Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry and June one
Terry Scott and June Whitfield starred in this first series of "Terry and June" which was a re working of their earlier comedy "Happily Ever After". This new outing was very similar and apart from the fact that the surname changed from Fletcher to Medford and there is no Aunt Lucy with the mina bird Gunga Din it is the same Terry and June. This is an entertaining bit of...
Published on 31 Mar. 2011 by Marcia

versus
3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I fell asleep watching this series - TWICE?!
I was looking forward to watching this series very much and having a wander down memory lane and must say that I was rather disappointed with some of the episodes contained on the enclosed DVD. So much so that as I have already posted I unfortunately fell asleep whilst watching it on two separate occasions? I have however ordered the DVD for series 2 in order to give it...
Published on 13 Jan. 2011 by P. WILLIAMS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry and June one, 31 Mar. 2011
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Terry Scott and June Whitfield starred in this first series of "Terry and June" which was a re working of their earlier comedy "Happily Ever After". This new outing was very similar and apart from the fact that the surname changed from Fletcher to Medford and there is no Aunt Lucy with the mina bird Gunga Din it is the same Terry and June. This is an entertaining bit of farcical comedy that has a lot to offer.
This first series was recorded in 1979. There are six very good episodes. At the time of its transmission, and for all of the other eight series that followed it, the series was often mocked and scoffed at. It was criticised by some people as being too corny and old fashioned. It was traditional comedy and not "alternative". Other people loved it. I really liked it back then and have even more respect for it now. It may not be non stop roaring with laughter comedy, (what show actually is like that?) but it does have some very funny moments. The stories are engaging and entertaining. They are pleasant, amusing, light hearted, harmless, clean fun and free from sex and bad language. When you compare Terry and June to the comedy programmes of today you see that this was real comedy because it actually has funny humour in it. In that respect it is genius.

Terry and June Medford are an ordinary middle class couple who live in suburban Purley. Terry is accident prone, helpless and over ambitious. June is his long suffering wife who has to cope with the mess that Terry gets into.
Terry works for Sir Dennis Hodge who often calls at the Medford's home just at the wrong time.
Terry is well intentioned but many misunderstandings lead to a lot of farcical situations and Terry and June always get into complications trying to get out of the situations they find themselves in.
Terry and June move into a new house in this series. There are some funny moments with the removal men and Terry has last minute reluctance to leave the old house. There is a funny episode with a farcical mix up over a carpet in another episode. The neighbours say they know someone who can get a cheap carpet. After getting the carpet it turns out that a carpet has gone missing from one of the offices that Terry works at. Terry and June try to secretly return the carpet but get into a terrible mess, and things get out of hand when they look after a load of animals for the week. And Terry tries to help his neighbour's son with fancy dress that is a disaster.
June Whitfield is excellent and Terry Scott is also very good with his comic expressive face and timing. Both Terry Scott and June offer us a warm and inviting performance.
This first series is a good classic comedy that should not be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry the great, 4 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Terry scott was a great british comedy actor,he had the same sort of quality of sid james in which they were very warm to watch,i think he should have been more of a regular in the carry on movies as this was the sort of cheeky character that he was best at. it's great to see terry & june series one arrive on dvd,in my opinion this was one of the best sitcoms from the eighties although it does feel more like a seventies comedy as at the time you had the likes of the young ones & blackadder being made. the show did actually start in the seventies as 'happy ever after'which was also just as funny.
All the episodes on this dvd are great but my favourite would have to be 'a bridge too far' in which terry has a couple of hours to learn bridge before his new boss arrives for a serious game,wonderful comedy.
i must also say that june whitfield has always been great,it's good to see that she is still going strong today.
Anyway buy this dvd now,it's a comedy classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back the memories!!!!!!!!, 3 Nov. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I copied these from UK Gold/Granada Plus 5 years ago and brought them all over to the Middle East. After watching them many,many times the quality just about died so I was hoping , checking that one day Terry and June would be released so when I heard, my heart did a little jump.
The good news. Good quality, family entertainment and if you are like me, brings back the past in a good way. The first series is interesting with you meeting the strange neighbours, the boss and his wife, the doctor from the local hospital, the movers, the daughter Wendy with son in law, Roger. I don't think that you will be dissapointed.
The only negative news is that there are no extras at all, just the 6 episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terry and June, 22 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
i watched this when i was a child growing up in the eighties it used to be on every Wednesday night around 10 o clock along with rings on your fingers and bells on your toes. which used to be on friday nights on RTE Television in Ireland. anyway about terry and june i liked it the only thing about it was all the prerecorded laughter in between their acting was really annonying it would distract me from my viewing it was just silling laughing at nothing i mean if terry droped something on the floor suddnely the would be laughter in the background i couldnt see anyting funny in that .as for terry Scott and June whitfield the were really good actors.i used love the theme music to it .and also the lovely the kitchen set the had it was so cosy as nobody was living in it it was always clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry the Great June the Superb, 4 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I cant really add to the superlative reviews already posted. So I will be brief. I have bought all nine series and I love every one. I recomend them to anyone who enjoys British comedy at its best.They are a lovable couple who love each other. Despite Terry's frequent bungling about that lands him in hot water June is always there to defend protect and sort things out. Please buy the series and if at first its not to your taste watch again. As I think it may be an aquired taste due to the exposure of reality sitcoms we now have forced on us.

Finally if you really dont like Terry and June then I think its a pity and to paraphrase Dr Johnson "I if you are tired of Terry and June then you are tired of life"

Happy watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic TV Sitcom from 1979., 10 Feb. 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Terry Scott and June Whitfield appeared in two sitcoms using their own Christian names, first as the Fletchers in “Happy Ever After” 1974/78 followed immediately by “Terry and June” 1979/1987, then it was axed in 1988, by which time Terry was suffering from cancer and creeping paralysis.
My recollections of the series are from the later seasons when the show had really settled down into one of the great comic sitcoms, this is very much a first season, with three really good episodes and the remaining three indifferent.
Terry Scott and June Whitfield became so identified in the public mind with their on screen characters that when they appeared in public together people regularly mistook them as being married in real life.
Although the tentative beginning this is still a great example of the classic 1970 sitcom and sits alongside “George and Mildred”.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terry and June Series 1, 3 April 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved Terry and June the first time round and still love them. The dialogue is brilliant and I find each show extremely entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terry and June, 1 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
It just don't get any better than this simply outstanding terry Scot and June Whitfield are just outstanding actors and made this program a true classic of a time when money was put into making wonderful programs unlike today best part of series one is when Terry makes a modal starship true classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure fun.....!, 8 Jan. 2015
By 
Tony "apr" (Nottingham,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Highly entertaining little gem from the eighties, which follows the highs and mostly lows of June and Terry Medford. This is a continuation of the sit com "Happy Ever After" in which the same two stars started out. However the aformentioned program for some reason does not seem so popular as it is never aired on TV and is not available on DVD.That aside this is an ever popular slice of eighties way of life, the program is aimed at all ages, no violence or swaring just good clean wholesum fun.Most of the drama takes place at their residence and place of work where Terry works as an executive for a company selling fire extinguishers, June is the doting wife content with home life and entertaining, children when watching will probably ask " whats a video recorder" but sitcoms seldom get as comfy as this, go on you WILL enjoy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On of the coned series greats, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terry & June - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This TV series is one of the best. Based on a couples everyday life together with everything emphasised and all the worst case scenarios happen. It is impossible not to chortle at this even though it is a little dated the comedy is as good as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terry & June - Series 1 [DVD]
Terry & June - Series 1 [DVD] by Terry Scott (DVD - 2005)
£3.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews