Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same old, same old
This isn't a bad album at all. There's been no massive change in direction and this isn't anything new. This is one for the fans. If you like the criminals then you'll like this. It isn't a crisp as 'Welcome to Poppy's' but it's certainly better than Loco, although it isn't in the same league as either of the first two albums. There are some nice tunes on this and even...
Published on 25 Aug 2005 by Graham Simons

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best since their debut
First of all, let me get my bias out of the way. Huey Morgan is, in my opinion, THE coolest man on the planet. There is no shaking my belief in that fact, so don't even try. But still, I am more than prepared to admit that FLC haven't always hit the mark. Come Find Yourself remains their high point, 9 years after it's release, and whilst 2003's Welcome To Poppy's album...
Published on 10 Oct 2005 by IWFIcon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same old, same old, 25 Aug 2005
By 
Graham Simons "grahams246" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Livin' In The City (Audio CD)
This isn't a bad album at all. There's been no massive change in direction and this isn't anything new. This is one for the fans. If you like the criminals then you'll like this. It isn't a crisp as 'Welcome to Poppy's' but it's certainly better than Loco, although it isn't in the same league as either of the first two albums. There are some nice tunes on this and even some piano riffs in places. I love this album because I'm biased, I've met Huey, own all their albums and have seen them four times already, if however you've never liked the criminals this album will do nothing to change your mind. If however you do it would be just criminal not to add this to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another return to form, 27 Oct 2005
By 
N. Horton "Clock'd 0Ne" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Livin' In The City (Audio CD)
I must admit, it would be easy to fall into the same trap as the other reviewers and either try to make a direct comparison to their first album Come Find Yourself or to fall back and say "well it's better than Loco" but in all honesty I've loved every album they have produced and have enjoyed watching them develop their musical style and expand their music across numerous genres so no longer are we left with just the raw hip-hop and funky grooves of the first album, but we are also rewarded with reggae vibes, some blues and jazz that could have come straight from the brilliance of 100% Colombian and some fresh sounds and excellently produced musical numbers. They've proved just how good the album is with their breathtaking performances on the recent live tour and frankly, every track is a gem in it's own right. If you are looking for Come Find Yourself II then this is not it: this is Huey and Fast, more mature, with nothing to prove and backed by one of the most passionate drummers I have been most fortunate to see, Frank The Rhythm Man.
Put this on, wait for the vibe to hit you, and be cast across to NYC where anything can happen at four in the mornin'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The best since their debut, 10 Oct 2005
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Livin' In The City (Audio CD)
First of all, let me get my bias out of the way. Huey Morgan is, in my opinion, THE coolest man on the planet. There is no shaking my belief in that fact, so don't even try. But still, I am more than prepared to admit that FLC haven't always hit the mark. Come Find Yourself remains their high point, 9 years after it's release, and whilst 2003's Welcome To Poppy's album was somewhat of a (patchy) return to form, 100% Coumbian was half genius, half retread and the less said about Loco the better.
The bad news is that Come Find Yourself STILL remains the greatest collection of FLC's career...the good news is that Livin In The City is definately their best since then. "Mi Corazon" is their best single since Big Night Out and "That Ain't Right" could comfortably sit on Come Find Yourself. There are also some surprises, such as the piano driven "Gave Up On God" and "How It Be", which brilliantly switches pace halfway through. Sadly there is some drivel, but nothing as bad as the low-points of Loco, which were very low indeed.
If you don't like FLC, then this album will do nothing to change your mind; it preaches to the converted 100%. But whilst sticking to what you are good at might not win too much critical acclaim, it has resulted in a very entertaining album which is a must for any one who has ever liked more than one FLC song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A return to form, 7 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Livin' In The City (Audio CD)
I bought this album after hearing and enjoying Mi Corazon and, having been increasingly disappointed with each release following Come Find Yourself, I expected it to be a one track wonder. I was wrong.
On the contrary, this is the best FLC album I've heard since the debut. Their music is always going to be lacking depth to some extent, but this album has a great, upbeat vibe and some scattered moments of beauty (in particular Girl With The Scar).
I was getting the feeling that FLC were losing their sense of fun along the way, but they've found themselves again with this release. Hugely enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an awesome album!!, 22 July 2007
By 
Ruth "Whochick67" (Derbyshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Livin' In The City (Audio CD)
I've had this album for a while now and it just keeps getting better. It's a great mix of styles and the boys are on top form. I've been a fan of FLC for about 10 years now and have finally got around to making a website in support of them. You can find it at [...] if you'd like to come around and find out more of what they're currently up to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but not great, 31 Aug 2005
By 
Mr. R. Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Livin' In The City (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to this release, I already had tickets to go and see the Criminals at the Bristol Academy on the 20th of September too. I've loved each of their previous four albums and have frequently forced them onto other people in an effort to get them into the infectious groove that is The Fun Lovin' Criminals. Their last album Welcome To Poppys was fantastic and a hugely catchy album that I could just play from start to finish. It also included perhaps their greatest love song and one of Huey's best and most subtle of performances - Beautiful.
In contrast, this album sounds at times, either right on the money, or occasionally woefully underproduced. Mi Corazon is an excellent lead off single with a nicely laid back latin tinge, I Love Livin' In The City is fantastic with a hugely sing-a-long-able drunken chorus line, and Gave Up On God is a marked shift away from their usual style with some unusually cutting political lyrics. Other standouts include Girl With the Scar, a yearning beautiful song, and How It Be, which brilliantly wrongfoots the listener by changing pace halfway through.
Unfortunately, at least three of the remaining tracks on this album are either absolute stinkers or they're just plain bland.
Don't get me wrong, this isn't a bad album: Huey is still very cool, his vocals are incredibly well-suited to both the raps and the singing, and he still plays guitar like a legend and is surely hugely under-rated as a guitar player. Fast is still the most consumate musician that you will ever hear or see, playing bass, trumpet and keyboards whilst producing and laying down any samples. And Frank is a hugely funky drummer, who lays down a very cool groove.
The problem here for once, is just the songs. Live, they are one of the greatest acts you will ever see - serious. Maybe, the new songs live will gain new energy and life...but overall the album appears to be missing something.
3 1/2 stars - I don't regret buying this album at all. I love half of them songs here, but as a whole, it just doesn't live up to their previous four albums which I still listen to today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FLC, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Livin' In The City (Audio CD)
If you're a fan on The Criminals, then there's pretty much nothing NOT to like about this album! For the price of a penny, it was a steal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funky Funkers, 31 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Livin' In The City (Audio CD)
The beat groovers have done better than this, but still the odd song leaps out and grabs you by your 70's lapel and chugs you round the disco mirrored dance floor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best release since 100% Columbian, 4 Nov 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Livin' In The City (Audio CD)
Cool grooves, funky drums and a mumbling, rhyming Huey - this is why I love the FLC.
Livin' In The City is the FLC back to their best. Its a hugely listenable album with great tracks from start to finish. Worthy of note are Where Do I Begin (using the theme from Love Story perfectly!), Mi Corazon (the single release) and Will I Be Ready. But the 'coup de grace' is Gave Up On God - all the ills of modern times expressed in one stark, beautiful song.
I've got all of the FLC albums - and this is the best since 100% Columbian. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Average album?, 19 Sep 2005
By 
Thomas (BallyBay, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Livin' In The City (Audio CD)
This is a great album by the FLC make no mistake! It just puts a smile on your face from the opening bar. I am a heuge fan so my reviewof this album may be just a little tainted in the band's favour , but it is an easy listen. If you get a chance go and see them perform the album live it makes a great show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Livin' In The City
Livin' In The City by Fun Lovin' Criminals (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews