Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Guaranteed Laugh!!
I remember when Dick Emery was standard Saturday night viewing. This DVD will bring back the memories instantly. Good clean old fashioned (even slightly innocent) humour of a sort that represents a by-gone age along with a generous sprinkling of 1970s fashions.
Dick Emery is truly one of the comedy classic geniuses of our time. Sad that they do not mention him as he...
Published on 26 Dec. 2005 by A reviewer called

versus
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WAY SHORT OF HIS BEST
This is a really lousy selection masquerading as a BEST OF. This DVD watched by anyone who has never seen Dick Emery on TV would think he was third rate. Far better compilations have been done on TV. Buy this one with caution, it does him no justice.
Published on 7 Jan. 2007 by Aalui


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars dick emery dvd, 20 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Dick Emery [DVD] (DVD)
This guy in my opinion is one of the best
very entertaining one of a kind,
and i think somewhere along the line
has never been bettered
a absolute classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy at it's best., 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Dick Emery [DVD] (DVD)
For those of us who remember Dick Emery these episodes are great to watch British comedy at it's best shame we lost a great comic early in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emery magic, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Dick Emery [DVD] (DVD)
Hours of laughter so many memories of such a fantastic icon of the comedy circuit well worth purchasing even if u've never followed such an icon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars God bless Dick Emery, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Dick Emery [DVD] (DVD)
What a great comedian, and actor. Very good price and promt service. Just what i wanted. No hasstles or worries with this product, you must buy,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment, 12 Oct. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Dick Emery [DVD] (DVD)
Used to watch Dick Emery many years ago and what an entertainer he was. This DVD is well worth the money and certainly gives you a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Quality not out of this world but they ..., 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Dick Emery [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant! Quality not out of this world but they never are when transferred from tape to dvd. Still worth it and still makes me laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dick Emery DVD, 8 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Dick Emery [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent for the value/cost - brings back memories of my early TV watching.Dick Emery - The Best Of Dick Emery [DVD]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Oohh, it was awful!", 23 Feb. 2013
By 
Siriam (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best of Dick Emery [DVD] (DVD)
Regular Saturday night family TV watching in late 60s and early 70s, Dick Emery was one of that select group who worked the TV comedy visuals well across each series season with a mix of well practiced characters who the audience could immediately recognize. These would recur across several short sketches in each half hour show from the dumb skin head to the frustrated middle aged spinster with many others regularly reprised along the way. Given Emery's show ran for 166 editions over 28 years, he clearly found his audience!

Much is made of the quality of comedy from this era of TV but this DVD shows Emery generally sadly have not stood well the test of time. Characterizations rather than well scripted comedy are what carries many of the sketches on show here along. Add to this the heavy reliance on innuendo to get laughs and sadly a heavy dose of pretty sexist sketches and characters makes for heavy going in getting spontaneous laughs. The scene of the civil servant style marriage counsellor played by Emery and an ugly wife where a brown paper bag is put on her head during the sketch probably represents the nadir of what is on show here.

Having watched once with my foreign born wife who had never seen Emery before, I fear this DVD is heading to the charity shop pile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic British Comedy, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Dick Emery [DVD] (DVD)
A very funny comedian that still makes me laugh out loud. A Priceless and classic British Comedy that is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A taste of the past, 14 Feb. 2013
By 
I. White "Wheelieman" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Dick Emery [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my dad and he loved it
Good old fashion comedy from a master of disguises
A real bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Dick Emery [DVD]
The Best of Dick Emery [DVD] by Dick Emery (DVD - 2005)
£6.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews