Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional collection
SH sez;
Deftones is one of those bands that has displayed a prevailing maturity in everything they have done from their beginnings with ‘Adrenaline’, through the brilliant ‘Around the Fur’, the phenomenal and band defining release ‘White Pony’, to their latest offering, ‘Deftones’. After over ten years together, the...
Published on 24 Nov. 2005 by Mr. H

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good i guess
hmm this album is a good album. the standout track deffo is the acoustic version of be quiet and drive away. Also the song re approached by idiot pilot is worth checking out. in all honestly tho im looking for a new album by deftones and this doesnt quite cut it, i hope its just a stop gap for when they actually release a new album. though its worth it to get the dvd tho...
Published on 2 Mar. 2006 by irony_is_a_dead_scene


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional collection, 24 Nov. 2005
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: B-Sides and Rarities [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
SH sez;
Deftones is one of those bands that has displayed a prevailing maturity in everything they have done from their beginnings with ‘Adrenaline’, through the brilliant ‘Around the Fur’, the phenomenal and band defining release ‘White Pony’, to their latest offering, ‘Deftones’. After over ten years together, the band has managed to notch up a bulky collection of material, which includes covers and b-sides, along with the original songs on the four albums.
‘B – Sides and Rarities’ is Deftones’ latest release and one for which fans of the band will be most thankful. This is a collection of rare and unreleased tracks comprising material reaching far back to their earliest recording sessions. These tracks are far from the usual Deftones sound, incorporating a great deal of the emotion and feeling that comes across in their music, but with a different sound overall.
Along with the covers, there are four original Deftones songs, three of which are acoustic versions and all are admirable attempts. The three from ‘White Pony’ are ‘Change (In The House Of Flies)’, ‘Digital Bath’, and ‘Teenager (Idiot Version)’. The acoustic ‘Be Quiet and Drive’ from ‘Around the Fur’, is the fourth.
The covers include, ‘Savory’, which is a Jawbox cover off their album, ‘My Scrapbook of Fatal Accidents’, and a perfect opener to the album with a very distinctive Deftones sound. The band brings a different but highly enjoyable take on, ‘Wax and Wane’, by The Cocteau Twins. The Lynyrd Skynyrd cover, ‘Simple Man’, is a beautiful rendition of the original that is as far from a Deftones sound as you will find, however, this song touches all the right notes as it ambles along with it’s morose yet toe-tapping rhythm. One of the features on this release is Helmets’, ‘Sinatra’, that finds the band altering the song to sound as close to a Deftones song as possible. The band avoids this tactic with Sade’s, ‘No Ordinary Love’, which is very close to the original, even down to Moreno’s crooning vocals. ‘If Only Tonight We Could Sleep’, a Cure cover, is a great musical interlude that potters along for five minutes, with very distinctive Moreno vocals appearing half way through. ‘Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want’, by The Smiths is carried off for its short duration and keeps the original shape while still having a Deftones feeling. Duran Duran’s, ‘The Chauffeur’, is the last cover on the album.
‘Crenshaw Punch / I'll Throw Rocks at You’, is the last song they recorded for, ‘Around the Fur’, which never made the cut for the album. The rap-filled, ‘Black Moon’, was the last song they recorded for, ‘White Pony’, and is possibly the worst or most ill fitting track on, ‘B-Sides and Rarities’.
The DVD that comes with this package is a lovely collection of all of their videos presented in a professional manner, with smaller highlights, interviews, and footage between videos. The listing includes the bonus video for ‘Root’, ‘7 Words’, ‘Bored’, and ‘Engine No. 9’ off, ‘Adrenaline’; ‘My Own Summer’ and ‘Be Quiet and Drive’ from, ‘Around the Fur’; ‘Change (In the House of Flies)’ and ‘Digital Bath’ from, ‘White Pony’; ‘Minerva’, ‘Hexagram’, and ‘Bloody Cape’ from Deftones; and finally ‘Back to School (Mini Maggit)’.
With all of the covers and every one of their videos present in one package, there is little opportunity to create the consistent overall sound found on other Deftones releases, giving the listener an erratic and disjointed experience. However, having all these songs on one collection makes this release perfect for any Deftones fan, and there are many. There is a noticeable absence of a few other cover versions, which raises the question of why release this package and leave off a plethora of material, which would complete most collections. Overall, this exceptional collection makes a fine little package to include in a Deftones set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars something different, 14 Nov. 2005
By 
Mr. M. C. Cutajar (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: B-Sides and Rarities [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
I’ve been a fan of the deftones for a good number of years, the minute I saw this in HMV I bought it (even though it was more expensive than Amazon!).
The thing I like most about this record… its different, its nothing like other deftones albums, but still has the same characteristics that make the deftones the band that they are. It’s very chilled out with a lot of very good covers – no ordinary love being the best one.
If you loved around the fur and adrenalin but hated white pony and self titled then I wouldn’t bother getting this as I don’t think it will be your cup of tea… its not the early angry deftones music, but the latter deeper more powerful / eerie sounding stuff. (even though I expect some of it was recorded a long time ago but never made it on the record as its different…)
The acoustic tracks are very good too! Chino’s voice is at its best, especially on the acoustic version of be quiet and drive.
The DVD is also pretty good; it has all the music videos with short snippets in-between of interviews and stuff, although I would have liked to have seen more of the interviews you cant complain! There is also lots of live footage.
All in all this is a good album and I’d suggest getting it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deftones hit form again, 4 Nov. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: B-Sides and Rarities [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
If you own any of the previous deftones albums then buying this one is an absolute must. All 14 tracks are fantastic. Savory and Sinatra show the band at their heaviest, while the stand out track has to be Be Quiet and Drive Acoustic. B- Side albums can be hit and miss, but this one is in a league of its own. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, 24 Nov. 2005
This review is from: B-Sides and Rarities [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
This is rather good, but I agree - WHERE IS TEETHING ?? All is forgiven though just because it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Complete, 20 May 2013
This review is from: B-Sides and Rarities [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
This is a decent collection of rarities, but it's missing Can't Even Breathe, Teething, The Chauffeur, To Have And To Hold, Sleep Walk, and Lovers; to name a FEW. But the extra DVD that comes with the package does make up for it being a really good collection of Deftones videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album and feels fresh from allot of deftones other albums, 18 Jun. 2014
This review is from: B-Sides and Rarities [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Essentially a covers album with a few deftones rarities thrown in to spice things up and this is honestly one of the best cover albums I've ever heard, top notch work all around especially on Sinatra, simple man, be quiet and drive (acoustic) and if only tonight we could sleep
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ace for pop pickers, 27 Mar. 2010
By 
Robin Rawlings "raw2047" (uk south west) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I like the Deftones, and this album they do all sorts of stuff, a bit hit and miss but by buying a few individual songs you'll find a few gems for you own taste I'm sure. My personal fav is the reworking of wax and wane track, its exceptionally haunting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such good value for money!, 26 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-Sides and Rarities [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
Was shocked when this got delivered to find a dvd with all their music videos on it too, the cd is so good listened to it so many times, and love being able to watch all their music videos whenever i want to now as they are very rarely shown on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what you expect from Deftones, 6 Nov. 2012
By 
S. Bolton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-Sides and Rarities [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
The Deftones could not make a bad album if they tried
Ok the track with Cypress hill on here aint my cup of earl grey, but its not bad
some great re-workings of classics and some rarely heard gems
In other words, just buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: B-Sides and Rarities [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
This is my favourite Deftones album. Some of the tracks are truly awesome, There are hints of Muse and Linkin Park sometimes and although Deftones are not as known as them, they really ought to be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

B-Sides and Rarities [CD + DVD]
B-Sides and Rarities [CD + DVD] by Deftones (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews