Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devdas
I'm not a big fan of Bollywood, I don't even understand Hindi, but I was inspired to watch the film by the trailers on television and the reviews given by various magazines. Watching the film was not a problem as it had English subtitles. So, what did I think...?
The film, in short, was utterly breathtaking.
The sets were so lavish and colourful that every scene...
Published on 17 Mar 2003 by Suzanne

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie but the DVD should have been much better
This is one lavish Bollywood production and the money spent on it is all evident on screen. Sanjay Leela Bhansali's direction is first rate and the performances especially Aishwarya's & Madhuri's are brilliant. The sets are breathtaking and the costumes are exquisite.
However one would have imagined the DVD would be better. Eros have done a shoddy job with it. The...
Published on 30 Dec 2002 by J. A. Mamtora


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devdas, 17 Mar 2003
By 
Suzanne (Farnborough, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devdas [DVD] [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
I'm not a big fan of Bollywood, I don't even understand Hindi, but I was inspired to watch the film by the trailers on television and the reviews given by various magazines. Watching the film was not a problem as it had English subtitles. So, what did I think...?
The film, in short, was utterly breathtaking.
The sets were so lavish and colourful that every scene was like a gift to the eye, the music was so soulful that every emotion felt by the audience was inevitably emphasized to perpetuity, the dialogue was emotive and masterful and the performance of Sharuh Khan and Aishwarya Rai were so utterly natural that one felt like a spectator on a real-life love story with a shattering conclusion. I laughed, I cried but most of all I was gripped in awe at this epic film. There are few films I can claim I shall never forget but this is definitely one of the few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful remake of Hindi classic, Devdas, 16 Jan 2004
By 
Rohun (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devdas [DVD] [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
Devdas is a timeless classic remade for a modern audience with a very large budget. It tells the story of Devdas and his eternal love for Paro, but how the society of their time would not permit their union and so Paro leaves Devdas for more appropriate suitor. Their love however can never be forgotten and the film shows their undying devotion to one another. Perhaps could be described as the Indian equivalent of Romeo and Juliet; was also originally a novel. Would appeal to a very wide audience, Indian and in the West.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERYYYY POWERFUL MOVIE!, 14 July 2007
This review is from: Devdas [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
This movie is AMAZING! my favourite bollywood movie of all time. I absolutely fell in love with Shah Rukh Khan after watching this movie, his acting is superb! The story of this movie touches your heart and is a defiant tear jerker. Madhuri's acting was brilliant and is a pleasant suprise to also have her in this movie. I must also admit, that this is the only movie where Ashwariya Rai hasnt annoyed me. Overall this movie is amazing! Even if you are not a huge Bollywood fan, i would still recommend watching this movie...it will make you fall in love with Bollywood! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A marathon tear jerker, 29 May 2007
By 
Ms. J. D. Randall (kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devdas [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
This film was an Oscar nominee and for a Bollywood film to be taken this seriously, or to reach such a wide audience, is rare. One thing to bear in mind is its length. It seems to go on for an hour longer than was vital, but that extra hour only appears to sweep you further away in Devdas' plight. I admit I am no expert on acting delivery, or directing style, but little under 20 minutes in I had forgotten I was watching a foreign language film, or reading subtitles, and was just swept away with the humanity of the story. Definately a film for a Saturday afternoon, accompanied by a large box of choccies and an even bigger box of tissues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More traditional feel but incredible impact, 23 Dec 2008
By 
This review is from: Devdas [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
This movie played havoc with my emotions. It is just heart wrenching at times and SRK is beyond exceptional. Ash is very good too (a little too good at playing the immature earlier version of her figure as she was irritating at that point but she grows the character up and really brings the emotion out). It is more traditional in its dances but is beautiful to look at and very poetic. It demands more of the viewer but definitely worth the journey unless you prefer light and frothy -which it isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most powerful film I have ever seen, 21 Aug 2006
By 
Robert (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devdas [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
This film is incredibly beautiful, as well as being superbly acted. Wonderful music and dances too. It was the most emotional experience I have ever had watching a film. It has been loosely described as the Indian version of Romeo and Juliet and I can see why, because it is a tragic love story. If you are not afraid to be profoundly moved and want a very powerful experience, see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant...!, 2 Dec 2002
By 
This review is from: Devdas [DVD] [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
Many lovers of the original 'Devdas' will probabaly disagree with me when I say that this reworking of the classic (but tragic)love story is a wonder for the eyes to behold...
It truly is a sight to be seen - from the sumptuous and colourful decor and sets, to the heartfelt acting skills of the lead roles. You can almost smell the kum kum being thrown around in the first dance sequence - and what a glorious way to introduce Paro, the love and life of Devdas (Shahrukh Khan), played exquisitely by Aishwarya Rai.
Although I always feel that a Bollywood film should be seen in the cinema (to get that overwhelming feel of loosing oneself in the film!), 'Devdas' is such a delight that little is lost in the transfer from cinema screen to DVD - it even comes with subtitles for those who don't speak Hindi/Urdu.
As for the musical score... another work of genius - a must have for any CD player worth it's salt! Go and order it now!
All in all, this is an intoxicating and infectious love story that will have you laughing and crying (sometimes at the same time!) - the ending is so unlike all the other Bollywood films, that you will never forget it.
Please please please see this film...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEVDAS, 21 Aug 2003
By 
SM (Walsall, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devdas [DVD] [2002] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is undoubtedly one of the finest hindi films of all time. The production quality and attention to detail make DEVDAS the benchmark for all future costume dramas. As for the acting, rarely has anyone seen Shahrukh Khan perform so effortlessly, he mesmerises right from the first scene.To anyone who loves hindi cinema, who appreciates the culture and has read Chattopadhay's novel, you owe it to yourself to watch it and then watch it again. As the trailer says "there will never be another DEVDAS like this".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Moulin Rouge,THIS is the romantic musical tragedy you want to watch, 23 April 2009
By 
Lisette Baxter (Brisbane,Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devdas [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
When I first saw Moulin Rouge,unlike everyone else in the free world who sang its praises,it left me cold.While undeniably a spectacle,and glorious to look at,like all Baz Luhrman's films,I found its inherant superficiality irritating.There was no real charm or heart to the characters:it's a bad omen to be pleased when Nicole Kidman's simpering little Satine kicks the bucket at the end.OTOH,Devdas,so surprisingly similar in plot(and seeing how derivative Bazza Boy can be)I was surprised Luhrmann hadn't done a serious bit of plagarizing,but as both films were made around the same time this seems unlikely.(Perhaps he read the novel or saw the earlier version made in the '50s?)Perhaps the stories of al doomed lovers are essentially the same tale.Anyhow,forget that piece of stale confection,for a true,heartbreaking epic,THIS is the film you want.
Devdas is a wonderful introduction to the world of Bollywood film.It's a visual feast for any romanticist,very much an Indian Romeo and Juliet.It's almost ridiculously heart-breakingly beautiful to look at.So much so it's a tad unrealistic with nary a dirty street or untelegenic person in sight.Every surface seems to glitter and groan in a virtual riot of colour and sumptuousness,every actor seems to have stepped out of an exotic fairytale.Nobody in this world deals with taking the garbage out or the milk running out at 11 pm on a work night.But in a world where the Cult of Ugly Ideas seems to be taking root in every medium these days-meh-who am I to complain about a world that's a little too brightly painted?But it's emotional core is so authentically gutwrenching,I can forgive a little excessive pixie dust.
Two childhood sweethearts,whom everyone assumed would marry,are reunited in adulthood,only to be separated by caste snobbery & personal spite between the two families.This leads the young man into an alcoholic decline and the young woman into a loveless marriage with a wealthy widower,situations neither can extricate themselves out of,except by death.For Devdas,the young man,this escape will come sooner,rather than later.Doomed lovers are always impossible to resist and I found myself even tearing up a bit.Sigh.
While Shahrukh Khan ,who plays Devdas is a bit wooden,it suits his character's impotent passive-aggressive nature,and Aishwarya Rai is as impossibly,luminously beautiful as ever as the haughty Paro.For my money the finest performances however were by Madhuri Dixit as the courtesan with a heart of gold who loves Devdas enough to let him go( frankly better than he deserves,the bounder)and the elegant Kirron Kher,as Paro's mother,whose wonderful speech of revenge after a humilation at the hand of Devdas's mum must surely rank as one of the most electric moments for an older actress in any film anywhere.(Note to Bollywood producers:if you ever decide to make an Indian adaptation of The Scottish Play,look no further than this fine actress to be Lady Macbeth.)
There's no doubt the film is a little over-the-top and melodramatic,but anyone who has known the agony of a fruitless,destructive romantic attachment knows that there is always a bit of melodrama in such heartaches,if on a smaller scale than the big screen.Anyhow,if you're in the mood for a tragic,gorgeous assault on the senses with a bucket of passion and romance thrown in,this is a goer.Great date movie.
As for the DVD package itself,that I can't pass judgement on.I would love to own a copy after seeing this on tv and on a DVD rental,but Amazon seems to have lumped all the reviews for this film together,regardless of which release each reviewer saw,and good issues are reviewed here along with the bad.So which version is Amazon selling here? Goodness alone knows.
Apparently several reviewers on Amazon.UK's sister U.S site have seen copies with very poor video transfer and presentation.If other reviewers could recommend versions(distributor,seller,price) which ARE faithful,quality packages,I would be most grateful.This film is worth a quality distribution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Colorful and touching, if occasionally uneven, 17 May 2014
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Devdas [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
Note: As an American who quite likes, but is not an expert on Indian cinema, I'm the first to admit there may be elements of content or style that I might lack the knowledge to fully appreciate. These are just my personal reactions, take them for what they're worth.

Colorful and touching, if occasionally uneven, this story of a Romeo and Juliet like love affair and it’s aftermath certainly has it’s moments. The performances are strong, it looks great, there’s some interesting social commentary about the corrosive effects of class and social status. and there are a few good musical numbers.

But the musical element is odd – too much or two little for my taste. One song an hour is just enough to make their sudden appearance a bit jarring, not fully integrated into the style. There’s also a tendency to melodrama and overstatement in the plot and even the (quite good) acting, and some important questions about the "whys" behind characters’ key decisions in this tale of love and loss are left unexplored.

I was also frustrated that the DVD transfer quality didn't seem up to the physical beauty of the film. It's not bad, but this is the kind of film that calls out for blu-ray, or at least an absolutely 1st rate mastering.

None-the-less, it works well enough to enjoy as spectacle, and heart stuck melodrama to be enjoyable, almost like an old style Hollywood film, if not up to the level of Bhanasali’s later, quite brilliant and innovative “Black”.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devdas [DVD] [NTSC]
Devdas [DVD] [NTSC] by Sanjay Leela Bhansali (DVD - 2009)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews