Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hero mode is great fun!
This applies to the demo version. I have been playing the demo version of this game and I love it. The only thing that I see so far that is similar to other RTS games is the resource system, albeit with the addition of "glory" produced by building statues (and maybe by kills, hero kills, etc. I don't actually know, there's not much info on the game mechanics yet), which...
Published on 27 April 2006 by G. L. Sutcliffe

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So many bugs, but still...
Let's get the record straight: yes the Hero Command Mode is quite fun and yes the overall RTS side of the game is totally decent. But God, how frustrating it is to see your units being generated in the middle of a rock (litterally), totally incapable of moving an inch and try to salvage your walls on the edge of collapsing!

The most "hilarious" bug I faced was...
Published on 5 Sep 2006 by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hero mode is great fun!, 27 April 2006
By 
G. L. Sutcliffe "glsutcliffe" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rise and Fall: Civilizations at War (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This applies to the demo version. I have been playing the demo version of this game and I love it. The only thing that I see so far that is similar to other RTS games is the resource system, albeit with the addition of "glory" produced by building statues (and maybe by kills, hero kills, etc. I don't actually know, there's not much info on the game mechanics yet), which lets you level up your hero; choose from many passive boosts for your army, economy, or hero; or upgrade your troop types.

But it's the battles that make this game different. You form your troops into blocks and can split them into smaller regiments, but the feature I love the most is "hero mode". This really mixes the gameplay like nothing I've seen in an RTS game. It takes you to a third-person view of the hero where you see at his or her level and run around hacking or firing with overpowered strength (compensated by the hits to your health every time you use your weapon and by the fact that your army is left to its own devices while in this mode). This gives you a great sense of immersion and scale, especially with the view distance and the view of distant lands on the horizon; the horizontal camera in god mode also gives you this.

There are several other features that I haven't seen in other similar games. You can climb ladders on walls, scale enemy walls with ladder teams, set up hosts of archers on walls, build catapults on ships, ram other ships, you can fit hundreds of troops on the deck of your ships, particularly archers who fire on anything in range, conquer outposts that spawn defenders to fight for your cause, and so on.

I like to see new RTS games move with the times graphically too. This one certainly has. Some of the textures look almost real, even the skin of the troops and muscular heroes has a real-looking texture, even hairy legs, which has been missing from all other 3D games with their baby-smooth skin textures. That said, some graphical aspects felt a bit "unfinished", although I hope that might improve by the time the full game is released. For example, some troops shoved aside by others don't animate, and your hero can move through troops in hero mode so you find yourself looking through a half-transparent camel.

I haven't enjoyed a Real-Time Strategy Game like this since Dawn of War. Try the demo, buy the game, and have fun.

Played on:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+
2-GB RAM
Dual NVIDIA GeForce 7800 GTX 256MB in SLi mode
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So many bugs, but still..., 5 Sep 2006
By 
Ben (London, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rise and Fall: Civilizations at War (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Let's get the record straight: yes the Hero Command Mode is quite fun and yes the overall RTS side of the game is totally decent. But God, how frustrating it is to see your units being generated in the middle of a rock (litterally), totally incapable of moving an inch and try to salvage your walls on the edge of collapsing!

The most "hilarious" bug I faced was in one of the Alexander campaign's "Hero mode only" mission, where you're supposed to escort a fire raiser across a Persian city. I had to redo this one half a dozen times because the fire raiser (AI controlled/guided) suddenly stopped to move along it's pre-defined path, standing there like a sitting duck that the persian archers had no hesitation to destroy straight away! Having ran out of patience I ended up using the cheat code to go passed the mission.

So yes, it's a shame indeed that Stainless Steel Studios went bust before finishing the game, otherwise it would have been a 5 stars all the way through. But let's be fair, the game is still enjoyable and I'm that close to giving a go at the built-in editor for the fun of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game!, 9 Oct 2007
By 
B. Weston (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rise and Fall: Civilizations at War (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I just loved this game. It's not without bugs and sometimes made my pc crash, but the graphics, gameplay, soundtrack and storyline kept me coming back. I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very underwhelming, 15 Aug 2006
By 
Richard Kelly (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise and Fall: Civilizations at War (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game sounds really good on paper. You get to raise and army and then direct it towards the enemy encampment/base/town/etc. Your units gain experience and as they do they gain better formations and do more damage and are harder to kill. You have an historical leader of your army Julius Caesar, Alexander, Cleopatra etc who you can control in first person and use as a slaughtering machine.

So on paper you get RTS - you have to build different buildings to produce different units, and you have to have enough resources to build the units. However there are only two resources, wood and gold so it's very simplistic

You also get a first person hack and slash game - you can control your leader and hack at the enemy. There is no realism involved with this side of the game though. As the leader you can charge into the frey and destroy dozens of enemy units whilst taking little or no damage yourself.

The graphics are uniformly uninspiring, whilst there is nothing wrong with them they are quite dated and the 3D isn't particulary well done (I do have a decent machine and even with the graphics opions turned up it looked fairly poor).

The gameplay also isn't anything to write home about. The RTS side is too basic to be enjoyable (and the AI is quite poor, I managed to complete one mission whilst doing nothing other than wait for reinforcements to arrive) and the 1st person side is just poor.

I'm sure that there is somebody out there looking for a simple RTS game with a basic 1st person hack and slash but it isn't me!
All in all I found it to be very uninspiring and I was totally underwhelming by the gaming experience experience 4/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 4 July 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rise and Fall: Civilizations at War (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Really good fun, loved it, the Hero mode is something special, although in some games which you don't get to form your own army and town and you're just a rogue army wandering round you may be tempted to spend more time in hero mode than anything else.

But this is a superb game. You can climb onto the enemy walls using a ladder team and reign hell down on the enemy town. Or bring up a battering ram or catapult and knock the walls down. Your hero can also climb these ladders and tower ladders for a height advantage over the enemy. Hero mode is fun, the naval fighting is fun, this is a great game and a nice change from the classical, averagely graphiced games with normal gameplay.

Love it, Get it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Game, 3 Oct 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rise and Fall: Civilizations at War (PC DVD) (Video Game)
If you like either Lord of the rings computer games, age of empires or any other historical PC games then this is your dream game.

The graphics are the best I have ever seen. I don't think it should be a 16 because it isn't too gory. I would highly reccomend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its good but strange....., 12 Oct 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rise and Fall: Civilizations at War (PC DVD) (Video Game)
as this game is part rpg and rts t throws up a lot of things strategy wise that can help but can also hinder what you may do. but if you want a game that is fun but like it more realistic then steer clear ut this is still fun to pay even though it is a bit cartoony the way that the characters are displyed etc but itr is good fun to just hack and slash with waves of enemys coming at you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing really new here..., 8 Aug 2006
By 
O. G. Millin "aka King Olly" (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rise and Fall: Civilizations at War (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I Bought this game based on the big pc gamer 'must buy' logo slapped on the front of the box and as it was under 20 I thought it might be a bit of fun. When I play new games I expect every new title to break new boundaries or raise the bar in some way. This game does not do that but is reasonably fun to play none the less. The cutscenes/intro are apalling resolution and the interface is very much similar to a game from the nineties with a clunky mouse cursor and windows style GUI buttons. I wouldnt say that the in game graphics are that impressive but at times there is a lot of mad fighting going on between you and your opponent so a medium spec machine may suffer!... It consists of the same old warcraft style approach where you train peasants, harvest wood and mine gold (from a conveniently obvious gold mine!!!). This game can be a bit 'arcadey' but the one feature I loved is the hero mode whereby you take direct control of your hero at 3rd person perspective and run round slashing down everything within your path. Overall, I would say that this game is ok but dont expect an amazing experience as there is mounds of stuff that you've already seen unless you were born yesterday!!I would stick to Total annihilation (awesome timeless classic), Rome Total War (very serious but addictive & satisfying) and Warrior Kings Battles (buggy but very innovative)...If you can wait another 6 months then Supreme Commander is going to blow everything out the water for those who like Sci-fi. Happy Gaming! :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, 7 July 2006
By 
H. McIlwraith (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rise and Fall: Civilizations at War (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Although I swore never to buy a game that was starforce protected again I was persuaded to. The gameplay is similar to classics like AoE 2, but the hero mode gives it a fps (ish) touch, similar to games like Oblivion and zelda, which is well incorperated. Although i've only played the game offline so far I expect that the multiplayer game will live for a long time, as it seems to be built with online play in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Civilisations at War, 11 Jun 2006
By 
Mr. M. Newton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rise and Fall: Civilizations at War (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is great, not much left to be said on the first review, just a few minor points.

You do still have a grasp on your units in the hero mode using hit keys to get your 'Army' to either: Follow, Charge or stop.

The heros do seem some what over powered with one shot kills and sweeping attacks with the blades that kill mostly with one swipe. I played th demo and took out a whole army with my hero (she was fully levelled up). You may think im saying this is a bad thing as it makes the game unfair, id say not, appart from the obviouse that both teams have a hero theres this aspect:

You can get largest population cap ive seen for an RTS game of this genre, its direct competator would be AOE3 and the pop. cap on that i think is 250 tops. On this game ive managed to get my population up to 550, which is more than double the largest possible on AOE. To be able to have all these units on the screen and have pretty good graphics AND low minmum specs is quite a feat, they must have a very efficiant engine for the game.

My point about the hero begin strong and the population is that if you lose your army and then you get attacked with 400 units your pretty stuffed unless youb have your hero. When not in 3rd person, the hero is pretty weak against an army, wouldn't last more than a minute. If the player also hase siege then the walls arent going to hols them either. The towers ive played with so far seem a bit out of proportion - theyr not evem going to stop the army for more than say 20 seconds. With healers they probably wont even kill anything. The things is you wont have time to build an adaquet defense of units to stop the crush, here comes in the hero:

Ive found that it you let the computer build an army, and then attack (in the demo you cant change the difficulty and the computers dont build siege) then your hero can hold off the attacking force for long enough so that you can build your own army to match it. With the ability to move and fire arrows, you can walk around the army picking things off, very easily kill the archers with a sword (they fall like flies with no wings) and from then on run away shooting at them or get in there and take out a few regiments.

All in all the hero is a very powerfull unit and is incredibly good fun, brings in an almost rpg feel.

The greatest thing about this game over other games that i love is that everything is in scale. In AOE, you get transport ships the size of a horse that can magically fit 20 troops in. The troops in this game walk up ramps and stand on top of your ship, the ship can only fit in the amount of troops that can stand on it, which is still a lot, maybe 100, as the boats are big.

Ramming is realistic, if you do manage to ram a ship (which is quite difficult as they have to be in a certain position at a certain range) then its a one kill deal.

All the buildings inculind the wall are life size compared to the units, as said before with ladders up so that troops can walk on top. At a res of 1280 x 1024 a wall takes up about 1/5 of the screen. This may seem a pain, but its very helpfull when the enemy army attacks and you get archers up there.

One thing i havnt managed to do yet is to spin the screen around (rotation) you can zoom in, scroll left and right, but not around it seems, so with the massive walls this becoms a problem when you have buildings or units behind them.

A point for players who want to play the demo, the 'campaign' style level in the demo is mostly done in the 3rd person hero mode, if you are attacking buildings, the quickest way to take them down is with the multi-shot (which you cant seem to get in the skirmish) dont do what i did, go up and start hacking at the building as when it collapses it sometimes kills your hero and you fail unless you have some villagers.

A bad point i noticed was that looking at the website it seems all the civilizations have the same units, just with different names and looking slightly different, also the 4 civilizations all seems to function in the same way, same buildings doing the same things, where as in a game like earth 2160, all the cilizations are completely different and function in completely different ways, for example every race collect reource in different ways : The Aliens stand near water to absorb it where as the ED team send out little machines that mine it and dont have to come back to base to deposit resources and the UCS team have minors that fill up and drop off their resources at refinerys.

For me this game deserve 5 stars, its one of a few games i really look forward to playing, and ive pre-ordered the full game. If you havnt played the demo and you like AOE style RTS games then your gonna love this - get the demo!

Thats all from me folks!

Bye!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rise and Fall: Civilizations at War (PC DVD)
Rise and Fall: Civilizations at War (PC DVD) by Midway Games Ltd (Windows XP)
6.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews