Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


128 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection
This 13 DVD collection of Potters best work is great. Sure, I miss "Lipstick on your collar", "Cold Lazarus" and "Karaoke", but, although good, they aren't Essential Potter. The image and sound quality are good, but this is TV material, and some of it old... (you can't show off your plasma screen with it). There aren't much in the way of extras (a few commentaries, and...
Published on 26 Jan. 2008 by Zippo

versus
4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
Casanova with Frank Finlay is dire, but Pennies from Heaven and most of the rest in the box set are great. Pity it did not include Lipstick on Your Collar which I had to purchase separately.
Published on 29 Oct. 2012 by van de erekes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

128 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, 26 Jan. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dennis Potter [DVD] (DVD)
This 13 DVD collection of Potters best work is great. Sure, I miss "Lipstick on your collar", "Cold Lazarus" and "Karaoke", but, although good, they aren't Essential Potter. The image and sound quality are good, but this is TV material, and some of it old... (you can't show off your plasma screen with it). There aren't much in the way of extras (a few commentaries, and some archive material), but if you want quality television (writing, acting, directing - all of it), that is entertaining yet meaningful, and that will stay in your mind for a long time, I can think of no better collection.
Blue Remembered Hills 1 DVD (71 min)
Brimstone and Treacle 1 DVD (72 min, + "Did you see?" 1987)
Stand up, Nigel Barton & Vote, vote, vote, for Nigel Barton 1 DVD (148 min)
Casanova 2 DVDs (3 episodes, 320 min)
The Mayor of Casterbridge 2 DVDs (6 episodes, 349 min)
Pennies from Heaven 3 DVDs (6 episodes, 477 min, + commentary on 2, photo gallery)
The Singing detective 3 DVDs (6 episodes, 392 min, + commentaries, "Close up: Dennis Potter", "Arena: Dennis Potter")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dennis Potter - the greatest T.V. Drama Writer, 11 Oct. 2009
By 
Clifford Chapman (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dennis Potter [DVD] (DVD)
I'd not hestitate to recommend this item. I've long regarded Dennis Potter as being the greatest T.V. writer of them all and this DVD collection shows why. In fact, I only wished all his plays were available, though I do also have on DVD the great 'Lipstick On Your Collar'.

In my opinion, he made T.V. become as powerful a medium as the film can be, in terms of challenging the viewer and examining the deepest and most siginificant ideas and issues that human beings can face in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vote Vote Vote for Dennis Potter!, 24 Nov. 2008
By 
P. Hanson (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Dennis Potter [DVD] (DVD)
I was almost put off buying this box set after seeing it only had an Average Customer Review of 3 stars. I assumed there must be a fault with the picture or sound quality or something along those lines. Then I noticed two of the "reviewers" have rated it only one star for reasons that are trivial to say the least. One star is an absolute insult to this great man's legacy.

So I am writing this in an attempt to get the Average Customer Review increased and give Dennis Potter the credit he deserves. I urge other like-minded people to do the same.

Dennis Potter was quite simply one of the greatest television writers Britain has ever produced - and this box set does the man justice. His work was constantly original, thought provoking and cutting edge. Even those who did not like Potter's edgy, sometimes controversial dramas must nevertheless agree that British television has become a far less interesting place since his death.

And if anyone from the BBC is reading this - may I suggest releasing an Essentail Alan Clarke box set in the very near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theatrical allegory., 16 Mar. 2010
By 
Jennings (Kirriemuir, Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Essential Dennis Potter [DVD] (DVD)
An allegory on the tragedy of the human condition. DP reflects back to us in metaphorical terms the state of our society. This writer is the Shakespeare of modern times. While in Shakespeare's era the written and spoken word were the medium of conveyance, today it is the cinematic screen to which DP uses it to its full advantage. Not only was DP an exceptional playwright but the acting too was of an exceedingly high standard. Surely those plays have to become part of the educational curriculum for literature in colleges, especially from their allegorical aspect?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dennis Potter, 26 Jan. 2013
By 
John Butler - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dennis Potter [DVD] (DVD)
this was a great buy, I've always loved this man's work , I recommend it, hours of great viewing, A great lost tallent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad all over, 21 Dec. 2011
By 
Hugh Maloney (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dennis Potter [DVD] (DVD)
Cheap at twice the price - an absolutely terrific collection of Mr. Potter's work. Sure it was delivered promptly, it's nicely presented and even the really old stuff is reasonably clear and well transferred. But the works themselves? They are priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got to see some shows that will never be shown in the US., 21 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dennis Potter [DVD] (DVD)
Well, so far, I have experienced Blue Remembered Hills and the two Nigel Barton shows. While they can't compare with The Singing Detective (nothing can), I have seen them. A plus is that this package contains The Singing Detective and Pennies from Heaven. If you don't have those, do yourself a favor and get them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dennis Potter - genius, 14 Aug. 2009
By 
G. Beyer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Dennis Potter [DVD] (DVD)
I do not own this collection, but it is now on my wish list. Dennis Potter is truly a genius. After having watched "The Singing Detective" I knew it was the best television I have ever seen. Never in my life have I been as moved by the complexities of the human mind and spirit. It literally changed my perception on life. Buy this for a friend, if not for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't potter, watch Potter (sorry), 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dennis Potter [DVD] (DVD)
Superb Potter: possibly not for everyone, but if you think that apples to you, just watch these amazing TV plays and laugh, cry and even sing. Brilliantly constructed and lavishly produced. Watch over and over...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Potter in heaven, 1 Jun. 2009
By 
Steve Punter (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Dennis Potter [DVD] (DVD)
The Essential Dennis Potter [DVD]

One of our great TV dramatists.
Look and learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Dennis Potter [DVD]
The Essential Dennis Potter [DVD] by Piers Haggard (DVD - 2005)
£34.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews