Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are you the one?
I brought this game on the day of release as I am a huge matrix fan. I was expecting it to be O.K but something mainly for fans of the films, but this is a great game in its own right.
The game follows Neo through the Matrix films. This starts as Mr Anderson in the business offices where he first tries to escape Agent Smith. This progresses, and when he awakens in...
Published on 13 Nov. 2005 by C. O'Connor

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The One or not.
This game could have been so much more. What they have is good, the fighting moves are all quite interesting and the first time you see many of them you're very impressed. And it is always a treat to see fighting in slow motion. The first time you link together attacks on multiple enemies sending them flying and watching them all land simultaneously as you come out...
Published on 6 Dec. 2005 by darthmccarth


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Are you the one?, 13 Nov. 2005
By 
C. O'Connor "chrisuk5" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Matrix: Path of Neo (PS2) (Video Game)
I brought this game on the day of release as I am a huge matrix fan. I was expecting it to be O.K but something mainly for fans of the films, but this is a great game in its own right.
The game follows Neo through the Matrix films. This starts as Mr Anderson in the business offices where he first tries to escape Agent Smith. This progresses, and when he awakens in the real world, he starts to learn more interesting and varied moves, becoming more and more impressive. This continues to the apocalyptic showdown at the end between Neo and Smith.
The graphics are really what let this game down. Although the characters are incredible, their are glitches where at times you won't be able to see your character because of the camera angle (which is a bit annoying.) This is not a fatal flaw as on the whole its fairly impressive, but this really does have an effect on the overall score. Locations are well detailed, and almost everything can be destroyed from pillars to walls, to the works, adding a nice touch to the game.
Gameplay wise you have an incredible arsenal of moves and combo's, throws etc, which vary from weapon to weapon, meaning that theres always something new. These become more impressive as you go on, unlocking bigger and better combo's. For instance, at the start, you can't dodge bullets, later you learn to dodge them, finally, you'll be able to just stop them. Cool. The locations are all from the three films, such as the lobby scene, and the fight with Agent Smith in the Subway, to the hundreds of Smiths you fight in the second film. There are some interesting additions, such as the training simulator where you see Neo first learning attacks in a chinese martial arts computer game-its a nice touch. Add to this the guns, and more guns, and you've got a great computer game.
The music is alright, its all taken from the films, so nothing new. However, there is an all new ending to the Matrix on the disc, some film footage, and some other goodies to unlock. However, the game is not very long, (7 hours.) Overall though, its enjoyable, easy to get to grips with (despite the magazines saying the controls would be poor) and its a great addition to any Matrix fan or any other person for their gaming collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you "The One?" If not buy this game!!!, 19 Nov. 2005
By 
Mr. R. M. Cavinder "peteloaf212" (Watford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Matrix: Path of Neo (PS2) (Video Game)
Yes, I think this game is the best released this year. You may think WOW! thats a bit extreme. I have 3 words for you "BUY THIS GAME!" Honestly you wont be disappointed.
The system which controls Neo's fighting abilities is great. For instance when your fighting the 100 or so Agent Smith's (Matrix Reloaded) you can actually do more or less all the fighting bits you see in that scene. Its amazing!
You not only complete bits seen in the film but also bits outside of it aswell.
For instance remember the bit when Morpheus is speaking to the counicllor of Zion and he says how they have released more people from the matrix in 6 months than in 6 years. Well, you complete in a set of missions to release a few people out of the matrix.
There is one problem, Neo can fly, stop bullets, release moves, stop time. And from that it would seem as though he is indestructible. The good thing about that is that he is not. However getting hit by one of the swat team members does kinda take the fun out of being "The One!"
Apart from that MINOR lapse this game is definitely the best of 2005 and maybe even 2006 for that matter. Like my title when playing this game you actually are "The One!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ooooh so good, 13 Dec. 2005
This review is from: The Matrix: Path of Neo (PS2) (Video Game)
Well, before i bought it the standards had a lot to live up to. Although the last game was of little interest by way of characters and occasionally the story, but the action gameplay was incredible, and now we have a marked improvement in path of neo. Let's face it you don't buy the game for the story, one which cinematically opens up new questions in every scene without answering any of the previous ones, you buy it for being neo and laughing as helpless CGI characters fall under your might.
When they say you follow the trilogy, that's all they mean and more. You start by choosing whether to take the blue pill or red pill at the start of the film. You also have loads of crazy in depth sub-quests. Anyone who bought the previous game knows that you spend time in the locations such as the chateau, as you do in this one, except it's some crazy physcadelic S&M factory with weird mazes (don't worry, it's not a set of puzzles like prince of persia, though there are gameplay similarities). These sub-plots are interesting and weird, but can get repetitive.
For gampeplay i give it 9/10. You follow a very accurate progression, with new abbilities either given to you or you upgrade them yourself. Like the previous reviewer said, in the burly brawl, you can do more or less all the same moves. Fighting wise, they've just massively improved on the last game, which was always going to be difficult.
There are one or two drawbacks. Upon completion, which i mastered in 1 and a half days (and frankly i'm a rubbish gamer)
you can go back and repeat all the joys of your old missions, but you can only do it with the abilities you had at the time, so now my neo is the hardcore guy you see at the end, if you play a previous mission used to the other techniques and moves, it's weird cos it's like you take a step down and makes it less enjoyable.
Graphics are good, not amazing but there's so much interaction available you really can't complain, basically everything can be destroyed. The controls aren't the most sensible ever but they shouldn't give you a claw hand.
Overall i'd give it a 4.5, cos the game is immense, you can literally step into neo's shoes, leading up to code vision, stopping and reflecting bullets, flying/super-jumping and kicking around an army of smiths. BUY It.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The One or not., 6 Dec. 2005
This review is from: The Matrix: Path of Neo (PS2) (Video Game)
This game could have been so much more. What they have is good, the fighting moves are all quite interesting and the first time you see many of them you're very impressed. And it is always a treat to see fighting in slow motion. The first time you link together attacks on multiple enemies sending them flying and watching them all land simultaneously as you come out of focus with Neo standing in a shoulder tilted ‘just whooped someone’s butt’ pose, is one of the coolest things you could see. The problem is, the bad parts of the game out weigh the good. The amount of times I’ve pressed jump, lock on, shoot or punch and nothing has happened. It takes quite a large portion of the story for the average player to get used to the nuances of the game. For example – When you run, there is a small zone as Neo speeds up from walking to sprinting, where if you press jump it will not work. This can be very annoying at certain points of the game, when you have completed a whole fight section against an agent and the last thing it requires you to do is jump a gap; if jump fails to work then you must do it all again. Other aspects of the game prove just as irritating, the absence of an in game map proves very disorientating, this shows up in the sewer level in particular, you are running with Trinity, Switch and co, there’s an explosion and they double back on themselves, I lost them at that point and did not know where they had gone. Or after you fight Smith in the train station, you run through the streets looking for a way out, here again I had no idea which way to go. This may not happen to other gamers (who are first time lucky or psychic) but could be solved with a simple way pointer. The whole game feels shoddy and has a sense that it has been rushed; for example – some levels you can skip the cut scenes and some you can’t. What, couldn’t they decide? This proves most annoying when repeating a level and having to sit through it all again. For me this proves a game has not been tested properly, you should either be able to skip them or not, not left wondering whether you can skip. This should have been solved earlier in the game’s production, as there are an inane amount of cut scenes in between every action sequence, and you are left pressing the buttons in a vain attempt to skip them, this all the time raising the irritation levels of the game. A game I may add, most people already know the story too! We should not HAVE to sit through it all again. It’s not that good, especially after the first film.
I am a fan of the films as they are, I’ve played this for a solid week now and I am very disappointed with it. I enjoyed Enter The Matrix far more, it was action packed and the fighting moves seemed more fluid. The only problem with that game is I wanted to be Neo all the way through it. Now I can be, and it just doesn’t do it for me. I can not fly and hover for one, which I am completely obsessed with, only a half hearted attempt at a double jump then a glide is all we get, and what’s the deal with not getting it until three or four levels after we see Neo fly in a cut scene at the end of the first film, it just doesn’t link well. This just seems like a series of set pieces shabbily sewn together with some serious control flaws. The camera is not fast enough on the turn and too often do you find yourself in the middle of a fight looking at a wall, with no idea what is going on. Not good enough!
I enjoyed the fighting, shooting and jumping, when it worked. The rest of the time I was just irritated by the endless cut scenes and control flaws. After the first film the Matrix has just slowly fizzled out, this just adds weight to a train that was already losing momentum.
The Path of Neo is definitely worth a rent, because what they have got right is really good, although you might not complete it in two nights. But unless you are Matrix obsessed or Neo himself, I would not buy it, because the flaws let it down, all the way down to Zion town baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prince of Persia....with kung fu & guns!!!!, 17 Nov. 2005
By 
Mr. I. Nahaboo "itzhakn1982" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Matrix: Path of Neo (PS2) (Video Game)
Playing as Neo through all the three matrix movies is an absolutely amazzing experience. Having reached the apartment block maze so far in the game, i am greatly impressed. However, i can't help feeling that we have been cheated out of the promised RPG aspect of upgrading Neo. Yes you can upgrade his abilities but only using a basic one point= one special move system. I was expecting a more deatiled Exp. points = ailities and specaials Final Fantasy X style sphere grid system. Still, that does not take away from the fact that the moves are absolutely amazing, more extreme and crazier kung-fu action than was seen on screen. Gameplay wise it plays like Prince of Persia with guns. The enemy AI ranges from pretty poor in many cases to relentless in others, making the difficulty at times, unbalanced. The shooting side of things is far from perfect. Target lock is fine but cycling through targets (which is frequently needed) is a bit of a nightmare. Maybe it is may severly abused joypad but it does not seem to switch fast enough during the intense fire-fights.
The grpahical aspect of the game is excellent, capturing the feel of the movies. Sound & music is top notch and is also faithful to the trilogy. All the cast memebers have returned to provide the voices for their respective characters, so we do not get any second-rate impersonators. Being a die-hard Matrix fan i feel that this is THE Matrix game, it buries Enter the Matrix and dances on its grave! Its definitely not perfect but allows you to live out all your bullet time fantasies. Love the Matrix, love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Path to almost perfection..., 12 Nov. 2005
This review is from: The Matrix: Path of Neo (PS2) (Video Game)
... only, it goes on a mock 180 degrees to almost destruction. Why? Well, it is, after all, made by Atari.
Don't get me wrong; it's a good game. But it suffers from the same problems that hung "enter the matrix" by it's frail neck.
The path of Neo takes you on a journey of becoming the one. You play memorable scenes from the movie, plus added bonus - meaning, those memorable scenes becoming very extended and filled with action. And you're going to keep going from the first to the very last movie.
As usually, the hand-to-hand combat is sweet to initiate. Mouth watering, I tell you. It's definitely a step forward from what we witnessed in "enter the matrix".
Gun play as well is a lot more fun with focus.
Having said that, it's such a shame that this game would fall due to irrelevant causes. The graphics looks wonderful. Neo looks like Keanu, Trinity looks like Moss, and Morpheus looks exactly like his real life counterpart. Nevertheless, I don't think I'll appreciate seeing Neo walk right through Trinity as if she were dust.
The frame rate never slows down, yet funny things happen - like Neo standing on thin air when he should have fallen, having stepped away from the edge of a high ground.
Sometimes, the sound of punches and kicks disappears and just the music plays. Weird.
I feel that the people at Atari had the great vision to make this the matrix into a game. It shows from the fights and the cutscenes. However, putting that vision to reality became a big problem, as you will see when you play the game.
But it's all good. Better them than EA, who would have made it look so fantastic (like something you would want to eat), yet play even more horrible.
The verdict: Path of Neo plays fine, works fine, but looks jumbled in some occassions. Sometimes, I don't even know what's happening when I'm bashing my buttons.
I'll give it 3 and half stars. A very Nice attempt by Atari/Shinny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Claw!", 5 Dec. 2005
This review is from: The Matrix: Path of Neo (PS2) (Video Game)
yes! the claw! I was quite amused when the officail ps2 magazine described the control system for this game as "a new contender for the ps2s strangest control system" as apparently, after 30 mins of play, this is how they foud them solves holding their pad.
I really thought they were joking, until my freind brought a copy, and bot were they right.
30 mins of play and i felt like i had no thumb, but as they say " no pain, no matrix game!"
So a really difficult game to control, but visually and gameplay wise it really impresses, the fighting system and the special effects are much improved from the rather average 1st ps2 matrix game (and theres neo in it!) and thank god, theyve cut most of the dreadful 3rd movie out! All the great screnes from the movies are recreated brilliantly, making this game a great attempt at a PROPER matrix game, but whats with the controls.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing But Short, 22 Sept. 2006
By 
E. McArdle-Daniels (Boston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Matrix: Path of Neo (PS2) (Video Game)
Ok, first off lets make it clear that I'm no gamer; I lose interest in games very quickly, and so understand that when I say this game is short, I MEAN it's short.

Lets start with graphics, seeing as everyone seems obsessed with them, the in game graphics themselves are not great, but they are definitely an improvement from Enter the Matrix, and the cutscenes are actually quite impressive. Basically the graphics are nothing astounding but they're good enough to keep you feeling 'part of the game'.

Next, gameplay, the game is quite easy, and I completed most levels without too many deaths, and as I'm not a great gamer that means that more experienced gamers might be dissapointed. The moves are moderately easy to master, and after a while it just becomes dodges and pressing buttons in the right order to pull off cool attacks, which in themself are impressive but tend to be repetetive. Not much puzzle solving, its more about running into room, shooting someone, fighting someone else, leaving room.

The fact that the gameplay isn't too demanding meant that a lot of the time I could relax and just enjoy beating the cr*p out of anyone who came near me and funwise this was very enjoyable; I must admit that the Burly Brawl scene which I expected to be very difficult was very enjoyable, I just grabbed a pole and smacked the Agents around. So basically while it's not too hard it's quite fun.

Now, my problem, the length! I bought the game 3 weeks ago for £8 from HMV (it looked like a bargain!), I spent the first week playing, left it the second week and then lent it to a friend for a week, who incidentally has just bought the game, but my point is when he returned it today I carried one from the beginning of the second film part of the game, and have almost completed it, in one night! So any avid gamer could have the game completed in 3 days or less, as the thrid film section is simply the Last Battle between Smith and Neo! So it's not very long, not long at all, I expect to have it completed by Monday (still remebering I'm no gamer!).

Well for those who this didn't help (I expect I confused you) here's the lowdown:

Graphics: 4/5 Not great but still good

Gameplay: 3/5 Too easy; no puzzles to solve ect.

Fun: 4/5 Because it's every kid's dream to beat the cr*p out of someone with a big metal pole! Gets a bit reptitive though.

Length: 2/5 If I'e completed it by Monday that means it will have only taken me two weeks (at 2 hours a night, meaning it took me 24hours, pathetic!) and so it will take an avid gamer even less (even less than 24 hours, not worth the money!).

So basically only get it if you can find it somewhere cheap and you're a true fan; it will take one to get anything out of the game!

Hope this helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'Must Have' for all Matrix fans, 21 Feb. 2006
By 
Robert Cathles "RJC-UK" (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Matrix: Path of Neo (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game after reading some reviews that it wasn't a good game, had difficult controls and terrible graphics. When I bought it and played it, as it started off, the gameplay was a bit weird. But afterwards I knew that all I needed to be doing in this game was killing Agent Smith, over and over again! There are loads of 'forks' in this game where you can make your own choice on what levels and areas you want to go to. There is also lots of hidden content (video clips, cheats etc.) so make sure you play hard to find them! As for the graphics and controls, they're not bad, and look quite realistic in some levels and close-ups. There's a lot that happens in this game that runs alongside the Matrix Trilogy, but also a lot that you never got to see in the films. A great game and must have if you want to fully understand the whole Matrix Experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An acceptable yet oddly off-putting take on the Matrix films., 29 Feb. 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Matrix: Path of Neo (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is initially very entertaining, and looks pretty cool too. The in-game graphics when fighting are impressive, with hugely destructable environments and nice-looking attacks etc. When we get up close, however, the character models are often crude and angular, and the cinematics can be frankly embarassing in terms of the lack of realism(eg. smith's death at the end of matrix 1). The gunfighting is also relatively poor. The game is fun, but it has a distintly cheap look about it that distracts from the better aspects. Some crucial fights are handled badly ( the burly brawls lets you fight only about 6 agents at a time, and the end battle with smith is boring and dissapointing) and the wild changes in tone from serious to sometimes completely ridiculous are off-putting. There are many situations not seen in the film and most are baffling and so strange that I wonder what is actually happening(the section where Neo tries to escape from the Merovingian's mansion is the most boring and pointless section in the game). That said, the sound is fine, the voice acting is good and the fighting system is well handled. An acceptable yet oddly off-putting take on the Matrix films.

Graphics - 3
Sound - 3
Fun - 4
Gameplay - 3
Duration - 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Matrix: Path of Neo (PS2)
The Matrix: Path of Neo (PS2) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation2)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews