Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


146 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathing South America
This is an excellent six part documentary travelling the length of the continent. As you would expect, six episodes are not enough to cover much detail but the superb photography throughout leaves you breathless. Fergal Keanes' narration is superb and extremely adequate for this series. The pace of the narration is slow, leaving you with time to reflect on the...
Published on 27 Feb 2006 by Karim S. Moukaddem

versus
8 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating subject, horrendous narrator
The subject of this DVD is breathtaking, as is the photography. However, the narrator sounds like he's bored out of his mind and really can't think of anything interesting to say. David Attenborough this certainly is not.
Published on 5 Feb 2008 by Frontside360


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

146 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathing South America, 27 Feb 2006
This review is from: Wild South America: Andes to Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent six part documentary travelling the length of the continent. As you would expect, six episodes are not enough to cover much detail but the superb photography throughout leaves you breathless. Fergal Keanes' narration is superb and extremely adequate for this series. The pace of the narration is slow, leaving you with time to reflect on the various ideas presented here. The viewer is transported from the harsh Andes to the great plains through the majestic Amazon river and into the jungle. All with extreme ease. Another jewel from the BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 24 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Wild South America: Andes to Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
Well worth buying and at this price it should prove irresistable, a good overview of South America, very relaxing and very enjoyable.
This documentary will immerse you in the wildlife and habitat of South America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andes to Amazon, 22 Feb 2008
By 
D. Blount (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild South America: Andes to Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
Having enjoyed this series on the television i made a point of buying the DVD. This is a truly brilliant documentary covering wild life, eco system and landscape of Sputh America. It is a jewel of a series and I feel is the best of the BBC's Wild series (including Africa and Australia). It is so informative and such a well paced programme to watch with a brilliant and appropriate sound track that enhanses the atmosphere! I recommend this strongly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 7 Feb 2011
This review is from: Wild South America: Andes to Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
This is such a special series. Feargal Keane's commentary casts a spell over you. The sights and sounds of the areas covered are absolutely fascinating and keep you riveted.I was disappointed when it came to an end. Unbelievably good value and it will become one of my most treasured possessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Andes to Amazon, 22 May 2011
This review is from: Wild South America: Andes to Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
Simply a very special DVD. It ranks with the best wildlife documentaries and is a must for anyone. Buy it and you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 4 Jan 2007
By 
Bard (Ashton-Under-Lyne) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wild South America: Andes to Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
Breathtaking (in a good way) - not the most original thing I could have said about this DVD, but I would urge you to buy it even if [...] were selling it for a much higher price. It pretty much leaves one speechless, it is truly stunning. Worth watching again and again - as if one needed reminding how precious and precarious Earth's biodiversity is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful., 4 Nov 2012
By 
Keith R. Sauerwald "Aves Para Siempre." (Darwin, AUSTRALIA.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild South America: Andes to Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
Having been to South America twice, including the Amazon, it wasn't for a number of years that this documentary was available.When it first came out on vhs, I bought it. I realised that it was such a great documentary that when it was released on dvd, I bought that too.I was under the impression that the vhs would eventually be unplayable. Not so. I played it all recently and the tapes are as good as the day I bought them.
The species of Animalia seen in this documentary is amazing. Wildlife is always amazing, especially the Avian species. Who cannot simply adore those magnificent Macaws?
If you can't afford to be there in person, watching this documentary is the next best thing.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pity that there's no Bluray version, 13 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild South America: Andes to Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is definitely worth collecting, however the video quality is only acceptable. I watched it on a bluray player with image upscaling, but the images are just not mind-blowingly sharp and clear, it's a pity that this older release does not come in Bluray versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful pictures., 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild South America: Andes to Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
Sometimes beautiful footage, informative, pleasant to look at. The overall structure of the film could be improved. But certainly worthwhile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good present, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild South America: Andes to Amazon [DVD] (DVD)
I have only had an opportunity to see a small portion of this dvd but what I saw was enjoyable and suggested that this would be a good dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild South America: Andes to Amazon [DVD]
10.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews