Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the narrow-minded spoon-fed generation
'The Omega Factor' is terrific, suspenseful and eerie television.

Some of the criticisms this show has received tend to come from those who are expecting the fast-paced high-octane thrillers that are churned out for modern audiences with short attention spans.

For more discerning viewers, this series will provoke thought, chill to the bone and...
Published on 10 Sep 2006 by Ben Ripley

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I expected... Read on
I ordered this DVD-set because I enjoy UK television SF form the Seventies. I just watched the last of the 10 episodes. I must say that the series was reasonably good and enjoyable. However, given the standards set by a series like Blake's 7 that started in the same year as the Omega Factor it was not as good as I expected it to be.

Outline
Tom Crane, a...
Published on 3 Aug 2007 by Julio Punch


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the narrow-minded spoon-fed generation, 10 Sep 2006
By 
Ben Ripley (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Omega Factor - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
'The Omega Factor' is terrific, suspenseful and eerie television.

Some of the criticisms this show has received tend to come from those who are expecting the fast-paced high-octane thrillers that are churned out for modern audiences with short attention spans.

For more discerning viewers, this series will provoke thought, chill to the bone and achieve a sense of disquiet.

The casting is superb. James Hazeldine is mesmerising as Tom Crane, the man on a mission, battling the superior forces of both the supernatural and the higher organisations of people who desire control and the power to manipulate all.

Louise Jameson as Anne Reynolds provides a perfect foil to his angst with her scientific prowess and cool and calm exterior - a forerunner to Agent Scully of 'The X Files' if ever there was one.

The highlight of the series is the superb fifth episode entitled 'Powers of Darkness' which genuinely sent shivers down my spine. One can understand why Mary Whitehouse complained about the show being 'Thoroughly evil'.

The DVD includes a fascinating booklet about the series, a documentary (running at 25 minutes) with interviews with one of the writers, one of the directors, the producer and the man behind it all, Jack Gerson. Also interviewed is his daughter who played the terrifyingly enigmatic Morag.

Superb television drama. A must buy for fans of high-quality supernatural drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is how it should be...., 27 Jun 2005
By 
M. Dench "Ruined Eye" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Omega Factor - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The Omega Factor slipped through my personal net. I'm old enough to have watched it, and was a keen fan of all such series at the time. I was there when the last Quatermass series was shown for the very first time, the first evening ITV returned to the air after a crippling strike. But I can't remember having ever watched any of The Omega Factor. Shocking. And criminal on my part. Thank heavens the BBC have finally released it and made me realise what a terrible oversight it was on my part. Make no mistake, this is fantastic television, eerie, scary, superb.
The acting is very strong, particularly from the driven James Hazeldine. The writing is equally strong, and the productions, although clearly of their time, do not feel dated. This is clearly a testament to the strength of vision behind the series and the quality of the writing. Mary Whitehouse admired it at the time, for all the wrong reasons!
And when you watch it, all the later 'paranormal' series start to show their true roots - The X-Files, Sea of Souls, etc. If you like to be scared, if you like to worry about conspiracies, and if you enjoy stories with strong characters you can identify and empathise with, then treat yourself and buy this. The BBC have treated us all by releasing it at long last, so make the most of the opportunity and buy it. Now! The Omega Factor shows just how powerful TV can be - you don't need a big budget or big names. All you need is a good idea and the passion to make it real. This is quality TV of a sort that seems to have become extinct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Brilliance, 27 July 2006
This review is from: The Omega Factor - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I can't actually remember watching this back in the '70s - possibly 'cos I was only fairly young and so my parents would've said NO, however, thanks to DVD I have now had a chance to watch this BBC masterpiece.

To the viewer in the USA who thought it was rubbish - the plots led from one episode to the next and they were all interwoven into a good, solid series, something that American scriptwriters don't seem to possess - they seem (even today) to rely on lots of gunfire and car chases when they seem at a loss as to what their characters should be doing.

Over in the US there are very few programmes which could ever hope to equal this piece of work. No, "Auntie" may not have had the huge budgets of her American counterparts back in the 1970s, but she did have brilliant scriptwriters and actors/actresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Case For The Defence, 20 Feb 2006
By 
M. Oxley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Omega Factor - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I felt compelled to submit a review of this item after reading the one negative review with regards to The Omega Factor. If you can't watch a drama without incredible special effects perhapse this isn't what you're looking for, however when you bring into consideration the year it was transmitted, and the tight budget the BBC had in those days I think it's a remarkable triumph, not a disaster, that the makers of The Omega Factor produced a series this good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Omega Experience, 13 Mar 2006
By 
Stephen Evans "A Budding Author" (Sussex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Omega Factor - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I count myself a big fan of the supernatural and how I missed this series first time round heaven knows - maybe because I was only 11 at the time! Quite clearly the series 'sea of souls' has ripped this show of fairly blatantly.
The acting is superb, often the actors give you a feeling that they do not believe in what they are potraying when it comes to the supernatural but the much missed acting talents of James Hazledine and everyones favorite Dr Who girl Louisa Jameson really give you the feeling that they were as frightened as the viewer.
Please remember that this is 1979 and technology and effects of the time and budget were limited. Mind you storyline was the important factor in those day's as opposed to special effects!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sinister, Spooky and Years Ahead of its Time, 15 Aug 2007
By 
Gregory S. Buzwell "bagpuss007" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Omega Factor - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
There is quite an air of mystique surrounding The Omega Factor. Broadcast in 1979, never repeated anywhere, never released on video, and then, in suitably low-key ghostly fashion, resurfacing on DVD in 2005. Mary Whitehouse famously didn't like it, describing the show as "thoroughly evil". Of course it is hardly that but it is, in places, very, very creepy.

Tom Crane (James Hazeldine), who has psychic abilities, is recruited by the mysterious Department 7 where he meets Dr Anne Reynolds (Louise Jameson) and Dr Roy Martindale (John Carlisle). Crane finds himself involved in various sinister, spooky and downright weird goings on, and with every passing episode he becomes less and less sure of just who he can trust.

The best of the stories to me at least are: "The Undiscovered Country", where Crane investigates a fellow psychic by the name of Drexel and his enigmatic daughter, Morag; "Visitations", one of the creepiest haunted house tales ever commited to film; "After Image", in which Anne finds herself involved in some sinister mind games that come close to tipping her over the edge into some sort of mental abyss; "Powers of Darkness", which involves a young girl becoming possessed after a seance and "Double Vision", in which Tom begins to see visions of his dead wife. If this all reminds you of the X-files then you'd be right. The Omega Factor really is a precursor to the Mulder and Scully show, even down to the will-they-won't-they relationship of the two leads and the shadowy conspiracy theories involving the senior figures of a secretive government department.

The acting is quite variable, although the three leads are all excellent (Louise Jameson in particular is absolutely superb), and the writing can be a little patchy, especially during some of the middle episodes from the series, but all in all this is a classic of late seventies television. It sets out to challenge and spook its audience and in this it succeeds admirably. It was probably ahead of its time: too on the edge for either its potential audience, and also for the BBC, to be comfortable with. It is also genuinely scary: there is one scene in the first story where Crane finds himself walking down a dimly lit street. As he walks the street lamps behind him begin to go out one by one ..... It scared me when I watched the episode's transmission back in 1979 and it scared me again rewatching it a few nights ago. It's a shame, although not especially surprising, that only one series was ever made. It's quite obvious watching the episodes that conclude the series that further story strands were just waiting to be developed in the years to come.

In short this is superb stuff, making excellent use of its eerie Edinburgh location and the acting talents of its three leads. Recommended for anyone looking for some genuine creepy chills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Omega Factor- a lesson to be learned for today's mundane viewing..., 5 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Omega Factor - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The Omega Factor still had me gripped after all these years, and guess what? all the special effects [ very few] were very much of the 70s, but because the acting was of a very high standard it didn't matter.... It still had the ability to chill and had a strong storyline... who do you trust when everyone seems to be working for the future and good of the 'organisation'... most definately a statement for our times in both the political, personal and social arena... Well worth watching 11/10...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof of a society that has forgotten its past greatness, 13 Dec 2005
This review is from: The Omega Factor - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I purposely bought a multi-region DVD player because I knew some of the old British TV shows I remember so fondly are available (if at all) only in PAL format. "The Prisoner," "Danger Man," "Fawlty Towers," "The Rise and Fall of Reginald Perrin," "Dad's Army"? But a show that particularly stands out is "The Omega Factor." This was carried on PBS station KUHT in Houston during the summer of 1981. It opened with a graphical drawing of James Hazeldine in a contemplative stare against a clocklike musical intro, then the image would ripple in a swirl of waves as the theme swelled into dark, haunting melodies. All the engaging, well-written stories were seen through an atmospheric lens: crisp winter Edinburgh backdrops, rooms lit only by the sun that slipped through windowblinds. I bought my copy today and can't wait to see how this memory from 1981 holds up today.
I don't know what happened. I see brilliant TV like this and listen to music like Yes, Jethro Tull and ELP. Then sometime around 1982 somebody flipped a switch, and suddenly people forgot what they were capable of. Now I see nothing but dreck on BBC America and you are led to believe that the Spice Girls are all the populace can handle for a musical challenge. Thank the Lord we still have Wallace and Gromit and Adrian Legg as evidence some of the old Britain still lies under the surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before there were the X-Files... Omega., 20 Jun 2005
By 
Taras R. Hnatyshyn (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Omega Factor - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
"The Omega Factor. The end and beyond the end." Government investigation of the supernatural? Sounds like the X-Files? No, In 1979 the BBC aired the Omega Factor starring James Hazeldine as Tom Crane and Louise Jameson as Anne Reynold in her first post-Doctor Who role. This scary series has a secret branch of the British government with a team of experts, Department 7, investigating the supernatural. A journalist is also investigating these cases for his paper. Each episode is approx. 50 minutes in length.

Episodes:
1: The Undiscovered Country
2: Visitations
3: Night Games
4: After Image
5: Powers of Darkness
6: Child's Play
7: St. Anthony's Fire
8: Out of Body, Out of Mind
9: Double Vision
10: Illusions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way back when the BBC made good series., 18 July 2005
This review is from: The Omega Factor - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The Omega Factor shows how good the B.B.C could be. The stories flow well together, I watched it when it first was shown on T.V and after all these years I still think it stands the test of time.
Made in 1979 so don't expect to much in the way of special effects, just sit back and watch an enjoy, it is well worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Omega Factor - The Complete Series [DVD]
The Omega Factor - The Complete Series [DVD] by Eric Davidson (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: 22.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews