Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars158
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2007
Robots is a beautifully computer animated movie about... Robots. Basically, the main robot in the story, Rodney (voiced by Ewan McGregor), decides to go to the big city to meet up with his childhood hero, Bigweld (voiced by Mel Brooks), and to get his invention out to the other robots. His invention is basically another robot but this is pretty much a fairy tale anyways, right? Rodney runs into Fender (voiced by Robin Williams) upon his arrival in the big Robot City when Fender tries to take advantage of Rodney and soon after, tries to steal his foot! I guess that is the robot equivalent of stealing shoes by the thieves here in the real world. Little things like that made the movie a unique experience. You can tell that a lot of thought went into the little parts, like the "making the baby" scene at the beginning. I thought that was ingenious, especially for a kids movie and still keeping it clean. The best looking robots were the sharp looking corporate robots. Ratchet (voiced by Greg Kinnear) was the main villain here and Cappy (voiced by Halle Berry) was the female corporate robot on the side of good, eventually helping Rodney in his quest.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2005
This will never be a Pixar beater, but it is funny in it's own way.
Ewan McGregor voices Rodney Copperbottom, who tavels to the big city to get his invention created, only to find a company that is over-run by greed and wants to stop robot upgrades - meaning that all robots will have to buy their products or become ruined, rusty and abandoned. So Rodney, with his new found city friends, tries to stop them.
First off, the graphics are great. The city is huge and bustling, and vibrant - it could be a real fantasy place! It is here that the humour really takes place, just little things that you might miss out of the corner of the screen are usually the funniest, but there are some true stand out moments.
When Rodney becomes magnetic is hilarious, and easily my favourite part in the film. Other great moments come courtesy of a climactic chase sequence, and a quiet moment ruined by...a fart!
I saw this film with two young children, and they both loved it. They laughed all the way through - the humour is more orientated towards the younger generation,but there are a handful of adult orientated jokes courtesy of Robin William's character.
All the characters are loveable, and it was a easy time to pass 90minutes. If you have a family, I would definately reccommend it.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2005
I have just finished watching one of the best cartoons I have ever seen and that cartoon is ROBOTS! From start to finish it is a visual treat, with enough gags to interest and provide novelty even after repeated viewings. The characters are heartwarming, Robin Williams voices a full blown nutjob as usual, and the films climax will have you cheering as the "little man" triumphs over the forces of greed. Ratchet is a villain in the Macbeth mould; infirm of purpose but motivated by Mommy in the pursuit of profit; mommy in this case being a diabolical robot of darkest motive.
Oh yes in Robots we have the feelgood DVD of late 2005....
get thee hence and buy it now! you'll not regret it.
The extras aren't bad, the previews quite good but with a main feature THIS GOOD it can stand on its own anyway.
Um...did I mention it was good?
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 April 2006
Great looking & sounding. For some the story might be a bit lacking but others (me too) will find it charming & entertaining.

The colours thru out are lovely - bright, giving a real 3D effect.

The sound is used really well & the James Brown jam at the end of the film is almost worth the cost of the film itself.

Give it a try - its a bit diferrent!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
ROBOTS [2005] [Blu-ray] [US Import] From The Creators Of ‘Ice Age.’ Thrilling! Funny! Terrific! The Ultimate High Definition Experience!

Fasten your seat bolts and gear up for a hilarious, heart-warming comedy that's "fun for the whole family!" says Clay Smith of Access Hollywood. With the help of his misfit mechanical friends, a small town robot named Rodney embarks on the adventure of a lifetime as he heads for the big city to pursue his dreams and ultimately proves that anyone can shine no matter what they're made of.

Featuring an all-star voice cast and a ground breaking visual style that pushes the boundaries of animated filmmaking, Robots is a dazzling, fun-filled feast for the eyes and a riveting good time for all ages.

FILM FACT: The film was nominated for many awards in the category of best animated film, as well as awards for character design, best animated character, voice casting, and sound editing. However, it only won one, the MTV [Mexico] Movie Award for best song, "Un Héroe Real" [A Real Hero].

Voice Cast: Ewan McGregor, Halle Berry, Greg Kinnear, Mel Brooks, Robin Williams, Amanda Bynes, Drew Carey, Jennifer Coolidge, Harland Williams, Jim Broadbent, Dianne Wiest, Stanley Tucci, Natasha Lyonne, Paul Giamatti and Dan Hedaya. Cameos: Brian Scott McFadden, Jay Leno, Lucille Bliss, Paula Abdul, Randy Jackson, Ryan Seacrest, Al Roker, Stephen Tobolowsky, Randall Montgomery, Tim Nordquist, Lowell Ganz, James Earl Jones (archive recording) and James Brown (singing voice, archive recording)

Directors: Chris Wedge and Carlos Saldanha [co-director]

Producers: Jerry Davis, John C. Donkin and William Joyce

Screenplay: Babaloo Mandel, David Lindsay-Abaire and Lowell Ganz

Composer: John Powell

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, French: 5.1 Dolby Digital, French: 5.1 DTS, German: 5.1 DTS, Italian: 5.1 DTS, Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Danish: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Dutch: 5.1 DTS, Danish: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Norwegian: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Catalan: 5.1 DTS, Swedish: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Czech: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Icelandic: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Hebrew: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English, English SDH, French, Spanish, German, Arabic, Catalan, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Greek, Hebrew, Icelandic, Italian, Norwegian and Swedish

Running Time: 91 minutes

Region: Region A/1

Number of discs: 1

Studio: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: ‘ROBOTS’ falls into much the same trap as that minor 2002 computer-generated effort. Simply put, 20th Century Fox's animated unit, Blue Sky Productions, cannot keep up with the incendiary heights of PIXAR, that is slightly paling in comparison in the story and character departments and lacking the much-needed heart that makes a passable family film great. With that said, ‘ROBOTS’ is a frequently dazzling eye-opener that is worth seeing just for its visuals of a bustling, futuristic metropolis presided over by a population of mechanical beings.

The hero of the story is Rodney Copperbottom [Ewan McGregor], a talented aspiring inventor who leaves his parents [Stanley Tucci and Dianne Wiest] and small-town existence to make his dreams come true in Robot City. Once there, Rodney's hopes of meeting famed bigwig inventor Bigweld [Mel Brooks] are dashed when he discovers the company is now lorded over by the tyrannical, money-hungry Phineas T. Ratchet [Greg Kinnear]. Instructed by his dastardly, androgynous mother, Madame Gasket [Jim Broadbent], Phineas has made it his mission to sell high-priced parts to the faltering, fading low-mode bot residents. If they are not able to afford it, as is the case with the high-energy Fender [Robin Williams], sweepers are sent out to destroy them and store them in the junkyard. Not one to take such unethical behaviour lying down, Rodney teams up with Fender, Fender's kid-sis, Piper [Amanda Bynes], beautiful company exec Cappy [Halle Berry], and the rest of the low-modes to put a stop to Ratchet's plan and right the wrongs of the Bigweld company.

‘ROBOTS’ screenplay is by Lowell Ganz and Babaloo Mandel [‘Where the Heart Is’], who cook up a fair share of ingenious comedic fodder as they put a robotic spin on the actual human world. For example, in the robots' world, going into labour means mantling the spare parts of a mechanical baby; public restrooms are divided not by male and female but by input and output symbols; and maps to the stars' homes features celebrities such as Britney Gears. Whereas 2004's mediocre ‘Shark Tale’ suffered enormously by its flash-in-the-pan pop-cultural references, the ones in ‘ROBOTS’ are more original and appropriate, including funny uses of Britney Spears' "...Baby One More Time" and Chingy's "Right Thurrr."

Director Chris Wedge and screenplay by Babaloo Mandel, David Lindsay-Abaire and Lowell Ganz have the humorous aspects of ‘ROBOTS’ down to a fine art, especially handling the plot and the ensemble characters. The storyline is a little muddled; zooming at 150mph when 55 mph would have been fast enough. The frenetic pace will enrapture the children in the audience and they, after all, will like anything this fast and colourful, but director Chris Wedge is always so determined to get to the next scene that he loses sight of his ragtag protagonists. They are all likable enough, but, save for the quick-witted Fender, are terminally forgettable and underdeveloped.

Halle Berry, as Rodney's sort-of love interest, Cappy, shares top-billing with Ewan McGregor for no determinable reason other than that she is a big name. Berry is barely there and her Cappy is not humanized enough to understand the character's objective. The team of low-modes are voiced by Amanda Bynes, Harland William, Drew Carey, and the invaluable Jennifer Coolidge. They are energetic enough in their performances, but stand around looking for something interesting to say that they never find. This is one case where an all-star cast in an animated picture is extraneous. The voices too often call attention to them and keep the viewer from believing in the robots as genuine characters. Only Robin Williams calls attention to himself for the right reasons, bringing a zany lovability and warmth to the indomitable Fender that only Williams could achieve.

‘ROBOTS’ is entertaining, no doubt about it, a gorgeously computer-animated family film that will win over children and has enough slyly mature humour to bring favour to grown-ups. A thrilling sequence in which Rodney and Fender ride a public transportation contraption that catapults them through the air and over cliffs is a rollercoaster ride-like highlight. Ultimately, it is on the basic screenplay level where ‘ROBOTS’ suffers slightly next to the superior heights of something like ‘Finding Nemo,’ ‘Shrek 2’ or ‘The Incredibles’ which those are modern animated classics that transcend the rapidly evolving animation format, meticulously developed and thought out and emotionally resonant. ‘ROBOTS’ is slightly creakier, slighter and more indifferent, as much in need of an oil change as its heroes. Until 20th Century Fox and Blue Sky Productions match PIXAR in the monopoly of computer animation, audiences will have to make do with ambitious but flawed productions like ‘ROBOTS.’ It does not sometimes contain a whole lot to grasp onto and take away with you, but it's pleasurable, bright and inoffensive while it lasts. That's honestly not such a bad place to be at. The only thing that would make this animation film soar to greater heights, is if they had finally got round to doing a 3D Blu-ray conversion, especially with the technology available in turning a 2D animation film, into an amazing 3D Blu-ray presentation, as that would indeed be a mind blowing experience.

Blu-ray Video Quality – Cut straight from the digital source, ‘ROBOTS’ looks absolutely stunning with its 1.85:1 anamorphic widescreen presentation. For lack of a better term the image quality here is nearly flawless with really nothing to complain about. The colours remain vibrant, the video is crystal clear and aside from a few moments where it becomes soft the picture is very sharp. There is so much attention to detail in this robotic world that I found it a little daunting at first but it took my breath away. Compared to ‘Ice Age,‘ this animation film is not only designed better, but it receives a much better transfer, compared to the NTSC DVD I had in my collection, that I was glad to get rid of.
Blu-ray Audio Quality – With two English audio options we get the best of both worlds with this release. Depending what you’re set up allows for and what you prefer there are 5.1 Dolby Digital and DTS tracks available here. Both sound absolutely remarkable and make some intelligent use of speaker set up although the DTS sounds a smidge better. The directional audio is great with the main sound effects and workings of the robotic world, music and dialogue pumping from all angles. The sound is ultra-crisp and cleans with no real noticeable distortion or flaws and is on par with the visual aspect of the disc.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Audio Commentary by Blue Sky Productions: Nine members of the Blue Sky Productions animation team offer up their insights in this technically-minded free-for-all, exploring the particulars of lighting and animation.

Special Feature: Aunt Fanny's Tour of BOOTY [2005] It is a five minute tour of the Robot City train station. It's more like a comedy reel with a lot of hilarious bits without much story behind it. Definitely watch this when you're done with the film and want some more laughs at the expense of Fender and company.

Special Feature: The Voices of Robots [2005] [7:28] A promo documentary about the all-star voice acting team. With eleven characters under the microscope there are clips of the voice actor talking about their character for each one with the exception of Diesel who doesn't have a voice of his own. Every character also has a selection of design sketches that show the progression of the design up to the final material and there is a 3D turnaround model showing the final product in motion.

Music Video [2005] [4:08] An extremely out dated-looking music video by Sarah Connors. Yeah, I've never heard of her either.

Deleted Scenes [2005] [7:56] Three short deleted scenes with optional commentary by director Chris Wedge. The first involves Tim the gate guard and shows how his conversation with Rodney really ended. This was unnecessary and was understandably cut from the end product because it breaks the illusion that Tim is a hand puppet. The rest are some more character interactions that feature incomplete animations and in some cases conceptual sketches to display the sequences.

Finally, Visually ‘ROBOTS’ is absolutely stunning and the film is remarkably detailed in every sense. The NTSC DVD that was in my collection was okay, but this Blu-ray disc has an even more fantastic digital transfer, some wonderful audio quality and a slew of quality extras. My only issues with this release have to do with the animation film itself because it definitely has some slight flaws. The story may be rich with interesting characters and many funny situations but the simple fact is in this case the plot was second place next to the concept of the film. Children will enjoy it more than adults will, thanks to some very immature humour and gaudy pop culture references. Even so this is a good watch for the whole family, but will not give you the emotional connection that something like a PIXAR project would, but despite this I am really love this beautiful animation and I love all the characters, especially the mad cap and inventive Robin Williams, who has now sadly departed from us all, and the team that put this projector together, did a fine job and should be very proud of themselves and I am so lucky to add this to my Blu-ray Collection. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Blue Sky Studios (the people behind the Ice Age film franchise) have created a family film that has something to say...

...Pixar have arguably been the most successful CGI animation studio, and it tends to be because the characters, regardless of whether they are monsters, toys, or even a lamp - feel somehow real, they relate to real life characters, and this non-Pixar film has managed to do the same.

From the moment Herb Copperbottom races home only to miss the delivery of their new baby, and his wife reassures him that "making the baby's the fun part.", the film manages to marry together the world we know, and the fictional world of robots.

'Robots' follows the journey of young Rodney and his quest to realise his dream of being an inventor for revered robot Bigweld. Given an encouraging prod on his way by his dad who is stuck in a dead end job after never chasing his own dream, Rodney finds himself alone in a big city - but soon makes friends.

With the likes of Mel Brooks and Robin Williams providing voices, you expect a few laughs - and you get them. The scene with armpit farts was childish and banal - but it was great! It had both me and my wife laughing!

There's a dark side to this film, with the Robot world entirely reliant on one company for spare parts, it starts to break down (quite literally) when the head of business is replaced by a ruthless robot who abuses his Captilist Monopoly to force robots to buy expensive upgrades rather than replace their broken parts. Rodney, however, uses his technical genius to help the poor like a clockwork Robin Hood and sets his sights on fighting the might of the corporate baddies.

In a nutshell: Impressive visuals and likable characters don't make for a fantastic film in themselves. You can't help but feel that you know the outcome of the film before it's quarter of the way through, but this is still an enjoyable family film even if it is a bit average. I can't give this three and a half stars, so I'm going to err on the side of four - although it might have an obvious moral tone to it, there's a more intelligent message too about abuses of power and it's not often that a family film introduces a political message, even if it is hidden underneath the rest of the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2006
Was really looking forward to this film but I guess we have got used to the amazing standard of the Disney / Pixar type offerings. I found this film to be somehow trying too hard if that makes sense. OK but not brilliant. That said my five year old watched it a few times and seemed to enjoy it until he got hold of a copy of Madagascar and now wont watch anything else...
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2012
Personally I could take or leave this film. Happy to watch it once, but it isn't the sort of film I would choose to watch again and again. The same cannot be said however for my 6 and 4 year olds sons (in particular the 4 year old). We happened to watch this on television one weekend. As we recorded it on our Sky Plus box, we were then subjected to it every day for the next few weeks until I decided to order a copy so at least myself and my husband wouldn't be subjected to it anymore!

The film is about a young robot voiced by Ewan McGregor. He goes off to the big city in an attempt to live his dream of becoming an inventor. However when he gets there, the company that he has dreamed about has been taken over by a 'corporate type' of robot and things are very different. It goes on pedictably to show him 'putting everything right' (as we would expct from the hero) and - of course - getting the girl in the process!

There are some very funny one-liners in here that will appeal to the grown-ups. If you have young children (prticulalrly boys) I would strongly recommend this film for them. My husband also enjoys the film so maybe it is a 'boy/man' thing and might make a good Father's Day gift from a little boy for the two of them to watch together!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
It is hard to find a DVD to please both my five year old son and my ten year old daughter as they are at different stages and with varying interests. But they loved this movie! Although I cannot say I sat through it myself (since they are engrossed I usually run off to do other stuff in the house) but it seems very nicely made, intelligent, cute! And the price on amazon was great. Would definitely recommend.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 November 2005
Now I must admit this film was a big step aside from Ice Age, but I wouldn't necessarily say in a bad way. Yes, the pacing was very fast, sometimes so fast you could get lost if you decided to blow your nose or something. I'm guessing they were aiming at people with short attention spans. I particularly loved the cleverly designed (though quite impractical) transport system they had going on in Robot City. The action scenes were also brilliant, if a little farfetched at times but that helped to add to the overall cartoonish feel of the film. The humour was witty with the occasional tendency to border on childish in places (still, made my inner child have a good laugh!) and all the characters were distinctive, which was brilliant.
Overall, an eccentric fun movie with a sentimental side and a good moral to boot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.