Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blonds have more fun...
This best of is fantastic - a marvellous way to introduce yourself to one of the best indie bands of the 80s - The Primitives. Just forget any one hit wonder tags, because they had plenty more pop sensibilities about them aside form 'Crash' and I'm at a loss as to why they didnt rack up any more top 10 hits! Just check out the excellent 'Way Behind Me' or the...
Published on 26 Jun 2003 by Mr. A. Kay

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What Happened To Really Stupid?
Peaked early you say! The original single of "Crash" was released long before the polished 1988 version! and what about 1986's "Really Stupid" and "Stop Killing Me" the following year, how can these be left off the so called "Best Of"!
The Primitives were the best thing out of the midlands for a long time but this compilation totaly overlooks the early period which...
Published on 4 Oct 2003 by j-a-fairhurst


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blonds have more fun..., 26 Jun 2003
By 
This best of is fantastic - a marvellous way to introduce yourself to one of the best indie bands of the 80s - The Primitives. Just forget any one hit wonder tags, because they had plenty more pop sensibilities about them aside form 'Crash' and I'm at a loss as to why they didnt rack up any more top 10 hits! Just check out the excellent 'Way Behind Me' or the sunshine-soaked 'Secrets' and you'll see what I mean... I'm tempted to knock off a star for the lack of what I consider their BEST EVER track, 'Really Stupid', but I love them, and miss them, so much I really can't bring myself to do it! There were many blond bands in the late 80s indie swamp (The Darling Buds, Transvision Vamp, Voice Of The Beehive, etc.) but The Primitives are my favourite. Buy this CD, it's cheap, there isn't a duff track on it and I guarentee you'll want to check out their original albums... All together now... "na-na-na-na-na, na-na-na-na-na-naaaa... slow down, you're gonna crash!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential collection from a seminal band, 9 Mar 2001
By A Customer
The Primitives were essential listening in the late 80s for all aficionados of real music, the ideal antidote to the relentless tide of lightweight pop (for O read A) from the likes of Astley, Donovan et al. I love them to this day, if like me you can't get enough of guitars and female vocals buy this NOW.
I have only one gripe. Why, oh WHY??? no Dizzy Heights?! The most beautiful and perfect song they ever recorded. Ah well, you can't have everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Crash and the rest ..., 4 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. M. Holland "Matt" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
Crash is possibly a candidate of the best pop song of all time. Found the song on YouTube and it brought back all kinds of memories and so to the Amazon and "The Best of the Primitives". I can't remember but I must have owned Lovely at some time as tracks on both albums seem familiar. A bigger surprise was the extent of Best of with 24 tracks. Worth buying to own a version of Crash, great to get the other songs as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the primitves cd, 11 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
the primitves cd is the best . they ve writtten and performed lots of songs that are great I recomend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BEST OF THE PRIMITIVES VERDICT, 13 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
Having checked out the singles discography of The Primitives I have been made aware that two singles are missing from this compilation. Luckily both were on YouTube so I played them to find out what I am missing. I was relieved. It was a good idea that they were left off, being the weakest songs The Primitives seem to have in their catalogue - that includes the album tracks which I will go into soon. The first one left off "Really Stupid" sounds realistically dated, given it was their first single. "Stop Killing Me" as the second is a slight improvement, but back to the choices on this compilation. The rest of the singles "Thru' the Flowers" (which is beyond charming and heartwarming), "Out of Reach" (jovial), "Sick of It" (a good rock one), "Secrets" (kind of a surprise single, perky enough), "Way Behind Me" (one of my faves - so effortlessly catchy and uplifting), "You Are the Way" (I even remember briefly hearing this when it was released - talk about a nostalgia rush. I absolutely LOVE this song - it's my favourite by them. So irresistible and the vocals melodic, soothing and enchanting), "Earth Thing" (seductively sung and a good single choice). Of course, goes without saying "Crash" is a classic, innocent pop song. As for the album tracks here I was pleasantly surprised. Ones such as "I Almost Touched You" and "Give This World to You" would have made good single choices. "Noose" is haunting and, as title suggests, suitably dark - just like "Shadow". I'm glad there are two versions of "All the Way Down" because the first is a bit too SLOWED down for my liking. The "beat version" (last track on CD) may sound kind of 50's/60's & therefore slightly at odds with what you might be expecting, but it's more alive so was a good call to make it.
While typical and expected, it is without a doubt unfair that this band was never really given the chance. They got lucky with "Crash" and even though other songs prove just as worthy, if not even more so, with the likes of "You Are the Way" which was realized when their time was more than up in the 90's, they could never capitalize on it and have been pushed back a bit into the wilderness. However, thankfully, this CD is a good representation of what they had and anyone who listens would be pleasantly surprised by just how much The Primitives had to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best bands of the 80s, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best bands of the 80s and finding this album brought back good memories, And was a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indie at its finest, 8 Jun 2012
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
Named for an early 60s Lou Reed group the Primitives brand of Indie touched on classic girl group pop with a flavouring of the Velvet Underground scoring one top 5 single and 4 others on the top 50.Many singles were issued as gimmick ones including a tape in a box as a 7" with postcards something many others were doing like the Voice Of The Beehive and All About Eve as their records companies had found a new toy to play with.
In the days before downloads the Primitives made their first TV appearance on Wogan-at the time a surefire way of obtaining a hit single
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What Happened To Really Stupid?, 4 Oct 2003
Peaked early you say! The original single of "Crash" was released long before the polished 1988 version! and what about 1986's "Really Stupid" and "Stop Killing Me" the following year, how can these be left off the so called "Best Of"!
The Primitives were the best thing out of the midlands for a long time but this compilation totaly overlooks the early period which was them at their best without a doubt. A good compilation for all those who jumped on the bandwagon when "Crash" came out but for those who were there at the start stick with the vinyl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crash was not their best song, 11 Jun 2007
By 
I remember the Primitives very well. The song that stuck out for me by a long shot was Really Stupid. Try and get this on a single, you will find it hard. I m pretty sure thy did release it on vynil. (Good old days)

I'm astounded that Crash seems to be the one song that everyone goes on about.It was released way before the film and the film has hyped this song above all the others...

Early stuff was brilliant like Thru the flowers,stop killing me and Sick of it.

There was more to the Primitives than Crash. Can't understnd why they left Really Stupid off. Now thats Really Stupid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing ever matched 'Crash', 11 Oct 1999
By A Customer
OK, maybe it's a little unfair, but I think the only really good song The Primitives released was 'Crash'; three minutes of perfectly arranged speed pop. Nothing here come close to that, really; 'Thru the flowers' is all right, as is 'All the way down', but The Primitives peaked early, let's face it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best Of
Best Of by Primitives (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews