Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good - A U.K. ressurection of Jay Z - 4.5 Stars
If you don't see my location on here yet, believe it or not, I'm from the US, out of all places, reviewing this album. Kano is literally, a U.K. continuation of Jay Z, except he is much better. "I love money, don't get me wrong, but its more what the songs like ." - Has jay Z ever said that? Don't think so. But everything else on this album has Jay Z's trademark all over...
Published on 22 Aug 2005 by DJ Benny (AKA Ben A.)

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good..... But not amazing
Decent album, I wouldnt go as far to say that this is top draw but definatly not a bad debut. I know terms such as "The Best Lyricist in UK Hip Hop" are being thrown around, but I wouldnt pay much attention to that! Although he does flow, he is no Jehst, Klashnekoff, Kyza and this album is very commercial. I would say if you like your mainstream uk hip hop buy this...
Published on 12 Oct 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Kano, remember that name!, 18 Aug 2005
By 
This review is from: Home Sweet Home (Audio CD)
Wow what an album this is. i cannot fault this album at all, it has everything you need, and i believe it is the only album i have that i like every song on it. His style is brilliant and with the mitchell brothers and the streets in it just takes it to another level. it is my album of the year by a mile. So if you like any urban music you will love this.
Hope it helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UK HipHop finally has a break through, 3 Oct 2005
This review is from: Home Sweet Home (Audio CD)
Right, Kano, what can I say: Quite possibly the best lyricist in UK Hip Hop, in fact judging by the album...possibly one of the best lyricists in Hip Hop. People are going to disagree with me but if he carries on like this lyrically he's getting close to the quality Nas was spitting in the 90's!
The album is raw and has British Hip Hop stamped across it. It's not at all glossy and the best part is, the whole album is real, its not roleplaying the pretend life of a gangster, its simply telling the life of a boy from London.
I have to disagree with the production side...I'm in music production myself and quite a few other producers I have spoken to have agreed that he production quality isn't fantastic on this album...though I do agree, they've used MIDI pretty well but I felt that whilst Kano put 110% into his vocals the overall production lacked on some songs...in my opinion though thats what makes the album so great, it doesn't need perfection to make it shine!
Isn't it great to be back in that situation again for Hip Hop where its not on the verge of becoming simply money, its got a reason now and the UK have got a reason to keep making British Hip Hop rise. Whilst Kanye is the saviour of US, Kano is carrying th UK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grime King!, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Sweet Home (Audio CD)
Classic Kano right here, by far his best album and alot of classic tracks on there. Grime King. Recommend purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kano, 25 Nov 2006
This review is from: Home Sweet Home (Audio CD)
Kano began in the GRIME scene and is doing more hiphop stuff.Kano is sick and this is worth buying.His bars are sick.Also if you are a kano fan , get his other cd or mixtape as there called , called KANO -Beats and Bars and look out kanos second ablum coming out soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A solid album, 5 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Home Sweet Home (Audio CD)
It's always good to hear more UK hip hop and Kano delivers a fine set of tracks on Home Sweet Home! There is certainly a very refreshing and interesting blend of moods expressed on this album. Tunes like 'Ghetto Kid' and 'How we livin' obviously hint at harder times in life whereas 'I don't know why' and 'remember me' are more accessible as feel-good, uplifiting tracks! The beats in the album are very solid and Kano delivers strong lyrics that a lot of people will feel they can relate to. Rather than girls, guns and cars, Kano hits on some of the less materialistic things in life throughout this album and that's what makes it a winner! I would say that all in all it's a must for any UK hip-hop fans out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug 2014
This review is from: Home Sweet Home (Audio CD)
no better than kano delivered fast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Real UK Rap Talent!!!, 19 Dec 2005
This review is from: Home Sweet Home (Audio CD)
I've always favoured US Rap and was yet to find a UK Rapper that i found apealling, til i bought this album, Kano is the future of UK Rap, he could break it mainstream in the USA. He is genuine talent and has great lyrics original and standoutish, which is what i look for when i listen to my rap/hip-hop. Hes got his own style and is not afraid to experiment. My fave songs on the album are the obvious ones, Typical Me, Remember Me, Nite Nite, Mic Check, Home Sweet Home, Signs In Life, Cop This Album, its the future of UK Rap. Big Up To KANO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, 4 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Home Sweet Home (Audio CD)
First off I'm not a fan of this London 'Garage/Grime' fad, maybe it's cos im a northerner and i simply don't understand it, maybe you have to be a part of the culture to fully respect it as a credible form of music, however, i'm not a part of this culture so I do not rate it as a credible form of music, mainly because they all sound the same. I am however, a huge fan of the streets and consequently the mitchell brothers, because they have tried to be different, they have tried to rhyme about everyday things and not this overhyped lifestyle southerners seem to have and live by. Kano, falls into this category, yes he may be regarded as this southern grime style but he brings more to the table, he doesn't have the repetitive beats which have been the downfall of garage acts in the past. All his songs on the album are different, and all produced superbly, as well as rhymed over with a certain style even the yankees will be jealous of, he is not trying to be american and his british accent flows proudly over the expertly produced tracks. In short, this album is superb, his style is unmatched in the UK and the beats on his tracks are simply superb. He has that uniqueness which made Mike Skinner an icon, he has that flow which makes US urban music so popular. I think he's got it all to be honest, something which is hard to find these days as the bandwagon gets heavier and heavier with tedious, repetitive trash which comes from the capital city. Kano is one talented bloke, he can produce, write and rhyme expertly, the guy has got it...I hope he breaks america and shows all these so called gangsters how to do it. I hope he knocks fifty cent off his pedestal and shows the world what real hip hop is.
Buy this album if u like anything urban, hip hop, rap, garage, grime etc this album has got it all.
Kano....the future!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IN 3 WORDS "SICK ,TIGHT, RAW,", 27 Jun 2005
This review is from: Home Sweet Home (Audio CD)
Kano gets alot of uneeded criticts out there tha aint feelin him, but i think this album shud make em shut there pie holes 4 shur. if i could compare kano 2 any 1 mc it would probably be a uk version of ludacris coz of da way his style jumps wit the tracks! If people feel dizze rascal who i really have tried 2 like but jss cant bring myself 2 respect tha blokes style its 2 irrtating, people shud feel kano coz hes on another level!!! buig up kano keep it fresh brudda ~in a bit~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In 3 words "sick ,tight ,fresh", 27 Jun 2005
This review is from: Home Sweet Home (Audio CD)
im tellin ya this guys so much betta than dizze rascal u go cop this album it wont dissappoint ya! if i could sum kano up, or compare kano to any other artist i would compare him as a uk version of ludacris, tha way he spits over tracks is so phat! its like his skiping through da beat like hes ahead of it 2seonds then gives it time 2 catch up jss 4 tha fun of it coz he can + hes only 19 give kano props!!!
big up kano ~in abit~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home Sweet Home
Home Sweet Home by Kano (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews