Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure ambience in CD form
This is a fantastic album from the era when ambient was at its peak, rank this alongside works like The Orb's Adventures Beyond The Ultraworld, KLF's Chill Out. Those who know of Tom Middleton will probably know of his work as Cosmos (spacey lovely house), Jedi Knights (nu-school breaks which inspired the likes of Adam Freeland) and his Sound Of The Cosmos mix (which is a...
Published on 20 Aug 2005 by Simon J. Whight

versus
9 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cold clinical and uninspiring
I bought this album on the merits of the reviews it has recieved, after being recommended it through my past purchases. I have tried oh so hard to actually find anything remotely similar to the magic claimed both in the reviews here and by the reviews given in the albums cover.

The first track sounds like a movie score to some dark horror or thriller and you...
Published on 12 July 2007 by Richard Rayment


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure ambience in CD form, 20 Aug 2005
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic album from the era when ambient was at its peak, rank this alongside works like The Orb's Adventures Beyond The Ultraworld, KLF's Chill Out. Those who know of Tom Middleton will probably know of his work as Cosmos (spacey lovely house), Jedi Knights (nu-school breaks which inspired the likes of Adam Freeland) and his Sound Of The Cosmos mix (which is a blinding exercise in breaks, house and downtempo spread over 3CDs) ... or perhaps the even later Global Communications tracks The Way / The Deep which explored funky cosmic house. This, however, is as far detatched from the housey Middleton as possible. 76:15 follows the 'swirling ambience' template, beatless, seamless and atmospheric ... taking you on a journey from one end of the CD to the other. Take 9:39 for example, full of deep space cosmic bleeps, a hypnotic 'warrooooooom!' bass pulse, and eerie choral synths. Definately swirling ambience. There are some astoundingly beautiful moments on here too. 14:31 is plain gorgeous, a slowly ticking clock keeps the beat of the track while lush orchestral synths create a gorgeous uplifting mood. Its not all totally beatless, 9:25 has a gentle break that helps the track move along. Think Orb's Supanova At The End Of The Universe and you're pretty much there. 7:39 features almost Plaid-y Warp style synths, while 8:07 and 5:23 work hypnotic keys over deep pulsing Sasha style bassline stabs. 12:18 finishes off the album with more dramatic orchestral synth action like in 14:31 ... a top closer.
As you can tell, the entire album is named after the sum of its track times, with each track named after how long it is. Apparently to stop the listener having preconceptions about how the music sounds before they listen to it. A nice idea, this is an album you make your own concept for, your own story ... as opposed to The Orb's journey from Earth to the Ultraworld.
Thanks to the scattering of perkier tracks, the fades between tracks with ocean waves crashing, strange chattering voices, and the sheer lushness and quality of production, the album never gets boring, its a corker. If you're into your electronica, be it a Warp head, Orb fan, Orbial ... whatever, this is one to check! With Middleton being a bit of a funky house and breaks master recently, you could pass this by ... overlook it as 'unworthy'. Don't! Its probably one of the best chill albums you can buy.
If you want things with a bit more bump to them, or in fact something less spacial. Try heading to Middleton's later albums like the Jedi Knights Nu-School Science or the aforemention epic 3CD mix The Sound Of The Cosmos. Both quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A benchmark of the Ambient Dance genre, 24 April 2007
By 
E. McKnight (Plymouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
I have lot of Ambient/Electronica CDs and have been lucky enough to own this title since the day it was originally released. Something that makes it stand head and shoulders above its peers is the strength of the melodies, something that ambient music can be lacking in at times, where lesser talented rivals opt for lengthy and tuneless synth doodles. The album is consistently brilliant from start to finish but highlights are 14:31, 7:39 and the epic two part 8:07 and 5:23 which was also released as the album's only single under the alternative title 'Maiden Voyage'. The 2 CD reissue includes a mixed bag of hard to find tracks and singles which the duo released under their other names. It ties up loose ends for someone who missed them first time round but the tracks don't sit very well alongside the first disc and would be better suited to a separate release of rarities and deleted singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let Your Mind Go, A Sublime Classic, 24 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. M. Williams "cantosis" (London, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
I first came across this album in the mid/late 90s when I was really getting into electronic music. At the time I was listening to mainly Tangerine Dream, Klaus Schulze,Jarre and Vangelis.

When I put this album on for the first time I remember I was feeling a bit under the weather, it was late and I was laying on my bed with the light off. This album just left me feeling so refreshed,calm, focused and glad to be alive.

I find it hard to actually put into words what this album means to me as it really is my favourite ever album, if I had died with only ever hearing this album I would have died a happy man.

I remember thinking I am going to like this before actually hearing it, the original sleeve had some notes talking about that they have chosen not to give the music titles or have pictures on the cover(except for a large ear) for the purpose of letting the music conjure up your own thoughts. what a great idea as when a song or a piece of music has a name attached to it it you automatically have an image in your head. by doing this I was just going to listen to a piece of music and not know what journey my mind was going to take. They also asked listeners to send in their thoughts and pictures that came from listening. How I would have loved to have read some of those, I did actually send something myself but with it being 10 years ago I can`t quite remember what now!.

Anyway 10 years on and I still listen to this album quite often. If I am sad,happy,depressed or just stressed with life I can always get something from listening to this album, and it never sounds boring or dated to me. and that is very rare with electronic music which can sound dated quite quickly after being released.

To me this was a landmark in electronic music at that time as it was very deep,emotional and moving music, you were not getting music like this in the 90s a lot of the electronic music to me was stale old rubbish with no emotion, this was different and if it was released today for the first time it would still stand up to most of the electronic music out there, and that is a major achievement by Tom And Mark

I have also brought the 2005 remastered copy which to be honest does not sound too different to me, you get a bonus singles colelction on a second CD which I suppose is a nice little bonus although to be fair none of it stands up to 76:14 except for maybe The Biosphere which is in the same sort of groove of the 76:14 music, so in that sense it is very nice having this track.

Anyway if you don't mind listening listening to electronic music and have not heard this, I STRONGLY recommend you get a copy of this album as I don`t think your be disappointed. And if this gets you hooked wanting more then get the other two classic albums by Global Communication which are Blood Money and Remotion(the remix album) and then buy Tom Middleton`s Lifetracks. the rest of the solo stuff does not really stand up to this.

Enjoy.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer ambient heaven, 13 Aug 2005
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
Ambient is one of the most innervating and difficult forms of music for an artist to excel at. While most can be classed by virtue of their generic label as being pleasant and listenable, few are acknowledged as classics that will stand the test of time, which of course is not the case with rock, soul and pop. I've been buying Ambient music since I discovered Brian Eno, s albums on the E.G. label in the late 1970,s. I loved all of those; indeed I viewed "Discreet Music "as the absolute pinnacle of the genre. That is, until I first heard 76.14. This is an album of such timeless ( Funny given it's fixation on time with the track titles ) beauty and yes emotional resonance that I wouldn't be surprised that if in the distant future we have evolved to some higher level of consciousness and left music in a cultural context behind this will still be being played.
While a great deal of Ambient music is encumbered by an over reliance on noodling curricles of sound or esoteric blips and bleeps, or jarring dips and breaks Global Communication have understood that the music must flow with an continuous organic grace, and that it is possible to do this and still include the various textured over layers of instrumentation or added sound. Each track here is given a title alluding to its running time so as not to weigh the listener down with the preconceptions that actual titles present. (Floating on the diaphanous ocean of silk anyone?) 76.14 is of course its total running time. It's pretty pointless dissecting individual tracks as I feel this is a work meant to be listened to in one sitting , so is a concept album of sorts. But it must be said that second track 14.31, the one with the constant clunking clock ticking is so outstanding it could make it into many peoples top tens .It doesn't detract from the rest of the music on this album however taking the listener on it's intended journey to where ever your imagination lets you wander. And by naming the band Global Communication Tom Middleton has given the clearest indicator of what his intentions were when making this music. To commune with as many people as possible in a language most of us can understand all too clearly. The language of beauty, and believe me, music doesn't come more beautiful than 76.14.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth it for the 'grandfather clock track' alone !!!!!, 1 Oct 2009
By 
T. M. Jones (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
if iv given this 5/5 before , then ill do it again. its wicked. this LP was made a long time ago and it still sounds great. i have purchased it only because i want the artist to receive the money. in the past i have had a copy, but now i want to pay and have more good things like this happen. remastered & bonus disk=win. ingest your preferred poison and be prepared for a pang of envy @ the skills presented here if you are an electronic music producer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterwork of the IDM genre..., 16 July 2009
By 
Robster (Watford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
Ahh, Global Communication's 76:14.......... What can I say about this one, eh? Well, if you are in any sense a fan of electronica, you simply cannot call your collection complete without this 1994 materpiece from Mark Pritchard and Tom Middleton...

Here, they've perfectly captured the essence of the time with a stunning array of IDM tracks which form a beautiful, engaging, warm and engrossing album. Released at the height of the IDM wave in 1994, this is undoubtedly one of the classics of the genre and deserves it's place as such. Proof positive that electronic music can be intensely melodic, thought provoking and utterly compelling, 76:14 is a work of genius.

A sober, mature and elegantly crafted work, I'd challenge anyone to not be totally captivated by this record.... The sleeve notes pour out gushing praise, and to be honest, it's well deserved. Sure, there are other works in the genre and period which are criminally under exposed and under rated and a select few which stand up to 76:14 in their brilliance, but I won't take anything away from this masterpiece... It's earned its plaudits....

The remaster here is nice and crisp, defined very well and retains enough warmth. The overall package is very polished and it's great to see such love devoted to a niche genre of music.

To summarise, buy this album now....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best chill out cd ever, 3 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
Forget all your Chilled Ibiza/ministry compilations. If you want something to listen to when you're trying to fall asleep or have a throbbing headache then this is what you want.

Global Communication have produced the most extraordinary swirling soundscape. The tracks are untitled and are all instrumental. The idea is not to give you any preconceptions on the music and to let you form your own. This music is utterly timeless, and has never been equalled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of unparalleled beauty BUT........, 26 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
....I saw a live intepretation of this when they supported Sparks at Shepherd's Bush and it was total bobbins! So cherish the CD but run screaming in the opposite direction rather than endure a live rendition if they are foolish enough to attempt such a folly again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely balance of music and electronics, 27 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best ambient albums ever recorded, full of clever music. Here music is the material, and electronics are only the tools used to make it. But musicality takes precedence over electronic gimmickry.
Every track is built around a good melody, some are slow and stately whilst others are dance-like and move along quickly. The album is paced just right and the overall mix of tracks is an excellent example of how to blend music together into a whole.
The sound is beginning to date now, and is somewhat 90s, but overall the album is still great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 27 Feb 2007
This review is from: 76:14 (Audio CD)
Had just a tape of this for years done by a friend. Always liked it for just chilling to but hadn't listened to it for years. Last year the mate who'd done the tape died so I ended up revisiting a lot of the music he introduced me to. This was one of many and has become a staple on my player since. Absolutely love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

76:14
76:14 by Global Communication (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews