Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars17
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£29.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2005
You remember the 70's? Just after the Beatles, Hendrix, peace, love etc!!! Well this is what happened next! Deep Purple, arguably the most influential rock band, ever. How many guitarists emulate Blackmore? How many singers tried to be Gillan (and failed)?
This DVD, whilst the Copenhagen concert is in black and white, delivers a performance from a band that were superb and at the height of their musicianship. Watch the interplay between Lord and Blackmore during Child in Time, listen to Paice following them... heaven! Watch Gillan mouth-off at someone during Highway Star, then carry on as if nothing happenened - masterly.
The Copenhagen concert shows the band just before Machine Head was released. There is such a relaxed atmosphere, Highway Star is a great way to start off, Strange Kind of Woman shows how good Gillan's voice was, back then! Child in Time is just amazing: one of their greatest songs. Watch Paice during The Mule - awesome. Lazy is relaxed but superb and Space Truckin gives Lord and Blackmore another chance to show how fantastic they were. Then the 3 encores; Fireball, Lucille and Black Night.
No Smoke on the Water? Not at Copenhagen! But they do it in the colour 1973 footage - Blackmore (no doubt intentionally) starting in a different key. They also show part of Strange Kind of Woman, compare the two versions!! Then another version (edited) of Space Truckin. This is just before Gillan and Glover left - watch the body language, Gillan sounds great but doesnt look happy!!
If you saw these guys at the time - buy this and remember how brilliant they were. If you have only seen Deep Purple since they reformed in the mid 80's - watch this and see what you missed.
By the way - the Copenhagen concert is available on CD, see Sonic Zoom.
Enjoy!!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2005
Ok, the top & bottom is, this is a re-release of the black'n white Copenhagen video originally released in the late 80's.
People familiar with this will know that whoever was on the soundboard that night, were probably seeking a different form of employment the next day! Sadly those sound demons are still very much apparent,(no/very little bass first 3 numbers to bass overload from The Mule onwards!) but efforts have been made to sharpen the sound with different audio options. Depite this the band give a stirling performance- Child in Time in particular sparkles with Blackmore & Lord sharing the main solo, Fireball also a rare eyebrow raiser.
Also on this DVD are snippets from the New York '73 gig which, despite what was happening with the group behind the scenes, the band appear to be in fine form. Because this gig was finalised at the time for an 'in concert' show, each number suffers from edited verses/solos etc which,like the problems on the Denmark show, are irreversable.
Overall the band put in a good show and its good to have these gigs on DVD at long last!
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2005
'
10 von 12 Kunden fanden die folgende Rezension hilfreich
Best you can get from " machine head "live show!!!, 20. Juli 2005
I saw this dvd in the store and it took few days till i bought it- i thought to my self- again , another deep purple dvd - most of it black&white (monochrome), but i admit now, i was wrong- This show - " the Scandinavian , live in denmark march 1972 is a MUST HAVE to any fan. 9 tracks from the machine head live , the only complete visual document of deep purple mk2 concert you can get played ii good quality sound , with good picture quality ( for this days ) ( monochrome only) but i was very surprized- this is great show indeed .The second show was filmed in the concert hall of hofstra university in America 25 min only 3 tracks were kept , good sound quality and very good picture quality ( for this days in colour !!!and you can choose "dts " or Dolby digital 5.0) ( strnge kind of woman, smoke on the water and space truckin.
i personally prefer the "Scandinavian nights " show (copenhagen show)!!! - the best deep purple you can watch - this is the " machine head " live!!! ( you can choose dolby 2.0 - god sound or Dolby digital 5.0). 97 min!!! ( and i didn't talk about the 1 track bnus from 74' show , from California jam (bonus vision )( i bought already the fll show last year).
great dvd , must have , ian paice and ian gillan in their finest , deep purple in their best , i saw Ritchie B in better days ( with dio 1977 germany show " caled also "on stage" in their live album , but i enjoy his efforts also here!!! roger glover always great and Jon lord made good job but we saw Him also in better days... but this dvd is the best visual dvd you can get from this days... i wish to get something like this from scorpions ( "Tokyo tapes ") maybe in some days .... but i can't believe we will ...
Believe me i also thought to my selve i would not buy this DVD but i glad i did!!! ( highway tar , strange kind of woman, child in time ( 17.43 min ) , the mule , lazy , space trackin , also day played " fireball ", "Lucille " and " black night" !
(in the 1972 show)
BUY IT!!!
Tracklisting:
01 Intro / Highway Star
02 Strange Kind Of Woman
03 Child In Time
04 The Mule
05 Lazy
06 Space Truckin'
07 Fireball
08 Lucille
09 Black Night
10 Strange Kind Of Woman
11 Smoke On The Water
12 Space Truckin
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2005
I saw this dvd in the store and it took few days till i bought it- i tought to my self- again , another deep purple dvd - most of it black&white (monochrome), but i admit now, i was wrong- This show - " the scandinavian , live in denmark march 1972 is a MUST HAVE to any fan. 9 tracks from the machine head live , the only complete visual document of deep purple mk2 concert you can get played ii good quality sound , with good picture quality ( for this days ) ( monochrome only) but i was very surprized- this is great show indeed .The second show was filmed in the concert hall of hofstra university in america 25 min only 3 tracks were kept , good sound quality and very good picture qualiy ( for this days in colour !!!and you can choose "dts " or dolby digital 5.0) ( strnge kind of woman, smoke on the water and space truckin.
i personaly prefer the "scandinavian nights " show (copenhagen show)!!! - the best deep purple you can watch - thisis the " machine head " live!!! ( you can choose dolby 2.0 - god sound or dolby digital 5.0). 97 min!!! ( and i didn't talk about the 1 track bnus from 74' show , from california jam (bonus vision )( i bought already the fll show last year).
great dvd , must have , ian paice and ian gillan in their finest , deep purple in their best , i saw ritchie blackmore in better days ( with dio 1977 germany show " caled also "on stage" in their live album , but i enjoy his efforts also here!!! roger glover always great and Jon lord made good job but we sawim also in better days... but this dvd is the best visual dvd you can get from this days... i wish to get something like this from scorpions ( "tokyo tapes ") maybe in some days .... but i can't belive we will ...
Belive me i also thought to my selve i would not buythis dvd but i glad i did!!! ( highway tar , strange kind of woman, child in time ( 17.43 min ) , the mule , lazy , space trackin , also day played " fireball ", "lucille " and " black night" !
( in the 1972 show)
BUY IT!!!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2005
The show includes the complete Denmark 1972 show, reauthored from the original video master, together with the legendary New York Hofstra University 1973 footage. The latter is in colour, and lasts around 25 minutes. Some clips from this appeared on the Eagle DVD "Machine Head", but the new DVD will contain ALL that survives, and this is the first time it has appeared anywhere.
If you like Purple Mk2, then sit back and enjoy.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2005
This DVD actually features the same concert as the old Machine Head live 1972 DVD (also known as Scandinavian Nights), but the big difference is this new one we have here is a FULLY LICENSED product, with REMASTERED picture and sound quality which makes for an EXCELLENT result!
The picture is so sharp and crystal clear that even though I have had the old VHS for years I felt like I was watching this show for the very first time!
THERE ARE EXTRA FEATURES, and good ones too!
First off, we have the (until now unseen and unreleased) pro-shot colour footage of Deep Purple at Hofstra University in 1973... and in stunning picture and sound quality to boot!
There's also a commentary track, and a preview of the next DVD in the Deep Purple archive series: "Burn" from the California Jam, 1974...
This DVD is great value for money for the Deep Purple fan, in both packaging and contents, and is NOT in the least a rip-off release...
This IS the real thing!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Some good quality archive footage from the key early 70's period featuring the original line up. The main concert selection is from Copenhagen and despite it being black and white the show comes across pretty well, the main gripe is the obscure camera work which plagues the opening numbers, for some reason the camera zooms in on the wrong band members when various solo's are being played, I began to think Ritchie Blackmore wasn't on stage for a while? I think we were about 10 minutes in before they spotted him tucked away in the corner? The New York footage is in colour and obviously brings more charisma and depth to the proceedings, pity its a bit short in length. Compared to some music DVD's from this era its worthwhile giving it a go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2011
This Deep Purple DVD is brilliant ! The classic mark 2 line up of Blackmore/Gillan/Glover/Lord/Paice. A stunning early 1972 concert from Denmark - complete ! And highlights of a 1973 concert from New York, USA. All the classic songs, all the classic hits, all the extended jams and improvisations and solos that this band do so well. This is the GREATEST live band ever ! DEEP PURPLE FOREVER !!!Perfect StrangersThe Battle Rages On
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
If you love THE Deep Purple, then this is the one. The concert in Denmark is the bollocks, how Ian has any throat left after Child in Time is beyond me. Stunning ! Yes it's in b&w but that doesn't master, it's as close to being there in the flesh in 1972 as is possible. If you love THE original Purple line up this is for you. Just wish I'd been there!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
Although this is filmed in B/W it shows the power that Deep Purple had in their golden period from 1970-1973 before Gillan & Glover left!, There are great performances all round, and it is fun to remember the kind of gear you used to wear back then. Oh those were the days!!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)