Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Primitive but fascinating
One of the oddest stories ever to emerge fom the Doctor Who canon. Once considered a classic, 'The Web Planet' is now derided by most fans. That's a shame. Of course, we're all much more sophisticated nowadays, but at the time this story was something truly magical. Yes, the production values are pretty ropey - even for 60s Doctor who! - and the sight of giant fibre glass...
Published on 7 Oct 2005

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An experimental tale, and a hard one to rate
After my effective reintroduction to vintage 'Doctor Who' with Tom Baker's 'The Brain of Morbius' (see separate review), I decided to go back to the black and white era, and chose 'The Web Planet' to start with.

First broadcast in 1965, 'The Web Planet' was heavily promoted at the time as the creative team tried to come up with a new alien race that would match...
Published on 16 Jan 2010 by J. Gathergood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planet of the Bug eyed monsters.(Literally), 22 May 2007
By 
Armchair Pundit "Armchair Pundit." (Durham City, England.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Web Planet [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
Some reviewers have mentioned that this story is slow,but stories were told at a slower pace in the sixties,to give the character's more time to develop.

And the production values may be dodgy by 21st Century standards if you want Real why not just take a walk out your front door.

I also think this story has a very interesting premise.

(A story told about a world of Insect's from the view point of Insect's.)

Why should all salient life forms be mammalian in origin?

~~~~

It's not a picture problem when the shots on the surface of Vortis look blurry they did that by putting Vaseline on the camera lens to create an "alien world look".

(A low tech solution but a good try.)

Yes it has definitely got poor production qualities like most early Who does, but SO WHAT! just immerse yourself in an interesting story.

This is the only story in "Who's" history where the only Human characters in the story were the Tardis crew.

(This story spent most of series 2's budget.)

One of the "extras" on the disc is a "Laser" beam effect of the "Venom grub/Larvae gun" firing at a Menoptera I wish they had put it in the story as an "optional" effect.(And that's my only criticism.)

There must have being some kind of conspiracy among TV Sci-fi writers in the 60's,about having insectoid life forms beginning with the letter Z. The Outer Limits had it's Zanti's,and Doctor Who had it's Zarbi's.

~~~~

Extras on disc:-

commentary by cast,producer,Director.

Tales of Isop-a making of documentary.

"The lair of Zarbi supremo" -William Russell reads a story from the 1965 Dr Who annual.

(Which i've still got.)

Spanish soundtrack episode 6.

DVD ROM/PC Mac:-The 1965 Dr Who annual.Written in a adult style for a Childrens Annual by David Whitaker(Uncredited).Doctor Who's first story editor.

Give a show slides .(Projector show cartoons.)

Photo gallery.

Production subtitles.

Digitally remastered picture and sound quality.

~~~~

Episode 1~ The Web Planet

Episode 2~ The Zarbi

Episode 3~ Escape to Danger

Episode 4~ The Crater of Needles

Episode 5~ The Invasion

Episode 6~ The Centre.

Originally Broadcast BBC1:~13/2/65-20/3/65

~~~~

Episodes didn't have single story episode titles until 1966's The Savages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my god, i'm sure he is the guv'nor of VAROS, 4 Jan 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Web Planet [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
i must admit, as i have already mentioned in another review, that tworads the end of Verity Lamberts time on Dr Who, the show had become a very slow paced plod. this story is one typical example of that. Vicky, a replacement for SUSAN was left in the TARDIS for the initial first episodes, i remember reading that the writer didn't know what to do with her, so he sent her off with a headache.

I think that despite the negatives that this particular story has, the story can be seen and appreciated for the 'art' of production. i think if there were better camera edits, and maybe reduced in episode from 6 to 5 or 4, then the pace and actual story would have picked up a lot.

I think it is very easy to look at this story and switch off half way through due to its lack of pace, but if you have spare time, please watch it, even if its over a few days, as it isn't really that bad. the menoptra when flying are very 'ballet' and, as i am studying script writing and stage/t.v. production, i can now see where they were coming from, but it didn't really hit the nail on the head, but well worth a buy for any collector of dr who
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brill Idea, weak execution, 21 Nov 2006
By 
JA Fairhurst "johnfair" (Edgeley, Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Web Planet [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
The idea behind this story, the dispossessed menoptra with their sub intelligent helpers suborned by an evil power, is fairly standard Doctor Who fair. Raising it above the standard was the implementation of the menoptra and the zarbi. OK, so the menoptra, were... less than convincing, shall we say, but the zarbi were largely well realised, particularly in their movements and the larva guns were just brilliant.

Even the menoptra were raised above their rather limited costumes when their invasion force was presented in flight - a wonderfully trippy effect of swirling 'moth' and spread wings.

As always, there were moments of sheer boredom, particularly with Barbara and Vicki in the TARDIS, though it was nice to see the domestic side of life in the TARDIS - usually overlooked.

Other people have commented on the poor quality of the tranfer in some scenes, which is a pity as it does rather distract from the story. However, it remains a worthwhile addition to the collection, particulary as there are so few Hartnell stories still around in aything like full versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, But Risky Buy, 3 Nov 2006
By 
DB (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Web Planet [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
After reading the reviews I decided that I would chance it to get The Web Planet. I was reasonably pleased with it and found it hard to see why people could complain about the costumes etc. It was not unconvincing, you just need to remember that this isn't from 2005, its from the 1960s, just accept that the costumes aren't as good. What did get me though, was throughout a lot of the scenes on the planet, the screen was smudged and this really annoyed me, surely they should have been able to do something about that. My only other complaint was that it took a while to get started. It was not until midway through the second episode that it even got anywhere.

Worth it, its good, enjoyable, accept its not state of the art HD graphics etc its good and if you will just take it for the adventure then you will probably enjoy it.

Good buy, not just for the ultra-dedicated who fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Antz, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Web Planet [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
'Like staggering around with a single wardrobe on your back', said John Scott Martin. It's not a part I envy him, though the giant ants do at least look good to this day, but little else of this does.

The cutting edge VFX of 1964 have not aged well - what was cutting edge then looks terribly dated now - far more than does the story or the performances. (Check out a young Martin Jarvis as Captain Hilo)

The tale is good Menoptera over evil Animus and its servants the Zarbi, aided by very silly-looking venom grubs, with the proto-Optera bringing up the rear and doing stuff with mud, and I think one reason that I don't recall it terribly well is that I like stories with humans in, and there are only three in this one.

As the end title roll, it's rather like replacing a stone in he garden, leaving the bugs to get on with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Poor story; great extras, 10 May 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Web Planet [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
While the story (also known as Doctor Who and The Zarbi) is dated and poorly realised by our standards, this DVD is polished and well priced, and provides some insight into how much TV has changed in 40 years. The vaseline used on the camera lenses to give a fogged view is laughable now, but the innovation and professionalism of the cast rise above the tawdry set designs and frankly appalling costumes of The butterfly-like Menoptera and ant-like Zarbi. The six episodes mean this goes on far too long, and the character of The Doctor is largely peripheral throughout.

What makes this a decent buy for fans are the DVD extras. As well as audio commentaries, there is a 40 minute feature on how the story was made (Tales of Isop), an audio reading of a 60s annual story 'The Lair of Zarbi Supremo', read by actor William Russell (Ian), a comic-strip summary of the story, and the usual PDF files and photo gallery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Webbed Planet, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Web Planet [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
1965's The Web Planet is odd, certainly for the production team creating the story, it must have seemed a most alien and perculiar serial. Writer Bill Strutton was new to the Doctor Who writing arsenal at this point, both himself and the producers were keen to create an alien threat that would rival the Daleks for the public's affections, also, the Daleks were becoming too used in the series. Producer Verity Lambert and her crew pointed out to Strutton that he should create a monster that would have merchandise appeal, just like the Daleks, Strutton created creatures that he believed would be financially exploitable. Anywho, the creatures in this serial never really caught on and so we have the only story written by Strutton and the only appearance of sed creatures.

The overall storyline is simple enough really, an alien being from a distant world comes to Vortis and starts to take control of it, for once the TARDIS crew arrive long after the damage is done and so if they can't prevent the events happening, they can help the natives reclaim the planet and drive out the evil Animus. Throughout the story, each of the characters becomes attached to a member of the strange planet, Ian and the Bee, Barbara and the clipped-wing Bee, Vicki and the newly-controlled Zarbi and finally the Doctor and his ego. I have always thought that the Web Planet was 2 episodes too long, I know its well said in fan circles that this feeling reigns true. It is too long and I sometimes have difficulty in sitting through all 6 episodes in one go, so its best if you space it out over a couple of evenings.

On to the DVD itself and well, its lavish, the cover artwork is beautiful and the DVD is well stocked with extra's, not many, but enough. The picture and sound quality on this 46 year old production is fantastic, the BBC has once again done miracles with todays modern television science. The main documentary on this release is interesting and insightful, the cast and crew {that are still will us} talk through the amazing and brave production of this classic tale. Its a lovely thing to see all the old faces back behind the cameras where they belong. I always love the doc's that the BBC put together for these Doctor Who DVD releases. Final note has to go to the price, to get all these episodes, commentary, documentaries and more for less than a tenner is exeptional value for money.

Overall then, The Web Planet could do with being a couple of episodes shorter, but on the whole this is a fantastic BBC DVD release and I am thoroughly looking foward to such future Hartnell era releases.

Many thanks for your time in reading this review,

M.B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good release for a disappointing story, 23 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. Stuart R. Chandler (Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Web Planet [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
I was a little surprised when this release was announced. It is probably the most dated Doctor Who of all. While the production crew certainly made a valiant effort at breaking new ground for the series the visual impact of the story is pretty laughable nowadays. It has probably been released because it is so long since the VHS release.
Despite this, the storyline is strong and the ideas straightforward. If you look beyonfdthe poor production, there is a nice story here.
Concerning the special features, I would say these a somewhat better than those that have been included in recent releases. The inclusion of the PDF doctor who annual is a novel idea and in moderation, I would be happy to see this idea repeated (and it has been on City of Death). The commentary is strong and informative, although we have come to expect nothing less from the Doctor Who releases. The "making of" feature is very good with excellent contributions from all concerned. William Russell reading a story from the annual is interesting to a point but will not stand up to repeat listening. I found watching the 6th episode in Spanish quite amusing, particularly since I am learning the language myself. The slides that are included are a bit pointless and boring. One of the main things I like about the 60s releases are the remastering. When you compare this with the original VHS release, it makes you realise how great DVDs really are.
Overall, a nice release, but only gets 3 stars because the story is not one of the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A nice try, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Lee Swift (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Web Planet [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
This story is unique in early who in that it takes a concept of a TOTALLY alien world and tries to implement it. If this were done in 2014, it would be a fantastic effort, even in the 1970's the setting was dramatically improved (see Planet of Evil).

However, this was 1964, the budget was a pittance, and the producers didn't even know if the show would have been continuing much longer. For all these reasons, and the fact that they didn't just stay in their comfort zone is why it's a good attempt.

However, despite all of this, I was just bored. The story is spun out over six episodes and like a lot of early who, there's just not enough of an idea to keep it going that long. So, we get long swathes of time that's just walking through caves, or messing about with Zarbi.

I'd recommend any fan of classic who to watch it at least once, but I think my copy will stay on the shelf for a long time to come because it's just so tedious to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable., 29 Nov 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who - The Web Planet [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
This story seems to be quite maligned amongst fans but I decided to give it a go.
I have found it to be a very enjoyable 6 parter that never feels padded,like some other of the old serials.It is true that the Zarbi and the Menoptro costumes offer some unintentional humour,as does certain other parts.
Still,it is one that won't be going the way of some other of the early Doctor Who's-namely eBay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - The Web Planet [DVD] [1965]
Doctor Who - The Web Planet [DVD] [1965] by Richard Martin (DVD - 2005)
6.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews