Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2006
one of the best albums ever written , period, a masterful sonic wall of noise, butcher is the ultimate climate change song,no tree hugging here,instead u have a song that spits bile at the psychotic self harm that is modern neo con capitalisml.there's a masterpiece
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2000
The dark, apocalyptic Terry Gilliam inspired artwork of WHAT"S THIS FOR....! sums up its style - a terrifying war-cry challenging conformity and apathy. This is a thunderous LP which invokes a terrific sonic assault. The lyrics are constructed by Jaz Coleman with precision, delivered with an intense and, when you grasp the dark sense of humour which the Joke fire at their targets, exhilirating bite. It hasn't dated at all.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2009
This album broke the mould for me. It showed me what could happen with talent, anger and insight. It summed up the crazy time in the UK when it was released and I played it to death. None of it has dated, just more ominous and menacing.
A stupendous record.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2002
Killing Joke's second album caught them at a peak both in terms of sonic assault and ideology of lyrics. Bands such as the Cult clearly drew from "The fall of because", whereas industrial music started here before it became a term- Skinny puppy, Ministry and countless others are indebted to techno-punk assaults such as the mindboggling white noise of "Unspeakable", the thudding malicious "Butcher", The stomping terror of "Madness" amongst others. Not to be dismissed, my only regret is that they did not produce one more album of this standard and sound.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
What a tremendous release this is.
A classic from the days before KJ mellowed slightly, and a procession of fantastic ear-bleeding classics including The Fall of Because,Tension, and Follow the Leaders .
This is highly recommended and needs to be played at full volume.
Even my dog perks up when he hears the opening bars of Unspeakable !!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
at the age of 45 i like to think i had grown out of this music but my older brother asked me to order this for him and as allways i listened to it to make sure its ok before sending on , i suddenly went back to my teenage years and they involved this type of music.. (i was a bit of a punk /skin head ect i just love all music and the weird fashions) now i have the cd myself and play on the odd ocassion ,yes go buy it it was good then and still is and have a memory or two and make your kids suffer with them you never know they might like it?????? ENJOY
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2003
What’s THIS For..! Is a carnal, visceral experience. This is the point at which Killing Joke realised their potential to channel fundamental, primal forces through themselves and their instruments. With later albums they harness and direct that power with more precision, but this album finds Killing Joke acting as simple conduits for the dissonance, discord and disease of an environment at odds with its inhabitants. This album is a response to, rather than a reaction against, the collapse of reason, which makes it unique and urgent in a way no other album has before or will again. Often called a ‘difficult’ or ‘brutal’ album because it acts as an unfettered umbilical between a technological ‘civilisation’ blind to the havoc it causes and the forces of nature we so studiously ignore and repeatedly abuse. We don’t like the truth.
What would you expect to hear pouring through such an umbilical cord? As one member of the band put it, “The sound of nature throwing up”. Here is the aural bile. Enjoy.
Out of the virus, immunity comes.
Neither a question or an answer - What’s THIS For..!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
HIGHLY OVERRATED ALBUM. Great sound and style but not very good songs at all. Chrome were a much better band at that time, with a similar style: early industrial, post-punk, disco-punk. Chrome and Helios Creed are so underrated. This band, Killing Joe is so overrated....!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
Despite the body of immense work that they have produced since 1980, this, their second album 'what's THIS for...!', is unquestionably the Joke's finest (half) hour.

Just eight punishing tracks (on the original platter) meshing together like barbed-wire to let you in on the nightmare vision of the future perceived by this incredible one-off band....a band that is truly Britain's finest export.

There's no point in going through the tracks. It's all superb. There is simply no escape, no light moments, no quiet numbers, no (ha!) love songs.

It was - and remains - a scary work...as relevant today as it was back in 1981.

The 2005 CD re-issue includes three extra tracks, and while that's a nice touch for the completists, they aren't really necessary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2000
Jaz Coleman & Co's 2nd outing from 1981, after their promising eponymopus 1980 debut, is perhaps their most extreme and perhaps inacessable album to date. Not that this a poor album by any means, just 'difficult'.
There's certainly a lot of dark, brooding angst here with the combination of Geordie Walker's chopping, churning guitar and Coleman's angry, growling and terrifying vocals to which the likes of Ministry and Korn certainly owe a great deal. Key tracks include the classic independent single, Follow The Leaders, whilst you really should know what the expect with titles such as Exit, Butcher, Unspeakable and Madness onboard. It takes a few listens to get into, once you begin to understand what Coleman is trying to say.
Overall, this is perhaps not the best place to begin if you wish to enter the world of 'the Joke'. However, you'll be sure to investigate this as an interesting piece of early-80's post-punk music, once you've heard the rest of their brilliant material.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.75
£9.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.