Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's MGS 3 but a lot better
This game is the best other half that Konami has to offer. MGS 1 had VR missions, MGS 2 had Substance and now MGS 3 has this. It includes not one, not two but THREE discs, theses discs include the game itself complete with everything that the original didn't have, an online feature that you can use to make teams and face others all around the world, and a full length...
Published on 20 July 2006 by flm_by87

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Online is no more!
This isn't a review because I haven't played the game, but wanted to point something out that's stopped me buying it myself (please forgive me for rating this game, but amazon won't let me post a 'review' without doing so!)...

Despite what the product description here still says the online servers for this game have now been scrapped, and it's no longer...
Published on 26 Mar 2008 by Peter Cox


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Online is no more!, 26 Mar 2008
By 
Peter Cox (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence (PS2) (Video Game)
This isn't a review because I haven't played the game, but wanted to point something out that's stopped me buying it myself (please forgive me for rating this game, but amazon won't let me post a 'review' without doing so!)...

Despite what the product description here still says the online servers for this game have now been scrapped, and it's no longer possible to play online whatsoever.

I'm sure it's still a great game, but with no online gameplay (which was what I was really after) I'll be saving my hard-earned cash for MGS4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great game - online play being discontinued 30/10/07, 15 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. Aj Flynn "lx592" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence (PS2) (Video Game)
This is not really a review but more to warn future buyers that the online play is due to be turned off on 30/10/07.

This is particularly disappointing since I only got round to buying MGS3 Subsistence (having been a buyer of the original MGS3) last month and specifically for the online play.

I seem to remember the European release of Subsistence being delayed forever and a day. Wouldn't it have been nice if Konami Europe had given us PS2 players a bit more time to play online than merely a year?

If you're new to MGS or MGS3 then this is still a great buy, if not it's still worth getting MGS3 Subsistence but only if it can be picked up cheaply for the extra features including the new user controlled camera in the main game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game with a good dose of replay value, 9 Mar 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence (PS2) (Video Game)
Metal Gear Solid 3 Subsistence in case some readers dont no is in fact Metal Gear Solid Snake Eater the original game.Subsistence is a deluxe edition of the the normal game snake eater.Snake Eater came with 1 disc but Subsistence has 3 in the E.U version.Basicly the first disc is the entire game from start to finish with a theatre mode and a gallery , aswell as demos of how to do certain tasks in the game such as basic,intermediate techniques like using an enemy as a shield or expert techniques, stuff like holding up the enemy at gunpoint. The second disc is the online playing of the game and has severeal modes. Players play as snake,ocelot or raikov as a team leader, players playing against each other join as a commander of the characters mentioned or as a soldier on a team.You can duel it out online 5 on 5 or whatever you can choose using tactics and weapons to take out the opposing team using the varied enviroments in the game. *Also on the second disc is an ability to pick to fight any of the main bosses in the game and beat them in a specific time, with standard weapons or unlimited ammo. You can choose any boss fight and go stright to the battle to fight.The third disc titled Excistence is a film length version of the game being played right through, though I found it very enjoyable to watch, It shows all the major cut scenes like in the theatre mode on disc 1 but it also shows snake moving in the game and actually fighting the bosses as you would while playing.Its interesting to see some of this footage as it might be very diffrent from how you beat a certain boss when you played and finshed the game.
Also a bonus to this deluxe 3 disc version of the game are extra camouflages in the game to be used and discovered.Some of these are not avialbe in the original game.Also inlcuded is more difficulty levels.Theres is now a European Extreme difficulty to be tried, I have just finished the game recently on this level and I had to do 2 very difrent things at critical points in the game in order to progress becuase it was so hard.It was just a question of tactics but pretty severe , for example on this hardest setting if your seen by the enemy once its game over, apart from the jail scene as that would be silly and your considered captured anyway.
Basicly this game is a military stealth game were you sneak around infiltrating the enemy teritory and find your objective.Camouflage is an usual game feature for a video game but for this game right camo to blend in with the right background is exactly how it works.If in grass you choose leaf camo which bring up your camo/hard to see rating to maybe 20 percent more than if you wore black.You can still be seen but are much harder to be seen by the enemy soldiers with the right camo.Also face paint is an option, you might wear desert face paint with choco chip camo to blend in with a sandy desert enviroment.Theres even some special abilites if you examine these carefully such as the Sorrows camo uniform which prevents your own footsteps from being heard.
The game takes place in about 1964 right in the middle of the cold war. Your inserted into the Soviet Union stealthily and you soon find out your long time mentor known as the Boss has switched sides.You must rescue a scientist being held in the Soviet territory and encounter some of the Soviets most deadly characters and soldiers called "The Cobras"
They are "THE PAIN,THE FEAR,THE END, THE SORROW, The FURY And THE JOY. These characters have all there own themes and personalities and tactics and are dramaticly acted by variour actors who seem to be excellent all round at conveying the emotions and feelings of these individuals. When "The Pain" declares he is "The Pain" you really beleive him. There are other characters too like Cornel Volgin and Ocelot a spetsnaz commander aswell as Eva a spy and the various characters the main Character "Snake" who you play as converses with on his personal radio.There are plenty of weapons and real tactics to use in the game which make the game worth playing over again and even again like I did as you can choose to stealth your way through the game or shoot everything or be very strategic in how you take out the sentries guarding the bases and areas you try to pass through.You can even sit in Anti air craft guns, machine gun nests, fire RPG 7s, fire the ak 47 in first person view and then even zoom in more for looking through the gun sight in a weapons view like in flashpoint(a pc game).You can put people to sleep with tranquiliser darts or snipe the enemy with sniper rifles. Then theres the food part of the game and that is surely a first for a military action game such as this.In Subsistence and the orignal game Snake Eater you have a life meter and a stamina meter.The more weapons you carry or have selected over time the quicker your stamina meter goes down.Becuase your playing in outdoor enviroments often you must hunt for food to replenish the stamina gauge.You can hunt snakes,frogs even crocodiles, fish, birds, crabs the list goes on and on.You can even get attacked by some of these animals and some taste better than others, the food even rots over time and even then depending on what food type it is.You can even capture the animals live with the dart gun and the food wont go bad, throw a scorpion at the enemy soldier it might attack him.
To sum up the game I found the realism to be incredibly in depth which I think is amazing and just part of what makes the game so good. The encounters in the game, the sounds of the junlge, the abilty to interact with the enviroment is second to none and theres so many items to play with if your interested. The camoflage is done extremely well and it can seem a litttle off at times bein so close to an enemy but its well within reason.The only minor complaint I would have is in the control system while crawling near walls you cannot turn your body well and that can put you in awkward positions when trying to stay out of sight from on coming patrols, though if you go into head cam view you can move/turn better to help those situations.
Over all a lot of value is in this game.It may take more time than you realise to get into how you play the game becuase its quite tactical but becuase you can take your time to move when you want to move
you can plan what you do easier.Certianly one of the best games on plsystation 2 , the next Meteal Gear Solid would have to go some way to be much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Avoid if you have an HDTV, 3 Dec 2007
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence (PS2) (Video Game)
There are plenty of reviews of the actual game if you search the web so I'll keep my review to what makes this version unique ie the 3rd person view. I was chuffed to bits when this came out because I could never get to grips with the original camera. Whilst this is an improvement on the original Metal Gear Solid 3 in terms of gameplay, the camera still goes into first person view when you go prone in grass etc which can be annoying if (like me) you hoped the 3rd person view would work for you, (you know who you are). Lastly if (like me) you have a lovely HDTV this game looks truly awful and was virtually unplayable due to the poor graphics you get when playing a ps2 on an HDTV. A stealth game like this needs crisp clear graphics but this game's a no-no on an HDTV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT ANOTHER DATE SETBACK, 5 Jun 2006
By 
M. Stokes "'MR X'" (Jamica) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence (PS2) (Video Game)
Konami is taking the mick. They were supposed to release this game March but this was post-poned to june. So i thought ok, after that they ill not set it back any further, i mean the americans and bin there done that and bought the t-shirt.

So i am dissapointed in Konami, i am probaly gonna a gameshark/action replay to play NTSC games.

Metal Gear will rock though and it is probally worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence (PS2)
Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence (PS2) by Konami (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £12.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews