Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars quality review
good quality and played well with no problems. i had no issues of any kind when i used this product
Published 5 months ago by adam miller

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good at all.
I liked the original Urban Legend, it wasn't an amazing film but the concept was a good one. I was pretty dissapointed with the sequel which is why I was suprised to see another title in the franchise being released.

One thing I have to point out first is how bad the acting is in this movie. Granted, a terrible script usually means the acting is going to...
Published on 22 Sep 2006 by Mr. N. W. Blackford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good at all., 22 Sep 2006
By 
Mr. N. W. Blackford (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Urban Legends: Bloody Mary [DVD] (DVD)
I liked the original Urban Legend, it wasn't an amazing film but the concept was a good one. I was pretty dissapointed with the sequel which is why I was suprised to see another title in the franchise being released.

One thing I have to point out first is how bad the acting is in this movie. Granted, a terrible script usually means the acting is going to suffer. But this movie is full of awful acting, truely shocking lines delivered with wooden performances and laughable talent. Tina Lifford (who plays Mary's friend Grace Taylor) is the only performance which came across with any style.

The formula of the other movies was standard hack-and-slash stuff, with a masked killer on the rampage knocking off victims in ways which resemble common urban myths. In this addition to the series a supernatural element is added, it's a bizzare move and one that wasn't really necessary. The idea of a killer based upon Bloody Mary is a good one, but resorting to actually realising the myth is a big mistake and destroys all hopes of realism and therefore tension throughout the film.

The special effects are pretty bad with any CGI elements sticking way out, which is a shame because there are some pretty cool ideas in the movie; in particular the scene with the spiders...

There are better, scarier films out there. If you want to be scared, try out Alexandra Aja's 'The Hills Have Eyes' remake, a movie that is grossly under-rated. But don't buy this, don't even rent this out, it only endorses simular terrible straight-to-DVD sequels such as 'I Will Always Know What You Did Last Summer' being made in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A weak addition to the series, but it's not all that bad, 31 Dec 2005
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Urban Legends: Bloody Mary [DVD] (DVD)
I was pretty psyched when I saw there was a third addition to the Urban Legends series - the first film was fantastic, and the second one was also pretty good. Then I saw that Urban Legends - Bloody Mary was a direct-to-video release that seemingly had nothing to do with the first two films. At that point, I just hoped this third film wouldn't be too awful. While the film falls far short of its predecessors, Urban Legends - Bloody Mary isn't all that bad. It has some definite weaknesses, but it also has a nice sampling of blood and gore.
There are many variations on the old Bloody Mary story, but it makes for classic urban legend fare. Look in the mirror, say Bloody Mary's name three times, and she appears - and then the fun begins. Apparently, a mirror isn't actually required after all, as young Samantha Owens (Kate Mara) apparently conjures the restless spirit without one after hearing the story of a local girl supposedly killed back in 1969. The next morning, she and her slumber party friends turn up missing. This is a real weak point in the story, as the whole missing episode is not handled well at all. Anyway, a connection seems to be established between Samantha and Mary Banner, the girl who was killed all those years ago. The only difference between the two girls is the fact that Samantha lived to tell about her disappearance (although, for unexplainable reasons, neither sets of girls ever told authorities who was responsible).
Those responsible for Samantha's disappearance start dying, in rather gruesome ways, which makes Sam and her brother David (whom some blame for the murders) exceedingly unpopular at school. By about the second murder, the whole urban legend m.o. is applied rather loosely, and the whole thing becomes basically a slasher film. Still, there's still the Bloody Mary connection, and Samantha comes to believe that the killer is the ghost of Mary and that she is killing the children of those responsible for her death.
There's no denying that Urban Legends - Bloody Mary is an exceedingly predictable little film. Mary's killer might as well have walked around with the words "I did it" on his forehead. There are some decent-sized holes in the plot, as well. As I mentioned, the disappearance of Samantha and her friends doesn't add up, and that gets the film off to a shaky start. Then there's the obvious question: why did neither of the sets of girls tell authorities who were responsible for their disappearances? That makes no sense at all. As for the climactic scene, the filmmakers decide to go crazy with visual effects for some reason, and that is another negative.
Still, I enjoyed this movie. The special effects for Bloody Mary herself are pretty good, and the deaths are reasonably gory (although we sometimes only see the aftermath of them) - if you hate spiders, I'm warning you right now that you do not want to watch this movie. You really have to judge this film on its own merits, as it really has next to nothing to do with the first two Urban Legends movies. Since the filmmakers sort of just ignore the whole urban legend m.o. for some of the later murders, it really doesn't belong in the series at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The legends goes on..., 15 Nov 2005
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Urban Legends: Bloody Mary [DVD] (DVD)
Being a big fan of the first two and teen horrors in general, I was surprised that Urban legends 3 didn't get a cinema release. The first two films are very poular and among some of the best in the gerne. So being a straight to DVD film I was expecting the worst. Although quite low budget, it feels like a TV movie, it is quite good fun.
After a prank backfires years ago, bloody Mary comes back to seek revenge on those responsible for her death. Straight forward plot and storyline, featuring an unknown, mainly young sexy cast and some reasonable special effects, make-up this is quite a good film. It has its gory moments, one stands out especially with spiders!! Mary does look quite scary with the glowing green eyes and rotten teeth. By no means a classic but horror fans will definitely want to see it and provides quite an entertaining film for others as well.Overall not quite as good as some teen horrors, Scream etc but a lot better than most low budget straight to DVD horrors. Well worth renting! 6/10
The only real special feature on the disc is an 18min long making of which concentrates mainly on the special effects and make up, with brief chats with the main actors and director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It keeps You scared!, 18 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. M. K. Johnson (Norwich,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Urban Legends: Bloody Mary [DVD] (DVD)
If You are after something a little bit more scary than usual,than this is for You. I bought this for my daughters friend who has not got a Amazon account,as she has no computer! It has what the Urban legend fans want. I would sat get this one if You are an urban legend fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected...., 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: Urban Legends: Bloody Mary [DVD] (DVD)
Samantha Owens is the editor of the high school newspaper and was blacklisted with her two friends, Gina and Mindy, by the football players after an article about them, so they do not go to a high school party.

Samantha tells to the other girls an urban legend told by her mother: in 1969, in Salt Lake City, the two girlfriends of Mary Banner are drugged by their dates in a prom, but she understands the situation and runs from her date, who kills her and hide her body in a trunk in the basement of the school.

Along the night, the three girls are drugged and kidnapped in a prank of the players, but Samantha has visions and premonitions about Mary.

When her school mates are killed, Mary visits Grace Taylor, one of the girls abused in 1969, and finds that the victims are the descendants of the trio that killed Mary......

Had very low expectations after the disaster that was the second movie. But sometimes, these direct to DVD sequels have a knack of being pretty good and making you wish there were more instalments.

There is nothing original about the film, and the makers even steal deaths from other movies (the sun-bed scene is straight from FD3), and the hotel scene and Mary are reminiscent of The Ring and Samara.

But one cannot help to enjoy the film. Who cannot enjoy three girls having a pillow fight, mocking each other, and then being abducted, it makes no sense to the narrative, but, the film works.

There is a twist at the end, but it's nothing special, and adds nothing to the film.

Aside from that, it's a throwaway movie which does it's job
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality review, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Urban Legends: Bloody Mary [DVD] (DVD)
good quality and played well with no problems. i had no issues of any kind when i used this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Urban Legends, Bloody Mary, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Urban Legends: Bloody Mary [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this DVD for a friend for Christmas and got a chance to see it for myself. This is the third movie in the trilogy; it's better than the 2nd one, but not as good as the 1st one. Overall it is an 'ok' movie and worth a watch if you're a 'Urban Legends' fan. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm?!, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: Urban Legends: Bloody Mary [DVD] (DVD)
Maybe just a step too far making this film. I loved the other Urban Legend films & if you've not seen them, have a watch. This however was a different style & a lot of unrealisitic cheese. I don't mind watching cheesey horror films but only when the movie doesn't seem to take itself seriously. It was time I will never get back & I wont watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Seen it all before, 15 Jan 2007
By 
Deanne Dixon "deanne9499" (Sunny South Shields) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like any good horror film, "Urban Legends: Bloody Mary" is a tale of retribution. Briefly, the film starts with a flashback to a home-coming dance set in 1969. Three members of the football team decide to spike the drinks of three girls at the dance, in the hope of taking advantage of them on the way home. Two of the girls drink their punch, whilst the third, Mary, leaves hers on the table at the suggestion she goes "somewhere else" with her date for the night. On getting outside, and seeing her friends being virtually forced into a car, Mary realises what is happening and makes a run for it - hotly pursued by her date. Mary runs back into the school, finding refuge in a secluded "authorised persons only" room - but is ultimately found by the man who turns out to be her killer. A struggle occurs, and on biting her date, Mary is punched to the floor, and to her death. Her body is hidden inside a chest in the room and remains there for the best part of thirty years...

"Urban Legends", as an idea, has so much potential - potential to which only the first film lives up to. "Bloody Mary" is based upon the main character from "The Ring", and on seeing our character for the first time, there is an undeniable similarity that initially makes you jump. But on seeing "Mary" a second time, the essence of horror is lost and we are never really frightened again by the woman who seeks revenge.

The film also fails in really bringing any originality into what is, on the surface, a good concept. We have already seen the "death by sunbed" scene in "Final Destination 3", and the story-line itself looks remarkably similar to that of "Valentine". Moreover, anybody who has any REAL interest in horror "post-Scream" will see the ending a mile off.

What prevents me from giving the film two stars, rather than three, is the cameo performance of "Grace" - one of the girls abused on the night of the home-coming party. Similar in sardonic wit and feisty character to the police detective in the first two films - this is the one piece of familiarisation that the film got right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Urban Legends: Bloody Mary [DVD]
Urban Legends: Bloody Mary [DVD] by Jeff Olson (DVD - 2005)
2.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews