Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
32
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This expanded remaster of The Stooges' 1969 debut is extremely welcome both for the quality of the remaster (it sounds absolutely brilliant) and for the quality of some of the extra material on the second disc. The contents are basically split into three: the original album on CD1, some unused mixes by producer John Cale which start CD2, and a kind of alternative version of most of the album taking up the rest of CD2.

For anyone that's never heard this, the original album contains three of Iggy Pop's all-time classics in No Fun, I Wanna Be Your Dog and 1969. These and Ann were the only songs they had when they arrived at the studio; they filled out the rest of the album with three new songs written in one evening (Little Doll, Not Right and Real Cool Time) and the dirgey chant We Will Fall. The latter is a bit of a waste of space but while the first three songs mentioned are the greatest, the other four, especially Little Doll, are near-classics of proto-metal/grunge/whatever. The band had not been playing their instruments for very long, though they'd got pretty good by this time, but they were just bursting with youthful enthusiasm, especially guitarist Ron Asheton, whose playing, if not technically brilliant, is inspired, vicious and original.

For anyone that already has the album but is tempted by the additional material, I'd say there are two reservations: 1) they're basically the same performances; 2) the John Cale mixes are worth hearing once or twice but aren't as good as the ones on the original album - they're less powerful and 3 of the 4 are shorter edits; the exception, I Wanna Be Your Dog, only runs longer because it runs nearly a semitone slower. These reservations, however, are completely blown out of the water by the rest of the material. Although they are basically the same recordings, some have entertaining alternate vocal performances, and most are longer than the original versions (especially No Fun and Ann), revealing large quantities of previously unheard and absolutely scorching guitar soloing by Ron Asheton - you have to ask why these tracks were faded on the original album - surely not to make room for the thoroughly dull We Will Fall. These alternate versions are also newly mixed, to an extremely high quality, and sound absolutely superb.

So while the overall sound is far cleaner and sharper than the magnificently grungy production of The Stooges' far more celebrated second album, "Fun House", this is a highly auspicious debut from one of the greatest rock'n'roll bands of all time.
22 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2004
The thing that struck me about this album when I first heard it was how 'un-Iggy' it sounded. However it still sounds great. The opener "1969" is grunge meets Bo Diddley with Iggy drawling his lyrics before going into a screaming coda. The next track "I Wanna Be Your Dog" is pure classic Stooges, the relentless riff, thumping drums and Iggy's sexually driven vocals driving to a superb guitar solo , making it probably one of the must influential songs ever. The songs attracted many cover versions, most notably by Sid Vicious. The songs "Not Right" and "Real Cool Time" are the most straight ahead rockers here, and impossible to dislike. "Anne" slows the pace down a little, adding a strange spookiness to the proceedings. The centrepiece of the album is undoubtably "No Fun", a tour-de-force of the band sound. This attracted an almost identical cover from the Sex Pistols. What should have been the albums closer, but was bizzarly placed in the middle, is the 10minute opus "We Will Fall". Sounding strangely like the Velvet Underground (due to John Cale's production), the song features Cale's droning viola, reverb drenched tom-tom beats, and a 'Holy Grail' style monk chant all the way through. Truly a stoner's thing! All in all, despite it's faults this is an essential purchase for any fan of rock.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2000
Self expression is hard to come by when you lack any talent or ability. This album just goes to show that with the smallest bit of ability, a pinch of skill and the simplest of chords and scales, something truly transcendent can be created. Hell, wasn't that what punk was all about? The bigger question is why do so many of these try hard musicians end up sounding so damn good? Lou Reed, Johnny Thunders, Richard Hell, Alan Vega and yes, even Iggy Pop and Ron Asheton. This album is just the b**locks. Every song burns with some of the greatest riffs created, lacking anything like the polish of fellow early stalwarts and riffmeisters Led Zepplin. Sounding ten times better also, for all their crudy roughness. Powerhouse drumming and Wah Wah noise to fry an egg on. Worth noting is the producer, none other than Welshman John Cale, bringing his noisy, avant garde sensibilties on the back of two other seminal, pre punk, Velvet Underground albums. This Album inspired many artists to pick up the guitar, learn a couple of chords and make music, including myself. This album hasn't aged a jot, unlike contempories The Doors, whose music The Stooges took to its logical conclusion, including Iggy's cavorting. Sound's fresher today than freshly caught fish, taken to the fresh market on freshday, and sold by Mr Fresh the fishmonger. Bow at the alter of apocalyptic guitar heaven.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2005
How to write and record an album in less than 24 hours. You don't get albums like that anymore. You certainly don't get a band covered with pimples in a studio with a producer in the calibre of John Cale.
Even more so when the songs are only half baked ideas. Back then, however, it was revolutionary. Nowdays, even with tons of pimples on your face, you're still expected to sound polished to death, and worse, with no pimples at all.
The great thing in writing and recording within 24 hours - like this one was - is that you can capture a very specific mood and sound. The benefits: it makes the album homogenous, and the improvisations help in making the result intersting even after 20 listens.
Immediate and raw - 'I Want To Be Your Dog' and 'No Fun' are easily amongst Iggy's best 10 songs ever.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
When this album was released in 1969 it was too out there and ahead of its time,to get mainstream acceptance.It is now regarded as a classic and a template for punk,that came 7 years later.The quality recording of this remastered edition,makes the album sound awesome,especially when played loud[the only way to hear it!].The songs...just listen and you'll understand! those guitar riffs,that voice,the bass,the drums its all here. This is well packaged,containing a decent booklet with plenty of info about the stooges and the recording of the album,plus some decent photos. Best tracks on 2nd disc are the full length versions of ann and no fun.If you're looking to discover the stooges,this is your way in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 October 2011
I'm reviewing the The Stooges' original album, not the double disc reissue, which is surely of interest only to the serious collector. Much is made, especially in the sleevenotes, of this album's influence on punk, etc, but rarely of its antecedents. Sure, it influenced what the Sex Pistols did and that's hugely significant, but the third album 'Raw Power' is much closer to late 1970s punk rock and is a far better album.

'1969' looks both back and forward, which is ironic in a song which purports to be about the present. Musically, it recalls Bo Diddley and the first wave of British r&b, with the addition of the wah wah pedal, an effect which is overdone to the point of tedium across the album. Lyrically, like most of the songs, it says little. The Stooges main ploy is repetition, their simple but relentless riffs working up a feverish groove and this extends to Iggy Pop who keeps repeating mundanities such as 'It's 1969, baby'. What is forward-looking, however, is the line, 'Another year with nothing to do'. There was plenty of social and political protest in music at this time, but issues of personal frustration and boredom were largely swept under the carpet until 1977.

The outstanding 'I Wanna Be Your Dog' sounds like a continuation of what obscure, angst-ridden US bands like The Seeds and Count Five had been doing for a few years. While their predecessors had been writing largely misogynistic lyrics, however, The Stooges simply lusted. It's noticeable too that across the album, Pop often sings 'we' rather than the selfish 'I'.

'We Will Fall' is the biggest surprise, like a mantric chant performed in a stupor, but highly effective. 'No Fun' is, of course, the direct line to the Pistols and sounds almost as if it could have been written for them. After this, however, The Stooges begin to repeat themselves, a symptom of a band of limited technical ability. Moreover, 'Not Right' simply sounds like a rip-off of early Kinks, though many other famous bands have been guilty of that. I don't agree with other reviewers that the stuff this was up against, such as Led Zeppelin, is dross. For me, the important thing is a healthy variety. 'The Stooges' stands out only because there was a dearth of this kind of approach to music when it was made. It's an album of exciting moments, but is by no means perfect.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
I was just on my way out to the doctors when I remembered I hadn't reviewed this one yet. I've literally got five minutes so please excuse me my uncharacteristic brevity. I wouldn't want to appear dismissive. It's just I've been having these terrible heads of late accompanied by what I can only describe as an almost complete derangement of the senses (see Rimaud, Art., not Rambo, John). For example, I was in Presto the other day, there to buy a lemon and a pair of socks, when it appeared that the old woman behind me was leading a bullock rather than pushing a trolley. It was only later that I recalled that Presto had ceased to exist years ago! Then there was the occasion a couple of weeks back when I could have sworn that a small dog called me a 'Preening tart' in the local park. There are many more episodes but I don't want to miss my bus. I could drive but the idea of my having one of my 'visions' at the wheel frightens me. I dread to think of what sort of mayhem might ensue were I to see Rolf Harris riding a reindeer down the high street dressed in tight Pink Panther pyjamas, while in command, or not, of the Sierra.
Which said, I bought this believing it to be the comedy trio and haven't even listened to it yet. I'll probably pass it on to my son, Leif, after the singer, Garrett, a great favourite of my late wife Judy, after the singer, Garland, a great favourite of her even later father Bing, after the singer, Crosby, a great favourite of his mother, whose name I forget, who recently began a course of antibiotics for a bit of trouble he's having 'downstairs' and needs cheering up. It's more likely his kind of thing. He's very keen on The Busted or something. Must dash.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2004
after being well and truly blown away by the stooges' 1973 lp 'raw power'(which, dear reader, if you don't already own, you should buy NOW, or preferably after you've read this review. it's one of the very best punk albums ever, but that's another story...), i bought their first, self-titled album.
i was expecting more hard-charging, drugged-up, proto-punk-rock, but soon discovered otherwise. 'the stooges' has more elements of rock 'n' roll than the following two albums, 'funhouse' and 'raw power' (both of which are absolutely amazing). but i must add that this is not a fault at all. it's really refreshing to hear how this amazing and very influential group began.
1.'1969' is the classic story of teenage angst and boredom. 'another year with nothing to do', iggy drawls. here we see the first sign of ron asheton's very cool wah-wah guitar sound that dominates the cd. nice and upbeat.
2.'i wanna be your dog'. oh yeah. this is it. the one. the song everybody should be subjected to at least once, preferably at full volume. easily my fave here and definetely one of the best rock/pop songs ever. that relentless piano note is just the icing on the cake. brilliant.
3. oh dear. 'we will fall' is a real let-down. an awful 10 minute dirge with very weird chanting. very un-stooges indeed. my theory is that the stooges, being the lazy bunch they were (no offense, but iggy himself would probably agree with me there!), couldn't be bothered to write another 3 songs, so they used the avant-garde genius john cale and his viola to create this horrible song. (NOTE: i feel compelled to do a little history lesson here. skip this bracketed part if you're not interested.
john cale was a founding member of the late 60s band velvet underground along with fellow genius lou reed. the velvet underground are truly one of the best bands ever in the whole wide world, and the very first punk band. their influence on pop culture and music in general cannot be measured. i could go on forever, but if you like the stooges sound, please PLEASE go check out the vu's first 2 albums, 'the velvet underground and nico' and 'white light/white heat'. thanks for bothering to read this part!)
4.'no fun' is another rock classic. it was later covered by the sex pistols (buy their 'b*****ks' album NOW, if you haven't already got it.), but the original's the best.
5.the stupidly-named 'real cool time' IS stupid, but you can't beat it for maximum wah-wah and power. good rock song.
6.'ann' is a real grower. it's a lot slower than any other cuts that appear here, but i think it balances out the album. a great slow rock song.
7.'not right' has a great guitar line going on. coupled with the ig's raw, crude vocals and lyrics, it makes for another very cool rocker.
8.'little doll' isn't the best track here. a very average rock song, i think. nice guitar, though.
overall, this is a great rock album. anyone should be able to appreciate this, certainly any punk. after hearing this i can guarantee you'll say "gosh! i must go and buy every stooges album i can find!". they are really addictive!
i would recommend both the 2nd album 'funhouse' and the last album 'raw power' to buy next. as they progressed, the stooges' sound became a lot harsher, with 'raw power' being hailed as an early punk/hard-rock classic by every critic and his mother.
so, 4 stars for 'the stooges', but ONLY cuz 1/3 of an otherwise brilliant and classic proto-punk album is ruined by 'we will fall'.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2006
A great album, and inspiring as a debut! Realeased in 1969, this and Fun House are such visionary albums which many major artist of the '70's must credit as their inspiration. Personally more a fan of Fun House but this still has some brilliant tracks on it. I'm not much of a punk/rock fan but this album is too good to not like!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
The Stooges' debut is full of hooks, married to fuzzy, distorted guitars. "I Wanna Be Your Dog" and "1969" in particular are classic guitar tracks and are worthy of any collection.

At only eight tracks long, the album may appear short, however, once you have listened to the album right through you'll wish there were seven. The ridiculous and frankly rubbish "We Will Fall", clocking in at ten minutes is nothing more than a waste of time. Ten long minutes of monotonous chanting with minimal musical or vocal accompaniment. The song is so bad I believe it ruins the flow of the whole album.

It's such a shame, as the rest of "The Stooges is an entertaining record with great hooks, that wonderful fuzzed out grungey guitar and the "I don't give a etc" attitude that made The Stooges great. Hence four stars.

Amazing that they managed to compose half of this album in a night! Certainly worth a go, but do yourself a favor and skip track 3.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)