Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars58
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 3 November 2005
In 2004, Star Wars Battlefront was released. Although not wildly popular at its time of release, the game gradually won many gamers over with its awesome gameplay. The deathmatch-style gaming in a galaxy far, far away ended up becoming the best-selling Star Wars game of all time! Still, while it was one of the best Star Wars games ever, it did lack in a few areas, and it left fans yearning for a sequel. One finally arrived in the Fall of 2005! Is it an improvement? Read on for my review of Star Wars Battlefront II.
I had high expectations for this game, being that the first Battlefront was one of my all-time favorite Star Wars gaming experiences. The sequel takes this already-excellent formula, and makes it even better in a number of ways! Let's see how it fares.
-THE GAMEPLAY THAT MADE THE ORIGINAL BATTLEFRONT SUCH A GREAT GAME MAKES A COMEBACK HERE. The original game was a Star Wars fan favorite, and I'm not at all surprised that the basic gameplay concepts, for the most part, remain unchanged in most modes of play.
-THE STORY MODE HAS GOTTEN A REVAMP. Rather than just generic battles aroun the galaxy, it has become mission and objective-oriented. The alteration makes for a refreshing change of pace from the standard battle games.
-TONS OF NEW LOCATIONS TO TAKE THE FIGHT TO. The locales you'll explore in this game have greatly been expanded. Now, you can fight in a great deal more places than the first game. Episode III worlds like Utapau and Mustafar are now playable, as well as other classic Star Wars scenes like Dagobah and the interior of the Death Star.
-SPACE COMBAT! This is the thing the game is getting a lot of hype for. You can now do your battles in space! The sheer amount of options in such a battle makes these some of the funnest things the game offers. You can fly a starfighter and attack enemy ships from the outside, or land in their docks and cause destruction from the inside out (and maybe even steal an enemy fighter!) This is definitely one of the game's best features.
-JEDI/SITH CHARACTERS NOW PLAYABLE. Such characters were just "extras" on the battle scenes of the first Battlefront, but now they are playable! In your battles, sometimes you'll get an option to play as one if you fulfill certain objectives. Now a whole cast of them is available for play, and it definitely makes your fights more interesting.
-LOTS OF OTHER NEW STUFF. For instance, in some battles, you can earn points by killing foes, and my killing them and getting these points you can choose from other character classes that weren't available at the beginning of the battle. There are also tons of new vehicles, including many that premiered in Episode III.
-GRAPHICS ARE BETTER THAN EVER! If you thought the first Battlefront had great graphics, you haven't seen anything yet. This is about as good as a game of this type could possible look.
Overall, the sequel to the best-selling Star Wars game of all time is even better than its awesome-in-its-own-right predecessor. If you liked the first Battlefront, you're bound to like the second one even better. I give it my highest possible recommendation if you're a fan of Star Wars. Pick this one up. It may be a little hard to learn if you're new to this sort of thing, but ultimately, you should agree that this game rocks.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 23 November 2005
I didn't think much could be done to improve on the first game, but this is just magnificient! The new planets and arenas to fight on are splendid, except for Felucia, which i found haphazard at best. The space sequences are different to how i thought they were going to be and a bit disappointing....i assumed that you'd take off from a home vessel, invade an enemy vessel with your troops, and then what follows would be kind of like a proper ship based level. Not so. You do exactly the same thing in every space battle....board an enemy ship, destroy all the on-board components, take off and continue to hammer the ship until you win....boring.....Also, the ground vehicles have lost a LOT of their power....
However, the enhanced areas from the first game are amazing. Hoth, Naboo and tatooine are all improved. New levels like the Death Star are just superb, but the real cherry is being able to play as Grievous, Maul, Vader,Sidious, Obi-Wan, Yoda, Dooku, Boba Fett, Han, Luke.....pure genius! Playing as Jango is a pain as his weapons are duff, same with Leia.
if you liked the first game, this is a vital purchase! Good graphics, involving play, and creative levels make for a superb game marred slightly by poor space combat.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 24 February 2007
What an amazing game!

Compared to Battlfront 1 this has a lot better graphics and more Characters, as well as new content, Space battles in which your aim is to destroy the enemies fleet by any means possible, Playing as Jedi's and Sith's such as Darth Vader and Yoda! Final;ly playing in 16 locatrions.

The great thing about star wars battlefront2 it goes through each episode really. Including episodes 3's big show down of the clones and droids which is great fun to play.

Galatic conquest is more fun than battlefront 1 due to the help of the jedis and that you can play as them. My favourite character to play as would either be Darth Vader due to his special features, Darth Sidious/ Emperor palpatine because of his lightening strike or Yoda as hes just cool in general.

I must mension on seperate form everyhitng else the fun of space battles. You can generaly fly all of the fighters or gun ship eg x-wings, republic gunships and jedi star fighters my favourite due to there speed and great effective weapons.

With the instant action improved with there hunt modes etc this game you cant get bored with.

If your going to buy this there isnt much hesitation really, just look at the back of the game in the shop or look it up on google images and your just want to buy it straight away.

To sum this up a great game which your never get bored with.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 6 October 2006
Having had the first battlefront, I was excited when BF2 was released. The graphics are much better, the gameplay smoother and there are far more options - the gradual improvement in the skills of your own character throughout the life of the game is a subtle but worthy addition.

Most of my experience with this game is on teh galactic conquest mode which is challenging and fun. the space battles are great, realistic, exciting. The ship control much better than the original. I ahev no gripes with this game at all...other than it can be highly addictive - that 'just one more battle' thing. It is great to have conquests that run into weeks, try out differenet tactics.

Experience the star wars world and lose yourself. Maybe the most enjoyable multiple person game I have teh way, I'm 33. younger children may find the intricies hard to grasp
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
My son bought this wondering whether it would play on the xbox 360. I said it probably would not. It does. It is backward compatible. You need the an Xbox 360 with a hard drive. You need to connect to xbox live to download the latest updates and you need to be live when putting the game in. You will then be prompted for a game update. Minutes alter it worked without problem. The main reason for writing this review is to inform of the above. I will leave the game review to the experts, of which I am not one. My son has played many of the lego Star Wars games on xbox and thinks they are brilliant. He thinks this game is better and to use his word is "awesome", high praise indeed. The graphics do look very very good. More 'realistic' than Lego? He can't wait for No.3!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 27 March 2008
this game is everything you could want from a starwars game because: can fight as EVERYONE! the rebels, wookies, jedi, empire plus more.
2.good variety of personnel classes, snipers, demolitiors, grunts and more
3.plenty of offline play, loads of different single player things to do.
4.good online gaming are not bad either can do space battles, flying x-wings and all the classics!
7.any vehicle you see, you can drive/use it.

but there are a few bad things:
1.the camera angle can get in the way of things sometimes will most probably kill more of your own men than the enemy!
3.and three, well, i dont think there is anymore!

overall this is a fabulous game, and a must buy for all starwars fans, and its xbox360 compatible so you dont have to worry if youve only got a 360 and not a normal xbox.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 23 December 2005
Excellent, pure class Star wars Battlefront 2 is a must have for any gamer who likes shooting games. Unlike Star wars Battlefront 1 You can be a jedi like yoda and darth vader and even darth sirius. There are also great oppetunities to fight in space and shoot down enemy fighters or fight on one of the enemy space crafts like the death star. It is also an online game just as much as it is offline so you can fight other people all across the web. Star wars Battlefront 2 is a great multiplayer game and I would say it is a must buy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 3 May 2006
Star Wars is such a huge fantasy epic which grasps the minds of so many loving fans. When Battlefront 1 came out it was like a dream come true. Forget Star Wars galaxies, forget Jedi knight jedi academy, forget all previous star wars games (well don't forget them there still great its just a figure of speech and a good emphasis method) Battlefront 1 was a hit. The chance to play in all your favourite battles with your favourite vehicles and a vast assortment of units was mind-blowing. And with Battlefront 2 there are even more battlegrounds to play on with even more vehicles and units. Space battles,a better ranking system having to earn the right to play as the special units. With a new 501st campaign and better galactic conquest this game seemed ready for stardom. But that wasn't all, the most exciting feature was the ability to play as hero or villian. What else could be better, to play possibly some of your favourite star wars hero or villans in some of your favourite battles. Ok there were restrictions to which hero which map but still incredibly fun and amazing to just chop through all those enemies with a sabre. The only major disapointment was the loss of a few original maps but on xbox live you can download some and there are also going to be more no doubt with new heroes and villans. So in my own personal view this is the BEST STAR WARS GAME EVER cause you can play it over and over and over and over and over and etc again and never get bored. Well i can.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2009
I'm not a huge star wars fan but this game rocks. Its jsut awesome. The levels are large and varied in their environments, the gameplay is excellent and the space battles are a great addition. Also playable heroes makes this game the best. Theres nothing better than the beach at kashyyk or the courtyard on naboo. In fact there are so many awesome battles that you'll never get bored. Playing as the CIS, rebels, storm troopers, is jsut brilliant but you can take control of wookies, droidekas, even those giant ape things on Hoth. As well as yoda, han solo, darth maul, vader, the emperor, boba fett and many more. There tonnes of vehicles and differing static weapons as well, so you can jump into tanks or massive guns when you want to. Lots of different campaigns and modes too to keep you busy. I cant say enough things about this game I just love it. No one messes with the 501st
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
This is a game I keep returning to. And I'm not all that crazy about Star Wars - it's just hard to imagine this game work in any other wrapping paper. It's a simplistic domination-oriented 3rd person shooter, and can seem a bit basic and overly easy at times.

But your options on the battlefront are just diverse enough that you get to feel like a war hero of a Star Wars battle. It occationally gets your pulse up, while you're struggling to wrap your head around "How did I survive for this long?". Not every aspect works all that well, particularly the space battles feel wonky and often too unrealistic and random. The process of boarding an enemy cruiser quickly loses it's on-paper allure and becomes repetitive.

But the core gameplay is impressive and what every game should aspire to: endlessly fun!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.