Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Rate Humour
For years I've been of the opinion that the best comedy is to be found on the radio and more specifically Radio 4. A great deal of that comedy crosses over to the TV and becomes the best comedy on TV. Absolute Power is another in a long line of those crossovers and in my opinion it is even better on the TV than it was on the radio.
It centres around a PR company,...
Published on 17 Aug 2005 by Paul Johnson

versus
14 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, ish.
When I first saw this quietly blending in to the DVD rental shelf I was overjoyed. PR, you say? Stephen Fry and John Bird, is it? Yes please. Fry the comic institution and cleverest man in the world and Bird the famously natural and funny satirical stalwart. How could it not be a great, cynical sideswipe at corporate London which is funny and clever?

And it...
Published on 14 Nov 2006 by Mitya


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny and a genuine eye-opener, 27 Sep 2011
By 
E. Wallace (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Power : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a clever and slightly satirical modern comedy based around a PR firm "Prentiss McCabe". The best way to think of it is Jeeves crossed (slightly) with General Melchett, transplanted to the modern era and turned into a machiavellian, manipulative co-owner of a spin-doctor / PR firm.... hmm not the best description, perhaps instead think of Jeeves replacing Malcolm Tucker in The Thick of It.

The comedy is kept light and is primarily situation/plot driven rather than cheap "character laughs" but it is clever, well written and very easy watching.

Having several friends in PR I should perhaps warn you that some of the episodes are all to close to reality so be warned - you will laugh, enjoy and order the sequel but... you will never quite trust some of those media stories again.....

A definite buy and, something that appeals across different ages - perfect for a x-mas present for aunts, uncles, parents, cousins etc!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Class, 5 Sep 2011
By 
Donald - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Power : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This series is a fab fun look at PR - a fantastic show - great perfomances by Fry & Bird et al.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars relative power, 18 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Power : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Although lacking the quality of writing and the superb plotting of Mark Tavener this is streets ahead of most TV comedy in its scope, pace and wit. John Bird's character comes across as weaker than on the radio, but the junior staff at Prentiss McCabe are better realised and more integrated into the stories, and Fry excells without irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastingly scary, 25 Dec 2005
This review is from: Absolute Power : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The character of Stephen Fry is devious and mean. He's a master in manipulating the situation (and choosing the right words). I can't wait till the second series is out on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, ish., 14 Nov 2006
By 
Mitya (Nottm., UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Absolute Power : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
When I first saw this quietly blending in to the DVD rental shelf I was overjoyed. PR, you say? Stephen Fry and John Bird, is it? Yes please. Fry the comic institution and cleverest man in the world and Bird the famously natural and funny satirical stalwart. How could it not be a great, cynical sideswipe at corporate London which is funny and clever?

And it is... but not without being far too forced. Fry's extraordinary ability with language and devliery is under-written for, and instead we're given an overkill (a term the writers haven't heard of) of flimsy puns. You really get the feel that the writers sat up all night trawling through every scene, every line, and finding some passable pun for it. Not that it's all bad - as the reviewer below noted there are great lines, and other such gems are delightful. Some of the wordplay is Blackadder-esq (Fry's benchmark for me), such as the scene where Fry is telling a newspaper editor he shouldn't have printed a story about his client being gay when he's not. The editor replies that Fry had told him to "suck it and see". "Sadly for you words never uttered by my client", Fry replies.

The situations range from the workable to the forced. You can just about manage a TV historian getting into a spot of bother and needing PR - it's topical and believable. But a ruralite political party who are secretly nazis pushes the boat a little, and can only have been done to counter the fact that Fry's character, being as huge, bold and as moral-less as he is, would falter with anything slightly less unlikely.

The cast is a bit of a mess. Bird and Fry seem ill at ease working with their uber trendy, model-esq and youthful staff, and staff relations are unconvincing if not irritatingly ambiguous (Jamie treats Allison with contempt but there's no sign that he's her boss and she never thinks to protest). Such is Fry's dominance - both in him and his character - that the rest of the cast are throw-away as their personalities (despite being rather varried and interesting on the surface) are totally unexplored or used. To a point this includes Bird's character too.

It's funny, and I'd happily embrace the 2nd series, if only for the collective brilliance of Fry & Bird (who compliment each other well but aren't together nearly enough), but it's not what it should have been.

---------
EDIT - good to see 8 people continuing the long tradition of misinterpreting the question "Was this review helpful?" as "Do you agree with every sentiment in this review?" :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Love Fry, didn't like series, 17 Jun 2013
By 
E. Anson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Power : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Love Fry, didn't like series. Not the best use of his talents, was dry and turgid--was very disappointed and wouldn't recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 21 Sep 2007
By 
J. Hope "Triffle" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Absolute Power : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Having listened to the wonderful radio series of Absolute Power, which is sharp, intelligent and funny, i bought this on the strength of that and i must admit to being very disappointed....Ive given it 2 stars purely out of respect for Stephen Fry and John Bird but otherwise it really does not deserve any, the stories were not good and it just was not funny...sadly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a PR "Yes Prime Minister", but funny, anyway..., 17 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Absolute Power : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I was expecting this to be laugh-out loud material, having loved the radio show and admired, at the time, the great potential it had to be transformed into a terrific TV sitcom. It's still funny, even if the writers and most of the actors clearly think the series is cooler than it actually is. Anyway, Stephen Fry is, as always, excellent - and he is the reason this shouldn't be missed. His character begs for a better series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a few scratch, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Power : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The disk has a few scratch by which I can't have a smooth reproduction.
So unfortunately I have to evaluate like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Stephen's better shows, 3 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Absolute Power : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
The series is not one of Stephen's better ones, not worth watching more than one episode. Given to my 84 year old father for a laugh, not happy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Absolute Power : Complete BBC Series 1 [DVD] [2003]
24.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews