Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric and helpful
I think this DVD is quite good and am puzzled by the previous review.

I have looked at a couple of lesson DVDs now and it compares well to them. It is well filmed and has a nice looking background - the dancer turns so you can see her from various angles and there is plenty of atmosphere. Instruction is given by voice over so the dancer can concentrate on her...
Published on 11 July 2006 by Jaysview

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money!
I borrowed this DVD from a friend and can't say i was impressed in the slightest. The dancer seemed more interested in looking the part with her make-up and fancy costumes and setting the scene than actually demonstrating the moves clearly for viewers. As others have commented, it is so difficult to see what she is doing with her legs when she's wearing a long flowing...
Published on 30 May 2007 by Dancing queen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money!, 30 May 2007
This review is from: Belly Dancing [DVD] (DVD)
I borrowed this DVD from a friend and can't say i was impressed in the slightest. The dancer seemed more interested in looking the part with her make-up and fancy costumes and setting the scene than actually demonstrating the moves clearly for viewers. As others have commented, it is so difficult to see what she is doing with her legs when she's wearing a long flowing skirt - is her heel up or down, is her knee bent or straight? The viewer has to do a lot of guesswork, which defeats the object entirely.

I've bought other instructional DVDs and the teachers wear lycra so the viewers can see exactly what they're doing - their movements are also more fluid and their dance style a lot more professional. I'm not sure this teacher has been dancing for very long. In her dance sequences, some of her moves do seem rather amateurish.

In all honesty, this is not worth the money. There are so many better belly dance DVDs out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a very good DVD for a novice, 23 April 2007
By 
Angel (England, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belly Dancing [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD and another to learn to belly dance at home as I can't get to a class. It looked like it would be good and in a way it is. It has a good commentary, but unfortunatly it's like hearing a website read out whilst listening to music and watching a dance show. Whilst you can see the dancer doing the moves and hear how she's doing them, you can't see how.

The long skirt and vast array of sparkling make it impossable to see exactly what the dancer is doing in order for you to put it together yourself.

A very beautiful DVD. But only for use once you know the basic moves to some degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a horrible DVD, 30 May 2006
This review is from: Belly Dancing [DVD] (DVD)
Please, please don't buy this. It's the worst DVD I ever bought the main problem is that IT DOESN'T TEACH YOU BELLY DANCING.THERE IS HARDLY ANY BELLY DANCING AT ALL.You will have 20 minutes of a turkish drummer playing without any dancing at all. At the end there is a woman dancing and no explanation is given about nothing and what is worst the camera man consistently shows this woman'S face instead of getting her body.(she was a beautiful woman but that is not the point of a belly daning DVD) ARGGGG!!!!!!! I put it in the bin yesterday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric and helpful, 11 July 2006
This review is from: Belly Dancing [DVD] (DVD)
I think this DVD is quite good and am puzzled by the previous review.

I have looked at a couple of lesson DVDs now and it compares well to them. It is well filmed and has a nice looking background - the dancer turns so you can see her from various angles and there is plenty of atmosphere. Instruction is given by voice over so the dancer can concentrate on her moves. It is intended for beginners and as such, I found there was plenty of belly dancing moves to try and keep up with.

In the 'extras' section there are a number of short demonstration dances by the dancer and these are clearly indicated as demos and also 3 short films of a drummer drumming so that you can make your own routines without being influenced by the actions of a dancer - to me this seems a good idea.

The one point I would agree with is that at times the camera person has been too close to the dancer but this is occasional and in the demo dances rather than in the instructional section.

I am more than happy with this DVD and found it the best of the ones I have tried so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Belly Dancing?, 4 April 2007
This review is from: Belly Dancing [DVD] (DVD)
I was puzzled by the contrasting reviews on here so, took the plunge and bought the DVD anyway. It's layout is quite good and the voice over is clearly spoken. However the dancer doesn't break the moves down into manageable bits. Even as a dancer myself I found one or two of the descriptions for the moves slightly confusing. I thought that as alot of emphesis is put on the leg movements & stance, it wasn't overly clear as the dancer was wearing long chiffon skirt that hid her legs.

Overall, I thought it was a fair DVD and certainly for the price, gives you a taste of wether or not you want to invest more money on belly dancing instructional DVD's. I do, and have enrolled on a course & looked into getting another DVD to work along side this one. certainly enough to whet your appetite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars belly dancing, 1 April 2012
This review is from: Belly Dancing [DVD] (DVD)
really good, not quite what I expected but enjoyed it.Wll worth a look for all those belly dancers that want more fluid movements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars *yawn* - its a documentary!!!!!!!!!, 5 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Belly Dancing [DVD] (DVD)
I really wanted to learn how to belly dance but being a bit of a fittness freak i find most DVDs far 2 easy, but this really was not wat i expected.

Its an execpected documentary and a long tiersom one at that.

i thought it was a workout and was proven wrong, dont make the same mistake, i think i actually could of put on weight sat there watching it rather than lost any!!

*NOT A WORK OUT!!!!!!!!!!*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dvd is good for a complete novice, 24 Dec 2007
This review is from: Belly Dancing [DVD] (DVD)
I actually think this is a very good dvd for beginners, it teaches you the basic moves of bellydancing,hip lifts, shimmies etc. I do agree about the problem with her wearing a skirt because you can't see her legs so you don't see the leg work. I learnt to do shimmies properly when I started going to a bellydancing class! The voice over helps its clear and to the point, the dvd is not very user friendly because you have to pause it and learn the moves, but with other dvds you learn it with the teacher. It's also better than some other bellydancing dvd's which can be very americanized lol. I suggest if you buy this dvd take classes and use this dvd to practice at home or just watch shakira on youtube!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 July 2007
This review is from: Belly Dancing [DVD] (DVD)
Being familier with one of the classical art forms of dance, I am able to enjoy and appreciate this DVD.
This DVD conveys as accurate information as possible within the limited time.
The steps and movements are highly graceful.One can get loads of information while learning dance. Its a real value for money.

would recommend this DVD to any interested learner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Belly Dancing [DVD]
Belly Dancing [DVD] by Belly Dancing (DVD - 2005)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews