Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The biohazard boys are back!!!
Biohazard are one of those bands who learn from their mistakes. Starting out as a popular hardcore outfit they became fairly popular and a big record label snaps em up and turns them into commercial rubbish!!! However unlike some other bands who went down this road, Biohazard realised the problem, signed to a smaller label and started writing music the way they want too,...
Published on 9 Dec 2005 by J. Griffiths

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step up from heavy metal
When the band released Kill or be killed I think a lot of fans were taken back by their change of style from a decent metal to sound to heavy metal and in some parts maybe even death metal. The songs they were singing about were much more aggressive and definitely stepped away from their previous albums and were a far cry from their early material. With this album I'm...
Published on 2 Oct 2010 by Matt182


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The biohazard boys are back!!!, 9 Dec 2005
This review is from: Means To An End (Audio CD)
Biohazard are one of those bands who learn from their mistakes. Starting out as a popular hardcore outfit they became fairly popular and a big record label snaps em up and turns them into commercial rubbish!!! However unlike some other bands who went down this road, Biohazard realised the problem, signed to a smaller label and started writing music the way they want too, not the way the record label want too!
If you have listened to "Kill or be Killed" by biohazard expect pretty much the same with "Means to an end". I will however state that this album seems more refined, has better sound quality, and has some brilliant gang vocals (think hatebreed). Expect some classic biohazard attributes, such as catchy riffs, dual vocals and some killer funky breakdowns.
To be put simple, Biohazard are doing what they do best, are playing mucic the way they want too! This is heavier than early biohazard, and when writing the album they definately had live shows in theier heads, as gang vocals are a plenty.
Catchy and heavy, biohazard are back with another instalment of pure hardcore.....ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funding, 29 Jan 2007
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Means To An End (Audio CD)
After the last three albums; all of which had some great songs but lacked an overall quality, Biohazard really hit it home with their best album in about ten years.
The album is a mixture of the new direction taken with 'Kill or be Killed,' and the classic Biohazard direction, only really heavy, seriously and unusually heavy, surprisingly heavy even for Biohazard. 'The Fire Burns Inside,' sounds like it could've been from their last album... but if it was it'd have been the best song on it, that is the level of material on offer here.
Moreover, the songs are just really good, of a simply superb quality. Special notice must go out to the reinvigorated lead guitar ethic, with blistering solos that are simply compelling.
The production is spot on, the performances are energetic and the lyrics are as interesting and well written as you'd expect from the band.
At times you could be forgiven for thinking you are listening to a brand new, hungry band rather than a genre defining veteran, but that just goes to show how important and relevant Biohazard are today!

Best songs: 'Break it Away From Me,' and 'Set Me Free,'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A step up from heavy metal, 2 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Means To An End (Audio CD)
When the band released Kill or be killed I think a lot of fans were taken back by their change of style from a decent metal to sound to heavy metal and in some parts maybe even death metal. The songs they were singing about were much more aggressive and definitely stepped away from their previous albums and were a far cry from their early material. With this album I'm sure they were well aware that this was going to be the last album, at least for some time, hence why they called it Means to an end and why the songs are about the end of an era. With this in mind I think they may have been trying to please fans of their older material (but not the early stuff) and fans of their previous album too. This was a hard thing to do need I say but I think they carried it off pretty well. Although the album does move away from such an aggressive metal sound as Kill or be killed, it is still very different from anything pre-New World Disorder. The vocals have not changed very much either, although there is not as much screaming. They definitely have maintained that throaty aggressive sound, which I am not much of a fan of. I'm sure I'm definitely with many other fans of their previous material too.

Whereas some of the reviewers have said that the album sounds a lot more like their earlier material I have to disagree. Yes, they have brought the bass back up front and they have calmed down that heavy metal sound that was on the previous album, but they have not gone back to their old style of rapping mixed with singing with a heavy punk rock sound. This is very different to that and I would say is just a development from Kill or be killed into a different sound again. It's a better sound which I'm sure a lot of fans agree with compared to Kill or be killed but their song writing style does not differ very much from Kill or be killed. Their album artwork for this album is interesting with a kid turning away from a gravestone with the Biohazard symbol on it.

My life, my way begins and ends with an air raid siren, possibly implying war and an end. The song is about one of the band's main themes/messages; living your life your way and not letting anyone stop you. This is one thing which tells us that they're trying to go back to their roots, reminding fans that they haven't forgot what they are about and what they mean to their fans too. You can tell after this song that the vocals don't sound dissimilar from Kill or be killed, and it sets you up for the next 9 songs. They didn't want to lose fans of Kill or be killed, clearly. The songs on the album talk about longevity and not disappearing and maybe they're letting the fans know that the music is always going to be there for them even if the band itself isn't. Killing to be free shows they haven't changed their writing style much since the previous album and this is a song that would've fit well on it. Filled with hate is a pretty good song with lyrics 'violence is my only lust', which once again hearkens to the previous album. This song sounds like they're saying they are going out fighting. Devotion is one of the better songs and ends with 'I'm devoted to you for life', which may be a message to the fans. Kings never die is a bit of a big-up on their part which talks about how they'll be around forever for what they did. The album centres around the end of things and the band's breakup and this song lets us know that they'll be remembered. Don't stand alone is another song about standing your ground although they are aggressively addressing the listener with insults (at least that's how it sounds). To the grave is one to look out for. In the chorus they say `I never sold myself', surely referring to Sellout, which is a great touch. Set me free leaves us with a positive message for life and it's one of the best. `It's time to die' are the final lyrics signifying the end.

One thing I will say is that the album is too clichéd and centres around 'the end' too much. This album is a must have for your Biohazard collection but I definitely wouldn't say it's `them at their best' or `this is state of the world address superb' because it isn't. It isn't an album that follows their old style, it's something different and although it's damn good it certainly is not perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BACK TO THEIR BEST!, 9 Sep 2006
This review is from: Means To An End (Audio CD)
KILL OR BE KILLED (THEIR LAST ALBUM), WAS HEAVY ENOUGH BUT JUST LACKED THE SONGS/CATCHY AWESOME RIFFS. THIS IS THE BOYS BACK TO THE SUPERB URBAN DISCIPLINE/STATE OF THE WORLD ADDRESS/UNCIVILIZATION LEVELS OF SONGWRITING, POWERFUL CATCHY RIFFS, AND GREAT PRODUCTION. IF YOU AREN'T SMILING AND NODDING YOUR HEAD FURIOUSLY AFTER 5 LISTENS, GO AND BUY SOME PERRY COMO! TRUST ME, 5 OUT OF 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A FITTING END!, 22 Jun 2008
By 
Adam Jackson (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Means To An End (Audio CD)
Biohazard (at least for now?) drew to an end with this 2005 album which marked a huge improvement over the 2 previous releases, Uncivilization & Kill Or Be Killed; both albums that were flawed production wise, and suffered from poor songwriting & one dimensionality (particularly Kill).
This album takes the anger & aggression, that in fairness was evident on those albums, and applies better songwriting & production ala the excellent New World Disorder, and the tracks are a lot more memorable!
Will we see new Bio material?? The band has reunited for a 20th anniversary reunion tour in Summer 2008, but beyond that, who knows??
Let's face it, if you were married to Tera Patrick, would you want to spend that much time in the studio or on tour!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 27 Aug 2005
This review is from: Means To An End (Audio CD)
There back with a great album.The songs are fast and heavy.Go and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Means To An End
Means To An End by Biohazard (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews