Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GUN PORN! - Obscene FPS - My hands hurt...
Described by the developers as "GUN PORN", Black easily lives up to this analogy and then some. At heart, a standard FPS, they've not attempting to do anything groundbreaking with regards to level design, control system of character abilities, but what they have done is to perfect the art of the FPS.
The Guns: Extremely well rendered, you want to exhaust the...
Published on 20 Mar. 2006 by Daniel Haggarty

versus
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The FPS players' FPS game?
Black is an uncomplicated first-person-shooter. The gamer has become accustomed to copious cut-scenes, convoluted back-stories, real-life tactics and baffling team management. Black dispenses with just about all of this. The user manual runs to about 2 pages...and even they more or less just redundantly explain how to save and load a game. The main idea of Black is to...
Published on 27 Jun. 2006 by Nigel Collier


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GUN PORN! - Obscene FPS - My hands hurt..., 20 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Black (Xbox) (Video Game)
Described by the developers as "GUN PORN", Black easily lives up to this analogy and then some. At heart, a standard FPS, they've not attempting to do anything groundbreaking with regards to level design, control system of character abilities, but what they have done is to perfect the art of the FPS.
The Guns: Extremely well rendered, you want to exhaust the magazine just to see them gleaming in the ultra slick reload animations. There's a good selection, you start most levels with a new weapon to try out for size. An assortment of hand guns, assault rifles, shotguns and the obligatory RPG give you plenty of options. This game makes me want to join a gun club.
The Sound: This game needs to be played on LOUD. The sound of the guns is nothing short of awesome. In a lot of instances, you are equipped with a silencer, which is great for stealth, but once your cover is blown I found myself removing the silencer just to hear the deafening roar of the firearms.
The Enemies: I've finished this on the 'Medium' setting and I dread to think what the 'Hard' and the potentially unreachable 'Black Ops' settings are like. The enemies are numerous, itchy footed, and heavily armoured. They are extremely resilient to body shots and the only surefire way to down an opponent is with a well executed headshot or a close range face full of buck shot. At times you need to resort to emptying an entire clip from a AK or M16 into an enemie's chest at point blank range in order to drop them. The fact that they're so resilient makes a succesful headshot all the more satisfying.
The Levels: I'm sure that anyone with an interest in this game has already heard about the 'destructability' of the environments, so I won't go into it. Most of the levels are a fairly decent size and not too linear, there's usually at least two options for how to progress through a section. In most cases, the environments are run down and industrial - factories, rubbish tips, warehouses, dockyards etc. The levels reminded me a little of Half Life 2, and the part underneath the bridge is surely a nod to the Valve masterpiece.
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is because with only 8 levels, each taking me about an hour to complet on medium, it's a little short, but it left me itching for the sequel. If you're a fan of Half Life 2, Soldier of Fortune or Far Cry, you should definately give Black a run for it's money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant........but long, 20 Nov. 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Black (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game is an absolutely fantastic game: brilliant weapon sounds, realistic movement and awesome graphics. However, there are two things that really did get on my nerves while playing this game. Firstly, it takes a hell of a lot to kill even a normal enemy, meaning that if you want to progress quickly, you end up trying to headshot every single enemy. Then come the tough guys. Me and my cousin now refer to them as "spaz guys" as they come charging at you with a Spaz 12 shotgun. You have to spend either a whole magaziner or two grenades on them. Secondly, although the first couple of missions are very enjoyable, this game's missions can be repetitive and are extremely long. The length of these missions may be alright if you could save half-way threough a mission but unfortunately it doesnt have this feature so you either have to play for more than an hour to complete a mission or be prepared to play the same mission over and over and not finish it. Having said that, these are the ONLY two flaws i have found and no-where near put this game down enough for me to say not to buy it. If you are a fan of games like.........well its not really like any other games i can think of, maybe Rainbow Six 3 but without a team to control. I recomend this game strongly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing - Would B better with a "save option", 16 Oct. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Black (Xbox) (Video Game)
Piece of advice, first play this game, then you get yourself an opinion about it.

Like the title said, with an "manual save option" like HL2 has, this game would be great, second only to HL2 IMHO.

If you like FPS, this game is definitely for you. The storyline is merely a filler between the episodes of the game, but you'll enjoy a few seconds of rest before you get back to the intense thrilling action of next level.

For me, even on easy level, it took me 7-8 hours to complete. If you fail at certain point, you will have to progress from your last autosave point, but you have to finish the level because you can not save these autosave points.

Maybe, like other reviewers said, the next installment of Black will give us this option.

I only hope this next game would still be for Xbox (not 360).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nailed, 28 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Black (Xbox) (Video Game)
This is the first time I have writen a review, and the reason I have decided to start now? It's because since playing Black I feel an incontrolable need to spread the word on how fantastic this game actually is. And this is coming from someone who only has one other FPS in his top 20 all time games, that's goldeneye, and although Black hasn't the multiplayer experience that GE had, it takes you places GE never even knew excisted. I found myself shaking my head in awe many times throughout this game, and although fairly short, is perfectly designed to let you pick it up and play any of the 8 levels (once completed of course) whenever you feel the need for a trigger-happy, war inticed rush.
O.k this game does have it's flaws and if you're expecting a great long epic storyline, then forget it. You'll watch the short pre-level scenes closely at first but soon it just doesn't matter, you mission is to kill, to hell with motives. The enemies AI is good but has it's occasional moments of stupidity but once you start playing you should soon realise what the guys at Criterion Games were trying to achieve - a back to basics, completely enthralling , white-finger ride FPS, and boy have they nailed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if burnout was a FPS this would be it, 22 Jan. 2008
By 
ultraviolet (hythe, kent, uk) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Black (Xbox) (Video Game)
this took me back to the golden age of games like GoldenEye on the N64,

its just so uncomplecated just loads and loads of gunfire! just what a first person shooter should be like

theres no 'save game' while your playing a level so you just have to go for it and watch your back

it may be short, but, you have to play it through three times to get the ultimate 'Black Ops' mode which is simply lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of Destructive Fun!, 2 Aug. 2007
By 
DAZ (Manchester, Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Black (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game is one of the most fun I've played in ages and one I keep going back to for a 'quick blast'. The graphics are good, the sound quality (especially the weapon sounds) is exceptional and really adds to the atmosphere. This game strips away all the fluff and lets you just let rip and shoot everything, increasing the fun levels and letting you just switch off and relax.

It has some flaws - the levels are very long and there is no save option, so you really have to finish a level before you switch off. There is no 2 player co-operative or deathmatch mode which would elevate this game to one of the best ever (fingers crossed for Black 2!!). A 'Challenge Mode' would also be good in this game (Challenges like destroy as much as possible or most kills in a minute would be tailor made for this game). But despite these flaws, this remains a tremendously polished game that takes First Person Shooters back to the basic raw essentials. Recommended, especially at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Fun with small drawbacks, 15 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Black (Xbox) (Video Game)
Black is a great game as all the other reviewers have said, good graphics - the scenary is superb, smooth game play and the sound is Brrrrillll and the choicest weapons which sound authentic too. The emphasis seems to be, that you should keep playing it though, as if you die you go back to the last check point or the annoying part - start of the level - there are no save points like Half Life 2 where you can save anywhere so it ain't easy hence 4* and watch your health bar as you need to heal yourself by button press or else DEATH is iminent. All in all addictive FPS which is great fun. But on the save issue I would have to say that's the drawback and the . To say that you can complete in 8 hours is for me an over statement but I guess there must be some hardened gamers out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Short but so much more than sweet, 13 July 2014
By 
crliege (Guildford, Surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black (Xbox) (Video Game)
I bought this game when it first came out - I'm a big fan of FPS, and this looked to be just the ticket.

Down the years, changing from the original XBox to several versions of the XBox 360, I've played this on and off every once and a while. I always go back to it when I'm wondering what to get next, and can't be tempted, but just want to shoot stuff.

I read one review which said that this would be next-to-impossible on Black Ops level (the hardest - there are three other levels of difficulty - in order: Easy, Normal and Hard), and having played it on all levels from start to finish, I was intrigued to see what was special about Black Ops, and what would make it so difficult.

OK, firstlly, you have to complete all objectives, including all theprimary and secondary ones in order to get a green light at the end of the tunnel. Playing on Easy level you have varying availability of ammo and health packs, and these get fewer and fewer as you progress up the difficulty ladder. Until you hit Black Ops and find there are no health packs (well, there is just one in the whole game - in the Naszran Town level). Playing on, for me, the most difficult level of Hard, I was expecting Black Ops to be impossible - Hard is difficult in some places, particularly in Tivliz Asylum, on the Graznei Bridge and, lastly, in the Spetriniv Gulag at the end, where there's pretty well nowhere to hide: getting past the last part of the Tiviliz Asylum can be really tough. Dying is a common outcome of lack of caution, as on Hard enemies are tough and seem to be very accurate!

In single player mode you have a side-kick or even a group of them in some chapters, and they can't be killed, which is rather amusing, but they're not much help either, as they just make it obvious that there are enemies about and they've spotted you. Followed by loads of rounds coming your way if you poke your head out from cover. They stand up, Rambo-style and shoot a lot, but don't kill anyone.

As you play the game on harder and harder levels, you'll get killed more and more easily, which makes the game an adrenaline white-nuckle ride in places.

So, Black Ops should be impossible, right? You should die in seconds and get really frustrated and kick the cat? Not a bit of it as it has one really beautiful secret: unlimited ammunition - your pouch shows 999 rounds for any weapon you're holding! Get an RPG or the really excellent sniper rifle and, well, imagine what fun you can have! After the tension and tough experience of this game on Hard, on Black Ops, having the power of several gods at your fingertips is nothing short of insane. Wonderful. OK, you can be somewhat careless in the sense that you can sit on a hill and take your time with a bazooka and kill off anything that moves, and even the tough grunts with a mask are fun to see coming your way. It's almost as though Black Ops was a prize for getting past the other, easier levels. Too, by that time you've got a pretty good idea what's going to happen, as the story is exactly the same, and the enemy always do the same thing no matter what the difficulty setting is.

On Black Ops you also have a super "standard" rifle which, I found by accident, has an unlimited supply of grenades hidden under the left trigger. OK, you can shoot as much as you like (make sure you keep an eye on reloads) with ordinary bullets - you have 95 in each magazine, but there's a really sick, sad and wonderfully enjoyable pleasure in blasting anything and everything with grenades or, when you can get it, an RPG.

There are no saves available in this game, so if you die in a story, you're set back to the start of that particular chapter. You learn to watch for health packs and keep your weapons stocked up.

My only real complaint is that this game only has about 8 chapters. Too, it's not a game where you can wander about in buildings for the most part, so it's pretty linea. The sound and graphics are very good, especially considering that it was released and I bought my copy in 2006.

Having said that, because I know it so well, it's always a pleasure to play. One bonus is, of course, that it can be played on both the original XBox, for which it was designed, and also the XBox 360. A singular word of warning: playing Black on XBox 360 in the Naszran Foundry, I found that my screen was very, very dark, so dark that the game is unplayable. I have two copies of this game and both, from time to time give the same oddity. It's always at the start of the mission, and the best way to get things back to normal is to go back to the start screen and start the game again. A bit of a bore - I also once noticed, when I tried to play through the dark mist, that after about 5 minutes, the light came back on. Go figure!

I'd heartily recommend this to anyone who likes an FPS (apart from XBoxOne owners, of course), and especially to those amongst us who just like to shoot stuff. Lots and lots of times.

Persevere to Black Ops, the rewards are just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST GAME XBOX HAS MADE, 9 April 2009
By 
Brendan Wintle (WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Black (Xbox) (Video Game)
IT IS BETER THAN MOST 360 SHOOTERS I STILL PLAY IT AND IVE GOT A 360 ELITE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars don't buy in to the hype, 8 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Black (Xbox) (Video Game)
I'm on the last level of this game, and this game is nowhere near as good as the hype suggests
The graphics look good in still, however there are some problems with the graphics, wether its popin, choppy animation, and blah ground textures. The game itself is as barebones as an FPS can be, running from point A to B just shooting is extremely monotonous, the only thing other than blowing stuff up is picking up blueprints, maps and blowing up safes.
The game itself while short, is a major drag after the first 3 levels when you realize that you are doing the same thing over and over. The "blow everything up" aspect isn't even true. I also like the fact that I can blow up trucks and put holes in buildings, but I can't even vault over a fence or a small wall. Hell even Killzone let you vault over such things. The A.I. is nothing to write home about either. It's just an overall mediocre game in every aspect besides its sound, controls, and graphics (to a point).
Now most won't agree with me just because you want Black to be your "Best FPS on PS2" game. So I'm expecting to get negative responses from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black (Xbox)
Black (Xbox) by Electronic Arts (Xbox)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews