make me want to keep playing.

Plot: You play an unnamed warrior simple called Spartan that sets out to save his civilization from the threat of the Romans. You must battle different armies while seeking out legendary weapons to help turn the tide. Eventually, once you're prepared, you will take on the Romans themselves in Rome and defeat the Roman Emperor Tiberius.

Although when playing, you can obviously see they aren't aiming to provide a realistic game, some of the ideas implemented really are terrible. For example using Medusa in a machine to suck her powers off her just doesn't fit with the setting at all. It's like they can't decide what they really want the game to be about.

Graphics: Quite poor. Although most areas are huge, the camera is scaled back so much just so you only notice the size of everything rather then the lack of detail applied to just about everything.

The main characters lack realism, the different enemies and allies of armies lack uniqueness and all your surrounding lack texture. Some may blame this on the console it's on but I've seen the PS2 produce much better.

Sound: Awful. Not only do the characters voices lack emotion but they hardly sound different to each other either. Another thing I found particularly annoying was the accents of the characters. The good guys have an American accent while the evil Romans have a really terrible English accent. Surely they can think of better villains then that?

Gameplay: Spartan: Total Warrior is a hack n slash game that lacks everything else that makes the likes of God of War great. No puzzling elements or a decent plot means that it's simply about killing everything in sight to get to the next objective to only have to do the same all over again.

At points in the game, you do get the option to say open gates or set fire to tents but this is all done with one button press and you're always told exactly where to go to do it. You have a group of warriors that accompany you on your journey and while supposedly there to help you fight, I found them more there to keep telling you what to do and herding you from one checkpoint to the next. Honestly, a three year old could follow the instruction of the game it's that simple.

Controls: Your usual hack n slash controls. You have buttons for stronger and weaker attacks as well as the option to use special powers for attacking too. Nothing different here that you wouldn't find elsewhere.

Overall: I had high hopes for a game created by the makers of the Total War series and with this game it fell far too short of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2)
Spartan: Total Warrior (PS2) by Sega (PlayStation2)
10.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews