Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good indeed
Canis Canem Edit is perfect if you find GTA games a bit too hard in certain spots, but want a challenge as well. I fall into this category. There are a number of missions in GTA which I just found too hard, and this Rockstar game has really hit the spot. It is not too easy, although the opening chapter or two is quite straight-forward. As you move on through the game, you...
Published on 25 May 2007 by D. G. Clarke

versus
18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great looking game, but ..
This is a pretty good game, but on the whole I didn't enjoy it quite as much as I think I was supposed to, so I'll try to explain why. As you probably expect, it looks and plays very like Grand Theft Auto, except that here the emphasis is on detail and character rather than scale. There's no denying that it looks amazing, and that it does a good job of painting Bullworth...
Published on 23 Nov 2006 by R. McDonald


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good indeed, 25 May 2007
By 
D. G. Clarke "Ed Clarke" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Canis Canem Edit (PS2) (Video Game)
Canis Canem Edit is perfect if you find GTA games a bit too hard in certain spots, but want a challenge as well. I fall into this category. There are a number of missions in GTA which I just found too hard, and this Rockstar game has really hit the spot. It is not too easy, although the opening chapter or two is quite straight-forward. As you move on through the game, you start to notice the difficulty level raising, but at a steady rate to help you get to grips with all the games features.

The game follows a 15 year old, who has been expelled from all previous schools he's been to, so he ends up at Bullworth Academy, which Rockstar calls "the toughest school around". You take control of this 15 year old, Jimmy. It feels a lot like San Andreas the way the camera is positioned looking at the back of the character when you playing the game, but don't think this is just a cheap copy that Rockstar have brought out.

One of the most impressive features about this game is the individuality of your schoolmates. Every person in the school is different, they all have their own individual names, which is proven by the fact that you obtain a yearbook, where you take photos of everybody in your year. Here you notice how everyone has their own personality - not the generic passers by you find on San Andreas.

One example of a group in the school is the Nerds. Fairly obvious what type of people they are, and these are probably the funniest. They always bring a chuckle when I see the fat nerds walking with their flies undone, and the voice acting for them is particularly impressive.

The storyline is well explained and relatively easy to follow, and believable too. It can get a bit cheesy in places, for example cringeworthy moments include Jimmy celebrating having beaten someone up in a boxing ring "Who's the daddy? Jimmy Hopkins, that's who, I am the best, now I'll beat the rest". There's a couple of cliched lines like that, but otherwise the script writing is very good.

Perhaps one of the most annoying things about this game is the lessons. They are fun at first, but then you start getting annoyed. Every time you want to do something, the bell rings and you have to get to lesson otherwise you are seeing as truanting, so the prefects are onto you. There are two lessons a day at first, ending at 3:30pm and very little time to do much exploring, as you can't be in the school building after 7pm (the time is measured in game minutes = real time seconds) and there is a curfew where you must be in the dorm by 11pm. If you don't go to bed by 2am, you will pass out on the floor. This can be particularly frustrating when you want to go and explore the game. However, each lesson has 5 stages. If you pass all 5 stages of a lesson, you no longer need to go to that lesson. Finish them all, and you've got no lessons ever again, so you've got all day to explore and do missions. I recommend you finish the lessons before getting too impatient with the game.

The world is fairly expansive. Nowhere near the size of San Andreas, but then the game isn't really focused on travelling the world, it is more mission based within the school gates. There aren't nearly as many vehicles as a result, but I found this was good, because as a schoolboy, you are more likely to be riding BMXs and skateboards than driving in 18 wheelers. There are various shops to go into in the town, where you can buy eggs for throwing at people, clothes (for wearing!) and many more.

A surprising feature of the game is the angle Rockstar took. Most of the time, you are defending the bullied, rather than bullying the defenseless. Sure, you can do this, and it is fun, but the storyline is based on helping those in need. There is no blood in the game, just heavy fists fights, crotch-kicking and wedgies. This, I think, makes the game better, it is more realistic for a schoolground. Weapons are school-based; you have all the classics, like the slingshot, the stink bomb and the fire cracker amongst many others.

To sum up, I would say that if you are looking for a game that is fun, not too difficult but challenging in places, involves quite a fair amount of violence and doing school-based tasks for realistic amounts of money - then this is the game for you. Particularly enjoyable if you are feeling a bit nostalgic about the days in the old school yard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit different is good..., 28 Jun 2007
By 
Bo (London, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Canis Canem Edit (PS2) (Video Game)
Really unique game, worth buying just for that! Yes, it has a daft sense of humour, and the storyline is certainly very juvenile (with an over-stretched, clichéd joke of an ending!) but after finishing it, I wished I hadn't so I could play it again.

It's like GTA's younger brother, who will just never be as cool and is nowhere near as big (it doesn't take too much effort to complete) but it certainly stands up on it's own. It's refreshing to see this style of free-roaming game that doesn't involve drugs and guns, even if that does mean the credibility of the game takes a hit.

Also Bully really isn't overwhelmingly violent and you really don't become too much of a `bully'. If you even try it on a small child or on an adult off the street, a whole force of prefects or police suddenly appear from nowhere and take you down.

The best feature to me is that you can customise and style the character Jimmy, just like in San Andreas. You choose what her wears and eventually the style of his haircut, so he doesn't always have to look like the thug in the screenshots, thankfully.

It really is cool little game...buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic and engrossing, 6 July 2007
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Canis Canem Edit (PS2) (Video Game)
With the exception of the GTA series, this is Rockstars finest work to date. There's simply no other game available with such a unique atmosphere. The havoc you can wreak created a lot of nostalgic memories. The actual lessons are surprisingly varied. They range from a Pac Man style mini game for Art, to QTE button prompts for Chemistry and Shop. Once completed, these lessons give you increased skills. For example, once English is mastered, Jimmy will be able to talk himself out of trouble.

The missions still suffer from being little more than fetch quests, or simply require travel from point A to B, then to C. But the story that sets up each mission is always watchable, humourous, and develops the story so you actually care what happens next, which is rare for me.
I'm playing this game on my PS3 due to a severe lack of games for the system. I've been playing this for close to 4 weeks now and havent touched a PS3 game since. Surely this is proof that it's one of the most engrossing and enjoyable games available on any format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A*, 3 Dec 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Canis Canem Edit (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a fantastic game, although I admit that I was very wary of it at first. I'd seen trailers advertising it showing excessive bullying and the likes and didn't think it looked any good. My brother then bought it (much to my disgust) and yes...I got hooked. I made a game about 2 weeks ago now and have been steadily working through the world of Jimmy Hopkins - a young trouble maker that has been expelled from 7 schools only to end up at Bullworth Academy. Once at the school you have to begin earning respect from all of the peer groups - nerds, jocks, greasers, townies, and preppies. Doing this involves a hell of a lot of different missions, ranging from spraying graffiti over greaser town (New Coventry), shooting jocks using your slingshot, and stealing items back from people such as homework, diaries and the likes. As well as the respect challenges you also work through a range of tasks to gain money. These are usually of a comical nature; for example stuffing students into lockers, but also practical tasks like finding someones dog.

Whilst you begin to form friendships and respect amongst your classmates you start attending lessons. The curriculum at Bullworth includes English, Art, Photography, Chemistry, Shop and Gym. Each subject has 5 levels to master and once complete you can use the skills learnt in your every day life; gym for example teaches a mixture of wrestling and dodgeball which increases accuracy and teaches moves to beat people up with, whereas english gives you the ability to chat up and later kiss girls to unlock health bonuses.

As you progress through your lessons and complete tasks for friends, teachers and citizens you will be faced with new challenges allowing you to open up new areas of the vast map. Within the map are shops, barbers and the likes along with heaps more challenges for you to complete.

Overall this is a wicked game and so much better than I first expected. I find myself getting addicted to it and playing for hours on end. What I also like is the fact that you are allowed to fashion Jimmy exactly how you like; so he starts out as a skin headed chav but I personally have no made him into a rather sexy punk rocker/skater. There's loads to explore in this game and an enormous storyline with a few laughs thrown in as well. If you like other games by Rockstar, I'd highly recommend checking this out. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canis Canem Edit...Dog Eat Dog in Latin, apparently, 16 Nov 2006
By 
David Kitchen (Cannock, Staffordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Canis Canem Edit (PS2) (Video Game)
When all the controversy blew up over 'Bully' I'd love to have been in Rockstar Vancouver's marketing department. All they did was release the title and a few Daily Mail-baiting details and their job was done for them. Anyway, onto the game. It's really great fun, it's what your school days were like in rose-tinted retrospect-o-vision but in reality you spent all lunch time in the library. There isn't any real violence, no guns, just the cunning and imagination of a "problem child". It's full of pranks, girls, and playing the stereotypical cliques of American High School social hierarchy off against one another. A really enjoyable, original and funny game. My only criticism is that the game loses focus in it's latter stages, and is short. A solid weekend of gaming will see you complete it, and replay value isn't great but it's a refreshingm title after a year of unimaginative sequels and re-releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the PTA baiter perhaps we were looking for....but something much more pleasing!, 11 Nov 2006
By 
M. Gardner "Afro Matt" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Canis Canem Edit (PS2) (Video Game)
Well, 'Bully' has finally arrived. The game that a year ago was at the forefront of speculative controversy. But then Rockstar love it!......

'Canis Canem Edit' is a lot better than just a shocktastic GTA-in-school. The violence has been toned down considerably, though not totally, and the combat system is simple but well-worked, it is clear a lot of time was spent on it. As with all Rockstar games, CCE is gorgeous looking. The sounds are excellent too, with the expensive tracks and radio stations of GTA being replaced by an all original soundtrack. The voiceactors are all spot on too. The gameplay is wonderful. Instantly accessible, especially to those that have played GTA before. The little touches, of course, are where Rockstar really shine. The tongue in cheek humour is still there, only this time it almost seems funnier because we can all relate so much more. One of the missions involves finding and hiding all of the whiskey bottles of the alcoholic english teacher before the maths teacher comes back and rumbles him with the Principal. The characters are all distinctive, and cliques are wonderfully and accurately created. The education part, classes for new skills and items, works wonderfully but could have been really expanded upon. It is possibly the one part of the game that significantly fails to reach its potential.

But that aside CCE is guaranteed to give you hours of fun. From the phlegm-ridden cook to the war vet gym teacher, the cast and carnage of the game will keep you occupied for a long time. Whilst the game mechanics are very similar, CCE is NOT GTA, the lowered 15 certificate a firm appreciation of that. But it's not really a kids game. It's too good for that. CCE stands up in its own right, funny, absorbing and perfectly realised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Every Penny, 4 Jun 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Canis Canem Edit (PS2) (Video Game)
This came came with a lot of controversy, about the content from an anti bullying point of view. But it is clear to see when playing the game, the main aim is to stop the bully's, not join them. Of course being a Rock Star creation there is violence, but you see worse on the T.V

This game mixes Dennis the menace with GTA as your character Jimmy Hopkins embarks on a quest to restore order to the many cliques at Bullworth. Use stink bombs, skateboards, firecrackers, slingshots and your fists to complete your mission. With some hilarious cut scenes and well thought of stereotypical characters, I give this game 10 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the whining MPs, this is great, 30 Oct 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Canis Canem Edit (PS2) (Video Game)
There are some MPs who live for moments like the release of this game. Shunted from ivory tower to ivory tower, pausing only to gorge on another tax-payer funded free lunch, they can always be counted on to lift their snouts from the trough and get involved in something they know nothing about.

Canis Canem Edit was roundly pilloried by the usual suspects who claimed that it glorified bullying and would cause the youth of Britain to turn on each other like animals. If these MPs had played the game, they'd realise how stupid they sounded.

Like the GTA Series, this game is set in a free-flowing environment where you can take any path you choose. Yes, you can choose to relentlessly bully other pupils, but it won't necessarily help you. You can choose to make Mario jump off cliffs in Mario Brothers, but The Samaritans are yet to stick their oar in and accuse Nintendo of encouraging the mass suicide of immigrant Italians.

This game is an absolute joy to play and, helpfully, the controls are very similar to GTA. There's the usual tutorial style of early levels to guide you through game concepts and then you're free to progress as you see fit. Every day is made up of a couple of lessons where you play mini-games to pass and unlock new skills. Succeed in English and you'll become more articulate. Pass PE challenges to learn new fighting moves.

It's very similar to an old Spectrum game called Skool Daze, and it also feels like another Spectrum classic, The Great Escape. The school grounds are patrolled by Prefects who punish indiscretions by dragging you to the Head's Office. Get in trouble too many times and you'll find yourself in detention, carrying out menial chores.

The free nature of the game means that you can choose to be a good pupil, a bad pupil, a solitary skiver, a vindictive bully, anything you like. What the MPs fail to realise is that if you play the game purely as an opportunity to 'virtually' bully, you won't actually get very far.

Once again, Rockstar have created a classic. Every facet of this game smacks of a company who refuse to take shortcuts. Arcade machines in dormitories have fully working, addictive minigames. You can bet money with weird kids who challenge you to knock them out with a football. You can climb trees and aim catapult pellets at 'school jocks' while keeping an eye out for Prefects.

You'll be playing this game for months, so it's a great one to get in advance of Xmas. Don't listen to the MPs and don't panic; this game is not going to bring about the collapse of Western Civilisation. It will keep you amused on cold, wet evenings though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars think hogwarts mixed with gta, 5 Jan 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Canis Canem Edit (PS2) (Video Game)
Undeniably one of the best games this year canis canem edit (which means dog eat dog for those not fluent in latin) puts u in the place of a juvenile delinquent called jimmy hopkins. Fun missions, great mini games and a huge free enviroment, all typical of rockstar. If your a parent wondering to buy this game for your kids DO. Unlike most rockstar games there is practically no swearing, drugs or nudity. Personally i believe the 15+ rating to be slightly over the top. Even kids of 10 could play this (though maybe with adult supervision). Anyway long reviews are boring so............to sum up. Good game, lots of fun, great buy. Plus at this price you have to buy it. Compared to most gta games some might say this is a little easy and in truth it isn't a huge challenge but for most this will be a great game which u won't regret buying (unless your a pacifist or something like that).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canis Canem Edit, 26 Feb 2007
By 
S. Negandhi - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Canis Canem Edit (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is briliant. It is more fun than Grand Theft Auto. I want to say that this game isn't as violent as people say it is. The point of the game is to protect weaker kids from bullies, not to bully weak kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canis Canem Edit (PS2)
Canis Canem Edit (PS2) by Rockstar (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £2.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews