Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nostalgic trip
I suppose being a catholic I was drawn to this film because it portrayed many of the old doctrines and beliefs that I grew up with as a boy but have questioned in later life. It is many years since I saw this film on the big screen but it stayed in my mind which is why I decided to buy the Dvd. I found that I enjoyed it as much as when first saw it although perhaps a...
Published on 5 Dec. 2009 by CJH

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a terrible quality DVD
This is a terrible quality DVD.
I have recently seen The Cardinal on Foxtel cable in Australia which was in hi-definition and had the overture, en'trac, and exit music.
I had hoped that this DVD would be of the same quality but it is a very blurry video transfer.
I am bitterly disapointed.
Published 5 months ago by John Kane


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nostalgic trip, 5 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: Cardinal [DVD] [1963] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I suppose being a catholic I was drawn to this film because it portrayed many of the old doctrines and beliefs that I grew up with as a boy but have questioned in later life. It is many years since I saw this film on the big screen but it stayed in my mind which is why I decided to buy the Dvd. I found that I enjoyed it as much as when first saw it although perhaps a little more aware now of some of the actors shortcomings but, overall, I have to say I still think it is a good film. It may seem a little long to those not of the catholic faith but I think it did try to give a balanced view in its approach to its religious theme. Production standards were high and, as always, Jerome Moross created a lovely musical background. It was good to see the lovely Romy Schneider again after so many years. She was an underrated actress I feel. The Dvd itself if a first class copy and could have been made yesterday. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing this one's a cardinal sin!, 20 July 2005
By A Customer
This is of its time. Even so, it's a masterpiece. In brief, it's a tale about a man's need to love, and the variety of personages and ways in which he attempts to do so. It's a quiet epic, sometimes overacted, often understated, but one that's worth watching over and again. Inspiring and enlightening by turns, Preminger's film is, simply , superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Film Portraying a Noble, Albeit Troubled Priest Turned Prelate, Only Loosely Based on a Greedy and Corrupt Churchman, 21 Sept. 2012
By 
Gerald Parker "Gerald Parker" (Rouyn-Noranda, QC., Dominion of Canada) - See all my reviews
This film seemed daring (though still hagiographic) in its time (when I saw it in a cinema house at the time of its initial release), but it would have been much more shocking if it had revealed the full and at times seemy truth of the life of the high cleric, Cardinal Abp. William Henry O`Connell, whom the movie, and Henry Morton Robinson`s novel on which the screenplay is based, portray (loosely and discretely, avoiding both naming him outright or being too explicit). O`Connell was a prelate of great personal culture (whose musical accomplishments even included the composition of some fine church music) and of glamourously extroverted flair.

Cardinal O`Connell lived a life of flamboyant splendour, but the expenses of his maintenance and retinue (and of some nepotism, too) derived to no small extent from his dips into archdiocesan finances (which were booming, in no small part to his shrewd management, despite the pilfering of funds therefrom for his own extravagant personal and extended family use). Cardinal O`Connell also was a secretive, practising homosexual. Of course, these shocking matters surpass even the titillations of Otto Preminger`s film!

For "the straight skinny" (i.e., to inform yourself) see, above all, James M. O`Toole`s fine study (one of several in book form), "Militant and Triumphant: William Henry O`Connell and the Catholic Church in Boston, 1859-1944" (University of Notre-Dame Press, 1992), which confirms that the identity of the true-life priest turned prelate of the film indeed is Cardinal Abp. O`Connell of Boston. The facts, albeit seemier, are even more fascinating than the fiction concerning this seminal prelatical figure of the Roman Catholic Church in the U. S. of A.

Nonethess, on its own terms, the film is highly enjoyable, however much it romanticises Church life and its inner workings. There was a time when the Catholic Church merited the respectful homage that "The Cardinal", book and film, rendered to it, before the indignities and degradation of what ensued upon the conclusion of the Second Vatican Council. Those chages were to diminish drastically the life, inwardly spiritual and outwardly institutional and liturgical, of post-conciliar and trivialised Catholicism. Seeing this film, putting aside the personal shallowness of the real Cardinal O`Connell and of his careerist ilk, reminds the viewer of how much the world has lost with the regrettable developments and decline that so have diminished present-day Western Catholicism in ways far more detrimental to it than anything that the real Cardinal O`Connell of history could do to subvert it. There was a time, indeed, when the Roman Catholic Church had, to a large degree, the kind of moral grandeur and vibrant collective life and piety that the Cardinal, other clergy, and the faithful laity portrayed in this film call to memory so effectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars This is a terrible quality DVD, 2 Sept. 2014
By 
John Kane (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cardinal (Region 2) (DVD)
This is a terrible quality DVD.
I have recently seen The Cardinal on Foxtel cable in Australia which was in hi-definition and had the overture, en'trac, and exit music.
I had hoped that this DVD would be of the same quality but it is a very blurry video transfer.
I am bitterly disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very impressive!, 7 Jan. 2014
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cardinal [DVD] [1963] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Although this film never received major critical approval on its release and its production history was troubled to say the least ( Preminger's mistreatment of Tom Tryon is both legendary and disgusting) it sure packs a punch today. From such potentially worrying subject matter - faith, and the nature of Catholicism etc - the director has created a moving, honest and totally convincing (considering its Hollywood background and year of production) and very moving portrait of a young man ( Tryon is much better than one has been led to believe) coming to terms with the extraordinary demands of entering the priesthood and the major challenges facing civilisation ( racism and the rise of the Nazi movement during a very turbulent period of world history.)

For me the movie is up there with Zinnerman's "The Nun's Story" and the adaptation of the classic novel "The Razor's Edge", in its attempt to capture the highly complex issue of the nature of faith and human belief, and present it with humanity and conviction. Beautifully shot in locations throughout the world this 3 hour epic receives a terrific audio and video transfer on this rather rare DVD. No - the film won't appeal to everyone, but I found it enjoyable, emotionally engaging, and really rather impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cardinal fabulous film, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cardinal [DVD] [1963] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Absolutely love this film and im over the moon as region 1 plays in changed to no region dvd player. I remenber this film when first shown in 1963 a different world to that if today. Its like Life on Mars now only in reverse. It was far superior then and I saw this film as a young lad then. Still as gripping now as it was then and its musical score is fantastic. Its ab epic in its own right and very well acted. Always loved Carol Lynley she is a stunner. Buy this film you will thoroughly enjoy it for years ti come. Its my all time favourite. 10 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Recommendation, 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cardinal [DVD] [1963] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This film is well done and follows the life of a priest (later Cardinal) through the hectic times of the 20th Century, especially before 1970). Given the chaos and dissolution now evident in the Catholic Church, the moral problems of the Cardinal may be remote from any analysis of today's Catholicism, an outgrowth of Vat II. Nevertheless, the Cardinal is faced with some moral dilemmas, e.g., can he permit a late term abortion by his sister (too sick to chose) or not? This problem is quite contemporary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cardinal [DVD] [1963] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
just read the book,wanted to see the film
really enjoyed it,well worth it good value.
obviously a bit dated but would recomend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cardinal [DVD] [1963] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The Cardinal (1963) is one of my favourite films. It restores my faith in human nature when I've momentarily lost it; and it reminds me of how amazing the church is now; and used to be.
Whilst I really value the film, I would urge anyone who really wants to experience the full life of Cardinal Fermoyle to read the original book by Henry Morton Robinson, as there is a lot of stuff in the book that is missed out in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cardinal [DVD] [1963] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
GOOD RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cardinal [DVD] [1963] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£3.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews