Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey Rolls On
This is a great Journey album. It has all the hallmarks of Journey, old and new. There's some classic Neal Schon guitar work - the solos on 'Faith in the Heartland' and 'Place in Your Heart' give me goose bumps! There's some good solid rock numbers, including a redo of Neal's 'In Self-Defence' which originally appeared on one of his Schon and Hammer albums with the...
Published on 13 Sep 2005 by Gerry Watts

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was it really worth the wait
Further to previous reviews, I was disappointed with this album in comparison to Arrival.
Considering the band had 4 plus years to come up with this plus a whole lot of experience in songwriting, I was expecting something far more impressive than this.

After 30 odd years (albeit with different line-ups) is now the time to be experimenting with "everyone...
Published on 17 Jan 2006 by john ishmael


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey Rolls On, 13 Sep 2005
By 
This review is from: Generations (Audio CD)
This is a great Journey album. It has all the hallmarks of Journey, old and new. There's some classic Neal Schon guitar work - the solos on 'Faith in the Heartland' and 'Place in Your Heart' give me goose bumps! There's some good solid rock numbers, including a redo of Neal's 'In Self-Defence' which originally appeared on one of his Schon and Hammer albums with the members of Journey as guests.
Steve Augeri's vocals certainly fit the new Journey, and his song writing capabilities are revealed a little with 'Butterfly' and 'Beyond the Clouds.'
The whole band gets to sing lead vocals at least once on this album! Deen Castronova's voice is quite a nice surprise. And on 'Every Generation' Cain's vocals give a hint of the days of Gregg Rolie.
Overall, this is a very uplifting, fun, melodic rock album, with some great lyrics about love, faith and hope. The Limited Edition comes in the form of a hardback booklet with pics and lyrics. There's also an extra multimedia video track for the computer which is a little documentary/interview with the band (about 10 minutes).
The Journey rolls on - and I'm a happy Journey fan. My advice: If you like good melodic rock - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JOURNEY ARE BACK !!!, 1 Oct 2005
By 
Armin Klahr (Glasgow, Lanarkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Generations (Audio CD)
I was a bit worried at first when i heard that all the members of Journey were going to get a shot at lead vocals,but i didn't need to worry,i love this CD....it ROCKS a lot more than Journey's previous 2 studio albums TRIAL BY FIRE and ARRIVAL and i think these 2 albums suffered because of the amount of ballads on them.
There are only 3 ballads on this CD and they are very good songs,but my 2 favourite songs on GENERATIONS are BELIEVE sung by AUGERI and EVERY GENERATION sung by CAIN.
I recommend this CD to all fans of JOURNEY and melodic rock and even though the lead singer only sings on 8 of the 13 songs,it really works.
BUY AND ENJOY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 10 Nov 2005
This review is from: Generations (Audio CD)
This album from Journey is successful. Much punchier than previous ones, as you most probably know from all the other reviews and the press coverage. I would say that 60 % of it is really to the point, mostly in the first half, then Neal Schon's (#9, where he sings), then the last one. The fact they are taking turns at the singing is actually pretty nice and the result is a very good album from Journey.
It is really a shame they never come to Europe (do they ? someone to correct me ?).
But let us be honest: for me the defining style comes from Neal Schon's guitar pieces, he is just one of the greats. I think Satriani needs to think about G3 + Neal Schon + John Petrucci, G5 say ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was it really worth the wait, 17 Jan 2006
By 
john ishmael (Chepstow, Monmouthshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Generations (Audio CD)
Further to previous reviews, I was disappointed with this album in comparison to Arrival.
Considering the band had 4 plus years to come up with this plus a whole lot of experience in songwriting, I was expecting something far more impressive than this.

After 30 odd years (albeit with different line-ups) is now the time to be experimenting with "everyone having a go at vocals".

That being said, if this was a new band the album is pretty good, although not quite sure whether this is Journey with a different drummer and vocalist, or Bad English with a different vocalist and Bass player,or the Storm with well I could go on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Generations (Audio CD)
Good value quick delivery. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What is wrong with the recording quality?, 29 Jan 2013
By 
Michael Malega (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Generations (Audio CD)
To my surprise, the recording stamp of this CD on a studio is major flaw, high frequencies are distorted that I can hardly believe it original recording. How in a world recording studio allowed a such sound quality being produced or stamped?!!

Music surely is not what I expected from Journey, pity Steve Perry is not there to fix the problem we most of us know exist. I hope Steve Perry will came back at least in his new band to get things right, that would be nice isn't it? :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Life after Perry?, 12 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Generations (Audio CD)
There are some good rockin tracks on this cd.The first six songs and the last song( a bonus track) are almost classic Journey.Tracks seven-twelve stray away from their usual sound and end up sounding a little too much like Van Halen-if i wanted a Van Halen cd i would have bought a Van Halen cd!!The best track on it is "A better life"-lovely tune and great lyrics.They all sure the vocal duties-Deen Castronovo(drummer) in particular has a great voice-he does a good job of sounding like Steve Perry.And that's the downfall of this cd-its really missing one thing-Steve Perry's magic touch and his awesome voice,but until he rejoins them-this will have to do!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Generally rated, 26 Mar 2010
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Generations (Audio CD)
Generations is much the same as Revelations, despite there being a couple of outstanding additions to the ever-burgeoning Journey classic canon. There is very little heart, which is a shame seeing as most of these tracks are far rockier than a 'normal' Journey album.That said, it only just falls behind Arrival and is much better than Revelations in my opinion.

'Faith in the Heartland' is a classic. 'Place in your Heart' is a great singalong track - trademark Journey. 'Change for the Better' is much of the same. 'Every Generation' is ok, quite rocky, but ultimately forgettable. 'Butterfly' is a step in the right direction. Different, edgy(for Journey) and near-perfect. As is 'Believe' despite it being less of a classic. Infectious tune though! 'Knowing that you Love Me' is really the only proper ballad on here and is quite boring.

The rest of the album, up until the final 2 tracks, is stompin, rock-a-billy, good old fashioned rompin-stompin.... oh you know what I mean. It's Journey doing hard rock. Sometimes it works ('Out of Harms Way' and 'Better Together'). Sometimes it don't ('Self Defense' and 'Gone Crazy').

The 2 best tracks are the last 2. 'Beyond the Clouds' is just stunning, hairs standing on end stunning. 'It's Never Too Late' is just one of the best closers ever.

It's great to have Journey around in the 21st Century, and doing well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Generations
Generations by Journey (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews