Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars43
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£3.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2005
This film can be summed up in one word = FUN! Its not a serious horror film so don't think otherwise. Christina Ricci is great (as allways), Joshua Jackson is a good bad-guy and the rest of the cast are fine. But even though i love the film, it's not a patch on the US Unrated version! It's got lots more gore - you see Mya getting it where the toned down UK version blanks out, a longer uncut scene where Shannon Elizabeth dies and an OTT dream sequence that could come from Kill Bill! So if you want just a fun film get this, but if your a hardcore horror fan import the US version - it's way better!
0Comment24 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2005
What Cursed sets out to do is to be a fun, campy horror and it succeeds in doing so. From the Zela the psychic to pretty much everything, you know that this film isn't going to earn a place in the Hall of Werewolf Movies anytime soon. However, just because it's impossible to take it really seriously, doesn't mean you can't have some fun with it. The trick is to not walk into the cinema expecting an original, fresh and clever horror because that just isn't what Cursed is like (which may explain why so many people were massively let down by it); just don't take it too seriously and you could, like I did, find yourself enjoying it. Christina Ricci is fantastic as always as is jesse Einberg who provides the humour (and some corny/cringeworthy bits). Judy Greer is in superb bitchy form while it's a pleasure to see the gorgeous Joshua Jackson back on the big screen. The FX aren't too great but compared to Catwoman, it's Jurassic Park. The music's also particularly good as well and compliments the film well. Now onto the negatives (BEWARE SPOILERS AHEAD)...
Why is Shannon Elizabeth in this? Why? She's barely in it for five minutes but she manages to earn the sought-after 'with' title in the credits. Also, as one reviewer in particular said, there is a lot of chunks missing from the movie. You never see Shannon Elizabeth or Mya getting ripped to pieces by the werewolf (which highlights another problem: lack of gore). In Shannon Elizabeth's case, you just see her getting dragged away and that's that and in Mya's case, the scene fades to black when the werewolf finally gets her. Also, how on earth did Ellie (Ricci) get scratched by the werewolf when Jimmy is on Shannon Elizabeth who's being dragged by the werewolf? It just makes no sense. Finally, Portia de Rossi is spectacularly wasted in this movie. She's in the opening scene of the film and, for me, one of the more appealing characters but after that, it's just one more scene with her when she tells Ellie she's 'cursed' and that's it. I know Portia isn't one of the main players but more could have been done with her character because she is very intriguing (Zela that is).
Overall, it's by no means a masterpiece but it's not exactly Wes Craven's worst effort (I'm ignoring Music of the Heart completely). Despite a handful of negatives (and a cringeworthy appearance by Scott Baio), it's a horror that IS very corny at times but in a fun sort of way.
11 comment20 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2005
I love all my cult horror films, such as An American Werewolf in Paris, and all the ginger snaps titles.
When i saw this film, i thought brilliant, another good werewolf flick!, however it wasn't.
The story line was not gritty enough, and the actors were a little weak. I was really dissapointed to say the least, Its watchable, but really thats about it.
If you are really into your cult horror films, then save yourself the trouble and give this one a miss.
0Comment16 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Ellie has been taking care of her younger brother Jimmy since their parents death.

One night after picking him up from a party they are involved in a car accident on Mullholland Drive.

While trying to rescue a woman from the other car a creature attacks and kills her, also injuring both Ellie and Jimmy.

After some research Jimmy realises the creature could only have been a werewolf.....

The makers thoughts that lightning could be struck twice, putting the old irony twist on the creature feature, just like they successfully did with the Scream franchise, the first two anyway.

But then the good old Weinsteins got involved and chopped the cinema version to shreds, causing the narrative to make no sense and ruin the whole flow of the film, and making main characters unlikeable.

I saw the original cut in the cinema, and I was literally the only person at the screening.

The DVD version does improve the film a little, but the film still is poor, when you consider the talent behind the camera.

The film doesn't really pick up until the wrestling scene, and the few swipes at media and journalists feel lazy, as do the celebrity cameos.

Its a shame really, because there are some good ideas in this movie, but it ultimately fails.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2015
This is a fantastic film for any Wes Craven fans out there or just horror fans. This version has everything in it. You get to see all the scenes that were cut in the British version which does make the film much better in my opinion. If you love a good werewolf movie then this is for you. You've got gore, comedy and lots of suspence. If you've only seen the British version and don't mind a bit of gore then I recommend this version. You'll love it. Remember beware of the moon.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
One of the better werewolf movies out there, though the gorier version is better than the 15 cut. People (both human and not) are more intelligent in this than in most werewolf films which is refreshing, and there are some good humorous moments. Effects could be better in places, though still better than a lot of werewolf films, as is the actual form of the beast, which doesn't look too goofy for a change. If you like werewolf films watch this.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2008
after reviving his career with the scream trilogy horror ledgend wes craven undoes all that good work with this pathetic mess
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
'Cursed' is a horror film directed by Wes Craven and produced by Kevin Williamson and is about 2 people (A sister and a brother) who were attacked by a werewolf while in a car accident and they then start turning into a werewolf themselves. The only trouble is; They don't figure out what is happening to them before its too late! I thought this film was quite enjoyable and the fact it had some comedy moments in it was a bonus. The cast were brilliant in their performances and the ending was quite sweet. However, There are some downsides as I thought there wasn't much of a 'horror' element in this film (no jump scares, scary images or sounds etc.) and the wolf did look a little false when it appeared. Also another minor point was it got a bit annoying as some of the scenes seemed to be a little repetitive (e.g. How many more times is he going to do that? etc.).

Overall, This is quite an enjoyable little film with a strong cast. But don't be expecting a really good horror film like I did!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2006
My, how the great have stumbled. Wes Craven serves up this soul-less, blood-less, talent-less piece of celluloid where the only scary thing on offer is the acting.
The completely unoriginal story (werewolf stalking LA - a huge leap of imagination there) coupled with a endlessly dull snails pace, and unintended laughs, make this film just one big cliche from start to finish. Gypsies included!
Rick Baker is on werewolf make-up duties,but even his usual above standard effects are on holiday here. The werewolf looks shoddy - whether it's CGI or a man in a suit.
And the nods to other classic horror films are just so blatant it's a wonder why Craven even bothered. This film can't live up to those horror masterpieces.
0Comment13 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2006
Where do we begin? Firstly, awful acting. Secondly, rubbish special effects. Thirdly, doesn't make any sense!

Christina and her bro are cursed after being attacked by a werewolf, they only got a few cuts! Then, Zipper, their dog, starts being like a wolf. Is He cursed? I don't know? He wasn't attacked by a were wolf so there is a muddled storyline.

Anyway, this film is awful and i would only recommend it if you like this sort of thing. Avoid like the plague!!!
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.