Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Aya Ueto...
Despite the generally negative reviews and poor reception this film has received I actually think it's a great sequel, not as good as the original film admittedly, but far better than most sequels. It actually continues the story very well and the action sequences are just as good. I also love the variety of bizarre, almost supernatural, characters, especially the big guy...
Published on 6 July 2007 by I. R. Barnes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less dynamic but still a worthy sequel
Despite the success of Azumi the makers appear to have cut back on the budget for this sequel and as a result we get much less in the way of innovative action and a LOT more of wandering around in the forest.

The story picks up not long after the first with Azumi and Nagara still going after the warlords intent on seizing Japan. She soon meets a rowdy young...
Published on 21 Jun. 2008 by Inspector Gadget


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Aya Ueto..., 6 July 2007
By 
I. R. Barnes "*technobabble*" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Azumi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Despite the generally negative reviews and poor reception this film has received I actually think it's a great sequel, not as good as the original film admittedly, but far better than most sequels. It actually continues the story very well and the action sequences are just as good. I also love the variety of bizarre, almost supernatural, characters, especially the big guy with the double-ended blade weapon which he throws like a giant propeller, and the strange monkey guy with the razor-wire - these make the fight sequences that little bit different and more interesting. In fact the film reminds me of the anime 'Ninja Scroll' as there are a lot of similarities with some of the characters. Aya Ueto as Azumi is as gorgeous as ever, and it was nice to see Chiaki Kuriyama of Kill Bill fame in a small but equally evil role. It would be great to see a third Azumi film to round up the story and make a great samurai trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 24 April 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Azumi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Now being a massive fan of the original, having read the other reviews and watching with the knowledge that a different director was used I was not really looking forward to seeing this sequel. HOWEVER I must say that this film pleasently suprized me. It very easily picks up from where the first left off and indeed the general tone of the film ideally matches that of the first. Okay perhaps the ending isn't as fantastic as the original but with a host of new baddies and battles to face Aya Ueto does a grand job of playing the "cute" (to quote basically all male characters she comes into contact with)assassin. Indeed this film is better described as a continuation rather than a sequal to Azumi. It may not rock your world like the first but if you are a big fan I think this film will suit your expectations!!!

The major problem however is that the making of extras are not translated which means a brush up on your Japanese listening I'm afraid!!!!

But anyway ENJOY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less dynamic but still a worthy sequel, 21 Jun. 2008
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Azumi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Despite the success of Azumi the makers appear to have cut back on the budget for this sequel and as a result we get much less in the way of innovative action and a LOT more of wandering around in the forest.

The story picks up not long after the first with Azumi and Nagara still going after the warlords intent on seizing Japan. She soon meets a rowdy young rebel called Ginkaku who looks a lot like her dead boyfriend Nachi (a weird plot that goes absolutely nowhere) and joins forces with them to fight evil.

Some nice fight scenes follow but they use waaaay too much CGI blood effects (a horrible trend that is becoming more and more popular) and none of them have the eccentric flair of the original movie. The ending doesn't amount to much either but I'd still watch a third if they were to make it.

The Optimum Asia DVD, as well as apparently being cut, is absolutely atrocious btw and features one of the worst transfers I have ever seen of a movie, which is shocking for a film from 2005. The Dolby 5.1 soundtrack is also a remix (a 2005 film made in STEREO???).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still better than most action films easily, 30 Dec. 2010
By 
A. Murphy (Dorset, England England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Azumi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Same actress continues the character brilliantly. Its a pity her fight with the other great young Japanese actress was made so short just a few seconds when this should have been a great fight. However overall still a brilliant continuation of the first brilliant film and by comparison to most films these days way ahead of the rest. It has lots of emotion sadness and drama. The sword play is out of this world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..KICK-ASS ACTION CHICK..", 24 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Azumi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If you're big on Asian films with plenty of action and violence and bloody swordplay and over the top stunts and at the same time an awesome story, then you will certainly like AZUMI 2. Also on the plus side she is gorgeous so it's hard not to like her. Well worth the money a must own classic and unique film. Be sure to get the original AZUMI as well it's equally as brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but ended a bit sudden., 14 Nov. 2009
By 
Andrew J. Gibbs-ripley "gibbsy88" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Azumi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This film is certainly a good sequel to the original Azumi, with one slight exception made for the ending. After the final battle, we don't find out what becomes of her, and so many questions are left unanswered (part of the charm I guess). Don't let that detract from the experience of watching the film, however, which is truly an equal to the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more azumi, 8 Mar. 2011
By 
C. R. Morley (nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Azumi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
big fan of AZUMI films wish ther were more in the making,still good things and little packages,must see these films if you like action,great filming it all looks so real and scenery excellent all round top film,cant wait for 47 ronin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Noooooo, 26 Oct. 2005
By 
A. Midgley "xaotten" (everywhere) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Azumi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Where the heck is Ryuhei Kitamura? There is nothing in the universe he could be working on more important than this.
The first Azumi was a stunning, brilliant and beautiful film. After seeing this i am both disappointed and mortified. Director Shusuki Kaniko does not even compare. He lacks imagination, originality and seems to have no passion for this story. Ryuhei Kitamura used his skills and inventive ideas to bring forth jaw-dropping cinema. Watching the documentary on the first DVD shows us he was not happy with just average. He pushed everything to its limits, including the fight scenes, special effects and actors. He had huge passion for this story and it showed. So why did they settle for this other guy?
It seems that they had their budget halved since the last film, as the set pieces look like they were all shot in the same place. The whole story is in a forest. The first film had stunning villages, mountains, ships, castles and ghost-like towns. The cameras here are wobbly and look like their trying to mask something. There are no vertical rotating cameras or huge roars and explosions, just plain old slash ... slice ... slash... *yawn*
The cast is okay. The actors do nothing wrong, but most are actors who played roles in the first film playing different parts. It's like they didn't even audition them.
Let's compare the films. The great thing about Azumi was it had a great storyline and dialogue. Azumi 2 feels like it was quickly jotted down on a piece of toilet paper. Azumi had a great array of bad-guys, who we were able to both fear and hate...especially the brilliant Bijomaru. The enemies here are more like cartoon characters, and are not menacing at all. Azumi 1 boasted great fight scenes, especially the mind-blowing finale. The sequel has average fights, and the finale is a total yawn fest, very anti-climactic. You would hope they aimed to top the original film. I was looking for bigger expolsions, set pieces and more sword fodder. But it feels like the creators didn't even watch the first one. Another strength of the original is the storyline, dislogue and acting were both stunning, brutal and able to shock and startle you. By the end of the first film you feel quite emotional. In some parts I was very sad. The only emotion I felt after watching the sequel was anger.
Optimum have also done a poor job in releasing the DVD when it somes to extras. We get trailers. And a making of. "What's wrong?" i hear you say. Well. If you don't speak japanese, the making of is useless. They couldn't even be bothered to subtitle it.
If there is ever going to be an Azumi 3, i have only one request:
WHERE IS RYUHEI KITAMURA??? GET HIM NOW!!! GIVE HIM EVERYTHING AND ANYTHING HE WANTS, WHATEVER THE COST!!!
That will be a good film. He never lets an audience down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Azumi 2, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Azumi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Konnichiwa
This is hardly an adult product and a bit too brutal for children.
Follows the Manga series in Japan. If you know the authentic history behind this type of film, it may interest you.
Sayonara
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, 31 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Azumi 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Better than the original. Only let down by anti-climax ending and Chiaki Kuriyama playing basically the same roles as she did in Battle Royale and Kill Bill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Azumi 2 [DVD]
Azumi 2 [DVD] by Shusuke Kaneko (DVD - 2005)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews