Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional
Being a massive fan of Charmed I must say how great these box sets are and on Amazon its even better because their nearly £20 cheaper than in the shops! I thought the first series was great but this one is even better (which you wouldn't think is possible), this series shows the girls adapting to being witches and their powers. There is also the whole love triangle...
Published on 9 Aug. 2005 by Em

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If the dvd works you'll enjoy!
Love this season but found that disc four is ruined by a copying error so two episodes are missing and one is cut off at the end. Not sure who to contact about this.
Published on 31 Jan. 2013 by Ms. R. E. Gibson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 9 Aug. 2005
This review is from: Charmed: Complete Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Being a massive fan of Charmed I must say how great these box sets are and on Amazon its even better because their nearly £20 cheaper than in the shops! I thought the first series was great but this one is even better (which you wouldn't think is possible), this series shows the girls adapting to being witches and their powers. There is also the whole love triangle between Leo, Piper and Dan, Daryl also comes on board to help the girls along their journey, features more of Leo and the opening of Pipers club P3 showing the difficulties up until its success. The last episode shows a small glimpse of life without Prue before she officially dies in series 4, the last episode is a fantastic end to series 2, which will help lead up to series 3 and will have you not wanting to wait, I know I can't! In this series the girls really have become closer and is much more humorous than the last, this DVD box set is definitely a must for all Charmed fans...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PURE EXCELLENCE!!!, 8 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Charmed: Complete Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who watches Charmed won't have to be told what a good show Charmed is. Fact that its been going for 8 series is a strong point and its only got better.
Season 2 is one of the best series. the characters are all still funny! Piper gets a bit sour towards season 6. Most of the episodes are one offs and you don't have to watch a whole series to get an idea of whats going on. The comedy is fantastic in almost all of them. There are a few cheesey graphics, but it is quite old now. It also has a fair share of romance, for most of the season is occupied with the Dan-Piper-Leo love triangle.
I strongly recommend buy this series! You can watch it over and over again!
Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 27 May 2005
By 
K. A. Mearns "kevin6187" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charmed: Complete Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I can't believe that this is coming out so soon, i'm so happy about it! It's taken them years to release the Charmed Series on DVD and now they're coming thick and fast.
I've got friends in America mad cause we're getting this one first and this is when Charmed was at it's hight in my opinion.
The Second Season is much like the first in the way of being a 'demon of the week' thing but there are many arcs building under the surface - the main one being the Piper, Leo and Dan love triangle growing to a excellent climax. This season features brilliant episodes such as 'Mortality Bites', 'Awakened' and 'Chick Flick' and has alot of original storylines and some excellent acting from Shannen, Holly and Alyssa - you can't fault these girls.
My favourite Season is three and at the rate they are coming out, i'm hoping for it by the end of the year. :D
Got it Pre-Ordered and all i can say is - 'Roll on August 1st'.
Keep them coming,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than season 1!, 3 April 2009
This review is from: Charmed: Complete Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love Charmed and own all 8 seasons on DVD!
If you've never seen Charmed, it is about 3 young women, living in San Francisco, who find a spell book in the attic, which unleashes the magical powers they are destined to inherit.
Prue can move objects with her mind, Piper can freeze time and Phoebe has premonitions.
Using their witchy powers they must fight and vanquish evil beings (warlocks, demons and other kinds of nasties) in order to save the innocent.
Whilst season 1 was definately a great starting point for the show (I do recommend it),season 2 is stronger. The characters become more engaging as the actors becomemore confident in their roles. The demons also look more realistic (this is just my personal view).
Of course it has it's weak points. For example the love-triangle between Piper, Leo and new neighbour Dan, does become slightly tiresome, although it all works out ok...
My favourite episodes are:
'Morality Bites'- Phoebe's power of premonition gives her a glimpse of her future, where she is executed for using her powers for evil. All 3 sisters visit the future to try to prevent this horrible fate.
'Ms Hellfire'- Love this episode! Barbas is back, and trying again to kill 13 witches by midnight, using a female hitwoman. When the sisters kill the assassin, Prue takes her place, becoming Ms Hellfire, in order
to find out who is targeting them.
'Awakened'- When Piper becomes infected with a life-threatening disease, Phoebe and Prue turn tothe Book of Shadows to save their sister from a non- supernatural threat. Piper is cured, but at what cost? There is always that 'little' issue of personal gain...
'Pardon my Past'- another episode about Phoebe, in which she discovers her past life as an evil witch. She must confront this past life, in order to save herself in the present.

The season does have it's weak episodes. For me, these are:

'The Devil's Music'
'Animal Pragmatism'
'How to make a Quilt out of Americans'

Overall, this is a good season, which I definately recommend buying. You won't regret it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This will definitely keep you Charmed., 30 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best fantasy TV shows to come out of America in the last 15 years if not longer, Charmed is the story of 3 sisters living in the beautiful San Fransisco. They also happen to be witches.

Some of the stories are laughable when you sit and watch them, but all of the ideas are amazing, some even based in real-life myths and legends. The special effects are pretty good considering the show started with a relatively small budget, and the development of the characters is for the most part believable.

The actresses who play the Halliwell sisters are all as beautiful as they are dangerous, with something about them that will make you want to carry on watching just to see how things will work out for them, and the inclusion of the personal lives of the sisters as opposed to just fighting evil gives the show an aspect that people can relate to, bringing them closer to the show.

One of the best things I liked about this season in particular is that you can see it starting to build into the show it would become, taking on season-long story arcs that would also set the trail for some other larger and better known shows such as Buffy, Doctor Who and Supernatural, as well as keeping the single episodes memorable and able to stand alone.

Whether you're a fan already, wanting something new or even just buying for someone else, Charmed is a show that will leave you spellbound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best show ever!!!, 5 April 2006
By 
M. S. Keeley "'charmedaddict'" (england,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i purchased the US/CANADA versions of charmed because they were a fraction of the price of the UK releases , the only thing is you have to wait longer for them to be released!
all in all this is one of the best supernatural televesion shows ever made and i will be sad to see it end after the 8th season, i just hope they don't kill one or all of the sisters off! as that would be unfair to the show and the loyal fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite there yet..., 30 July 2005
By 
Mr. Jwh Graham "jwhg" (cumbria, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charmed: Complete Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season two of Charmed, is a step up from season one - the drama and action gets much better this season but there's still cheap storylines invlolved such as turinging animals into humans for Valentine's Day and making a demon out of skin - but the majority of the season is good.
Shannen Doherty again leads the trio as Prue Halliwell, this season sees Prue becoming a photographer for '415 Magazine' - and she also gets a new power 'Astral Projection'. Holly Marie Combs is stellar as middle sister Piper, this season caught up in a love trianlge between annoying neighbour Dan and white lighter Leo (we all know how that one works out) and opening her own night club 'P3' which eventually becomes the breeding ground for many bands including The Cranberries and Dishwalla. Alyssa Milano is quirkey as youngest sister Phoebe who decides to go back to college and get a degree.
The demons are badder, the sisters are more powerful and the special effects are better. This season starts of on a high note and continues with good performance with only a few 'filler' episodes and finishes with one of the shows most hillarious episodes.
The show continues to grow on me and although it will be comming to an end soon the DVD's will be enough to remember one of televisions most creative shows.
Episode listings:
Disc One:
Witch Trial
Morality Bites
The Painted World
The Devil's Music
Disc Two:
She's a Man, Baby, a Man!
That Old Black Magic
They're Everywhere
P3 H20
Disc Three:
Ms Hellfire
Heartbreak City
Reckless Abandon
Awakened
Disc Four:
Animal Pragmatism
Pardon my Past
Give me a Sign
Murphy's Luck
Disc Five:
How to Make a Quilt out of Americans
Chick Flick
Ex Libris
Astral Monkey
Disc Six:
Apocalypse Not
Be Careful What you Witch For
This is a must have for any Charmed fan, although the set contains no special features (which is a shame) the set comes in an attractive box and a handy insert with the episode listing.
You'll find yourself watching the episodes over and over again, buy it and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charmed Continues, 20 July 2009
By 
S. Millar (South London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yet another fantastic series, played by inspirational actress.
I also prefer the plastic DVD cover compared to the other series which are all paper back.
Watching this series alongside series 3 makes you wish that the actress who played Prue continued untill series 8. The 3 main characters have such a tight bond in the show, its a shame that it was only short lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyday life + Supernatural = Awesome, 7 Dec. 2010
One of many great shows from the late 90s in my opinion. "Early Edition" and "Charmed" being two of my favourites. Shows combining everyday life and something supernatural, which I think is an awesome and very entertaining combination. That was a very popular trend in TV shows created between 1995 and 2000 ("Buffy", "Angel" and "Touched by an Angel" are other examples of that kind of TV series). For those who don't know what this is all about, it follows three witch sisters living in San Fransisco. They have three different powers (bring time to a standstill, see the future and move objects using only the mind), but (almost) no one except them know they have these powers or know they are witches. They have to use these powers to deal with everything from demons to more regular stuff. You can probably imagine how entertaining it is. I also happen to find Holly Marie Combs and Alyssa Milano VERY HOT! Highly recommended. I have always just really liked the atmosphere in this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Charmed' really comes alive..., 27 May 2005
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Charmed: Complete Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Wow, I'm excited - each series of Charmed keeps getting better and better.
In season 2 the quirky humour gets better, and the characters start really coming into their own.
Like series 1, it's unlikely there will be any extras - but we can live without them when the show is as good as this.
Witch Trial
Morality Bites
The Painted World
The Devil's Music
She's a Man, Baby, a Man!
That Old Black Magic
They're Everywhere
P3 H20
Ms Hellfire
Heartbreak City
Reckless Abandon
Awakened
Animal Pragmatism
Pardon my Past
Give me a Sign
Murphy's Luck
How to Make a Quilt out of Americans
Chick Flick
Ex Libris
Astral Monkey
Apocalypse Not
Be Careful What you Witch for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charmed: Complete Season 2 [DVD]
Charmed: Complete Season 2 [DVD] by Shannen Doherty (DVD - 2005)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews