Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic
First shown in 1985, Revelation of the Daleks was the final story of season 22. By this stage it already been announced that the following series would not be made, with the programme being cancelled just weeks before the first story of the next season was due to commence filming. It was only thanks to the public outcry and several newspaper campaigns with their save...
Published on 25 Jun. 2005 by D. Evans

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware this DVD
I can't review this story because I have now had 3 copies of it sent to me and ALL 3 have exactly the same fault on them. The story gets to a certain point and then starts to loop back on itself over and over again. First time it loops is at a point where two people are running down a corridor from 2 different angles - so it takes a while before you realise there is a...
Published 22 months ago by Spender1


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very unusual Dr Who story, but wonderful nonetheless, 18 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revelation of the Daleks, The Colin Baker Years 1984 - 86 [DVD] (DVD)
Revelation is really not that good a story, offering a bizarre narrative in which the Doctor and Peri spend the first 45 minutes largely on their own. However, and it's a big however, director Graeme Harper transforms it into a great work of art, thanks to his fantastic eye for detail and instict for dramatic imagery. Everything about this story is stylistically and dramatically over-played, from the acting to the music and set design. It shouldn't work, but it does. The daleks barely feature, but when they do, they look magnificent gliding along the smoke-filled catacombs. Terry Molloy really makes the part of their wizened creator his own - the sight of Davros' severed head, swivelling hawk-like from side-to-side in his glass cylinder, spitting out curses and cackling hysterically is not easily forgotten. The music score and many of the directorial tricks come out of the same bag that Caves of Androzani used, but the twist here is the maudlin streak of black comedy missing from the earlier story. S**, swearing, drug abuse, homosexuality, nose-picking, necrophilia, double-entendres, expilicit violence, death - this story has it all (and should have been broadcast well after tea-time). This is a spectacular production filled with memorable moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1980s Doctor Who at its most off-the-wall, 6 Jan. 2007
By 
M. Wilberforce "mwilberforce" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revelation of the Daleks, The Colin Baker Years 1984 - 86 [DVD] (DVD)
Story: 4/5 - Extras: 4/5

"Revelation of the Daleks", by script editor of the era Eric Saward, is one of the most inventive and generally peculiar outings that the original series of "Doctor Who" ever produced. "Revelation" is not ostensibly "experimental", but instead uses more straightforward storytelling techniques to create something that is, through a combination of its setting and its strange characters, very off-the-wall.

Tranquil Repose is a funeral home where the recently deceased are kept cryogenically frozen awaiting the cures for their various diseases, with their suspended consciousnesses kept entertained by a DJ (Alexei Sayle) who models his act on American rock DJs of the late 20th Century. But bodysnatchers have arrived, one of whom is in search of her father, and find that the tomb they came for has already been emptied.

On the surface, it's business as usual for Tranquil Repose, under the watchful eye of the repulsive chief embalmer Jobel (Clive Swift) and his fawning student Tasambeker (Jenny Tomasin). The Great Healer (Terry Molloy, reprising his role as Davros, creator of the Daleks) is doing unspeakable things with the bodies of the perpetually interred, lurking in the catacombs deep beneath Tranquil Repose. Meanwhile, the Doctor arrives to visit the tomb of an old friend, and almost gets crushed by a statue of his own likeness in the Garden of Fond Memories (possibly one of "Doctor Who"'s most eccentric cliff-hangers, and a device bearing very little relation to the actual plot).

"Revelation of the Daleks" is an intriguing story with a great collection of grotesque characters. The Doctor and Peri actually don't have a great deal of involvement in the plot, serving primarily to fall into Davros' trap, and although they do subsequently play their part in ruining his plans, much of the initiative is taken by the supporting characters. The real strength of the story is the exchanges of dialogue between the various characters, which are full of black humour. The story is also a visual treat, with inventive sets and some very atmospheric location filming (complete with unintentional snow). "Revelation" is often hailed as Colin Baker's best televised story, and while I wouldn't necessarily agree with that assessment, it certainly does boast great performances from all concerned and several inventive twists.

On the DVD is a commentary with Nicola Bryant (Peri), Terry Molloy, Eric Saward and director Graeme Harper, and an interesting 45-minute documentary on the making of the story, both of which are let down only by the absence of Colin Baker, who was unavailable to contribute. There are also optional improved CGI effects and the usual informative on-screen production subtitles, plus a few other bits and bobs. Another good package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You Could Call it a BURIED Treasure!, 30 Aug. 2008
By 
D. Wright "GrumpyGeezer" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revelation of the Daleks, The Colin Baker Years 1984 - 86 [DVD] (DVD)
In a word: superb. A pacy, dark thriller filled with black humour that is more than the sum of its parts. Okay, the special effects are pretty ropey, the Doctor & Peri are given too little screen time and there are some of the campest deaths by Dalek ever committed to video. Yet this odd, eccentric tale is easily the best story in the Sixth Doctor's brief tenure in the TARDIS. Director Graeme Harper is one of the few people to work for both the new series and the old. If you watch this story you can see why. Terry Molloy delivers a great performance as Davros; he depicts the bald baddie as a scheming genius lurking in a web of intrigue on the planet of Necros.Clive Swift also deserves credit for a great performance as the vain, nasty, sleazy Jobel and his demise is a classic Who moment not to be missed. Bizarrely this adventure is loosely based on "The Loved One" by Evelyn Waugh but really is an affectionate tribute to the great Robert Holmes, the script-editor and scriptwriter of many Who classics.Writer Eric Saward held Holmes in great esteem and "Revelation" has a distinctly Holmesian flavour: a sharp focus on the horror elements of the plot; black humour with exceptionally witty dialogue and a double act among the supporting cast. The most gaping flaw of the adventure is the tangential relationship between the Doctor and the main thrust of the plot. In part, I would suggest, it is due to the seemingly prickly relationship between Saward and Baker: Eric wasn't particulary enamoured of Colin's larger than life portrayal of the Timelord. Nevertheless, a great story.

The Commentary is fun and informative with Nilcola Bryant (Peri) admitting that several of her legion of male fans like her running , jiggling escape from an explosion as she almost experiences a "wardrobe malfunction." The documentary is great and shows Harper's determination to complete a difficult shoot despite the sudden cold snap that meant his shooting schedule on location was so disrupted it had to be rewritten ad hoc.

This may not be on a par with classics like "Genesis ..." "Caves of..." but a cracking adventure for fans of "classic" or "new Who".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best dalek story of the 80's, 24 Sept. 2007
By 
Dalek Matt (Durham, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revelation of the Daleks, The Colin Baker Years 1984 - 86 [DVD] (DVD)
This story was first broadcasted in 1985, and followed the trend set by the pervious year's 'Resserection of the daleks'. With lots of darkness and comedy, this is one of the best dalek stories I've seen.
Plot: The 6th Doctor, and his companion Peri arravie on the Planet Necros at Tranquil Repose, where the Galaxy's rich and famouse who have been nearly killed by disease are held in suspended animation untill a cure can be found for what killed them. They've come to pay respect to an old friend of the doctor. However, things aren't all they seem to be. For deep below gound in the catacombes, Davros, posing as the Great Healer, is turning half the sleeping population of Tranquil Repose into an army of daleks, and the other half into food to sell to a staving Galaxy...
This is a brillant story, and is a huge lead forward from 'Resserection'. The daleks are back at their best, and Coiln Baker's acting is also good. The comedy is really good, and the D.J. is brilliant. The only drawback is that some of the acting isn't very good.

Apart from that, it is brillant, and I would recomend it to any Doctor Who fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Instructive, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revelation of the Daleks, The Colin Baker Years 1984 - 86 [DVD] (DVD)
I like it because : It's a fine way to establish the Civil War between the Davros's faction of Daleks and the Supreme's one.Unfortunately, as always in the classical series, the special effects are poorly made,although the make up of the human turned into a Dalek is not badly done.
As a whole I was satisfy with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Dalek serial ever!, 14 Mar. 2009
By 
Ben Cross "BigBCROSS" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revelation of the Daleks, The Colin Baker Years 1984 - 86 [DVD] (DVD)
Having only got into Doctor Who only last year I bought this story months ago to see what the Daleks were like having already seen both Resurrection and Remembrance of the Daleks I was intrigued about this story.

After watching the DVD I have to admit I was absolutely entertained from start to finish. Everything about it was perfect in my opinion from the storyline, the acting especially Colin Baker who encapsulates the role of the Doctor perfectly in my opinion. Since I bought this DVD I have seen every single one of Colin Baker's stories apart from The Twin Dilemma and whilst I would admit he is no Tom Baker or even David Tennant, he doesn't get the credit that he deserved for his portrayal.

The extras on the disc are rather interesting too. There is a minor problem with the disc and that it randomly skips chapters but this can be resolved by turning of the CGI effects.

Overall a fine Doctor Who Serial and in my opinion Colin Baker's best story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Colin Baker, 19 Aug. 2007
By 
Calculus (4th Dimension) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revelation of the Daleks, The Colin Baker Years 1984 - 86 [DVD] (DVD)
Revelation of the Daleks is Colin Baker on top form- with Nicola Bryant's companion Peri almost likeable at this stage. It's just a shame that just as Colin Baker was getting into his stride (because he's no Jon Pertwee) as The Doctor, the show was put on hiatus for being to violent and sadistic. What's so stupid is that that's not even necessarily a bad thing anyway.
Writer Eric Saward definately makes an improvement on his previous dalek story, Resurrection of the Daleks, and bring out this witty, dark and original serial worthy (in darkness) of the Hinchcliffe/Holmes era.
Terry Molloy also returns to give possibly his best performance as Davros for this serial, showing just how manic and derranged his character is.
The extras for this story are a bit minimal, however the documentary on the story is a good insite into it's origins and 'Who at the time.

Overall, at the time of transmition, Colin Baker's first season was, on average, seven million plus strong. After the hiatus, Doctor Who was lucky to see five million. It's a shame the BBC executives had to ruin a great show like 'Who. Fingers crossed it won't happen with this new current series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, probably Colin Baker's best, 28 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revelation of the Daleks, The Colin Baker Years 1984 - 86 [DVD] (DVD)
Revelation of the Daleks is as good on DVD as it was on VHS twenty years ago and is it was new in the mid 1980s. To me this is surely Colin Baker's best story as The Doctor and Nicola Bryant as Perri is really in her element. The guest stars are amazing too - Alexei Sayle and William Gaunt pull off two remarkable and memorable characters. Davros as 'The Great Healer' is genius misdirection, and the entwined subplots of mutant daleks, official daleks, a grand order, scheming business types, a cryogenic mausoleum and the Doctor's arrival all work fantastically together. Some of the characters are not sympathetic despite originally seeming that way, others seem like callous creatures but end up as sympathetic, all of which is great character evolution. The sets are beautiful, and the daleks a fascinating mixture. There's nothing not to like in this, a true classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The problems with this DVD, 27 Jan. 2010
By 
Grey Lady (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revelation of the Daleks, The Colin Baker Years 1984 - 86 [DVD] (DVD)
What actually can be watched is excellent, I agree with a former reviewer. The setting is great, the DJ is an interesting titbit, and the cast is great. However, I had to miss a part in episode 1 (seemingly as if the DVD got "stuck", and no, this was not part of the action), and worse this happened again in episode 2. And not the fault of the sellers, as I bought new copies of the DVD. Yes, I bought it twice because I was intrigued, and did not want to miss this one. And both DVD's freaked out at the same places...so, I'm not going to try again. But it sure is a loss.

Well, the three stars are for what I actually got to see (and that was nice), but because some parts remained hidden, I cannot go up, even if I like what I saw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watch out, Davros is about!, 3 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Doctor Who: Revelation of the Daleks, The Colin Baker Years 1984 - 86 [DVD] (DVD)
Revelation is another impressive and unique Dalek Story. The Doctor and Peri arrive on the planet Necros to find the planet being ruled by Davros, his aim this time is to build a new Dalek army made out of corpses. These are the white Imperial Daleks and they return to conquer the Doctor in the next Dalek story, Remembrance of the Daleks. Davros's original fleet from Skaro are alterted and they arrive on Necros to destroy the rule of Davros's new army. Davros is on top form in this story as is Peri. The planet of Necros wasn't originally supposed to be covered in snow, it just so happened to snow on the day of filming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews