Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars47
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 July 2005
Well, the answer is yes.
Recently a new, small, comedy sketch show came onto to British TV, 6 episodes brodcast on BBC2 over a 6 weeks run. The show starred the little known Catherine Tate, and began with very little advertising. IT WAS AMAZING.
This is without doubt the funniest sketch show ever, Catherine Tate is a genius and uses obseverational humour (with a mix of surrealism)to present to us her characters. In the show Tate plays several characters, male/female, old/young, shes plays all of these superb characters with excellent comic timing and great one liners.
This show is amazing, the characters are just amazingly funny, she is now the queen of the catchphrases. If you like to laugh, you'll love this, simple.
The swearing nan, the "BUT AM I BOTHERD THOUGH? LOOK AT MY FACE, DOES IT LOOK BOTHERD - ARE YOU DISSIN' ME, ARE YOU DISSIN' MY FAMILY!?" and how about you "Have a guess!?" as you try to wonder "What am i like!?"
I'm not sure how much more i can say, the show became a success, she is now running a 2nd series, which is doing very well in the ratings. A very good, solid comedy show - you'll love it, BUY IT! :D
Thanks for reading.
0Comment|63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2005
Am a bothered tho,look at my face, face bothered face bothered, but nah m8 cauz i aint even bothered. are u disrespectin my family, well i aint even bothered cauz i dont even like em, but are u disrespectin my family tho
The reason why i like this dvd is because all of the sketches remind me of people i know and even sometimes myself. The sketch of chav teen lauren is basically just a female version of me when i was at school, cauz i iz a london rude boi innit. Some people might think this is just a vickie pollard rip off but she was actually around a bit before vickie. Lauren is also much more realistic because a lot of the phrases she uses is what me and my friends still use. When she said "i am gonna look well hip hop innit" i couldnt stop laughing because i have said that very phrase a few times in the past.
My second fav is the old swearing nan. i think she really captured the 2 facedness of old people espcially in london. Another highlight is the sketch of the closet gay. Shes also not affraid to take risks because there is a few racial jokes in there which will of course make some very bored people moan. But im hispanic and i AINT EVEN BOTHERED
If you buy this dvd your life will be better
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2005
The only question to be asked about this DVD is why Catherine Tate continues to be so underrated? The media seem keen to sing the praises and lard hype on other television comedy, most of which doesn't come within rib tickling distance of Ms.Tate; she seems to remain a quiet, almost unrecognised star.
Catherine Tate started her comedy doing stand-up routines. She cut her teeth on the front line, getting up in front of live audiences. But she deviates from most other successful comedians by having already studied acting (at the Central School of Speech and Drama), and having worked a year with the Royal Shakespeare Company! This is not just somebody with a brass neck who got lucky - there's a touch of class here, a depth of experience and knowledge which stands out from the pack.
Ms.Tate's ability to act her roles, to present her characters as three dimensional and not simply as delivery vehicles for a cheap gag, is a crucial factor in the quality of her comedy. She is not simply feeding off a funny catchphrase or funny situation, she builds up the character's role and situation, creating tension and expectation, luring you into that situation with hypnotic storytelling. You might know the catchphrase or joke is coming - but you'll have to wait for the twist of that knife!
'Surreal' has become a hugely overworked and abused adjective - and 'surreal' doesn't actually mean funny. Catherine Tate's comedy is not surreal. She employs a nicely judged, diffused reality, putting that twist on situations we could all recognise, adding that little touch of the ridiculous and outrageous to characters we could all recognise.
This is very well acted comedy. This is very well observed comedy. This is very well written comedy. This is comedy which will stand the test of time, comedy you can keep on your shelf, treasure, and watch again and again without it wearing thin. When some of the more over-hyped comedy has long been forgotten, Catherine Tate will remain an outstanding performer and a passionately incisive commentator on English life and foibles. A superb package!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2005
The only question to be asked about this DVD is why Catherine Tate continues to be so underrated? The media seem keen to sing the praises and lard hype on other television comedy, most of which doesn't come within rib tickling distance of Ms.Tate; she seems to remain a quiet, almost unrecognised star.
Catherine Tate started her comedy doing stand-up routines. She cut her teeth on the front line, getting up in front of live audiences. But she deviates from most other successful comedians by having already studied acting (at the Central School of Speech and Drama), and having worked a year with the Royal Shakespeare Company! This is not just somebody with a brass neck who got lucky - there's a touch of class here, a depth of experience and knowledge which stands out from the pack.
Ms.Tate's ability to act her roles, to present her characters as three dimensional and not simply as delivery vehicles for a cheap gag, is a crucial factor in the quality of her comedy. She is not simply feeding off a funny catchphrase or funny situation, she builds up the character's role and situation, creating tension and expectation, luring you into that situation with hypnotic storytelling. You might know the catchphrase or joke is coming - but you'll have to wait for the twist of that knife!
'Surreal' has become a hugely overworked and abused adjective - and 'surreal' doesn't actually mean funny. Catherine Tate's comedy is not surreal. She employs a nicely judged, diffused reality, putting that twist on situations we could all recognise, adding that little touch of the ridiculous and outrageous to characters we could all recognise.
This is very well acted comedy. This is very well observed comedy. This is very well written comedy. This is comedy which will stand the test of time, comedy you can keep on your shelf, treasure, and watch again and again without it wearing thin. When some of the more over-hyped comedy has long been forgotten, Catherine Tate will remain an outstanding performer and a passionately incisive commentator on English life and foibles. A superb package!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
I recently watched this dvd I thought it was really good only I had 2 watch this dvd several times to really get some of the jokes the top three of my favourites would be burnie the irish nurse lauren who's never bovveredn and I think nan is especially hilarious with her cathphrase what a f*****g liberty! Bovvered about buying this you should be!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
For anyone who has seen Catherine Tate, there is no need to be reminded of how fantastic she is - especially as Nan Taylor. For those who haven't, don't hesitate to buy this. Tremendous value; money well spent. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2009
I never watched this on telly but I got it so cheaply through amazon that I thought I would try it, what a surprise it is excellent. This woman is a real talent, just took me a little longer than anyone else to realize it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2006
I'm from UK, but haven't lived there a while - so I usually miss new TV shows. Bought this DVD, and have lent it to EVERYONE I know here in Thailand (and advising them to buy it too!).
What amazed me was a BBC website review of the show that said something like it being a bit hit-and-miss. I can't think of 1 single dud sketch. Ok, my Mum didn't like the swearing old lady, but I know that's how she'll end up at 80! But am I bovvered?
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
Catherine Tate how do you do it? It's had me in fits especially the one who goes off it if you guess correctly. For a good laugh this is the show for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2006
It took me a while to see this series all the way through. I had a feeling I wouldnt like it but...its ok. Not great but ok. Not really a laugh out loud kinda show though. Some of the sketches and characters really work. Like Lauren, the office worker who loves guessing games, the gran or "one swift backhander".

Then there are some that really fall flat. Like the woman who screams at the slightest noise or the couple who just find each other hilarious (the worst ones and for some reason the most frequently used).

But on the whole Catherine Tate is a very talented comedy writer and performer and even though the show is uneven in places its still worth a look.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)