Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Thrones = Legendary
where to start. above all this is the best game out of the three. It has everything!! Awesome fighting moves, more abilities and an amazing story.
if you have not played the other two PoP games than please, (i insist)that you play them first.
Prince of Persia has to be the best all round game i have ever played. Its got so much that other wannabe games should be...
Published on 28 Dec. 2005 by J. Philpotts

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but flawed
I found playing the Two Thrones a mixed experience.

The storyline is entertaining enough to make me want to find out what happens in the end. The "speed kill" move is cool, and the graphics are good. The graphics are excellent, particularly the scary looking jawless boss. It's satisfying when you manage a particularly complicated set of moves. I'm showing my...
Published on 4 May 2009 by Jen13


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Thrones = Legendary, 28 Dec. 2005
By 
J. Philpotts "captain oats" (some place you arent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Two Thrones (PS2) (Video Game)
where to start. above all this is the best game out of the three. It has everything!! Awesome fighting moves, more abilities and an amazing story.
if you have not played the other two PoP games than please, (i insist)that you play them first.
Prince of Persia has to be the best all round game i have ever played. Its got so much that other wannabe games should be thrown in the bin. but overall its my oppion against yours.
The Graphics and Environmental status are at top marks in this game, from the first Prince of Persia: sands of time, the general story got more exciting by the minute and game play developed so much better. Right from the beginning of the game the game is a challenge but soon the game play and moves becomes easier to control so if anyone has trouble its easy to pick up and carry on.
The Ending of the game is just unbelievable but it makes you think if they would make another PoP game. i will try not to spoil it you but buy it, play it, love it!!
i would give the game a 10/10 but i cant so 5 stars it will have to be. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Prince Returns, 6 Dec. 2005
By 
C. O'Connor "chrisuk5" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Two Thrones (PS2) (Video Game)
After defeating the emperess of time in the second game, the prince returns to his own land, Babylon, only to find it under siege from the Vizier from the first game! Everything has been returned to its prior state, and even farah has returned, but its not long before the sands are unleashed once again.
Without saying anymore on the story, let me tell you that this is one yet another master piece. Graphically, the game is just as good as the previous two, but much less gothic than the second game. Every place is beautifully rendered, including the town of Babylon. The lighting, the trees, the enemies, and even the main cast are incredibly detailed. Yet with this game, its the gameplay that sets it apart.
Once again, the prince has a wide range of acrobatic abilities. He can run up walls, rewind time, slow everything down, jump and somersault everywhere, and swing. This isn't it. The prince can now insert his dagger into certain spots which allow him to remain still AND they have also included the new stealth kill move. When you come up behind, (or above) an enemy, press triangle, and then tap square at the right times, and you'll perform interesting finishing moves. This is incredibly impressive on the bosses of the game. Not only this, but the prince also has an alter ego you play as, who has a whip. he's fast, he's into swinging big time, and his health is always going down unless you top him up with sand. A great addition to the game that breathes new life into the franchise.
Are there any problems then? Only one. There doesn't seem to be ANY consistency in the length of areas before save points. Some take 5 minutes, others take 40 minutes, and although sometimes, when you die, it'll start you close to your place of death, on other occassions, you'll be miles away. This is easily forgiven though.
Add to this the artwork, and the movie work, (from the first three games) and the fact that this is one of those games that you will always play twice, and you'll realise that if you get one game, it should be this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best PoP game yet!, 20 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Two Thrones (PS2) (Video Game)
When I saw the new game was coming out, I thought, okay, but it's probably just another hack and slash and kill as many as possible non stop game. But it isn't. No way.
This game is absolutely awesome. For one thing, you now have the ability to speed kill people, which, if done correctly, can kill an enemy in less than five moves with your dagger!
Also, it's really good when you are the dark prince, because you get to strangle your enemies and practically fly from pole to pole using the daggartail, and get to places that the normal prince can't get to.
If you select 'blood mode' from the options menu, when you kill people it actually makes your kills look realistic, unlike the end of the Sands of Time when the prince tries to save Farah.
Also, unlike the Sands of Time, it isn't a repetetive regime of 'scale walls, death defying leaps and fatal drops to the death' time, then a 'ginormous section of fighting sand creatures' time. Instead, you can scale a Babylon wall, then do a death defying leap onto a guard, perform a spped kill, take his weapon, and none of the other guards will have noticed! (hopefully)
Absolutely brilliant game!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game of two halves..., 18 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Two Thrones (PS2) (Video Game)
I have never played a Prince of Persia game before, and I am now regretting my loss, I bought the game and have only stopped playing it when my body forces me to eat or sleep, otherwise I would not stop! It combinds mind-bending puzzles with realistic fights, where it is so easy to make a mistake and get killed. The fights are the best part of the game but do not take it over completely and leave it as a boring hack and slash. You need to use the Pronce's agility alongside some cunning speed kills (stealth kills) to progress in the game. It is a nice addition in the game to have a darker side of the good-through-and-through Prince. When you play as the Dark Prince you are always losing health and need to keep to killing to stay alive. The fights are especially fun with the Dark Prince because of his weapon the Daggertail, this is because it really can make enemies literally fall to pieces in the fights.
The game is fairy linear but this does not take anything away from it as it provides plenty of places to explore and many ways to get past the annoying and hard to kill gaurds. The graphics are fantastic as they make the weapons look as if they could do some damage and also make the enemies truly menacing.
Another fun addition to the game is the chariots, on them you can knock enemies under your wheels when they climb aboard or even watch in slowmotion other chariots crush against the walls you push them into. The only way they could have made this game any better is if they could make it never end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but flawed, 4 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Two Thrones (PS2) (Video Game)
I found playing the Two Thrones a mixed experience.

The storyline is entertaining enough to make me want to find out what happens in the end. The "speed kill" move is cool, and the graphics are good. The graphics are excellent, particularly the scary looking jawless boss. It's satisfying when you manage a particularly complicated set of moves. I'm showing my age a bit, but I also particularly liked the way some features from the original PoP game appear in the tower, like the doors (sadly, no skeleton baddy!).

Having said that, annoyances made me stop playing for days at a time. The save and restart points are too far apart. This, coupled need to do all the moves perfectly, means that you have to repeat long sections over and over again. Particularly frustrating sections are the sections with the chariot race followed immediately by a boss fight, and the really long Grand Vizier battle at the end; I'm close to giving up on it!

Overall, I thought WW was more fun, but 2T is a bit more atmospheric. It is a good game, but a bit more thought about the save points would have made it much more enjoyable.

Something that's puzzled me about both 2T and WW is that the Prince can run up and along walls, do massive leaps, somersaults, etc etc, but if a chair or barrel is in his way he can't get by it without having to smash it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full of Eastern Promise, 14 Feb. 2006
By 
Mr. Od Smith "d2kvirus" (Coulsdon, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Two Thrones (PS2) (Video Game)
After having to put up with the lowest common denominator appeal of Warrior Within, suffice to say there were a few worries with Two Thrones. Thankfully, they don’t come up once you start playing it.
The PoP team seem to have learned their lesson from the previous game and bend over backwards to make up for what a grave disappointment it truly was. Not only are the Arabic influences in music and scenery back in full force, but anything that relates to Warrior Within is written out quickly – Kaileena is killed off early (although she does narrate) and from there on you won’t hear mention of The Island of Time or anything else, and the story itself writes out the previous game and, in fact, much of Sands of Time…to a point.
In going back to the Sands of Time template, the game recaptures a lot of the essence that made it so great – especially in returning the Prince to his witty, charming self and not the snarling Duke Nukum wannabe he was when we saw him last. But also they bring back the central character pairing of the Prince and Farrah, and the chemistry still remains.
Of course, it isn’t a Xerox by any means, and a few things have been updates. The controls aren’t as balanced towards button-mashing combat and speed kills add an element of stealth to proceedings, and there’s new ways to manoeuvre around the game world – be it using your dagger to hold onto slots in the wall or diagonal panels to turn wall runs into quick attacks. But the main change is the Dark Prince, lending a new dimension to the gameplay as you constantly need sand to replenish your health - by killing enemies or finding it in pots, as well as using the razor tail and extra strength to make combat different enough from the regular Prince. There’s also chariot races at a couple of points (as well as riding an enemy through the city), but these do feel like they were put in for the sake of it and don’t help the game any.
There’s also quite a sense of humour at the games’ heart, be it the Prince constantly bickering with the Dark Prince, or the well-placed jab about Farrah probably hitting you with her arrows (as anyone who played Sands of Time will remember). The game is also saved from the previous ones’ most annoying concession to videogameness, as you aren’t rushing around looking for artwork chests or every health upgrade to get 100% of the game. You can unlock videos when you complete the game, and artwork is unlocked when you collect sand – and there’s plenty in the game to get all of them.
Alright, the game is woefully short – a weekends’ worth, frankly – and occasionally you’ll be gritting your teeth at one or two moments, mostly involving having to take blind leaps of faith across chasms as you can’t see your route – but the game is frank and up front with you: this is what you have, enjoy it, and be rewarded. The smile on your face when the game wraps up with a sly Sands of Time reference and a happily ever after ending will round things of nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best in the series, 22 May 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Two Thrones (PS2) (Video Game)
First of if you haven't played the previous two games in the series, I would recommend doing so. It's not vital to enjoy the game but it helps you enjoy and know the plot a lot easier.

I really enjoyed the first in the series (Sands of Time) and so when playing the second felt quite disappointed. They seemed to have changed everything that made the game an instant classic. I steered clear of the series for a while after waiting for the wounds to heal. Anyway when I finally decided to go back to it, I can't help but wish I had done sooner. Not only has it the series back on form but it may even be better then the first.

Plot: With the Empress Kaileena with him and the Dahaka defeated the prince returns to Babylon. However what he left is no longer what is still there. The Vizier from the first game has laid siege to his city and Kaileena is the target of a brutal plot.

Back on the streets again and hoping to put wrong to right again, he finds that not only has the sands of time affected everything around him, but also himself. He is now the Dark Prince.

Graphics: The graphics I admit are starting to look a little dated in this day and age but they are still amazing for their time and the cut scenes are still beautiful even now. Considering you back pick up an HD version for the PS3 solves this department's problem though.

Game play: The series is a puzzling action adventure. You have different problems to solve throughout the game but with some fighting thrown in too.

There's new things added like stealth kills making it easier to dispatch enemies without having to fight all the time, the ability to become the dark prince and utilise the new moves he has compared to his lighter side.

You switch between the light and dark sides throughout the game with each form having positives and negatives attached to it. Even if you like one form more then the other, you're still going to have to learn to use them both if you want to get anywhere in the game. Not only do you have a different in techniques, but the personalities of the two are different as well. The Dark version being selfish and corrupt while the light being heroic and just. Which form conquers the other though?

The level design is improved too. Unlike the other games (especially the first) everything flows better. No more do you have to stand there looking around trying to find out where you need to be heading next. The constant flow of the game only adds to the enjoyment.

Controls: The controls are easy to get to grips with be it in the platform side of things or the fighting. When fighting, you can make it as hard or as easy as you want it to be really by learning more button presses to produce more powerful moves although at the risk of getting hit in between pressing them.

Lifespan: Two Thrones took me just under 15 hours to complete which although isn't a huge length, it gets the job done and done well too if I might add. The quality of game you get in those few hours far outweighs some of the larger games.

Although the game has little to none replayability, at the end you are given a new sword which you can play through the game again with. Not really worth it though. Least it's there if you want to play the game again in a couple of year's time.

Overall: I would say it's the best game in the series and a great send off to such a well produced trilogy of games. True the series lost its footing in the second game but this one more then makes up for it. If you like puzzle, platform or even fighting games I would recommend it and even if you don't like any of these this is still not a game to be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better, 22 Aug. 2009
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Two Thrones (PS2) (Video Game)
If you don't know by now this is an acrobatic game. You make death defying leaps with the odd bit of fighting in between.

The game is virtually identical to Warrior Within except it has a Roman style setting. Fortunately it also has the clumsy controls, with added 101 combo's and retains the hopeless camera. All this does is make the game a frustration to play. Add to this the miles apart save points (which also top up your health with water) and you are away with it.

This could have been a great game and has masses of potential if it was not let down by the incompetent design. Leaping about is great fun but there is too much time pondering how you actually move forward. The enemy are a hardy bunch and take a good pasting before they go down. Then you have to time your leaps perfectly or it is sudden death. So, you begin to experience the delights of either dying because your health runs out because this place is more desert than oasis or you leap to your death because your timing is out.

At least the graphics are good improved further by turning on the progressive scan mode and the soundtrack is non existent but why do we have to turn on PS every time we play?

This game is as irritating to play as catching a dose of the pox. The only good thing about it is that when you die you actually get a sense of vertigo. It is scary stuff and worth buying the game to experience. As for the rest of it, expect to die a lot through no fault of your own and replay it over and over again. It is better than WW though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant end to the series (for now at least), 3 Sept. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Two Thrones (PS2) (Video Game)
I loved the first PoP game:great story

great gameplay and layout

great characters and environments

so when I heard there was a sequel I rushed out and bought it. I have to admit it was disappointing,the only good bit being the fact you could now fight with your main sword and any other weapon lying aroung, instead of just a set sword and the dagger.

When the third game came out I was reluctant to buy it. However, I am glad I did because it is the best game Ubisoft have made so far. It takes all the best bits of the first game (lush environments,great story and great challenges) and all the best bits from the second game (being able to choose your secondary weapon,great bosses and a great haircut).They then added a whole load of new stuff in:being able to play as the "Dark Prince"(the Prince's sand-monster-like split personality),silent kills(hints of "Splinter Cell" in there) and chariot racing as well as loads of other content.

Overall,I would say it was the best Prince of Persia game made so far.

The only two snags being:1.You may need a stratergy guide to find all the secrets and 2.I recommend you start playing early in the morning if you want to be ready to switch the playstation2 off before midnight,its fun and addictive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Two Thrones (PS2) (Video Game)
Brilliant! Its been a while since I picked up a joy pad. I am happy that this is one of the games I selected to start with. Captivating levels, with puzzles and battles. Graphics are ok, if rating to newer gaming consoles, but we are talking PS2, and for PS2 I really rate this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prince of Persia: Two Thrones (PS2)
Prince of Persia: Two Thrones (PS2) by Ubisoft (PlayStation2)
£6.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews