Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grimethorpe in shining form
I enjoyed this collection immensely. The variety of truly orchestral colours is astonishing. One thing to be aware of is that the tracks are all, or virtually all, arrangements of hymns - no marches, dances, movie themes etc. But what is here is excellent.
Published on 18 May 2009 by J. D. C. King

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brass Band Classics
Brass Band Classics by Grimethorpe Colliery Brass band. I'm brass band fan so the band lived up to my expectations. Perfect execution and musicianship! Sadly, I'm not at all keen on hymns and these are all hymns ! So, that was a disappointment. The ad for the disc should have given some indication of this I feel.
Published on 15 Aug 2010 by David Nicholson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grimethorpe in shining form, 18 May 2009
By 
J. D. C. King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brass Band Classics (Audio CD)
I enjoyed this collection immensely. The variety of truly orchestral colours is astonishing. One thing to be aware of is that the tracks are all, or virtually all, arrangements of hymns - no marches, dances, movie themes etc. But what is here is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brass Band, 13 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brass Band Classics (Audio CD)
Having loved Brass Bands since I was a child and playing in them as well...
I have seen and listened to a lot of "top" Brass Bands in my time but there IS no finer than the Grimethorpe Colliery Band.This Album consists of Hymn Tunes only...but done in a way that only a fine Brass Band can do which results in a "spine-tingling" listening experience.
For value and quality i rate it highly..if you love the "spiritual" side to Brass then this is one to buy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brass Band Classics, 15 Aug 2010
By 
David Nicholson "hidalgadave" (Andalucia Spain-) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brass Band Classics (Audio CD)
Brass Band Classics by Grimethorpe Colliery Brass band. I'm brass band fan so the band lived up to my expectations. Perfect execution and musicianship! Sadly, I'm not at all keen on hymns and these are all hymns ! So, that was a disappointment. The ad for the disc should have given some indication of this I feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Music, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brass Band Classics (Audio CD)
The CD arrived promptly and in perfect condition. It is a beautiful, relaxing collection of music to listen to. We bought it because my mother requested brass band music and the song "All in the April Evening" to be played at her funeral. We were able to combine the two with this CD. We played the track at the start of her funeral and it was a beautiful way to set the scene for a such a poignant occasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brass bands, 12 May 2009
By 
Mr. Colin Winton (SHROPSHIRE UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brass Band Classics (Audio CD)
went to see them live in Wales and the sounds of the CD was the same as the show infact with closed eyes it took me back to the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Brass Band Cd, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brass Band Classics (Audio CD)
Recently went to see Brassed Off and wanted a cd of good traditional brass band music.

This one seems to be a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars music, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brass Band Classics (Audio CD)
good variety of music, played very well. brings back memories of the film Brassed Off. a good buy, happy listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 7 April 2013
By 
julie fox - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brass Band Classics (Audio CD)
I bought this as a present for a friend as she loves a brass band and also loves hymns so it made a lovely combination of the two. She was very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful sentimental slop!, 23 Feb 2013
By 
Peter Hodgson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brass Band Classics (Audio CD)
On this CD you will find some interesting brass band arrangements of some pretty dire hymns - if you like "ay oop" Northern brass band sentimentality, this is the CD for you. Especially if it's well under a fiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brassed off, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brass Band Classics (Audio CD)
A very classic film. we loved this film I gave it to my ex boyfriend for a birthday present he liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brass Band Classics
Brass Band Classics by Grimethorpe Colliery Brass Band (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews