Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5 stars8
3.1 out of 5 stars
Price:£10.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 12 October 2006
The first two tracks are like a wannabe porn movie...
Seriously, the Ying Yang Twins track is awful. Some guy whispering about a "sexy momma" and "touching your rear to see if it's soft" just sounds like some dodgy chat-up line you'd hear from some muppet in a bad NYC club...
The second track has Carl Craig MC a couple of lines: "Girl... You're body's calling.... " - neither sound remotely sexy or steamy, and I can't imagine one girl getting aroused by this.
Surely if you wanted to seduce someone with music you don't come out with rubbish like this straight at the start of your DJ set?!?!?
The rest of the album is pretty decent - there's some real stand-out tunes on here.

And yes, Carl Carig does MC over the top of some of the mixing, but not like someone from So Solid Crew... he just talks a little, now and then. To be honest I find it pointless - I want to listen to music, dance to the music... not hear someone rambling at me telling me to get my lighter out (it isn't a live set anyway!) But saying this, he hasn't destroyed the mix by doing this - at least he sounds like he's enjoying himself.
I do get some lame impression of him in a studio mixing on his own, making out he's doing this like a set in Fabric at 3am. Surely he knows that we know he was in a studio!

If anything the last track is the best... but other people will disagree. I still think it's a reasonable album, I just wish the deleted the first two tracks as they really are awful.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2006
Essential. In a word, this CD, is. Forget the naysayers carping that this is spoilt by Mr Craig freestyling over the top, from a DJ's perspective it tells me this; that he was loving every minute of this mix as he did it, he isn't doing it for effect, my guess would be he was either chemically enhanced or simply deeply into the tunes as he was mixing this, I sing and talk all the time when I mix. You can tell he enjoyed making this, it shows in the best parts of the album, the syncopated tribal african inspired percussion and funky guitars layered over the top in Africanism, cutting straight into the mighty Precious Love (instrumental smashes the vocal version IMHO). Blade dancer and various other tunes make this a very accomplished mix in my opinion.

All I will say beyond what I've said - listen to this before you slag it. Make your own mind up. You might find, like me, you really like the style of the album (one of my best friends who knows me well, shares a similar taste in music MADE me listen as he swore I'd like it, he was correct!) and the spirit it's been produced in.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2006
This is my first review on amazon after feeling inspired to write after the negative reviews from other customers.
Ok, so the whooping is pretty stupid and can be annoying, but carl craig by no means chats incessantly over the whole thing. Personally I find carl craig saying “put your lighters up!” pretty funny.
I’m by no means a close follower of techno but there’s a great selection on this mix. There’s plenty of flavour, feeling and tempos. Agreed, his own productions are the strongest bits, but Kerri Chandler - Bar A Thym , Tokyo Black Star - Blade Dancer -, D'Malicious - Alive are all rather special too.
I’d suggest trying this mix before you buy it, rather than dismissing it– I certainly don’t begrudge this work a place in my collection
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2006
As much as I love Carl Craig and his releases in the past I am afraid to report this is little more than average.
The best tunes on the mix are by Carl himself and unfortunately for all of us he makes an attempt to make the CD sound live
by saying things like "lighters in the air" and "you're listening to Carl Craig" which unfortunately ruin the mix furthermore.
0Comment4 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2006
Okay, so im no house expert, but i am slowly getting into the genre and can give you my views on this mix.
Essentially this is a good cd, with plenty of awesome tracks (Africanism, D'malicious) and creates a good mood, apart from one thing, Carl Craig, who I was unaware of, what with being new to this, has decided to "whoop" and shout all over songs, making it somewhat annoying to listen to, especially if you are trying to find that one tune and you end up hearing Mr. Craig telling you "this track is fresh". The other thing i noticed was some rather dubious mixing of tracks.
Over all a dissapointment and you could probably do better to pick up some of the earlier fabric releases!
0Comment3 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2007
In my humble opinion, CARL CRAIG, I repeat CARL CRAIG is a master of his craft. I believe that it is an honour to be able to listen to the great man getting down with the tunes. Anyone worth their salt would be able to tell you that he is one of the most talented dance music producers that has ever been, if not the most. On top of this, his dj sets are a journey through electronica, building with intensity, yet remaining almost understated in their driving nature. It is this, that is captured on Fabric 25.'IT AINT OVER'.
0Comment0 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2006
Arrgh!! How frustrating. This is a reasonable selection of tunes and creates a great atmosphere (The Carl Craig tracks are outstanding) but why oh why has Carl Craig decided to MC badly over the top of everything) as the previous reviewer discussed, this is a major flaw to what could have been an awesome mix. As a result of this attempt to sound live, it just sounds like a bad pirate radio station or worse still the MTV grind (remember that pap!!!!)
0Comment2 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2006
I have to join the debate on this one. For me, it's an excellent bunch of tunes - some fab detroit house and techno. But, like many of the others, I can't stand Carl's camp ramblings all over the mixes. "Girl!", "ooh!", "awww yeahhh" - it's like the tape you did when you pretended to be a DJ at the age of 12. And it grates on me, so that I can't enjoy the lush techno, or the pretty decent mixing.

To round it off, and to put a final nail in the coffin, he does a cheesy "I just want to thank everyone who made this possible" speech at the end. Fabric - why did you let him have a microphone. This one should have been all about the music.
0Comment3 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.62
£12.56

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.