Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Difinitive WW2 Shooter for Xbox
I'm a huge fan of first person shooters and have probably played a good chunk of the games available in this genre on both PS2 and Xbox. In terms of WW2 shooters, this is in my view the best so far and, considering the next generation consoles are here, I can't see anything set to beat this.
The visuals are pretty impressive, much more detailed than the...
Published on 16 Jan 2006 by mellowmarshman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars great wold war two FPS
Having played on a number of wolrd war 2 games over a number of years on both consoles alot of them don't dissapoint like the excellent medal of honor series on PS2 and X-box.I bought this game after i played on call of duty 2 on the x box 360 and i was somewhat dissapointed The live game on it is crap .And the main campain mode is ok i picked it up cheap on...
Published on 15 July 2006 by Mr. J. E. Reed


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Difinitive WW2 Shooter for Xbox, 16 Jan 2006
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: The Big Red One (Xbox) (Video Game)
I'm a huge fan of first person shooters and have probably played a good chunk of the games available in this genre on both PS2 and Xbox. In terms of WW2 shooters, this is in my view the best so far and, considering the next generation consoles are here, I can't see anything set to beat this.
The visuals are pretty impressive, much more detailed than the previous CoD game, and the missions are more varied too, with a wide variety of gameplay situations (standard FPS view, manning a fixed gun, driving a tank, manning an AA gun or 88, moving between the various gun turrets on a bomber, riding on a half track manning the gun, etc) plus constantly updating mission objectives which keep you on your toes. The action is relentless and the sound really drags you into the action with great atmospheric effect.
Being an ancient genre it's hard to be too innovative, so there isn't too much that hasn't been done before, but it's put together so well that it's easy to forgive.
There are a few glitches - your squad has a knack of getting in your way or in your line of fire at times, you have to rely on them to open doors (you can't open them yourself) and there is the usual 'can't jump higher than a couple of inches' caged in feeling sometimes, robbing you of a truly free roaming feel. But again, these are minor niggles which may stop it scoring a peferct 10 certainly don't stop it getting a very commendable 9. Probably only bettered by Call of Duty 2 on Xbox 360...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 31 July 2007
By 
Rob the brilliant (derby, derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: The Big Red One (Xbox) (Video Game)
I bought this when I found out it was backwards compatible and wanted something to wet my WWII FPS appetite until MOH Airborne comes out. I'll start by saying that the graphics are some of the best current-gen (or last-gen, or whatever) graphics I've seen. The gameplay is good and solid, apart from the annoyingly weak 30 calibre machine guns. Also there were too many of those dull missions where you get stuck in a tank or on a mounted machine gun.
However the attempt at making you care about your squad pretty much failed. You only get a sort of (without sounding too nerdy) game relationship with them if you listen intently during cutscenes, and even then it's shakey at best.
All in all though, a good game and worth the fiver I paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars great wold war two FPS, 15 July 2006
By 
Mr. J. E. Reed "The Phantom Man." (uk , portsmouth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: The Big Red One (Xbox) (Video Game)
Having played on a number of wolrd war 2 games over a number of years on both consoles alot of them don't dissapoint like the excellent medal of honor series on PS2 and X-box.I bought this game after i played on call of duty 2 on the x box 360 and i was somewhat dissapointed The live game on it is crap .And the main campain mode is ok i picked it up cheap on amazon.Brothers in arms is a much better game than this.The graphics are good , the gameplay is good for a wolrd war 2 FPS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars COD 2: Big Red One (Classic Xbox), 25 April 2014
By 
M Thompson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: The Big Red One (Xbox) (Video Game)
Big Red One is a game that allows you to play in the boots of a soldier in the U.S Army First Infantry Division, known as the Big Red One for their distinctive arm-patch. They were also known as the Fighting First, and had a fearsome reputation. As the game shows, it was rightly deserved - the Big Red One was a critical part in the most major battles of WW2, from the African Campaign to the invasion of Italy leading up to D-Day itself.

As soon as I settled down with this game, I was captured, as I was normally with any Call of Duty game. The shooting was great, the sound effects made me feel like I was really there, and the overall feel of warfare was very nice. It was soon apparent that the game had a few flaws, which I'll cover in a moment. These flaws could be frustrating at times, and sometimes the game felt like Treyarch had rushed to get it completed. Overall, however, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The graphics in this game are stupendously good, if not perfect. You can see the rust in the paint on tanks and smoking craters from mortar shells look very realistic. The explosions are awe-inspiring - I had to fight the urge not to stand up in real life and cheer with my men as a tank blew into a column of fire right in front of me. The particle and smoke effects are very well done, and there's nothing that quite beats seeing bullets ricochet off your cover, sending up small clouds of dust. All in all, the graphics are amazing, and will make you feel certainly on at least one level that you are really there.

However, the animations on soldiers look goofy at times, especially when they are hunched over and running - this could have used some work. Still, that's only a minor thing, and it's not really something that detracts from the enjoyment of the game.

The tracers on weapons, especially the .50 caliber machine gun, don't look realistic at times, seeming oversized and almost traveling too slowly. Sometimes, especially in a night scene, it looks like your machine gun has spontaneously turned into a laser. Still, it's not really noticeable, and like the animation, it's not really something that detracts too much from the game.

As with all Call of Duty games, the sound is near-perfect. Bullets ricochet, men yell as they're cut apart by bullets, and the desperate shouts of men under fire and mortar shells exploding everywhere capture the feel of war extremely well. Your squad leaders yell commands to panicked troops as tanks roll by and bullets impact everywhere. The "ping" sound as an M1 Garand rifle ejects it's clip is very realistic, and a lot of attention to detail was paid. The sound is amazing.

However, some guns, like the M1 Carbine, don't really sound powerful - they sound very weak sometimes. However, yet again, like the tracers and animation, it's not really something that detracts too much from the game. (I've gotta stop saying that...)

Now, let me get this out of the way: The game is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G here. It WILL make you feel like YOU are in Sicily fighting against Italian troops, it WILL make you think if you stick your head around the corner YOUR head will be shot off, NOT your AI player. Warfare is realistic. Moving from cover to cover as you try to evade machine gun blasts, firing at enemies in the distance with precise shots, diving for cover as a grenade clangs to the ground nearby, it's all great. Having enemy soldiers attacking a position you're holding is probably one of the best experiences you'll have in the game - it's awesome shooting a charging soldier while prone and watching him crash to the ground inches in front of you, stone dead. They captured the feel of what warfare in that era would be like extraordinarily well.

Unfortunately, the game has some shortcomings.

First of all, let's single out on the AI. The AI can be very dumb sometimes, which is surprising giving the AI track record of Call of Duty. Sometimes they won't even notice you're firing at them from their flank even after you shoot one of them in the gut and throw a grenade in their midst. While in Call of Duty 1 enemy troops used very nice tactics, these soldiers don't move much at all. They stand there, firing, letting you pick them off. The only time they really do move is when they're attacking a location you're in. Still, the AI can be quite smart at other times, too - sometimes they seem very realistic, tossing grenades and diving for cover, leaning out to cover another group of soldiers as they advance, etc. Whatever the case, overall the AI is disappointingly poor, but not horribly, horribly bad.

Now, here's another thing: sometimes killing an enemy can be very aggravating. More often than not, when you shoot someone, he crumples to the ground in pain. You think he's dead, but in the next second he gets up again and starts shooting. And you have to shoot him again. Now, it's pretty cool to shoot someone while they're writing on the ground, but this can be aggravating, and it happens WAY too much, namely almost every time. And the main concern is when you think an enemy's dead, but he gets up again just as you turn your back, and you've got about 0.1% health left... see where I'm going? The problem is, they need to seem more ALIVE when they crumple to the ground, as they look almost exactly like they would if they were dead, barely moving at all until they start to get up a few seconds later. Plenty more polish could have been used here.

Still, even with these flaws, the game is superb, and this didn't stop me from enjoying it - but it DID get frustrating at times. This probably isn't the game you want if you're angry and need a distraction - it'll just frustrate you more.

The campaign can be played differently in a number of small, different ways (like most first person shooters), and I always found it fun to go back and play levels I already did. The game held quite a bit of replay value for me. Whatever the case, it depends ultimately on the gamer, but this game will likely hold a good amount of appeal for a good amount of time for you.

Though the game does have it's flaws, needs polish, and ultimately seems a little rushed, I enjoyed it quite a bit. Playing as a soldier of the Big Red One was very enjoyable, and the realism of the game is definitely up to Call of Duty standards.

Some gamers might prefer a more polished title and it's probably best to get the measure of it before buying. However, if you don't mind a few flaws and are looking for a good WW2 first person shooter, this is probably a good game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this game., 13 Jun 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: The Big Red One (Xbox) (Video Game)
I love my CoD games, I played this yearsssss ago when they first came out on the PS; decided to get it for my xbox recently.....brings back memories on how cool we thought the graphics were back then.

Please note: you NEED to have a Microsoft original HD to play these games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the classic and heavily underrated FPS video games of all time., 6 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: The Big Red One (Xbox) (Video Game)
Call of Duty: Big Red One is without a shadow of a doubt one of the best COD games available. By today's standards it may be outdated and may even be considered obsolete by ignoramuses. However even playing it now (2012) it still proves to be one of the best COD games I've ever played.

To be clear Big Red One is my second favourite COD game. My first is the original COD. COD 2: Big Red One is a spin-off from the original game: Call of Duty 2. In my opinion COD: Big Red One is in fact superior to COD 2.

Big Red One differs from other games in the Call of Duty franchise in that it focuses on a single Allied formation in the War: the U.S. Army's 1st Infantry Division, which goes by the nickname Big Red One due to their unit patch which features a large red numeral one. The game covers the division's part in the invasion and liberation of North Africa, the invasion into Sicily, the landing on Omaha Beach in Europe and moving east, eventually crossing the Siegfried Line into Germany. At the end of each chapter and the beginning of the first, period footage with voiceover (courtesy of Mark Hamill, who was also in the Sam Fuller film, The Big Red One) is seen from the Military Channel, imitating a WWII documentary.

The game features several actors from the HBO miniseries Band of Brothers, including Michael Cudlitz, James Madio, Frank John Hughes, Richard Speight, Jr., Ross McCall, Rick Gomez and Rene Morono. The box cover features actor Stephen Saux. The story and characters were written by Aaron Ginsburg and Wade McIntyre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Call of duty 2, 18 Feb 2011
By 
Gregorio Triggiani (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: The Big Red One (Xbox) (Video Game)
Really great game and joyfull playing it. Stratigically still a fantastic game you must get it cant missit in your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is not the same game as the original call of duty 2, 18 Dec 2010
By 
L. M. Wilson "korcula blue" (Redcar, Cleveland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: The Big Red One (Xbox) (Video Game)
Although I hadn't realised that this particular version of Call of Duty 2 is not the same as the original game, nevertheless it is a good game and it was my fault for not checking this properly. As a left handed person though, I was very disappointed to discover I was unable to change the settings on my controller to reflect this as there is no option for "lefties" and consequently I find it very difficult to shoot with my right hand accurately and quickly. The same problem happens with Call of Duty 3.

This is a common problem with many video games unfortunately and is most frustrating to the "left hander" as it means you are at a big disadvantage. There is no way of knowing until you buy the game. Are "left handers" so rare?????? Thankfully from Call of Duty 4 onwards, Activision has rectified this, but many other new games coming out do not..... so "left handers" BEWARE! It does spoil the games, especially on games with "multiplayer" where you struggle to do well against other right handed players. An example is the new "Medal of Honour"...What a disappointment for me after paying so much money for this otherwise excellent and brand new 2010 game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average WW2 shooter., 27 Nov 2005
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: The Big Red One (Xbox) (Video Game)
Having played many other war games including all the ‘Medal of Honor’ series, ‘Conflict’ games and a few Vietnam games I had plenty to compare this game with. I didn’t however play the original ‘Call of Duty’. I didn’t find this game to be anything outstanding or a vast improvement on the other games mentioned. It is pretty standard fare for a WW2 shooter. The graphics are adequate but not brilliant and like wise the game play. The genre has been done so many times now I can’t imagine how it can really be improved upon significantly. With this game we have the opportunity on several levels to man different vehicles and dispense with the enemy this way: a diversion from the runaround, but not that memorable. The game lasted around 12 – 15 hours when played on the ‘normal’ and by that time I had really had enough.
I recently played ‘Medal of Honor: European Assault’ and found that game to be much better in all ways. ‘Call of Duty 2’ lacked the intensity of the MOH game, as well as having less dramatic sound effects and offering less of a challenge. ‘Call of Duty 2’ had a lot to do to outdo the previous crop of WW2 games and sadly it did not achieve this task. Whilst not a bad game it is not a significant step up the gaming evolutionary ladder to warrant a purchase of thirty pounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game while it lasted ..., 18 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Call of Duty 2: The Big Red One (Xbox) (Video Game)
A lot of unfair criticism has been levelled at this game for the linear, on-rails nature of the single player campaign. Well come on, this is a Call of Duty game and that kind of goes with the territory. What really matters is the sense of imminent danger, with bullets flying at you from all directions.
The feeling is present at all times but the danger is largely absent, only stepping up a little during the last mission. This leads to an immensely entertaining tour of duty, albeit brief and fairly easy to complete.
There was plenty of scope for several additional missions, as the final newsreel played at the end of the campaign clearly testifies (finish the game and you'll see what I mean).
Ultimately I found this game thrilling and disappointing in equal measure - excellent entertainment while it lasted, but it sure didn't last long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call of Duty 2: The Big Red One (Xbox)
Used & New from: £2.27
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews