Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Bond!
I have spent all Christmas evening playing Bond. It’s awesome; it’s even got Connery!
From the moment that you rescue the PM’s daughter (Natasha Beddingfield) to killing archrival Red Grant it’s a non-stop breathless roller coaster ride of Bond excitement. I loved it. Again and again I found myself saying, look at that, and the thrill of...
Published on 26 Dec 2005 by A. Caldwell

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars wont work
this game will not play in any of the xbox i have try,one very disappoint wee lad as he play it on old playstation
Published 23 months ago by naomi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Bond!, 26 Dec 2005
By 
A. Caldwell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Bond: From Russia With Love (Xbox) (Video Game)
I have spent all Christmas evening playing Bond. It’s awesome; it’s even got Connery!
From the moment that you rescue the PM’s daughter (Natasha Beddingfield) to killing archrival Red Grant it’s a non-stop breathless roller coaster ride of Bond excitement. I loved it. Again and again I found myself saying, look at that, and the thrill of driving THE Aston Martin DB5. What more can you want on Christmas day.
The game is a cross between Red Dead Revolver and Splinter cell but with a hugely atmospheric classic Bond feel. You feel totally immersed in the movie; there are tense moments of sneaking up behind Russian thugs, and light-hearted interaction with Q.
This is a must for every Bond fan, I hope that it is a hit and that EA bring us more of Classic Bond
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST JAMES BOND EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 11 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: James Bond: From Russia With Love (Xbox) (Video Game)
I've played some good james bond games in my time but this one tops the scale! This game puts you in the shoes of sean connery following the story and the film of the classic bond film 'from russia with love'. But obviosly there are some bad sides to the game like disappointing graphics, all very small things. But-in-all a brilliant Game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nameshhhhhh Bond, Jameshhhhhhhh Bond, 27 Nov 2005
This review is from: James Bond: From Russia With Love (Xbox) (Video Game)
For once Ea have made a smart move, they've taken a Bond game back to the classic Connery era and it's much the better for it. Using the same 3rd person viewpoint and gameplay mechanics as Everything Or Nothing From Russia With Love is a brilliant and varied game.
*The Good*
The game has many good points, the first is obviously having the greatest Bond actor providing his voice and likeness, Connery adds an authenticity to it all and keeps a somewhat cobbled together retelling of the story running smoothly enough. The Next is the graphics, everything looks excellent and the retro styling is very nice. The best point of all is the variety, you have car chases, shoot-outs, on-rails shooting and even a simple RPG style upgrade mechanic for your weapons and gadgets.
*The Bad*
The game doesn't have any glaring faults, but rather minor niggles that detract from an otherwise excellent package. The first and most iritating to Bond afficianados is how Ea has changed the plot with a prime example being the last level which has nothing to do with the film at all or the plot of the game for that matter. The other niggle is the difficulty and depth of the game, while it has great variety it at times feels like somwthing has been added just so it can be listed in the features on the box.
*Overall*
Overall From Russia With Love does what it sets out to do, it's a big brash thrill ride worthy of Connery himself. Although not in depth enough for hardcore gamers it's varied and reasonably long campaign should provide hours of fun, with the award mechanic keeping you perfectionists playing long after you've completed it. All in all it's a great game with no huge flaws which should leave you shaken and stirred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars wont work, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond: From Russia With Love (Xbox) (Video Game)
this game will not play in any of the xbox i have try,one very disappoint wee lad as he play it on old playstation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Bond 007 - From Russia With Love VG (Bond is Back), 19 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: James Bond: From Russia With Love (Xbox) (Video Game)
FRWL is thrilling. Bond returns from an original movie from the 60's (1963). Sir Sean Connery, the original 007, reprises his role as the suave agent. He lends his voice to the VG as well(It is a bit muffed, but, nobody's perfect) All the characters are here from the original. Romanova, Bey, Klebb, Grant, Q, M, Moneypenny etc. There are two new characters that come to the game. Natasha Bedingfield, who plays Elizabeth Stark (The Primeminister's daughter) and Maria Menounos (Eva, Red Grant's evil henchwoman).
The game is set in the 60's Cold War era. You are able to upgrade on gadgets, weapons and even clothing. The mission's are movie based (with the exception of some) and are fairly easy. The new Bond focus is a good technique to destroy enemies, but is hard to control.
The best part of the game has to be the fact that Connery does the voice of Bond, and you're playing as him. It is thrilling game that any Bond fan should have.
The downside is that the levels are really too short, and it shouldn't take more than a weekend to complete. If not a Bond fan, rental would be perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Bond: From Russia With Love (Xbox) (Video Game)
Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 28 Nov 2005
By 
B. Bagnall (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: James Bond: From Russia With Love (Xbox) (Video Game)
I'd been looking forward to the release of this game since last year when EA announced that they'd gotten Sean Connery to record a voice track. I figured that even if the game was only half as good as Everything or Nothing it would still be great. Sean Connery back as Bond? And in a game based on one of my favoutite Bond films? How could it miss.

Well miss the target it does. Using Connery is a great gimmick that should work except for one reason, he's in his seventies and sounds like it. It's quite distracting to see a young Bond on screen and hear a guy who sounds, well, old. If this was the only problem with the game I wouldn't be too bothered (after all it's Sean Connery!) but the games problems are numerous. There's no hand-to-hand combat! If you run out of ammo (which can happen a lot) and you run up to an enemy and try to hit him you can only do so by hitting a random key selected by the game. It's James Bond! Proper hand-to hand is an essential part of the character.

The levels are too long without enough saves, and the game is very short (about 5 hours worth of game play). And there are levels that are just plain daft: when you eventually face off with Grant you have to shoot him with everything you've got (bazookas, rifles, hand guns and grenades). It's a guy in a suit! He's not Superman or the Terminator! And when he reappears on the end of the game, he's in an armoured turret-thing that fires rockets and grenades and lasers - and he's easier to kill! Just hide and use the sniper rifle. Oh, and the 'Bond moments' that worked so well in Everything or Nothing are just plain rubbish. Gain entry to the gift shop? Give me a break.

My biggest gripe though is the fact that I can't play the final 'bonus' level. You need to earn 'awards' to access this last level. These awards can be earned by engaging an enemy soldier in 'hand-to-hand combat' - not so easy when you're attacked by 5 guys at once. I reckon I'll have to play the game again to unlock enough awards to actually finish it off. £30 for a game I can't finish - thanks EA.

Take my advice, if you want a good Bond game where you actually feel like you're playing Bond they get Everything or Nothing. It's not perfect but it does have a great 'cinematic' feel. And it's a lot longer. If you already have EON then play it again as all the good bits from 'Russia' are pinched from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James Bond: From Russia With Love (Xbox)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews