Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive French action movie
A very slickly produced and directed French thriller combining elements of Rio Bravo, Night of the Living Dead, Assault on Precinct 13, and James Cameron's Aliens.
A bunch of disparate characters (security guards, petty thieves, and a unit of French Special Forces troops) find themselves holed up and under siege in a high-tech warehouse. Their attackers, who wear...
Published on 9 Jun 2005 by Hawfinch

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Nest
Watchable, but very predictable. Not much of a plot ,more of a mish-mash of others mixed together. The characters are very 2D, no in depth characterisation. Could have been a lot better !
Published on 18 Mar 2009 by film - buff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive French action movie, 9 Jun 2005
By 
Hawfinch - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Nest [DVD] (DVD)
A very slickly produced and directed French thriller combining elements of Rio Bravo, Night of the Living Dead, Assault on Precinct 13, and James Cameron's Aliens.
A bunch of disparate characters (security guards, petty thieves, and a unit of French Special Forces troops) find themselves holed up and under siege in a high-tech warehouse. Their attackers, who wear night-vision goggles that make them look like alien insects (the wasps of the French title "Nid de Guepes"), are members of a ruthless Albanian mafia-style militia intent on recovering their captured leader who is also inside the warehouse.
What follows is a spectacular series of action set pieces that would put many Hollywood directors to shame. Importantly, though, director Florent-Emilio Siri has not forgotten the importance of character in this kind of film. A first-rate cast which includes Samy Naceri, Nadia Fares (as a Ripley-style kickass heroine) and Pascal Greggory (a veteran actor of French film and theatre), and an intelligent, pared-down script, make this one of the most surprising and impressive French films of recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars shame about the subtitles..., 8 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Nest [DVD] (DVD)
so yes, this film is great fun - the other reviews have given a good account of that.

What they haven't mentioned - which is worth alerting you to - is that the subtitles on this release are v.poorly done (find a different release version if you can).

Firstly they appear actually on the picture, which might be common, but when they're bright yellow and can appear well up the screen if there's a lot of dialogue, is not acceptable. Second, they have only instituted subtitles seemingly for the deaf - you are told in brackets when a door opens, or gun shot is heard etc. All-in-all a pitifully lazy and inept/uncaring subtitle implementation...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, frantic and slightly different, 27 July 2008
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Nest [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with the positive comments made by the other reviewers. Its a frantic battle for survival for a rag tag bunch of petty thieves, french special forces and a few factory workers who fall under siege from a vicious Albanian criminal and his high tech forces. It's an enjoyable romp with elements of assault on precinct 13 and it's a nice change from the similar genre hollywood churns out by the dozen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Assault On Warehouse 13, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nest [DVD] (DVD)
Abedin Nexhep, Godfather to the Albanian mafia is due to stand trial in European court, charged with running an extensive prostitution network. He's being escorted in an armoured vehicle by the French special forces, led by special agent Laborie. Along the way the vehicle is ambushed by Nexhep's men, but they manage to escape and seek safety in a warehouse. Already in the warehouse is a gang of armed thieves led by Nasser, they've just tied up the two security guards and begun to move the merchandise as the armoured vehicle arrives. As Nexhep's men surround the warehouse and open fire, the criminals, guards and special forces are going to have to work together if they're going to make it out alive.

The Nest is a French film that's subtitled, but that doesn't deter from the very good performances that are on show. Nadia Fares is probably the standout, I was already familiar with who she was after seeing the very good horror/thriller Storm Warning. She plays the role of Laborie, she has to be tough but shows a softer more emotional side in certain scenes. If this was an American film, it's the sort of role that Michelle Rodriguez seems to constantly play. The other actor that I knew going into the film was Samy Naceri, he played the role of Nasser and wasn't as important to the film as I thought he would be. Naceri is most famous for the 4 Taxi films and the excellent Days Of Glory, he's possibly more famous for his substance abuse, violent attacks and several spells in prison. I didn't know the other actors but felt they all did well, especially Benoît Magimel as Santino, Nasser's friend and fellow thief. I won't mention all the cast, but this is actually more of an ensemble film rather than mainly concentrating on specific characters. It's directed by Florent-Emilio Siri who also co-wrote the story with Jean-François Tarnowski, I liked his direction and once the action starts, it very rarely slows down. Siri's next film was the big budget US Bruce Willis film Hostage, another film I thought was far better than most films of it's type.

The Nest is clearly inspired by Assault On Precinct 13, which was itself inspired by the Howard Hawks film Rio Bravo starring John Wayne. If you switch the warehouse to a police station, the special forces to cops, this is almost the same film. I actually enjoyed The Nest a lot more than I did the US remake to Assault On Precinct 13, I thought this had the raw and gritty feel that the Carpenter film had. Like Assault, this film is almost shot all in one location, the warehouse. I liked that they had a much bigger area to protect, it meant that there were more ways in for Nexhep's men. The warehouse almost becomes a character in itself, especially when the lights are cut. If you've seen Assault On Precinct 13 then you'll pretty much know what happens here, they really don't change all that much. There's not that much violence or bloodshed in the film, but there's plenty of exhilarating gun fights. A mistake that some films like this make is that they become far too over the top, suddenly injured people are picking up 2 guns and taking on a whole army whilst jumping through the air spitting out wisecracks. This film from start to finish is quite realistic, they have to work as a group and there's no real hero at the end.

The dvd is pretty good. Picture quality worried me at first, the opening of the film is very grainy until it's revealed to be a programme a character is watching on the tv. From there on the quality is really good, very little grain, no scratches or other blemishes, the colour is good and the detail in close-ups is way above average for dvd. I didn't watch the film with the volume too high, but when the bullets start flying, it gets pretty loud and intense. There aren't many extras, a trailer, deleted scenes and a making of. The making of does clock in at 52 minutes long, it's quite detailed and has interviews with the cast and crew, it also shows plenty of behind the scenes footage.

The Nest doesn't offer us anything we've not seen before, but it does it all extremely well. It spends just the right amount of time to introduce us to the characters, it recreated the intense action of John Carpenter's Assault On Precinct 13 better than the remake did, and best of all it's never boring which is one thing an action film should never be. The director always holds our attention, and the good performances from the cast is key to that. The Nest is an excellent French action movie that reminded me of those classic 70's and 80's action films that were so good, not quite the classic that Die Hard was, but a lot closer to it than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch unmissable French action/thriller...get it!, 19 Jan 2006
By 
JF Rodriguez (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nest [DVD] (DVD)
This film has an almost similar plot to John Carpenter's 'Assault on precinct 13': An elite group of judicial escorts (transporting in an armoured vehicle an ultra dangerous mobster to stand trial) and a bunch of petty thieves end up in a remote hi tech factory and join forces (including the factory's security guards) to survive when an army of dangerous and ruthless mafia assassins will do anything to free their captured leader. The director conjures up desperation, hopelessness and genuine evil from his group of characters as well as successfully re-creating Carpenter's feeling of an unstoppable army out to get them.
From the start, where thieves and cops prepare their missions, to the last minute where under siege, the cops, security guards and thieves desperately and relentlessly fight to keep themselves alive, this film doesn't let go. It has it all: Intelligent script, incredible suspense, spectacular action, genuine almost unbearable tension, excellent character development, top notch actors and acting and it's beautifully filmed. It also features one of the most impressive long single shot in cinema history (yes in history!) where the camera travels above a car crash on a highway involving at least 70 cars slowly revealing the horrible carnage bit by bit to end on a close up that will send chills down your spine and prepares you for the horror to come. Although not mentioned on the site, it has an English 5.0 soundtrack, a French 5.1 soundtrack as well as English and French subtitles.
Until someone does a decent remake of 'Assault on precinct 13' this is an exciting, stylish, unmissable first rate film for action/thriller lovers way above most of the trash that has been coming from Hollywood recently. Get it you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WASP'S NEST directed by Florent Emilio Siri, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nest [DVD] (DVD)
A French military-police convoy escorting an Albanian mafia boss is ambushed and flees into a warehouse - which just happens to be in the process of being robbed. Cops and robbers must unite to fight off the Albanian mafia in a siege.

This French film draws equally on Rio Bravo (the siege plot), Assault on Precinct 13 (the ghostly enemies) and Aliens (the industrial horror) to create a spectacular piece of action cinema that's very much its own beast.

The lack of a protagonist is offsetting at first, as is the lack of the crucial scene in which the cops and robbers decide to band together - in this film it just happens. However, the virtues of the film more than make up for it:

It has superb visuals, contrasted against deliberately minimalist dialogue, as well as great action sequences and several touching moments of humanity of the sort that would usually appear in an intimate drama.

Altogether, a very entertaining 100 minutes that all action fans should watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good film good fun, 5 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Nest [DVD] (DVD)
I used to have this and my dvd had english audio as well as french so I suggest you look in the set up options.
I loved the car scene at beggining when they all whistle the theme tune to 'magnificent seven' before reaching as I remember being a warehouse where they were going to steal something or other and then the police escorting a prisoner turn up and then they are all surrounded and it then becomes very similar to john carpenters 'assault on precinct 13' and an old john wayne western.
I would give it 5 stars but no bluray is available that im aware off.....but I will re buy this though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem, 27 Aug 2013
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nest [DVD] (DVD)
The Nest is a great little known action film. Closely following the mould of Assault on Precinct 13 this pits three factions against each other in the confines of warehouse. A gang in the middle of robbing a warehouse are rudely interrupted when an armoured vehicle seeks refuge after being ambushed by a mafia gang.

It turns out these elite cops are escorting a VIP prisoner and the mafia want him back. After a tense exchange the robbers join forces with the cops to defend the warehouse from the endless onslaught of mafia henchmen.

The action is fast and punchy. It feels gritty and real and really packs a punch. Set pieces are set up and executed swiftly. You never see the enemy full on, just glimpses of figures running from cover to cover whilst firing off the odd round. Tension builds and builds until the fight comes into the warehouse.

The story is straight forward and light. It doesn't get in the way of the action and the characterisation is minimal at best. Nobody is there to be particularly liked but it's easy to root for the good guys. Unfortunately this film has never reached the cult status it deserves. Not quite up to the nerve shredding John Carpenter classic, but a great fun film none the less.

Well worth a night in with this easy watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full-on French madness., 17 April 2013
By 
Mr. P. Johnson "Pete Johnson" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nest [DVD] (DVD)
This is a short review for a really good French shoot-out. Cops, and gangsters, both trapped in the same place, fighting others, who don't know who is in there. It really is that simple. Nothing fancy, no great plot, or meaningful script. No 'oh I see...' at the end. Just a mad, frantic, shooting kill-fest that grips you from the start. Hang on for the ride, and you'll enjoy every minute. I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superior!, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nest [DVD] (DVD)
s i m p l y d o e s n ' t g e t a n y b e t t e r !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nest [DVD]
The Nest [DVD] by Florent Emilio Siri (DVD - 2005)
£3.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews