Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing
This film is very difficult to describe. It's good, very good - but will not be to everyone's taste. The story is at its heart quite basic, but delivered in a mind blowingly complex manner. Anyone with a short attention span or an aversion to sub titles should avoid this film. Others read on...
Set in the not too distant future, a lad goes off to war - leaving behind...
Published on 27 April 2005 by M. D. Harris

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Ambitious & Jumbled For Its Own Good.
This movie's a bit of a jumbled mix of varying elements from the Matrix, Power Rangers, Pokemon, Manga, and Final Fantasy - to understand it you'll doubtless benefit from having a healthy appreciation for Japanese spiritualism, or at least be accepting of it - which doesn't apply to me (think strange entities zapping around the screen).

Nonetheless, I watched...
Published on 16 Feb. 2008 by b4-its-2-l8


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing, 27 April 2005
By 
M. D. Harris (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is very difficult to describe. It's good, very good - but will not be to everyone's taste. The story is at its heart quite basic, but delivered in a mind blowingly complex manner. Anyone with a short attention span or an aversion to sub titles should avoid this film. Others read on...
Set in the not too distant future, a lad goes off to war - leaving behind his beautiful girlfriend and against the wishes of his dad - and then gets killed (the war scenes are mish mash of many war films from All Quiet of the Western Front and Stalingrad, through too Platoon and Full Metal Jacket). Dad meanwhile is developing a form of cloning/cell engineering and accidentally creates a race of super humans, who then run riot. Dad, now gutted at loosing his son, uses this technology to resurrect him. Son then goes up against the super humans. In a nutshell that's it - but the film delivers way more than that. Did I mention the giant robots?
Visually it's outstanding, combining many different styles and moods. One minute it all anime and cyberpunk, the next gothic, then grainy black and white before flipping back to lush colour and soft focus. And then there's the stop motion animation... Stylistically it's seems to have raided just about every genre going from both Eastern and Western cinema. There are nods to Metropolis, The Matrix, Battle of the Planets and, well the list goes on.
A couple of paragraphs are not enough to do this film justice, those that are interested in sci-fi, anime or just something different will enjoy this remarkable film - buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the maddest films I have ever seen., 28 April 2005
By 
Sick Mouthy (Exeter, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not an expert on Asian cinema by any means, but I have probably seen more than the average man on the street (although I work in a film department of a library, so the streets round here are actually full of film buffs), so I'm not coming at this film with no background knowledge or understanding of the culture it arises from, as it were.
Anyway... From Battle Royale to Spirited Away via Akira, Tetsuo, Audition, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, The Happiness Of The Katakuris, Zatoichi and dozens of others, the examples of Asian cinema that manage to filter over to a western audience (praise be to independent cinemas and the "miracle" of DVD) seem to suggest that the people who produce (and, by association, make up the audience for) these films are completely and utterly insane. Or, at the least, have a very different cultural approach to violence, fantasy and society than we do. Casshern does absolutely nothing to counter this borderline xenophobic view.
In fact Casshern takes the biscuit. Casshern is about the most mental and crazed thing I have ever seen (bar Tetsuo, but that's another story).
It's like... a Japanese version of Sky Captain & The World Of Tomorrow except informed by 80s adult comics rather than 30s kids comics - try and imagine what that means; Watchmen, Dark Knight Returns, nastiness, death, conspiracy, war, religion, resurrection - not nice Jewish kids creating clean-living aspirational heroes. It's literally like Sky Captain (and the forthcoming Sin City) in that it's an almost entirely digital production bar the actors, who were shot on blue-screen with backgrounds painted in later on a computer. It's also literally like Sky Captain in that there are giant robots and flying buildings and crazy scientists. Only in Casshern there are also quasi-religious messiahs and pollution diseases and Freudian family romance and star-crossed lovers and mutant androids and swords and guns and a train so wide it needs five sets of rails.
It's like all three Matrix films rolled into one and then augmented by a bit of Apocalypse Now (the, um, "point" of the film is that war is nasty because humans are nasty and we should all love one another, such as the point matters). Don't expect to be abe to follow the plot (it's mental), don't expect anything to make sense, don't expect to empathise for the characters, don't expect those enormous unexplained happenings to ever be resolved (why is the lightening bolt that is a catalyst to the film's main event an ACTUAL SOLID OBJECT? for example), don't expect the slow boring bits to be profound in any understandable sense. In fact don't expect anything other than a bonkers trip into an alternate world that veers between joyously symbolic fakery and unsettling realism, where a superhero zombie who can fly and do cool karate chops that split giant robots in half saves the world only doesn't, really, and instead, possibly, flies off to a new planet with his girlfriend to start again. Or something.
In short, good fun, but absolutely ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is very difficult to describe. It's good, very good - but will not be to everyone's taste. The story is at its heart quite basic, but delivered in a mind blowingly complex manner. Anyone with a short attention span or an aversion to sub titles should avoid this film. Others read on...
Set in the not too distant future, a lad goes off to war - leaving behind his beautiful girlfriend and against the wishes of his dad - and then gets killed (the war scenes are mish mash of many war films from All Quiet of the Western Front and Stalingrad, through too Platoon and Full Metal Jacket). Dad meanwhile is developing a form of cloning/cell engineering and accidentally creates a race of super humans, who then run riot. Dad, now gutted at loosing his son, uses this technology to resurrect him. Son then goes up against the super humans. In a nutshell that's it - but the film delivers way more than that. Did I mention the giant robots?

Visually it's outstanding, combining many different styles and moods. One minute it all anime and cyberpunk, the next gothic, then grainy black and white before flipping back to lush colour and soft focus. And then there's the stop motion animation... Stylistically it's seems to have raided just about every genre going from both Eastern and Western cinema. There are nods to Metropolis, The Matrix, Battle of the Planets and, well the list goes on.

A couple of paragraphs are not enough to do this film justice, those that are interested in sci-fi, anime or just something different will enjoy this remarkable film - buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Movie's Ever Made!, 11 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You gotta see this movie it's one of the most imaginative, gripping and mindblowing movie I have ever seen. It has different themes about humanity only damaging the earth, prolonging life, war, life and death and much more. You got to see it to believe how good of a movie this is!

The video quality on the dvd is awesome and the audio is in 5.1, it really lets you hear the awesome soundtrack in full clarity. The subtitles are great but the end song isn't subtitled which is disappointing, when are they ever?

Extras
Interviews with Cast (34 minutes)
11 Deleted Scenes with commentary
8mm footage - This is flashback footage which expands on the characters background before the events of the film letting you get to know the characters better, also with commentary

While the extras are good it pails in comparison to the Asian Release which comes with more than three hours of special features not on the UK release. Another thing that annoys me is the DVD menus, they float around the place and you have to hit the button when they pass by. The only difference between this version and the other 2 disc edition is that you don't get a steelbook case, while there are some missing stuff this is a good release and I would recommend it as theres quite nothing like it. If you like this you may want to view the anime's that have been adapted and released on dvd and blu ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A visual delight, 1 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Casshern - 2 Disc Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
At times I found the plot lines pretty baffling but if you go with the flow, this is a very entertaining film, with a fantastic set of visuals. As well as some original and stunning effects, it also references a number of classic films. I did not find the film overlong, as some other reviewers have suggested, although at times there is too much verbal exposition of plot. It certainly has a strong moral centre and seemed to share a similar worldview to films such as Battle Royale.

I wish I had known while watching the film that the lightning bolt came from a statue of Casshern, which would have made more sense of that particular plot line. Some online reviewers have also suggested that the subtitles do no favours in terms of understanding the plot and at times misses out essential information. It certainly is a film which would benefit from a second viewing.

The only let down for me was the ghost, which had little effect on the plot and could quite easily have been cut.

If you enjoy manga, comic books etc then you should enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Ambitious & Jumbled For Its Own Good., 16 Feb. 2008
By 
b4-its-2-l8 (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Casshern - 2 Disc Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This movie's a bit of a jumbled mix of varying elements from the Matrix, Power Rangers, Pokemon, Manga, and Final Fantasy - to understand it you'll doubtless benefit from having a healthy appreciation for Japanese spiritualism, or at least be accepting of it - which doesn't apply to me (think strange entities zapping around the screen).

Nonetheless, I watched the whole thing (142 mins) in 3 sections and there are things to commend this movie such as the overall 'message', its morals and some of the effects - but the trouble is, it's just too ambitious a project and that's where it fails. It tries to cram too much into too small a space without giving the audience unfamiliar with the genre the opportunity understand what's going on.

For example, at one moment the soon-to-be leader of the 'Neoroids' is scrambling to save his life just after he's been created, and before you can say "pass the popcorn", he's in charge of an army of thousands of robots - and there's no explanation where they all came from. There are a number of large 'gaps' like this in the storyline.

It's very much an anti-war, and anti-'greed-is -good' movie and some of the early sequences reach their shocking truths near the end which in itself is quite clever - but, it's the airy fairy stuff I have difficulty with - Casshern is a legendary spirit protector of the world, yet isn't quite strong enough, eh, how's that work?!.

The robots looked like a straight rip-off of the sentinels (Matrix) but with legs, lined up as in Communist marching parades filmed from weird angles (think Pink Floyd - brick in the wall) and for a futuristic film it was a little too dependent upon ultra-heavy, steam driven industrial machinery. However, juxtaposed to this gnawing visual imagery was some truly beautiful piano music - and I'm not much of a piano lover.

For me overall package was just too confusing and disjointed to make it a movie I'd want to revisit, which is a shame because the underlying plot definitely had the potential of being something good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought prevoking Sci-Fi, 15 Oct. 2007
By 
This review is from: Casshern - 2 Disc Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
you either going too love this film or hate it! having seen many bad reviews i decided to buy it and give it ago. The film goes on for about 2 1/2 hours and I managed too watch it all and was visually and morally impressed. I can see why so many people dont get it does become confusing at somepoints the effects are second too none and very similar too the matrix and chronicles or riddick for its graineyness the film was shot with a digital camera. It tells the tale of human existance and how we except different people in different ways through war. very thought provoking and visually impressive at times there is more cinematic score than human voice at times but i think that adds too the emotional side of the film 8/10 worth a watch for sci-fi enthuiasts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Casshern, 8 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Casshern - 2 Disc Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is a mixture of action and drama, and it isn't for everybody.
It has scenes that are rich and layered, with great special effects, great fights (I wish there was more of them) but then you also have inserts of old fashioned footage to bring home and highlight the message of the movie. The mesh of that isn't exactly working for me and there is some inconsistency and plot holes: I don't understand why he needs a suit and the other don't, why did he keep his memories and the others didn't -- is that because his soul was still presents when his body was dunked into the pool?; why could the others see his soul?, whose was that abandoned fortress?, etc.(that's why 4 stars), but that doesn't reduce the greatness of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stunning visuals though often hard going., 19 July 2010
This review is from: Casshern - 2 Disc Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
One of the great things about the advent of low cost CGI and green screen technology is that special effect laden films are no longer exclusive to big budget Hollywood blockbusters, it has created a level playing field on which lower budget films can compete and 'Casshern' is a prime example of this. Director Kazuaki Kiriya brings a unique and highly visual style which cleverly blends the styles of such films as 'Blade Runner', 'Metropolis' and 'The Matrix'. The film is often fast paced, intense and engaging, though at times the story does tend to plod along and can often be quite hard going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars See beyond!, 25 Feb. 2006
By 
J. M. Burrington "mercbuggy" (Brixham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A visual, sonic, neural workout for those who need to see beyond. A window on another world and proof positive that cinema is thankfully as diverse as the cultures that create and consume it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Casshern - 2 Disc Special Edition [DVD]
Casshern - 2 Disc Special Edition [DVD] by Kazuaki Kiriya (DVD - 2005)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews