Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic account of Africa
I have lived in Africa for many years and have marveled over its beauty and magnificance. Never had I thought that a TV programme would ever do it justice but BBC's Wild Africa brought me to tears. It is simply the most vivid, stark, honest and breathtaking account of African nature. True, there are no people, no poverty, no corruption, nothing depressing. But in the...
Published on 21 Oct 2005 by PM20

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another BBC epic spoiled by overblown music score
What is it with modern wildfife film producers?. They did it on the Natures Great Events DVD and really ruined it. Here we have magnificent cinematography, a superb narrator showcasing possibly the most spectacular continent on the planet, with an incredible variety of landscape and life. The natural soundscape in these episodes is terrific and in no need of supplimenting...
Published on 19 Nov 2009 by GeeJayBee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An epic account of Africa, 21 Oct 2005
This review is from: Wild Africa [DVD] (DVD)
I have lived in Africa for many years and have marveled over its beauty and magnificance. Never had I thought that a TV programme would ever do it justice but BBC's Wild Africa brought me to tears. It is simply the most vivid, stark, honest and breathtaking account of African nature. True, there are no people, no poverty, no corruption, nothing depressing. But in the detatched privelige of looking from the outside this DVD is amazing. It makes you want to experience it for yourself, which in my opinion is the best review any nature DVD can get. See it - then go there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Utterly breathtaking, 5 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Wild Africa [DVD] (DVD)
I highly recommend this DVD set for anyone who loves nature documentaries or is interested in African wildlife. The images are just spectactular. I found each programme breathtaking, with moments of humour and sadness. The only reasons for a missing star are that the music score is a little James Bond-like at times (although I still enjoyed it) and there is a missing "making of" which I would have loved to have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Planet Earth, 16 April 2006
By 
M. James (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Africa [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD on the strength of catching only ten minutes of one episode and I wasn't disappointed. An excellent series that features some of the lesser filmed species of the continent and has great imagery and music. You can see that this was a precursor to 'Planet Earth', but I prefer this series as, to me, it seems to have more of an emotional impact. The black eagle over Vic Falls gets me every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and relaxing watch., 3 Feb 2006
By 
M. Todd (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Africa [DVD] (DVD)
The dvds are divided into 6 sections; mountains, savannah, desserts, coasts, jungle and lakes & rivers. Each one is an hour long programme. They all start with an introduction and explanation of the particular habitat and vies over the areas. The narrator is an irish man whose voice, settles quietly into the background. Several animals living in each habitat are covered, with interesting facts about them all. In each programme, 3 or 4 examples of each habitat are covered, giving a broad view of the African climate.
Very interesting watching and it has a very relaxed mood. Nice background music, beuatiful landscapes and animals, clever photography, and good narration make this dvd a worthwhile purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - A must have for any wildlife, or Africa lover., 19 Dec 2001
By A Customer
The BBC have done it again. Another cinematic feast! For any lovers of all things wild then this video, of the popular television series is a real must! It takes you all around the wonderful continent of Africa looking at it from the point of view of the landscape. Focusing on the animal and plant life of that particular region and how each has adapted or modified its behaviour to survive that ecosystem. I really cannot recommend it enough - but BBC - a DVD of this please?????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch, 18 Feb 2008
By 
C. J. Maden (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Africa [DVD] (DVD)
Vivid and beautifully shot collage of African wildlife. Yes we have all seen films of lions on the Serengeti and they are portrayed here and brilliantly well, but there are also gems like Gelada baboons in the mountains of Ethiopia.

A fantastic visual journey through Africa's wildlife. Immerse yourself before it all disappears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Wild Africa [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant filming, and a sharp picture even though its not HD obviously.
There is plenty too watch at this price, it really is a bargain too good to miss and is a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable watch.
As another reviewer said and I agree the music score can be a bit intrusive at times: if only it had been slightly quieter it would have been perfect and quite possibly the music wasn't always entirely appropriate at times.
Nonetheless well worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AFRICA in all its Beauty, 16 April 2008
By 
Mr. P. Gray "Paul Gray "book maven" (york united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Africa [DVD] (DVD)
This is Wild Africa in all its Beauty, "its the heart of the world".
Fergal Keane does some smashingly good narration for this series.
Dont think this serious just covers the african plains, oh no this series covers all 6 habbitas for wildlife that live on or around the coast of Africa. Jungles ,mountains, plains, coast,lakes and rivers and deserts.
Each episode has a wide range of wildlife that star, from Garilas in the jungle to great white sharks in coast to lions on the savannah. All episodes are beautifly filmed and detailed, and as a special feature David Attenborough narrated: wildlife on one THE SUPER HERD.
A half an hour special on the Wildebeest Migration which rounds of the dvd briliantly. Lovely front cover of a cape Buffalo which are amazing creatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing series., 18 Dec 2001
By A Customer
I have watched all of the series of wild Africa and it never seases to amaze me.My favourite programme was the the first one.It was filmed with beutifal camera work.It showed the wonderful lammagier bird(bearded vulture),and how it extracted bone marrow by flying effortlessly and releasing the bones on hard rock.It also showed the beutifal Gelada baboon which comes from the same region as the lammagier(the Ethiopian highlands)and how they congragated together in vast numbers to keep warm.The programmed showed how fearless the Geladas were when they were clinging on to rock crevices at night to escape predators such as the leopard which also lives in this region.The programme also showed mountain ranges in East Afica .The programme showed a beutifal and rare Melanistic leopard and a serval which only seemed to occur in this range along the great rift valley.This programme also showed the extremly rare Ethiopian wolf which is the rarest canid in the world.The programme also showed the Barbary Maqaque in the Atlas Mountains in Morocco,and how they survived in there harsh alpine climate.
The programme also contains rivers,lakes and coasts,savanahs,Rainforests and Deserts(but not in that order).I think this is a fantastique series,and in my opinion it is better then the blue planet.And I highly reccomend it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild Africa in your living room, 3 Mar 2003
A really excellent 2 video box set covering the diverse habitats of the african continent. Visually pleasing and very informative, the photography and narration compliment each other perfectly to bring africa into your living room. I would recommend this video set to anyone with an interest in wildlife.
The only dissapointment to this this suberb BBC production.......
No DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Africa [DVD]
Wild Africa [DVD] by Patrick Morris (DVD - 2005)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews