Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars76
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 August 2005
I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw this film in the DVD shop as I have been looking forward to seeing this film for ages! I love everything about this film (except the first scene when they show men shooting the pheasants, which I felt was unnecessary) Its a shame there isn't more extras but the documentary, showing the film being made was very interesting.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
The product was as described apart from a line on the left hand side which is present throughout the viewing which is unfortunate. I would have liked to have known this before I purchased the product as I understood the product was brand new I am unsure how this line would appear. It is a great story and awesome DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
I use this story in teaching Ebglish in Norway. The language of the book is well suited for the knowledge of English one finds among the 13/14 years youngsters in Norway.
The film has only excellent actors. Iron's son is perfect as Danny. Robbie Coltrane is totally disgusting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
I didn't know what to expect buying second hand , but I recieved a perfect copy for the children in class to watch as part of Roald Dahl week . It arrived in less than half the time stated. Overall really impressed and would definitely use them again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Remembered watching this a few times over the years and always liked it, very nice to re visit this story, i grew up on a shooting estate, a way of life threatened by an ever expanding urban landscape. A great record of how our country used to be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
This is one of my wife's favourite films which she watched with our children and now our grandchildren want to watch it with her. Alas the video recording we had is now so old we wanted another copy. This one is great and much appreciated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
The item arrived quickly and in perfect condition, with 2 of my children having just read the book we were very excited to watch and were not disappointed. A great addition to our movies and has now prompted reading the witches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2016
Better than the book, plot is tweaked to give Mr Victor Hazel a stronger motivation to be his dastardly self. Appalling sound quality - mumrmured dialogue one minute, booming background noise in the next scene.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
beautifully done, one of my favourite Roald Dahl stories brought convincingly to life, true father-son relationship between Jeremy Irons and his son enhances the characterisation and makes a delightful film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
i bought one off e bay and sent it back because the sound quality was very poor. bought one off amazon just the same very poor sound quality. this item ought to be checked for sound quality and withdrawn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.