Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steppin' Razor.., 10 July 2010
THE essential film about life & music in Jamaica in the 1970's. Originally meant as a documentary, it is the simplest story, told in a riveting way. The cast is a who's who of reggae at the time, all playing themselves, including a brief appearance from the late, great Joe Gibbs. It is honest, natural, funny and sad but above all, a beautiful film with the best soundtrack of any film ever made, ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best musical ever....., 6 Aug. 2012
By 
M. J. Phillips (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockers [DVD] (DVD)
Rockers [25th Anniversary Edition] [DVD]

I may be biased here because i love all the ingredients in the film, but this is a very well made, acted and scripted piece of work. The restoration has given it a further quality, and the music is just the best in the world. A perfect showcase for the less commercialised, but legendary reggae pioneers, the film hits straight to the heart of Jamaican rebel music culture. I think it's more extravagant than the grittier more serious 'The Harder They Come', and therefore more endearing to a potential market - a real treat, not to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rockers roadshow!!, 30 July 2007
By 
Ms. A. Wright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rockers [DVD] (DVD)
if you are a fan of 'real' jamaican hard core rockers music.. this film is a must!! a lesson in what real music is right here at the flick of my wrist to make you jump and twist as i would say!!
many years of watching and memorising this film has made it a sunday favourite in my household for 2 generations. if you want to taste a little of jamaica in the early 70s this is the dvd to buy!!!
one love!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic movie, 19 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockers [DVD] (DVD)
It's a bit slower than I remember but still a classic, with loads of faces passing through. A must-have for all fans of reggae. One of the few chances to see Jacob 'Killer' Miller in action as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No point in bluray really, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my dad but watched it myself too.

The film itself features a cast of well known reggae artists and there is of course a fantastic sound track. Unfortunately even with remastering the sound quality is not great and doesn't really need to be on bluray to be honest. Therefore if you own this already on another format, don't buy the bluray in the hope that it will be much better quality.

Something that some people might appreciate knowing is that it is very very hard to understand what the characters are saying. This being said there are at least subtitles to help you along!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reggae and Dub all-star classic., 19 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rockers [VHS] [1978] (VHS Tape)
Rockers is one of, if not the best Jamaican film ever. The central character is reggae drummer, Andy 'Horsemouth' Wallace, who, down on his luck, gets some loans together and buys himself a motorbike, paints a Lion of Judah on the petrol tank and starts driving round the island selling records (usually recorded that day) to the shops and dancehall soundsystems.
When his bike is stolen he discovers the Mafia are involved and begins a Robin Hood-style reliberation of goods back to the people.
The film looks great, shot in rich colourful stock that suits the lively setting but the star of the film is the music. The films stars a veritable Who's Who of the Island's biggest stars, Burning Spear, King Tubby,U-Roy and and a whole heap more. All the way through the film, the skanking doesn't stop, you tend to bounce to the music all the way through the film.
The other interesting thing is the very strong rastafarian accents that are hard to understand, but the film sensibly has subtitles for the harder parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best reggae film ever!, 2 July 2009
This review is from: Rockers [DVD] (DVD)
At last Rockers is on DVD. After first seeing this in 1979 it has been on my favourite list. I got a video and must have watched it 30+ times & am delighted to have found it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rockers nostalgia, 14 Aug. 2007
By 
This review is from: Rockers [VHS] [1978] (VHS Tape)
greetings

Having read the other reviews on the film Rockers I heartily agree. Excellent movie it is timeless. I certainly can watch it over and over again
The soundtrack captures Jamaica at that particular time. I watched it as a teenager in Birmingham and after 20yrs or more my friends and I still meet up to watch Rockers, laugh at the fashions,relieve the rasta talk ,dance and sing along to the music. If you need a lift to your day and you love and appreciate Jamaica's music watch Rockers.
One love.
MsLMC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Reggae fans!, 18 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockers [DVD] (DVD)
A delightful glimpse into the Rastafarian culture and music in Jamaica. One of my favorite films with cameos by a number of Reggae artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny and down to earth, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rockers [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent movie love jamaican reggae music and people. Very well acted lots of professionalism, brings back memories of when I was younger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rockers [DVD]
Rockers [DVD] by Theodorus Bafaloukos (DVD - 2005)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews