Customer Reviews


730 Reviews
5 star:
 (626)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


180 of 181 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much improved picture quality
Compared to the 10th anniversary edition, this new 2009 release (ignore the [1995] designation in Amazon's listing) has very noticeably better picture quality. There is greater detail but, more importantly, the colour grading is far more accurate. Well worth paying the extra money for, with or without the extra features.
Published on 17 Mar 2009 by Mr. N. White

versus
110 of 116 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Same Washed Out Colors
I'm very disappointed with the video quality of this Anniversary Edition because the colors look washed out just like the previous releases (in the UK and the USA) of the widescreen edition. A reviewer's comment on the USA widescreen edition posted at Amazon.com can also be fittingly applied to this Anniversary Edition: "... the colors are not just washed out, the...
Published on 21 Sep 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 373 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Jane Austen adaption., 7 Nov 2000
This is a drama to rave about. I've not seen its like on television before; nor do I expect to see its like again. It was superb. It was almost perfect - though not quite.
It is rare to find a Jane Austen dramatisation that comes so near to being perfect on every level and that stays so true to the original novel. The greater part of the dialogue in the series is Jane Austen's own and every scene is included and follows the same chronological order. The drama departs from the novel in only two instances.... David Bamber makes Mr Collins deliciously toadying and obsequious. A remarkable piece of acting.
It is its faithfulness to the original that makes this drama so good. No one has ever written a more tightly plotted novel. Its series of climaxes make the novel difficult to put down; just as one plot-line reaches its climactic conclusion, another is building. And the duel of wits and sharp dialogue between Darcy and Elizabeth (Jennifer Ehle) as they get to know each other is entrancing. And then comes that moment. She is at the piano befriending Darcy's sister, Georgiana (Emilia Fox), when he holds her gaze with a silent declaration of his love and admiration. This involved a fine piece of editor-timing; a split second either way, either too long or too short, and the poignancy of that moment would have been lost....I heartily recommend this video. Don't miss it. You'll not see its like again. I must just mention the charming piano music by Carl Davis, so beautifully evocative of a beautiful period in history (for the rich).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV Classic, 2 Jun 2006
This review is from: Pride And Prejudice : Complete BBC Series - 10th Anniversary Edition [1995] [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Of all the Jane Austen adaptations this is the greatest. And that's including cinema's most wonderful adaptation - Sense and Sensibility. Her character based plots demand mini-series length plots to truly flourish and that's what allows this work to blossom. It has room to breathe. It also helps that the creators have been so careful in the set construction, costumes, writing, direction and most importantly in any Austen adaptation, its casting.

There really isn't an error in the casting here. Mrs Bennett is suitably screeching. Her husband, nicely unsentimental. The pick of the support is Mr. Collins. He can come across as an unsufferably twee monster on the page, but in this adaptation he is played as the perfect fool. It's a wonderfully droll performance. And of course our hero and heroine are uniformly excellent.

This is a stately production; of the kind only the BBC can really make with such veneer. Any lover of acting, or literate writing would be silly not to add it to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


130 of 136 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic. Fantastic!, 30 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Pride And Prejudice : Complete BBC Series - 10th Anniversary Edition [1995] [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is an absolutely fantastic adaptation of a truly classic novel.

Jennifer Ehle as Lizzie is wonderful in her performance as the independant, intelligent Bennet sister who will not marry for anything less than love.

All the characters were brought to life in this adaptation and this is FAR superior to anything before or after it! Namely the very flashy, confusing version starring Keira Knightly. This, in my opinion was just an excuse to cash in on a very successful novel.

No one can match Mrs Bennet, Lizzie, Jane, the bungling Mr Bingley and his poe-faced sisters. And absolutely NO ONE can take the place of or replace Colin Firth as the proud heart stoppingly gorgeous Mr Darcy.

I have seen this series over a hundred times (no exaggeration) and have not tired of it and i know that i never will.

On a rainy Sunday afternoon and a sunny Wednesday afternoon alike, this series is always a welcome distraction to life and everything that comes with it.

A special mention must be made of Mr Collins. He is so totally cringe worthy it makes me laugh. The actor who played him did an award winning job of bringing the character to life.

THIS is the only version of Pride and Prejudice anyone should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fabulous..., 14 April 2007
This review is from: Pride And Prejudice : Complete BBC Series - 10th Anniversary Edition [1995] [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films ever and undoubtedly the best adaptation of Jane Austen's novels!

As for Darcy in a wet shirt...Well, girls will be delighted! And after all the aim of this BBC mini series is to make literature accessible to every british person. So, this detail is not in the book for sure and probably seems stupid but it is more for the audience than THE perfect adaptation for Jane Austen's experts.

However if you are a purist of this great author and her novel Pride and Prejudice, you may not find it as great as most people think it is... And of course, the film is not as good as the book but if you watch a lot of different adaptations of (literary) novels, the achievement is rarely a GREAT success.

But I seriously recommend it and worth sitting through (6 hours seems long but in fact when you come to the end, you just want to watch it all over again!). This series is for me a great success and a classic!

[A frog's advice]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely addictive!, 29 Jun 2003
I know that many people may think it a little strange that a 14 year old should like to watch costume dramas. But I do. And of all the costume dramas I have watched (and believe me - I've seen plenty!) Pride and Prejudice is by far the best!
I find so much comfort in curling up on the settee, pressing play and having the wonderfully perfect music (composed by Carl Davies) begin. I start watching it and I cannot stop - I get completely pulled into what is going on.
The characters are perfectly cast (especially Colin Firth as Mr Darcy, Jennifer Ehle as Elizabeth Bennet and Benjamin Whitrow as Mr Bennet) and the costumes and locations are gorgeous.
I have read the Jane Austen novel and watched the Elizabeth Garvie version. I know a lot of people think that that one is more true to the book but I find it so stiff, so wooden and almost embarrassing to watch. Andrew Davies wrote this Pride and Prejudice perfectly and I'm glad so many people love it as well as I do.
As Elizabeth Bennet said herself, "I like it very well indeed!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally wonderful masterpiece of BBC and Jane Austen, 8 Sep 2000
By A Customer
I wake up every morning and just can't go on without watching a bit of p&p. I just want to be there myself where everything's simple and all you have to think about is who's in love with you. I love Jennifer Ehle as Lizzy, I wish I was her and I don't think I even need to say that Colin Firth was a seriously lovely Mr Darcy. Although I like the 'Mr Darcy!......Miss Bennet!' bit my fave would have to be the look across the room at pemberly. I literally sat and watched that over and over again (why is all that bit of music not on the tape? ). The dance at Netherfield gives me shivers down my spine, like when they touch hands for the first time. Anyway I could rant about it forever, but its deffinitely not just a middle aged thing. I'm 15 and I've got 2 friends that love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jane Austen would have given this a thumbs-up!, 25 Feb 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pride And Prejudice : Complete BBC Series - 10th Anniversary Edition [1995] [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is a wonderful production, and my favourite period drama ever. The wit, humour and intelligence which are the essence of Jane Austen are all brilliantly captured in this film version. Though Elizabeth and Mr Darcy are of course the stars, for me it was Mr and Mrs Bennet who truly shine in this comedy and display their talents. The costumes are lovely, the script is very close to the original novel, the acting is superb. If only all film adaptations of novels turned out this way! I'm so glad it is on DVD, because my VHS copy was starting to wear down a bit :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 24 Jun 2005
If you are not romantic and only seek for a comfortable home this is not for you. Otherwise, it will change your life. Simply the best. This adaptation of Jane Austen's novel is clever, in my opinion even better than the book itself (some dialogues are unbelievably good). All actors are great (yes, all). Photography and sound is very good. I do not understand how such a good film can be made. Congratulations to all who has contributed in making of this masterpiece giving some of us so much pleasure. To comment on Amazon's review where it is said that "some argued it was unnecessarily sensational, or, given that the BBC had already made a fine Pride and Prejudice (1979) from a script by Fay Weldon, simply unnecessary" I would dare to say that this version of Pride and Prejudice (1995) is so much superior to the 1979 one that 1979 version is not worth a mention (I do apologize for being so severely critical, but I shell not conceal the truth). Please you must allow me to tell you how good this film is. Once again congratulations to all involved in making of Pride and Prejudice (1995), a masterpiece which I hardly believe to be ever matched (sad, but you can watch it over and over again). It is a common knowledge that a single man of large fortune is...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


110 of 116 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Same Washed Out Colors, 21 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Pride And Prejudice : Complete BBC Series - 10th Anniversary Edition [1995] [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I'm very disappointed with the video quality of this Anniversary Edition because the colors look washed out just like the previous releases (in the UK and the USA) of the widescreen edition. A reviewer's comment on the USA widescreen edition posted at Amazon.com can also be fittingly applied to this Anniversary Edition: "... the colors are not just washed out, the digital remastering has changed the color tone of the film as if someone used a Photoshop/Premier digital filter without knowing what they were doing. The VHS and original [DVD, fullscreen edition] not only had rich color saturation, but also had a warm tone that felt 'right' with the period film. The [widescreen edition] DVD is not only washed out, but has a strong blue-white tone to it that gives a cold modern feel to the scene..."
There's no need to replace your previous DVD with this Anniversary Edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife, 22 July 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pride And Prejudice : Complete BBC Series - 10th Anniversary Edition [1995] [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Of all the Jane Austen movies, the 1996 miniseries "Pride and Prejudice" is arguably the best and most detailed. While remaining faithful to the original comedy of manners, the story remains steadily-paced and exceptionally acted. It's sort of a thinking-girl's romance movie.

The Bennett family is in an uproar when wealthy Mr. Bingley (Crispin Bonham-Carter) moves into the neighborhood, and Mrs. Bennett is especially happy when he takes a liking to eldest Jane (Susannah Harker). But her forthright, independent sister Lizzie (Jennifer Ehle) immediately butts heads with wealthy, aloof Mr. Darcy (Colin Firth), who scorns the rural village.

A flurry of proposals, road trips and friendships arrive, with Lizzie fending off her slimy cousin Mr. Collins, and befriending the flirty, hunky Wickham (Adrian Lukis), who claims to have been wronged by Darcy. Lizzie believes Wickham's account -- and she's in for a shock when Darcy unexpectedly proposes, and reveals what Wickham won't tell her.

And finally things take a scandalous turn when Lizzie's idiotic younger sister Lydia (Julia Sawalha) elopes with Wickham! The family is plunged into disgrace, which also wrecks any chances of marriage for the other daughters. The only one who can set things right is Darcy, who will do whatever he must to make amends to Lizzie.

It's obvious from the very first scenes -- when Lizzie jokingly comments that "a man of good fortune MUST be in want of a wife" -- that this is an adaptation that was done with love. The subplots, characters and atmosphere of "Pride and Prejudice" are all here.

The plot unfolds slowly, one piece at a time, but with several subplots that tie together as the story progresses. For a miniseries, it's actually rather spare and lacking in filler. And the dialogue -- based on Austen's -- is wonderfully well-written ("Beauty is not the only virtue. She has just inherited a fortune of ten thousand pounds, I understand." "Now THAT is a definite virtue!")

The time period is recreated with loving detail, from the muddy roads to the sweeping mansions with elaborate grounds. Even the hairstyles are recreated. And the entire plot is steeped in the mores of 19th-century England, with the attitudes toward marriage, love, and propriety that bound everyone (especially women).

The casting of the leads is absolutely perfect for this movie: Ehle and Firth are nothing short of amazing. Both are witty, smart, and a bit snotty in their own ways. Firth's Darcy is a selfish man who gradually becomes warm and kind, while Ehle's Lizzie is strong, independent, and Darcy's equal in every way. And neither will marry for anything but true love.

They're also backed by an excellent supporting cast, with slimy clergy, screeching moms, sly seducers, sardonic fathers, innocent sisters and aristocratic old harpies adding colour to it all. Sawalha is especially good as the 19th-century Valley Girl, and Alison Steadman gives a grating but suitable performance as the whiny, marriage-obsessed Mrs. Bennett.

This edition has a bunch of extras for the rabid Austenite -- a "making of" book, documentaries about Austen and the miniseries itself, and interviews with the people responsible. It's a nicely-rounded addition that will take a look at how both the book and movies came to be.

"Pride and Prejudice" is the cream of the Austen crop, and an understatedly romantic movie as well. Definitely to be watched, again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 373 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews