Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Historic Debut Album!
I was going to review this track by track and give you enough to read to that you could make up your mind on if you thought that it was worth buying. Let's get that bit out the way now...BUY IT! If you half liked any of the 4 singles that have been released, you'll love the album.
They've already mastered a Dogs sound, even though this is a debut. Okay, there are...
Published on 1 Aug 2005 by Mr X

versus
3 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawn!
There is a band known as Dogs. All that sets them apart from the hoards of other trendy indie bores is the absence of the prefix 'the'. About as interesting as sitting around thinking of boring things to compare dire, talentless, trendy bands to. Those who have described this as genius etc. in the other reviews are in for a real treat when the discover some interesting...
Published on 22 Aug 2005 by Christopher Scott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greatest album of the last 10 years, 12 April 2006
By 
YOAK (LEIGHTON BUZZARD, BEDFORDSHIRE England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Turn Against This Land (Audio CD)
Not since Oasis's "Deafently Maybe" over 10 years earlier have i heard an album with such passion, raw sound and down right talent as Dogs's "turn against this land". lead singer and song writer Johnny Cooke has an ablity to write the most beautifull and original lyrics heard for a long time, he truley is a poet. There is not one bad song here, each telling storys off drunken nights, cheating girlfriends and the genral boredom of being a 20 something bloke in london. i really find it hard to pick a highlight, "London Bridge" is a truely astonishing song, writen by johnny while at work, sitting in his white van, on london bridge, before the band had started "when your just 18 you never win and no its not right, well from london bridge you know its not such a bad sight" he belts out. "Tunned to a diffrent station" and "Heading for an early grave" are works of thrashing rock/punk brilliance. If I had to pick a favourite id say it would have to be "Tarred and Feathered" a song that any true music fan will love, full of passion and meaning, once you hear it it will just define Dogs.

How this band hasnt made it big yet is beyond me. Give them a listen and trust me once you hear Johnny and his gang snarling like a pack of Dogs you wont look back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These Boys should be massive, 23 Sep 2005
By 
D. Marsden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turn Against This Land (Audio CD)
This album utterly kicks some serious ass whats going on though you dont hear them on the radio or anything and there far greater thatn a lot of the bands around now please buy this you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of '05, 31 Dec 2007
By 
T. C. RAISKI "Raiski" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turn Against This Land (Audio CD)
This album was one of my favourites of 05, still listening to it 08, brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Most Underrated Bands Ever, 23 Sep 2011
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Turn Against This Land (Audio CD)
This is a magnificent debut album by a very underrated band. Dogs remind me of some of the great punk bands of my youth (The Clash and The Jam in particular), but just to think of Dogs as a 'punk band' probably unfairly stereotypes them, since the quality of their songs on this album (and, arguably more so, on the follow-up Tall Stories Under the Table) is so high. Particular favourites are Tuned To A Different Station, London Bridge and Red, but really there is only maybe one slightly weaker song, and the remainder are superb. Definitely worth a listen for anyone into 'punk' with a melody and great lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debut of the decade!, 18 July 2009
By 
Mr. S. Lovegrove "S. Lovegrove" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've had this album for 4 years now and it's still sends tingles down my spine everytime I listen to it. The energy, passion and emotion that each member of the band gives is nothing short of outstanding. I'm still completely perplexed why Dogs aren't a much bigger band than they are, considering the amount of total dross thats filled the airwaves over the past 8-10 years. That said, in some respects I'm glad there not a massive band and only a select few of us out there still appreciate outstanding musicians. Most bands that fall into that commercial trap seem to lose that magic and the reason why they became a group in the 1st place. Not this lot! This is proved on their follow up to Turn Against This Land, Tall Stories From Under The Table. A fantastic 2nd album that loses none of their quality. But the best experience is seeing them live. One of my all time favourite gigs was seeing these chaps play the Brixton Academy for the launch of their 2nd album. Must be seen to appreciate just how good Dogs are. So do yourself a favour, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, well worth buying, 27 Aug 2005
This review is from: Turn Against This Land (Audio CD)
This album is absolutely amazing, there is one song that i don't like on the whole album which says alot!. It's just like they have been writing from experience which makes the best music. I definately recommend this album and to all the people whu say they found this album anything less than amazing, you're either lying or have no taste in music! Cracking album, buy now!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 30 Sep 2005
This review is from: Turn Against This Land (Audio CD)
Without doubt the best album I have bought this year. Superb from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawn!, 22 Aug 2005
This review is from: Turn Against This Land (Audio CD)
There is a band known as Dogs. All that sets them apart from the hoards of other trendy indie bores is the absence of the prefix 'the'. About as interesting as sitting around thinking of boring things to compare dire, talentless, trendy bands to. Those who have described this as genius etc. in the other reviews are in for a real treat when the discover some interesting sounds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars whoever you are, give this a miss, 16 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Turn Against This Land (Audio CD)
sorry, but this is a terrible debut effort by terrible band.
turgid, stagnant, boring, immature, stale, plodding, dated, desperate excuses for songs by a bunch of turgid, stagnant, boring, immature, stale, plodding, dated, desperate posers.
avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turn Against This Land
Turn Against This Land by Dogs (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews