Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Explosive - The Best of Bond
In a nutshell - excellent. I have been a fan of Bond since I accidently heard them on the radio. The mixture of classical and modern music is perfect for easy listening while working or driving. Nothwithstanding the fact that the band is gorgeous, they are talented and exciting musicians who have changed the face of classical music.
Buy it - its excellent!
Published on 18 Sep 2005 by James Dinsdale

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It must be me
Having read the other reviews, it must be me. However, after playing this CD a couple of times, I keep getting the feeling of "deja vu". All the tracks sound the same. Maybe with a decent rhythm section, they could make things more dynamic and different, but these so-called best recordings are far too samey.
Published on 17 Dec 2007 by Bill Peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Explosive - The Best of Bond, 18 Sep 2005
This review is from: Explosive - The Best of Bond (Audio CD)
In a nutshell - excellent. I have been a fan of Bond since I accidently heard them on the radio. The mixture of classical and modern music is perfect for easy listening while working or driving. Nothwithstanding the fact that the band is gorgeous, they are talented and exciting musicians who have changed the face of classical music.
Buy it - its excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best, but a shame there isn't more, 2 Dec 2005
This review is from: Explosive - The Best of Bond (Audio CD)
For those who are new to Bond, this 'best of' collection is a great start. It covers all three of their albums plus three new tracks, so there's even something for the dedicated fan as well.
However, for those who already have the original albums this maybe isn't such a must-have buy. The choice of tracks is certainly telling: four tracks from the first album, three from the second, and only two from the last, giving a decided slant towards their earlier work. For me this reflects the fact that their last album lacked some of their usual lustre, literally fulfilling the idea that this is a 'best of' album. This rather partial selection of tracks also means that the album seems a bit scanty, being only 42 minutes long. This is really cutting it a bit fine in terms of value for money, and it would have probably been better if they had released this collection after another album so that it would have been more comprehensive.
As it is, the chosen tracks are still very good, and the new tracks are well worth a listen, especially 'Caravan' and 'Sugarplum'. Buy it for a taster of Bond's talents or if you want some of their best bits all on one disc without the hassle of making your own compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explosive-It certainly is!, 13 Oct 2006
By 
G. Ashdown (West Sussex,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Explosive - The Best of Bond (Audio CD)
Wow!What an excellent album,the music is vibrant,exciting

& superbly produced.

All the tracks are good,but my 3 favourites are Victory,

Gypsy Rhapsody (sublime)& Sugarplum.

These 4 girls have talent in abundance & long may they carry on making wonderful albums like this one.

This is a must for all Bond fans.

Buy it-you`ll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explosive - 5 Stars - Lives up to its title, 30 Oct 2007
By 
John Williamson (NYC & Bucks County, PA) - See all my reviews
Had originally heard the title track to this album on a radio station a couple of years ago, but was driving in traffic at the time. It took a couple of days to find this album, then just had to have it.

Had never heard of Bond before (am I culturally deprived?), so cannot comment on their earlier releases, but this album knocked my socks off, so to speak. Then I played the DVD side (on the US version) for a close friend who sings and usually listens to female vocals. She was quite favorably impressed, and we ended up listening to the audio side of this double-sided DualDisc a few times. It became more enjoyable each time we heard it, the way we wish all albums were.

Bond is a stunningly attractive female string quartet made up of Haylie Ecker, Tania Davis, Gay-Yee Westeroff, and Eos (who has no last name). They are based in the UK, are in their mid-twenties, and each has strong classical music training (found most of this from their bios on their Website). Their music seems to be an exciting and original blend of classical, world rhythms and lively dance beats. But underneath it all, one can easily recognize that all of the members of this quartet have a deep love and understanding of classical music.

There's not a single mediocre or bad track on this album, and though some reviewers have commented that certain tracks were better on some earlier releases, this one was enough to convince this listener that purchasing more of their prior releases.

Enough said - on to the tracks.

Victory: Stunning - what a great way to start this album. Strong and brilliant, with a polished orchestral background that blends well with their strings.

Explosive: Lives up to its name - truly explosive - and wait until you see the extremely creative and original performance on the DVD side!

Fuego: Spanish for "fire," and it lives up to its title. Evocative of the Victory track, but with a faster pace.

Viva!: This track starts off with the quartet performing acoustically... and one can hear the strong Vivaldi classical base, then it gets into an almost-joyous dance remix sound. Another bonus will be when view the DVD side that opens in a bullfight arena - joyous sound.

Shine: Lovely track, slightly different from the others. Seems to have an Indian ambiance, yet is still a strong offering.

Wintersun: Fast-paced, an exciting mixture of instrumental and dance rhythm.

Scorchio: Slight break from previous tracks, and it fits in well with a strong opening then going to an easier, softer pace.

Duel: Understand that this track is a string duel" between Eos and Haylie, and it's probably one of the best tracks on this CD. Would love to see this in a video.

Gypsy Rhapsody: Lives up to its title, with a definite gypsy theme. Really rounds out this album.

Caravan: If you're a classical or jazz music listener, then you'll either love or hate their rendition of this one. This listener loved it.

Sugarplum: Young or old, you recognize their delightful adaptation from Tchaikovsky's "Nutcracker." Familiar, yet original.

Carmina: Another that classical music fans will recognize, Bond's adaptation of "O Fortuna" from Carl Orff's "Carmina Burana." This was a wonderful way to end this CD, and this listener must confess to having run this track on repetitive replay on more than one occasion.

The DVD side is an excellent bonus. Ran this DVD on a variety of systems, from component surround sound to a PC equipped with surround sound software and hardware, and found the results to be quite pleasing in all instances. The music videos are outstanding, and seem to be mastered quite well. As with most Surround Sound DVDs, you will possible have to tweak your individual settings to get the most out of this disc. As they say, when it comes to stereo equipment or computer hardware, take the time to RTFM (Read That Fine Manual) - enough said on this.

There's a handy discography on the DVD side as well, handy for "Bond Newbies" like this reviewer to determine which album to purchase next.

This quartet offers the kind of music that will please many listeners from ten to those in their sixties. I know, because my 10-year-old son immediately liked most of the tracks (especially "Victory," "Viva!," "Explosive"), and he really enjoyed the music videos on the DVD side.

This is a CD that will appeal to most open-minded music fans. Check out the sample tracks here and find out for yourself, but they don't do justice to the range or quality of sound on the DualDisc CD/DVD. If you like the samples, you won't be disappointed with Bond's "Explosive."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It must be me, 17 Dec 2007
This review is from: Explosive - The Best of Bond (Audio CD)
Having read the other reviews, it must be me. However, after playing this CD a couple of times, I keep getting the feeling of "deja vu". All the tracks sound the same. Maybe with a decent rhythm section, they could make things more dynamic and different, but these so-called best recordings are far too samey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this Music have trouble sometimes finding in shops but really happy when found recommended to family and friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great recording dynamic, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Explosive - The Best of Bond (Audio CD)
wonderful dynamic recording. Plenty of power in the sound and lovely arrangments. pity Bond havenot been to New Zealand . I am looking forward top collecting the rest o ftheir recordings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bonded, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Explosive - The Best of Bond (Audio CD)
My first Bond CD, well it was a fantastic mix of classical and modern rock music, would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for something a little different from the standard musical genres.Well worth a listen and great addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Explosive - The Best of Bond, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Explosive - The Best of Bond (Audio CD)
These ladies are all classically trained musicians and will never have a problem making a living. I find they play with a lot of feeling and I have never been disappointed in any of their productions. Long may they fiddle and bow !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Explosive - The Best of Bond (Audio CD)
Classical music jazzed up a bit. Great music to listen to whether you are driving or relaxing at home. I'm now a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3440930)

This product

Explosive - The Best of Bond
Explosive - The Best of Bond by Bond (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews